Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coldplay - Dublin 2024 - Update Post 1 on Toutless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,973 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

That's mad. Probably just someone making a quick buck and being opportunistic when they saw your ticket available. Such a shame though that someone made a profit off it when you were doing the decent thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭joinme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭RonnieL

Jesus, between ticketmaster themselves with their in demand pricing and the bots hoovering up tickets, it's clear the whole system is broken, and it's pretty sickening.

Bots didn't hoover up tickets. Go back only a few pages and there's plenty of posters here saying they got tickets through resale in the weeks leading up to the gig (in addition to two of my friends from work). If the bots were indeed "hoovering up tickets", that simply wouldn't have happened. Unless I dunno, the big bad (phantom) bots take lunch breaks… 😂😂

Ticketmaster are overly aggressive on bots which you'll have seen with rakes of real people being kicked off Ticketmaster trying to buy Oasis tickets because TM thought they were bots. Sometimes people are unfortunately unable to comprehend how in-demand gigs are.

Post edited by Exclamation Marc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,060 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Its clear that you don't have a clue what you are talking about but that doesn't stop you continuously giving an opinion.

There are bots constantly active on Ticketmaster, alot are manual checkout.

The bot carts the tickets but the operator has to actually check out manually, so if nobody is there to do that the tickets will be released.

That is why you often see the same tickets appearing over and over again, they are carted but not checked out.

Sometimes a person may get a dropped cart.

Other times people can buy more expensive tickets, the 300 euro plus ones as these are not profitable to resell.

So yes it is possible to buy resale tickets, its just very difficult, as evidenced by the many posters who spent months trying to buy resale tickets.

You're one of the most misinformed nonsense-talkers on this forum.

"The bot carts the tickets but the operator has to actually check out manually, so if nobody is there to do that the tickets will be released.".

By that logic, the unpurchased tickets would immediately be put in the basket by the next bot and they'd still never be able to be bought by a 'real user'. Or is there just one sad bot in operation that gives up after being rejected.

Your whole shtick on bots is as follows:

• When people can't get tickets: "It's the bots! You haven't a chance of getting tickets".
    • When MULTIPLE people can get tickets: "Ehhh, that doesn't count".

Keep believing what you want. The clever people in the room know that you're talking rubbish. You're just looking foolish when people do pick up tickets in resale.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Shane.C

Jaysus, for all the "love and acceptance" this band portray there's a lack of it in this thread from time to time from "fans".

Plenty of sarcasm and gaslighting during the concerts and in the run-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭TheIrishPC

Well Ticketmaster in the UK is being investigated now

https://news.sky.com/story/money-blog-latest-consumer-skynews-13040934

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭kala85

Bots must have been taking the resale tickets.

There wasn't even a capctha on the resale website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭claregal1

I thought Coldplay were making their announcement today about the arena tour for 2025 can't find anything online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I'm not sure did I hear that they were announcing a 10 day residency someplace for 2025?

There was rumours of Wembley stadium. But with Oasis playing there now, who knows.

Its Wembley yes.

Wembley can host 24 non-sporting events per year so plenty of space in the schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,814 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That's how you use a stadium

Obviously lucky with only 'new age' apartments next to it not like Croke park

Wembley town itself is ok

Not sure when they're expected to make the announcement, but Chris did speak about it in a recent interview, and it certainly sounded to me like it would be a stadium rather than an arena. He mentioned they're planning to make the entire floor a kinetic one, so I'm guessing that requires some time to install, which is presumably why they're planning to stay put, rather than hop from place to place. I pre-ordered the moon music album in the hope they might do an artist pre-sale based on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭giseva

An Instagram page coldplay.access have a post showing tour dates in 2025, 6 of which are Wembley in July, with dates in Paris, Berlin and Frankfurt too. That page is usually spot on.

Thanks a mill for this will check that page out now.

Normally they announce it after the current run ends but they might wait now till closer to the album release on Oct 4th and run a promotion for presale access if you preorder the album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭TheIrishPC

The rumours from the stewards was that after this new album, they won't be releasing any more new music, and will just be touring for the foreseeable future

That's from their X page, I went back through their insta posts and it's gone, make of that what you will!

Hopefully there'll be official announcements about 2025 touring in Oct or Nov.

https://x.com/coldplayaccess/status/1774744984601641412

Looking like Coldplay putting teases up around some UK cities coincides with the rumours of a new tour. Not sure will they play Dublin again so soon but maybe Cork but that would be extremely doubtful

I really enjoyed the Dublin show and not sure how the a new tour so soon would top the special effects/lights etc of the current tour. Delighted to hear 'In My Place' as it was only played 'occasionally' (left the bar que as soon as I heard the drums start). Tbh I really didn't think the production was going to be so big, The Weeknd had a smaller version of the 'LED Wristband' technology for his tour in 2023 but Coldplays ultislisation blew that out of the park. Wasn't into the 'puppet' craic and some the 'ECO' stuff just went over my head

Overall delighted I got the chance to attend and can understand the demand for tickets

Out of interest how did this tour compare to 2017 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭chases0102

Generally thought the 2017 gig was better. One of the best gigs I was at, to be honest, set list was almost perfect and they only played one night - a Saturday night in July, and I definitely felt it was less of a social/Instagram experience with the crowd. It really felt that the gigs a few weeks ago, that it was more important for some people to "be there" (and to live document it on social media) rather than actually experiencing/enjoying the gig. Crowd in 2017 was excellent. Certainly, that was my thoughts.

Also felt Chris Martin's energy and voice was not as strong as 2017. Again, in saying all that, had a great time but definitely felt it dropped short of 2017.

