Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French man accused of drugging his wife and inviting men to rape her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭volchitsa

it feels to me that there must be more to come out

One of the things that I can't help suspecting is that some of the men they weren't able to identify may simply have been too important/too well-connected locally to identify.

Whether that will ever come out of course is a different question.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls: "Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭amandstu

I wonder if any of the "participants" knew each other or whether the only person who knew them was the husband.

Why did he do this ?

It is maybe just salacious gossip but my one time GP in Cork ,some 30 years ago was found guilty of filming his female patients when they were being examined.

I only saw him the once or twice for shingles and thought he seemed a lovely fellow....

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/pervert-doctor-who-filmed-female-patients-loses-appeal/26268679.html

I don't know if any of them knew each other beforehand, but it wasn't organised at the local bar or anything like that.

The principal accused, Dominique Pelicot was actually put in a cell with one of his co-accused at one stage and they didn't recognise each other. Of course there were so many over such a long time that that's not all that surprising.

No, they all went on a meet-up site, which had a section called "Without her knowledge". To some extent that differentiates them from others - except that in the end, it turns out there were a lot of local men all on the same site looking to rape sleeping women - and of course presumably similar numbers on the same site all around the rest of the country.

So how to know which men are and which aren't on these sites?? Impossible. One of the things the psychiatric experts said at the start is that there is no typical "rapist" profile, that they are all "ordinary men" - most of these were in long term relationships, several were fathers.

About your doctor: there was a scandal in NI with an eye specialist a few years back (or maybe ear, I forget - nothing gynaecological anyway) and it turns out a close friend of mine had seen him a couple of times - and while he did not abuse her at all, she always felt ill-at-ease with him.

So I think there was something going on that she felt, but wasn't sure enough of herself to be certain.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls: "Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Dont know if its already been mentioned but the husband has also been charged with the murder of a woman in Paris in 1991 plus the rape of another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,925 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yeah, part of the reporting linked to in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭amandstu

Some consolation that that makes this kind of a crime less"mundane" if the organizer has been separately charged with a murder.

I wonder how common it is to include a prohibition on internet access in the punishments for severe (or even not so severe?) crimes .

Or monitored access?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Yea it's unreal the **** women get away with but you wouldn't exactly be afraid they were gonna rape you after getting a quick feel. That's the way I felt any time I was violated by a woman. That's the difference. Its alot scarier for a woman as they are more vuneralble.Especially after a few drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

You're infantizling women they are not more vulnerable because they are women, this train of thought reinforces the view that they are intellectually inferior and do not grasp the consequences of their actions or have the intellect to take responsibility for those actions

They (typically) become intoxicated with less alcohol because of body mass difference

Sexual assault numbers by women are not materially different than sexual assault numbers by men they just take place within interpersonal relationships and reporting by men is unaccepted by society

If your partner has ever lied to you to about contraception or engaged you knowingly under false pretences that is coerced consent and thus rape

40% of women is the typical amount that admit they would lie to their partner and coerce them into pregnancy

That's almost every second woman, a truly shocking statistic. As abhorrent that the rape of a woman is it does end, unwanted parentage is everyday for the rest of your life

I didn't say "there are", I asked whether there's any reason to think there would not be, ie is this really the only place in Europe where there are so many apparently ordinary men actively looking to rape women? Nobody has even tried to give me a reason why that might be though.

The only evidence we have on this for now (maybe because nobody has ever really looked?) is this trial in France.

Last night I posted testimony from the trial, that Pelicot lived/stayed in three places while he was carrying out his crimes, and in all three areas, he seems to have readily found men nearby who were willing to rape his wife.

This is based on photographs: most from their home in Vaucluse, with defendants coming from the towns and villages aaround there, others from their holiday home in the west of France, with at least one defendant from the town that's half an hour away from there, and finally, earlier police testimony near the start of the trial that a few of the defendants are from the Paris area and were recruited when he lived there. Most of the accused haven't been questioned yet so I don't have any more detail than that on those defendants, but I can post it up when they come on, especially if there is any remaining doubt about this.

Now maybe you have some evidence that these three areas are particularly full of perverse men. Or that France has a rape culture that doesn't exist in the rest of the EU.

