Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never mind Oasis, here's The Smiths...

• 29-08-2024 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭

So, what do people make of such speculation?! As somewhere in the article said, it is quite astounding to think the possibility existed!

This, for me, would be way bigger than Oasis! But I have no doubt my view is controversial. Lot of animosity towards Morrissey, understandably, due to his political/world view.

But interested to hear views!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think some things best left as they were and I think Johnny Marr has said as much. The Smiths were a moment in time and the time passed. Not everything needs to be resurrected and in fact, sometimes it loses its magic that way. I also think Morrissey is a very unreliable narrator and wouldn't be surprised if it's all just an attempt at being attention-seeking, which wouldn't exactly be a first for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Wouldn't disagree! One might wonder if they would be a parody or poor pastiche of what went before.

Be intriguing, tho'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Of course this would eclipse the Gallaghers but not a snowballs chance in hell that Johnny would contemplate it. Nor should he. Moz is gone to the dark side. I'm done with him. Johnny remains a shining beacon of enlightenment and cool, and nobody can take the Smiths back catalogue away. We still get to see Johnny belting out How Soon is Now and sundry classics on a fairly regular basis. That'll have to do for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Morrissey for decades has poured scorn on the idea of the Smiths ever reuniting…

If he’s ever asked about it in the music press he just laughs and puts some withering remark on record as to the possibility….

He’s generally kind enough or at least not disparaging about Marr but he’s been quite unkind about the late Andy Rourke and Joyce.

So if it happens it would be a bit of a sell out. For those reasons as well as Andy Rourke having died.

That said if my memory is accurate but it frequently isn’t, a sometimes fifth member that was brought in towards the latter days of the band, Craig Gannon was his name.. from wiki actually…

“Gannon had played in bands with friends since he was 12 years old, and in 1983 joined Aztec Camera after replying to an ad in Melody Maker. In 1984, he briefly joined The Colourfield, and went on to join The Bluebells. After another brief stint in The Colourfield, when bass player Andy Rourke was fired from the Smiths in early 1986, Gannon was hired to replace him. Within a fortnight, however, Rourke was reinstated and Gannon moved to rhythm guitar, becoming the official fifth member, playing on the "Panic" and "Ask" and touring the UK, Canada, and the US with the band.”

So technically, there is another living Smiths bass player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Not sure if it was in Marrs memoir or in a podcast, but he said he met Moz in the US a few years back and they had a lovely afternoon. Moz on the beers and Johnny on the OJ. They agreed that day that a reunion was something they'd pursue, but never followed up on it. My memory could be off but i think Moz was keen but Johnny less so and it just fizzled out. I'd imagine an afternoon in his company would do that…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

My sentiments exactly. It's why, even though i never saw them, i would hate to see Spacemen 3 reform (about as likely as The Smiths tbf).

These are the words they're as old as the hills, cooked on a diet of mushrooms and pills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Andy rourke , what an absolutely unbelievably amazing bass player he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

The Smiths certainly wouldn't be doing 5 nights at Wembley etc. The announcement from Morrissey is just stirring, I'm sure they get regular offers and Marr ignores them all.

The comment about him touring with New Order seems to be a dig at him, saying he's a session musician. But he's toured with loads of bands; by all accounts he's a good guy with lots of friends in the industry and would rather spend his time with people that he likes.

yep, saw him in Badly Drawn Boys band years ago… the sound he got from his bass was incredible and he did it looking like it was all as easy to him as drinking a pint…. That’s one thing I remember he was getting this incredible sound and spot on ethereal rhythm while ‘looking’ like it was absolutely no effort to him. I remember thinking “ talented show off, but brilliant **** “ he barely glanced at the instrument all gig…

And I bet he sounds that good with house amp and borrowed bass, totally down to his style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Morrissey and Marr will never reunite. Whatever Morrissey may want I just cant see Marr ever wanting to do it. He is doing his thing and seems to be enjoying it.

He does not need the money and for him to be in a room with Morrissey for 5 minutes would be a trauma. Nevermind going on tour with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭T.V Eye

Andy Rourke has passed now so I don't think it would be the same without him playing bass.

