Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I walk them every week, as do my wife and kids! There's some unpleasantness, there's drug dealing, there's red light breaking, there's litter problems but to say it's not safe is stupid. There's schools, colleges, restaurants, businesses, offices, cafes etc… on them, people work in them they walk to work every day. Thousands of late night staff walk home every day, chefs, nurses, servers etc… How can you say they're dangerous when they're safely traversed so often by millions every day?

You're like the gaslights in Smithfield square.

I walk them every week, as do my wife and kids! There's some unpleasantness, there's drug dealing, there's red light breaking, there's litter problems but to say it's not safe is stupid. There's schools, colleges, restaurants, businesses, offices, cafes etc… on them, people work in them they walk to work every day. Thousands of late night staff walk home every day, chefs, nurses, servers etc… How can you say they're dangerous when they're safely traversed so often by millions every day?

You're like the gaslights in Smithfield square at this stage, trying to convince people that it’s dangerous where they safely go every week. 

I walk them every week, as do my wife and kids! There's some unpleasantness, there's drug dealing, there's red light breaking, there's litter problems but to say it's not safe is stupid. There's schools, colleges, restaurants, businesses, offices, cafes etc… on them, people work in them they walk to work every day. Thousands of late night staff walk home every day, chefs, nurses, servers etc… How can you say these streets are dangerous when they're safely traversed so often by millions every day?

You're like the gaslights in Smithfield square at this stage, trying to convince people that it’s dangerous where they safely go every week. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I've just recently moved closer to the inner city and it is impossible not to concede that the place has been over taken by crime and Anti-social behaviour. There is an ever present vibe in the city centre (O Connell St, Talbot St, Henry St and Moore St) now that is utterly grim.

I lived just off O Connell Street just after Covid and I'd often go for a walk at lunchtime. It would be very seldom you wouldn't see a significant incident that would make you say to yourself "This isn't right. Imagine being a tourist seeing this". People openingly injecting drugs, bicycle thefts, vicious assaults and even one day I encountered a stabbing. This was all in broad daylight. Don't even ask me about after dark.

Sad thing is it has been let happen and it won't get any better. It is a cesspit. It is now perfectly OK to loiter, drink, do drugs and litter on Moore Street and O Connell Street. What value do these places now have?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Just in case anyone missed this, one of the “Dublin is graaaand” bots is glitching. We’ll have him up and running in time for the next daylight assault.

You're misrepresenting me or haven't read the thread or are unfamiliar with Dublin. Most likely all three. I never said Dublin was grand, I've pointed out the problems and am currently lobbying for change (not on an internet forum, in real life), I've discussed the possible solutions on this thread.

However, to say the whole of Dublin is dangerous is just stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,866 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Do you accept Dublin has a perception problem?

The damage to Dublin is not the reality, it's the perception. The perception comes from the types you see on the streets, the dereliction, the almost comical lack of any regular police presence, the feckless "public realm", and stories that have emerged in the last couple of years.

Whatever the reality the biggest issue is that people don't feel parts of the city center are safe. The perception is what damages business, tourism, shopping, visitor numbers etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Walking around Dublin over the past few days has been interesting. Because the American Football Game was here, we saw a lot more Guards on the streets. In 2 days time, this will change when the American's leave and the amount of Guards we have seen the past couple of days will decrease to the bare minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Quitelife

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-in-crisis-once-a-thriving-capital-today-the-city-centre-is-dangerous-dirty-and-downright-depressing/a662570592.html

Even the Sunday Independent has a big article today about how lawless the city centre is . Behind a paywall here

I agree with you. The optics aren't good. That's why I am lobbying for change, metro police, transport police. I've said this a good few times over the thread but people are obsessing with the fact that I don't feel in danger in Dublin. I'm in the city weekly, my wife works in the city, my kids visit the city, we all live in Dublin, so do my folks, they're elderly and go to the city centre every week. They don't feel unsafe.

I see things, I see open drug taking and dealing, I see addicts fighting, I see GAA fans littering and carrying out drunken acts, I see public urination, I see Romani people begging, I see Irish people begging, I see theft, I see a lot. But the good things I see and do in Dublin city centre outweighs the negative optics.

And I don't feel unsafe, I know this infuriates people. But I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Was in city centre shopping last weekend and it was buzzing. No hassle seen anywhere. Was a great atmosphere.

That's Southside though, i dont bother crossing the river anymore and thats mainly to do with the perception of OConnell St and surrounds.