I'm just not sure why that would be so. But I'm very happy to hear the evidence.

Not much consolation really though.

It's true that Dominique Pelicot is obviously way beyond the "norms" of your run-of-the-mill sex offender - that's clear. As his daughter said, they have to come to terms with knowing that their father and grandfather is perhaps the worst serial rapist in this century in France, and maybe even a murderer as well.

But TBH it's all the other men that worry me more. I took days of abuse on here for refusing to let male posters tell me that only man-haters would consider that this might indicate that there are a lot more potential rapists living ordinary lives with wives and families than most of us ever imagine.

And here's the thing: they are all "ordinary men", all those rapists. Well, not all, but most. Their wives and children are testifying today, and so far we've mostly heard about what great partners and fathers they've been.

Here, for instance, is one who is not on trial for raping Gisele Pelicot, but for conniving with Dominique P to drug and rape his own wife, who had borne him FIVE children. Pelicot raped her too, about ten times. His wife has refused to lodge a complaint for rape against him. (I presume she has done so against Pelicot but I can't remember all the charges, there were so many) Anyway, this JP Marechal says his wife is a great person, a good mother, that he has always been very close to his children. One is seriously disabled and he always helped look after him too. Some of his children are also present to testify, and they agree:

Il décrit son épouse comme quelqu'un de très bien. "Une femme modèle, qui s'occupait très bien de leurs enfants", a-t-il dit. Jean-Pierre M. assure avoir toujours été "très proche de ses enfants", se décrit comme "un père poule". L'un de ses fils est handicapé : il souffre "de dysphasie", un trouble grave du neurodéveloppement qui impacte le langage. Le couple s'est décrit comme soudé face à cette maladie, Jean-Pierre M. étant présent à tous les rendez-vous médicaux. Sa femme le décrit comme très optimiste. "Pour lui, rien n'est grave", souligne-t-elle. L'autorité reposait sur son épouse. L'accusé avait du mal à poser un cadre. "Il était toujours là pour nous gâter", a relaté l'une de ses filles, précisant que "tous les enfants, garçons comme filles, ont reçu la même éducation". Pour elle, "ils ont eu une enfance heureuse"

The only "negative" thing there is that the wife was the one who had to be the disciplinarian. "He always spoiled us", said one of his daughters, adding that "all the children, boys or girls, were treated the same." She says "We had a happy childhood."

His son is then called to the bar (around 25 years of age) - he speaks of a model father, devoted to his family, his children, played a lot of sport, didn't smoke or drink. Undemonstrative verbally but "his eyes showed his feelings", and he was always affectionate.

Son fils est appelé à la barre (je n'ai pas entendu son âge, je dirais autour de 25 ans). Il parle d'un "père exemplaire, qui a toujours été dévoué pour sa famille, ses enfants, quelqu'un de très sportif, qui ne fumait pas, ne buvait pas. Très introverti sur les sentiments". 

Son fils a déclaré qu'il avait "beaucoup de pudeur dans les sentiments, qu'il ne verbalise pas, mais que les émotions sont dans les yeux". "Il a beaucoup de gestes affection", a-t-il ajouté.

His daughter says he was a very good father, and was perfectly normal.

Pour rappel : Jean-Pierre M. est accusé d'avoir sédaté son épouse, de l'avoir fait violer par Dominique Pelicot, et de l'avoir violée lui-même. Sa fille de 28 ans vient également témoigner. Elle parle d'un "très bon père. "Il a toujours été présent. Il était tout à fait normal.

That's just one - but there are others. And the psychiatrist/expert said previously that there is no such thing as a "rapist profile" - the fact that they are all well integrated socially is not that unusual.

But so many?? I don't know. I can't get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

His wife has refused to lodge a complaint for rape against him.

Unfortunately, also all too common:

A man jailed for raping his wife, after she asked a judge not to send him to jail, must wait to hear whether his sentence will be increased on foot of an appeal by prosecutors.

The man’s barrister, Padraig Dwyer SC, said the victim’s dilemma began when she realised the consequences of her husband’s rape conviction would be lengthy incarceration. He said the victim believed she was going to suffer more by having her husband put in prison for a lengthy period and she wanted to keep the family unit intact.