Most Indie Bands could replace the Bass Player handy enough. Not sure you could here.

and I think Morrissey turning into a right-wing troll is just an extra reason for him not to want to do it, he already didn't like him.

Yeah, Morrissey seems to like to stir!!

And playing with New Order - wouldn't knock that.

Agree that the vibes from Johnny Marr are 'good'. Seen him live at EP a few years ago. Have an album or two. His solo stuff is a bit 'meh', but when he performs the odd Smiths tune, is great!

yeah, I don't think he's set the world alight since the Smiths split up. For all his faults, Morrissey has released a lot of good solo music, mostly in the 90s though.

I’m laughing because imagine Morrissey and Marr sitting down in a room prior to rehearsals, attempting to come to a consensus as what songs should be played or rehearsed …..

Morrissey doesn’t seem really ever given to being all that reasonable when say a degree of flexibility or concession is needed…. He’s been calling the shots in his solo career as ‘the guy’ for about 35 years or so and has been fairly ruthless in terms of dispensing with people when their attitude, or ideals no longer were aligned to his own…

His arguably greatest songwriting partner and guitarist Alain Whyte was ninjad when he was having a few problems, he’s had in his solo career about 25 different band members at a guess. About 10 of those drummers. 😟

Lads, let's just stick on Hatful of Hollow and remember the good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭ECookie13

Stop, this is not bigger than the Oasis reunion. Not even remotely close. Never in a million years.

If it were ever to happen (I very much doubt it!) then it would be big! And a wee touch subjective as to what is 'bigger' than what. If you are of a certain generation & a particular type of individual (I was quiet, didn't go out much, bullied), the the songs may have spoken to you. How Soon is Now is my anthem!

To quote Rubber Ring:

"But don't forget the songs that made you smile

And the songs that made you cry"

Mind you, when I log on here, after a nice sleep in this morning, to find 1.1k new posts in the Oasis thread, I'm impressed!

But, to each their own. Horses for courses!

All subjective of course MG but if Noel and Liam were in here, I'm pretty sure that they'd agree that the Smiths getting back together would be a far more significant event than Oasis burying the hatchet. They're still far more influential that the 2 lads will ever be. Of course the country wouldn't be losing it's collective **** like they are this morning but the people losing their **** would be the very best kind of people. 😉

For me Morrissey’s flakiness is the issue. I certainly wouldn’t make any arrangements (booking hotels etc) for future concerts given his record on cancelling them. I don’t agree with his political views but they’re not illegal & don’t bother me.

Just see that Marr ignored the offer. That's worse than saying no. I hate people who don't reply - be it in work or life situations.

I was at the Dublin gig shortly before Andy Rourke was sacked. His playing was noticeably off. Craig Gannon could be approached again. Or else Vini Reilly - there's the added bonus that he looks like Johnny Marr and worked with Morrissey before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭drury..

The 2 of them(Morrissey/marr) would have to want the money

This oasis hype is crazy for what they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭LimerickGray

I’m not sure Morrissey wants it that badly. Since the Smiths he has made a very good solo career and from going to his shows, many of his younger fans are only vaguely familiar with The Smiths.
    Johnny Marty only really exists as the person who is that good guitarist who was in The Smiths. He has had a few ok songs on his own but very few. From attending his shows, the crowd only come to life when he plays Smiths songs or memorable cover songs.

Johnny Marr has More to make out of all this but I can’t see this happening. He likes to come over as easy going etc but I’m sure he has a massive ego. Morrissey is, well, Morrissey. I doing some of his US tour in a few weeks and in a strange way I hope The Smiths do not reform. I can imagine some promoters looking to cash in on large venues and morrissey hating it. Not at all what The Smiths were like. Oasis did stadiums. The Smiths were small **** dingy halls and that was the appeal.

Morrissey is getting too old and I don't think he needs the money

The Smiths were all better than OASIS musically and lyrically .Rourke is gone now . Wouldn't be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Ah, the old 'albums sold' vs number of streams vs are they actually any good chestnut?! Seen it be debated, back & forth, in threads such as the EP 2024 thread. And who was more 'worthy' etc. For e.g., the whole Noah Kahan vs Kyle vs dudes like Gerry Cinnamon.