Agreed that 2017 felt like a better gig.

The setlist was a lot better for someone like me who admittedly hasn't really followed their recent stuff too closely. 2017 felt more engaging, the band more energetic, the pyrotechnics and visuals a lot better and it felt the crowd were way more into it. That last point is probably more of an indictment of modern gig goers who are more concerned with filming EVERYTHING.

That said, it was a fantastic gig and I'd go again in a heartbeat but if 2017 was a 10/10 gig, this year's was an 8/10 or 9/10 gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I do find one's position in the crowd is HUGELY important regarding atmosphere.

Our group's first few Glastonburies we tended to stay WELL back. A couple of the crew just had NO interest in going closer and the rest of us were a bit nervous given the crowd sizes. I remember telling people at the time that I loved it there but that the crowds weren't as engaged as in Ireland.

After a couple of years we got more comfortable. The couple who wanted to hang back stopped going (And if they go again they are more than welcome to go back to the back). So we started getting closer and closer. Now, when at The Pyramid, we are usually in front of the sound stages and it's a whole new world. Were there for Coldplay this year and, like them or leave them, the atmosphere was amazing. Same spot a few years ago for Foo Fighters headlining (And in Pit for The Churn Ups).

When you are surrounded (and in front of) a hugely vocal crowd, for me, it doubles the experience. Was at Pearl Jam a few months ago and thought the band were great but the crowd were dull and it made a difference.

I didn't get to Coldplay this year at Croker. But that's OK. Thankfully many of my family did and they loved the show. I know some people can be a bit sniffy at Coldplay (And that song with BTS is a crime 😀) but, fair play to them, they put on a show. I would say that U2 started Tour As A Spectacle with Zoo TV decades ago and at least they are putting the money in.

Oasis do their different thing (I can just hear Liam now saying "F*ck yer light up wrist bands, you tw4ts" - Maybe they'll give out tight-up bucket-hats… 😁). Oasis do their own thing and will keep a much less elaborate stage but when you think of it, people are already paying 400+ for Oasis tickets.

Anyway…. crowd matters/helps….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,479 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Setlist better in 2017 but it stayed bright far too long in July, much better light show this time in full darkness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭SoundOfSilence

2017 gig was better but 2024 was bloody amazing too. I think it was the setlist and the fact that there was more going on visually the 1st time round.

Dates for 2025

Thats a fictitious poster, been around for months.

They teased Wembley dates for next August on Instagram yesterday though.

Yes, the fact that it says music of the spheres is a dead giveaway. They do seem to be building up to an announcement - talk of Wembley and Hull?

Just Wembley, no chance of Hull I'd say, capacity is 12k.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,454 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

That's the capacity in the stands. There is a Rugby League pitch which will take as many as a "regular" (ie no running track space around the pitch like the London Stadium) Soccer pitch. Saw the Who there last year when they had seats across the pitch, but I would imagine you could get 20k+ standing plus most of those 12k seats (the stage was at the end of the ground with only a small capacity)

Having said that I'm not sure what teh appeal would be given Hull is a bit out of the way with a relatively small local population

Huge gross from Dublin.

Croke Park, Dublin: 329,200 (100%) - $49,520,804 (4 shows)

Coldplay earned their best selling concert of all-time on September 2, 2024, with 82,300 tickets sold at Croke Park in Dublin as part of the "Music of the Spheres Tour".

Coldplay earned their highest grossing European concert of all-time on September 2, 2024, with $12.380 million at Croke Park in Dublin as part of the "Music of the Spheres Tour".

Sum money, those lights sold those tickets

The Gallaghers be rubbing there hands looking at that

Official dates announced for Hull and Wembley next August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 coldplayer90

Official dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭iancairns

Oasis debacle and now this. lol

The band have just announced August 2025 shows at London’s Wembley Stadium and Hull’s Craven Park Stadium. These are the only UK/European cities where they will perform next year.

Get exclusive first access to tickets by ordering the new album, Moon Music, from the official Coldplay UK or EU Stores at store.coldplay.com before 11.59pm BST on Tuesday, September 24.

Don't even own a CD player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

don’t need to pre order an album, there’s a small text link for pre sale

https://www.coldplay.com/uk-2025-npn.html

Hull is a bizarre choice.

Apparently those dates are the only UK or European dates they will perform next year. I've seen dates suggested for parts of Asia on fan sites with some in Germany, so that's unfortunate if it's just the few UK gigs. Those sites are usually on the money.

I'll try my luck at Wembley but no doubt it'll be the same old story with flights and hotels drastically upping their prices.

Pre-ordered the album weeks ago in the hope it would get me pre sale access, so I was kindof annoyed to see they're giving people a week to pre-order, and now I see that "no purchase necessary" link, I feel my chances are dwindling! Still going to try and get some for London - can visit family and hopefully save on accommodation that way if I get lucky.

They have released the video of We Pray that they shot on Grafton Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Haven't we suffered enough?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,454 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

London puts on massive shows regularly, and accommodation will be plentiful. You may struggle to get anything close to wembley, but there will be plenty of non-pricey options in the City centre and the likes of the docklands (with the Jubilee Line taking you all the way to Wembley)

For anyone who got those €20 tickets here

What section did ye end up getting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭ben36

when trying for tickets next week do you have to go through Ticketmaster uk or can you buy through the Irish one and if so is it priced in sterling or converted to an upscaled euro price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

That's 100% true. I was in London the weekend of the Taylor Swift Wembley concerts and still got a good deal around the Bank/Moorgate area on the Friday and Saturday nights.