Mr Justice John Edwards commented that victims of domestic abuse regularly “take back the abuser” and one had to view what was being said against that background.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30940158.html

It’s not that people are happy to believe these circumstances don’t exist, it’s that they’re not even aware that they exist, not in their little bubble, and when confronted with the reality that they do exist, and are far more common than previously thought, peoples first reaction is denial, because it goes against everything they’d previously held to be a true representation of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Given that there were three gang rapes in holiday resorts recently, where lads texted pals to come get "free sex" - from a comatose drunk girl - i.e. raped her - I would say I agree with @volchitsa more than yourself, no one is saying "all men" but given so many men seem to be prepared to rape a stranger merely cos their friends suggest it, it's clear that care must be taken with men you do not know. I certainly wouldn't accept a drink from a man in a bar unless I see it poured at the bar - that's not misandry, it's just being sensible.

Indeed - and not only that, the very same posters would likely be among the first to subscribe to the George Hook school of thought that a girl who is trusting of men and then gets raped is partly responsible for that rape.

But an older woman telling a girl to be careful of men she doesn't know really really well (and even then, some of the other examples…) well, that's just because she's a bitter old catlady, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Typical amount where?

I googled and could only find thing showing that stat and can see lots of issues with it straight away.

These conversations are always very sad to see.

They always remind me of the murder of Jill Meagher, and of her husband Tom who was part of the white ribbon campaign.

https://www.joe.ie/life-style/husband-of-murdered-jill-meagher-writes-touching-essay-about-mens-violence-against-women-425127

It seems that the conversation in society barely had a chance to take off before the NAMALT crowd started shutting them all down. And something I've seen in real life is that the NAMALT crowd are often the very same ones who warn their daughters about boys and men and creeps and perverts, but they get angry if women discuss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

it is being sensible and it’s a basic precaution that costs you nothing. But the vast majority of women have never had a drink spiked and an ever greater, overwhelmingly massive majority of men have never spiked a drink.

That’s the crucial distinction between looking out for yourself and assuming the worst about all men. You wear a seat-belt not in the expectation of having a crash but on the off-chance that you might.

But the substantive point was the contrast between the assumption that all/most/whatever men have malign intentions and that a convicted serial killer of babies is hard done by, that she's the victim. It's a bizarre and frankly dangerous way to view the world. I'm a parent, and if some random zealot, male, female or otherwise, was using my child's death and their killer as ammo for their own crusades, I'd be absolutely disgusted.

Absolutely. As I recall there were even men who blamed him for letting his wife be out at night on her own (and blamed her even more so, of course).

They obviously think all decent women are not allowed out without their husbands. Very much like Saudi Arabia in fact.

Exactly! I once worked with a beautiful young girl, she could literally get any man she liked. One time we had a work night out and the next day she didn't turn up for overtime, and everyone was panicking - she arrives hungover a few hours late and it turned out the chap she had been dancing with the night before, she had gone home with.

Her logic was "he was wearing a Hugo Boss suit, he's not like a predator or anything!"

That was 30 years ago and it still chills me. I've seen drinks spiked in a bar a couple of times and flagged it - one time the guy was thrown out; another the barman winked at me like I was some sort of conspirator! I told the bouncers.

I'd say there are so many men and sadly lots of women that don't believe unless a woman is dragged off the street and/or a weapon is used "it's not really rape". Horrifying attitude and I think we've a duty to warn girls to take care, regardless of whether we're called names.

You can embolden that all all you like - have you never heard of any miscarriages of justice ? I've at least 10 of our people can remind you that they happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

You're defending her - like the OP - because she's a woman and you cannot comprehend that a woman could do something like this. I understand that but, unfortunately, that's exactly how she was able to get away with it for so long.

I'll say it again, using her as a cause celebre for the victimisation of women is absolutely nauseating.

Same live twitter coverage by the France Info journalist I gave earlier, the wife of a different man, Cyrille D (I haven't checked the list for the surname) say s this:

http://On entend maintenant (il faut suivre) l'ex-compagne de Cyrille D., qui ont passé 33 ans de vie commune. Ils sont séparés "depuis sept mois", précise-t-elle. "On ne se voit pratiquement plus".
    "Je sais que ce n'est pas un homme comme ça", insiste son ex-femme, qui répond en quelques mots aux questions posées.