Thats just my personal choice though, may not be reflective at all of how others feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭lmao10

It used to be the case that it was only after darkness has fallen that you'd know that most of these places are no-go zones if you don't want to get mugged or worse. But seeing feral scum and feeling at risk comes during daylight hours now too in many of these places. I'd feel safer during the day but I wouldn't be caught dead in some of these areas at night. Too scared. It's the fact that there are no consequences for these feral scum and many of them look at a stint in the Joy as a badge of honour. It does wonders for their street cred, is how it's looked at by many of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭GreenPanda99

I used to work in the city center before covid. Started there again 3 months ago. Its definitely a hell of a lot worse now than it was then. And getting worse every week.

Last week, after an obscene amount of harassment and a few muggings on staff there was an email went out in the company that asked if people would pair or group up going to the bus stop or train station after work as a lot of staff were scared now coming in and going home.

They made a website where you just put in when you are going home or what train you are on coming in and going home on if you want company and people meet up in the lobby.

Awful that its come to this.

At least once a week now, sometimes more, ive seen an assault in the city center. And all in the daytime too. Havent been around after dark in the last few months, to see what its like then. I think i only ever saw 2 in the 10 years before covid. The city was becoming really nice back then, Its terrible now and getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭mikethecop

‘No excuse for this outrageous behaviour’ – Drunk ‘spat all over garda van and in the station cells’ (msn.com)

No excuse for his behavior says the judge but then he makes no meaningful effort to amend the mans behavior or protect the innocent from him. how is this doing your job eh ?

Every little scumbag going had the run of the place during covid. It set a new precedent for them. Hasn't recovered since and it won't until there is a permanent policing presence.

There were gardai everywhere in town this weekend because a load of Americans were over for the football. Next weekend it will be business as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭yagan

Look dublin is grand. Just stay close to UN convoys when needing to go anywhere, and don't make eye contact.

Joking aside I worked north inner city before the pandemic and I never hung around longer than I needed to. There's no pleasure in doing so.

It used to be that there were junkies and petty criminals in the city community, whereas now they dominate.

Anyone who could moved out in the 90s and 00s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,436 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Is Cork safe? 16 man brawl and Garda getting attacked last night. Woman murdered by her partner recently. French students attacked and their teacher stabbed a few weeks ago. Shots fired at Garda informant's house in Cork a few nights ago.

Is it only Dublin you all think are dangerous in Ireland?

Ireland has a problem in general with anti social behavior and assaults and scum getting away with it. But Dublin is a whole different level now. Its out all by itself on the scale. It never used to be this bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭suvigirl

They were everywhere in Dublin, because there were none in their actual districts.

well personally i think we have the same problems nationwide with the problems being magnified in places with bigger populations, obviously. the country has always loved piling on on dublin though, but you see similar issues around the country that dublin has, just on a smaller scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭yagan

One thing is for sure it's going to cost many times more than if Gardai numbers hadn't been reduced in the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Certain parts of Dublin are rough. Plenty of parts are lovely and not rough at all.

Dublin isn't O'Connell St.

There are plenty of nice areas to socialise that are not northside city centre.

Yes certain parts of Dublin are lovely. Its just a pity that within yards of our capital city its the way it is. Didnt used to be that bad at all. There was a time when Dublin city center was really sprucing up and a joy to be in. Nowadays … Well you just have to walk around there to see it. Its far worse than any other city center ive been to, in Ireland or in many other countries ive visited or lived in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,221 ✭✭✭saabsaab

They are currently looking to prevent car traffic on certain parts of the quays like Bachelors Walk. Ironically the traffic itself provides passive surveillance along these stretches which along with police will also now be absent. It won't make these stretches more welcoming for pedestrians. It won't be the improvement they think it will be. It will be the opposite and not because of the lack of cars, because of the usual clientel that hang around the quays and on the Boardwalk.

it's about 100 meters, and is still packed with buses and taxis and pedestrians. relax.

it was in RTE, the Irish Times, The Journal… what more do you want?

Even when it does people are numb to it now. I have friends who are so sesensitized to this kind of thing happening in Dublin now that all they have to say is "Sure that could happen anywhere". Meanwhile the women at work and a lot of the men are not comfortable walking to the train station after work anymore.

I agree with you Cork city like many places is on a downward spiral, Limerick city centre - Hyde Road etc are as bad as Dublin with a handful of gardai trying to stop the scumm attacking law abiding people

Its not removing cars that will make people go into the city centre….its removal of scum & Muggers from the streets will help get more people into city centre