What currency do we measure our heroes in? Not sure I know what is correct.

All I can account for is how the artists make me feel.

An interesting metric (the 'sold albums' thing).

Post edited by mgkelly on

Well I'm old enough to remember The Smiths debut reaching #2 on the album charts and Meat Is Murder going one better 12 months later. Not an easy feat in those days especially considering the fact that compilation albums did not have their own chart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Acosta

Ideally neither reunion happens. The Smiths are infinitely better, but Morrissey is also a massive tw#t. I'd have similar feelings towards the Gallagher brothers. But at least they never went around wearing a fascist Britain First badge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,489 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Morrissey in Vicar St was the best gig I saw last year. He sounded perfect.

That said, how twatty can you get. A needless dig at Marr in the statement.

Absolutely shocked that Mozz agreed to a reunion tour and made it public.

Even more twatty - people using Andy Rourke's death as a point-scoring exercise against Morrissey. It's like a compulsion - they can't mention The Smiths without a needless neckbeardy disclaimer.

Eh? Who's doing that? As far as I can make out, it's universal love for the Smiths and a general acceptance that Moz has not turned out as we all would have hoped. I think it's ok, in fact fairly important looking at the state of our country at the moment, to be calling out his Tommy Robinson bullshit and the rest.

Not in this thread but at the time of his death (May 2023). If you look back at Twitter, there were quite a few people articulating that they felt guilty about (ever) liking The Smiths due to Morrissey's views but were sorry that Andy had passed on. It would have much easier to just express their sympathies, praise his musical ability and leave it at that.

In terms of Morrissey not turning out as well as we would have hoped: Back in 1986, he said "reggae is vile" and "a black pop conspiracy is keeping my music down" so he's always had a penchant for inflammatory & controversial statements. This support of right wing UK politicians is nothing new and if you re-examine the sleeves of The Smiths' singles shouldn't be too much of a surprise. Whether he actually believes this stuff is a different matter.

Thats the thing. I reckon theres a bit of Morrissey playing a character and the lines are blurred between Stephen and "Morrissey". Controversy creates cash etc. Hes a crafty hoor.

Wouldn't surprise me if this reunion thing was bullshit. Moz has buckets of cash and seems to have relatively simple tastes.

Ah fair enough. Of course he's always sailed close to the wind but in his pomp, there was enough beauty and humanity in the lyrics to persuade yourself that his occasional trips to the dark side were blips, a bit of publicity seeking rather than the real him. Not so much anymore.

I think morrisey is just a poet the words don't reflect who he is or was

As said above the other 3 smiths were all renowned musicians in their own right. Oasis individually don't compare with them.

That's why they were so good combined

However imo no way could they do what oasis are doing now with the comeback hype

Mike Joyce is rarely is hardly a renowned and he is the stumbling block for Morrissey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Maybe not in Ireland nor Britain, however a Smiths reunion would make many millions more in the USA than Oasis reforming. Reports were that $120 million, was previously offered to The Smiths just for a USA tour, in 2007. With the current lucrative tours recently announced that would be substantial earnings in large American sports stadiums.

The Jam is potentially another unlikely reunion that would very lucrative in Britain, maybe less so in Ireland.

Post edited by purplepanda on

Never say never I guess. They agreed (as good as agreed anyway) to reform in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

For some reason Morrissey is huge in South America. Always find South American mega fans to be rudest of them

The Smiths music is very popular among young adults

Not to mention Mexico. I spent a couple of nights in LA with my wife about 20 years ago and we stumbled across a Latino Smiths night, big venue given over to the Smiths, 2 different Mexican Smiths tribute bands, almost exclusively Latino crowd, totally into it. Trippy experience but great craic.

I attend Morrissey concerts worldwide. West coast USA , 75% of audience are mex/lat. They say he is an emigrant, catholic, disaffected, not listened to, ridiculed, oppressed and pushed out of his place of birth. They like he is the outsiders outsider. He is every they are, they say.

he has a long standing beef with The Guardian. I’m not sure I would believe anything they say about him.

It's tough being Moz.