The ex partner of Cyrille D - they were together for 33 years, have been separated for the last 7 months, who says "I know he's not a man like that" in answer to the questions asked.

So she's split up with him but is still insisting that that is not the man she knew.

I thought she was guilty originally. You'll fond nothing from me suggesting she was innocent until, well, it was the banned NYT article that first made me wonder. Several more things since then. But you are talking complete nonsense (again!) if you think I've made her into some emblem of women. The most I've ever said is that we don't know if she's innocent, but we can't be sure that she is guilty. And that, normally, is a reason to acquit.

Do you believe the Post Office submasters are all guilty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Raichų

In fairness you said previously she’s being used a scapegoat to cover up failings at the hospital which is a completely different and much more severe stance to take than “reasonable doubt”

Quote me?

(I did not say she is or was.)

And is there a reason why you constantly misrepresent stuff I've said? I was blaming other posters for you having been misled, but that's a couple of times now that you've done it entirely off your own bat. What is your problem, exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

sigh

you’ll need to bare with while I find the post.

Do you mean Lucy Letby? You realise it's becoming more and more probable that she has been the scapegoat for terrible failings in the hospital she was working in?

It seems very likely that there were no murders at all in that hospital.

you said it is “more and more probable” she has been the scapegoat for failings. As I said above.

I will ask you directly— would you hold this position were it a male nurse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

This guy is a real jerk

I'm not the poster you asked, But I'm not convinced by the evidence, and I wouldn't have found the evidence any more convincing if it was a male nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

What is with all the sighing in this thread?

It's a bit weird and very off-putting

No, that's not what you said. You said

"you said previously she’s being used a scapegoat"

Is there a reason why you're now lying about what you said, given you can no longer pretend to have accurately described what I said?

And if Letby were male? If the evidence was the same, yes of course.

If you look at the relevant thread, you'll see I've said more than once that I don't know whether she's innocent or not.

Because it's very unclear that there were any murders at all, so it's highly possible she's innocent.

If however there were murders (and I can't say for sure that there were not), then I expect she is the one who must have committed them. That has nothing to do with her sex.

That's where I used the word "scapegoat" alright.

See the other words around that one though? They don't say "she is" do they? One of them even brings in the concept of probability.

So if we've seen off the latest attempt of a couple of posters to shut down any discussion of the actual subject here, can we get back to the court case and whether it might also have any lessons for other countries in Europe please?

in all fairness do you seriously think I’m going to remember word for word every post you have made?

I think you are taking too much stock in what I said honestly as though it was some attempt to make you look bad. I misquoted you from memory, it is really not that big of a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭aero2k

Regardless of what side of the divide we're on (and regrettably, most of these threads evolve into extreme views, and the middle ground, with all the messy stuff of real life gets lost), I hope most posters on here will acknowledge that you're playing a blinder with the court updates and translations. Thank you.

I mean, you chose to say I had said something that was significant for your argument. It's not like I'm expecting you to remember some random thing I said - you chose to refer to it.

Not only that, but when I showed you that I hadn't said uit, you then tried to pretend you had said something different instead.

TBF, that looks like bad faith to me.

Especially since it is not even the subject of this thread. Have you taken part in that thread? Why don't you continue over there?

Thanks, I appreciate that.

There's a problem for tomorrow it seems: Pelicot has been complaining about being unwell, and while the judge managed to insist on him coming in today, it seems he's getting a medical cert to be absent for the next two days, ie till the weekend, which is a real problem for how the trial is going to take place, because it seems he has to be questioned by the prosecution before the other defendants can be.

So it looks as though it's going to be complicated to keep it going properly over the next while.

On what lessons can be learned....I wish I knew.

Someone mentioned earlier that the guy must have something wrong with his brain, or words to that effect. I can't recall the source, but I read somewhere an expert discussion of similar criminals. It seems not all of them are mentally ill as such - some just decide that it's grand to use other people to fulfill their desires, regardless of how sick. So they're just evil, but highly functioning otherwise, which makes it hard to catch them.

There was a French poster on here who got banned recently - I'd actually be interested in his perspective here as he wouldn’t be the type for sugar- coating it.

Oh that's the guy who was something of a contrarian, right? Liked to provoke a bit as I recall. What was his name again?? It didn't sound French, I don't think.

ETA Jequon?

Well, we've disagreed on this thread and others, but it's not personal and there's no point in a discussion where we are all in unison. The subject is worthy of proper discussion.

FFS, it's amazing how people who are healthy enough to commit crimes over a long time frame suddenly become unwell enough to sit in a chair.

Yeah, couldn't help feeling sceptical too. I suppose they are under massive stress though, once they're caught, so I suppse that can cause illness. He's been in prison, what three years??

Still not feeling sorry for him, mind, because something I haven't mentioned before is that between the first and second arrests - the first for the upskirting, then they took his PC etc and worked on all that for another three months or more before they then re-arrested him for the rapes - so he must have known during those 3 months that the end was coming, and you know what he did?

He contacted some more men to rape his wife a few more times before the game was finally up.

I suspect he was building up memories to enjoy for the time in prison that he must have known was coming.

That's him all right. Got a lot of people riled up, but he was actually polite and fiercely intelligent. Definitely not afraid to express controversial opinions, and worthy of consideration if only to help the thought process. He had an insight into people who were messed up for one reason or another. I suspect people reported his posts due to the blunt way he said thi gs, rather than pausing to think "does he actually have a point?".

Might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb - what a monster.

Okay it can look like that to you it’s not really my problem.

As for whether it’s the thread topic that is irrelevant at best and backseat moderation at worst. My post was perfectly on topic and if you’re trying to tell me the only thing that can be discussed here is this specific case or the subject of rape in general, think again.

Lot of assumptions there, not one of which is correct. Bye.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Candlel

What percentage of women rely on a man for contraception?

Men have a choice about pregnancy, no sex, or use a condom.

Equating lying about contraception to rape is an interesting take.

In some jurisdictions (eg. the UK), so-called "stealthing" is indeed rape.

https://rapecrisis.org.uk/get-informed/types-of-sexual-violence/what-is-stealthing/

-The definition or meaning of the word 'stealthing' is when someone removes a condom during sex without the other person's consent or lies about having put one on in the first place.

-Stealthing is rape under English and Welsh law. This means that someone who carries it out can be prosecuted for rape.

-Like all rape, stealthing is a very serious crime that carries a maximum sentence of life in prison.

-'Stealthing' is a slang word, not a legal term. The legal term for this act is 'rape'.

England's law on this appears a good thing and I wish more places had similar for stealthing and other forms of reproductive coercion. "There are three forms of reproductive coercion, including pregnancy coercion, birth control sabotage, and controlling the outcome of a pregnancy.[1][6]"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reproductive_coercion

Women can't commit rape under UK law, so that's a different issue altogether to what the poster was replying to.

One thing that is becoming clear concerning prevention is the need to find the flashers and the upskirters etc.

That doesn't fix the problem of how many of the other men were ready to rape women, but by removing the more brazen ones, the Wayne Couzens and the Dominique Pelicots, first of all that would remove a lot of those very worst offenders/psychopaths, and in the case of someone like Pelicot, it would also have stopped him from enabling the opportunists. How many of those would-be rapists might never have dared cross that line without his encouragement and organisational skills?

These crimes need to be treated as HIGH PRIORITY, not considered as mere misdemeanours, because they are often a gateway to violent sexual assault. They are meant to frighten and intimidate, and men who want to do that to women, do it because they want to harm women.

In the context of the events this threads is concerned with, claims that "Sexual assault numbers by women are not materially different than sexual assault numbers by men" is inappropriate IMO. And trying to "prove" that claim by falsely equating a woman having an unplanned pregnancy with a man deliberately removing a condom doesn't help. Not all unplanned pregnancies are as a result of the woman having "lied" to her partner - much less that 40% of women do so. Unevidenced by any sources of course.

So I've no idea what you mean by the comment above? Women should be charged with rape if they have an unplanned pregnancy? I don't think that would work too well. And it's really not comparable to drugging and raping a woman multiple times anyway.