Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Russia-Ukraine War

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Field east

can UKr not claim that every time that Russia bombs a civilian site , ccevilian accomodation block, electricity supply utilities, residential areas - especially outside the Donbas / Luhansk area - being bombed, produce markets where people are buying daily supplies, international cyper attacks, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc that Russia is excalatingthe conflict each time. Ukr can then threaten Russia with an equivalent strike AND ONnRUSSIAN territory. Preview. Ukr should adapt the policy of ‘ an eye for an eye or its equivalent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

The allies need to supply Ukraine with enough anti artillery to protect Kiev further and then let Ukraine strike Russia all it likes with long range missiles. See if Russia can get anywhere bear damaging Kiev then.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If there's a class system of the human race in different parts of the world. Then there's clearly a class system in Russia. It seems there's the class Putin was holding in reserve at all costs or those that could afford to bribe the system to avoid the frontline are now on the frontline.

⬇️ this link Elon won't allow be embed as it's of captured Russian prisoners on the battlefield.

x.com/Maks_NAFO_FELLA/status/1834930699524006009

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The Russian armoured attacks on pokrovsk are so big we've not seen anything on that scale since Avdiivka. Thankfully Ukraine have dealt with the waves so far. Potentially good news in Kursk despite the Russian counter attack.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Looks like the Wests policy to Special Range Missiles is to allow it, but not publicly allow it. Just like North Korean and Iranian missiles.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Polar101

That's great, but 2.5 years into the war and they've just begun? Hopefully that's not fully accurate.

They started a few months back. I suppose it took time to shift to nato standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I hope this is true, but what are you basing it on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Few quotes on the twitter sphere from the lads I usually post. But could easily be wrong.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

From telegram:

"The Netherlands will not be able to provide Ukraine with the Patriot air defense system due to the refusal of one of its allies, the "NL Times" reports.

At the end of June, the Netherlands together with an unnamed country announced the delivery of Patriot to Ukraine. However, it has now become known that the ally withdrew from this agreement.

“The necessary components for the complete Patriot system have already been assembled. The Netherlands provided three launchers and a radar, and the rest was to be supplied by an ally,"

the Dutch Ministry of Defense previously stated.

Defense Minister Ruben Breckelmans said that the Netherlands has already handed Ukraine a radar and will soon send three launchers. They are currently looking for another ally to supply the remaining components.

"We continue our work in this direction. Negotiations are ongoing with several partners,"

Brekelmans said."

My money is on the US or NATO which is basically run by the US anyway. Obviously didn't want Ukraine having a PAC 3 capable patriot that could reach deep inside Russia. Scumbags.

So things should start looking break for Russia but Putin won't go without a fight. The general mobilisation would be very tough for Ukraine to deal with but provide them with enough aid and they will prevail.

Russia aims to end the war by late 2025 or early 2026 with a victory due to anticipated serious economic problems starting in mid-2025 and the need for mobilization, which could destabilize the socio-political situation, according to GUR Head Budanov.

https://interfax.com.ua/news/general/1013845.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Avatar in the Post

Russia aims to do lots of things… Kiev in 3 days. Ukraine kicked out of Russia by Oct 1st… indoor plumbing for the serfs (a guess seeing as this is what occupies the Invaders in Ukraine).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I see a female motorcyclist with a large following on another forum who is travelling the world on her bike has been in Georgia. As part of travelling in Georgia she has to by law go across the russian border and get a permit to travel in Georgia.

(To anyone with a brain reading that, their spidey senses would immediately be twitching. And you'd be correct big time.)

She was told by the Georgian authorities that it'd be a half an hour job. Just go across and get your card stamped and back across back into Georgia. She was waived through the border into Russia with no delay. When she presented herself at the office in Russia. They were surprised she was there in the first place. Then she was put into a cell and then the interrogation started if she was a spy. She had to hand her phone over and all social media accounts were gone through. She started shouting on the cell door and the interrogations started again about did she hear of the special operation in Ukraine and why she was travelling the world. She said they all had a wry smile as she was being interrogated. As they had the power to do what they pleased with her. After a full 24 hours she was let go back to Georgia. One of the interrogators said they were sorry for this but that it won't always be this way. Whatever she said that meant.

So a lesson for any gullible eejits out there.

Those border officials will be lucky not to find themselves assigned to the front, letting a valuable hostage go rather than exchange for GRU agents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,212 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭macraignil

It's as clear as day the American war planners want this war to drag on another few years to inflict maximum damage on Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

I posted few weeks ago but Norwegians are to thank for transferring plans, equipment, know how for Ukrainians to build shells themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

Situation in Kursk deteriorating for the Rashists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Hi Ivan, how’s Orwell Road?

Here’s a tip- no one believes you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I have done a lot of research and it took me a long time to write this comment

Well at least you wasting your time is one positive outcome from that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,300 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You open with:

Zelensky didn't try to prevent the conflict through diplomacy because he lacks honour and integrity.

How can that be fact checked? Thats not a fact. That is your personal opinion which is without merit or foundation.

So how do we know what are expressions of opinions or misrepresentations of facts. Already your post has lost all credibility.

Facts can be presented in a way to misrepresent and deceive. Propaganda.

There was no coup. It is your claim. Supported by exactly nothing.

You state that everything you wrote can be verified while posting things like 'hint'? Conspiracy theory nonsense.

What you dont mention is that Russia has no right to dictate such red lines to Ukraine. It is a violation both of Budapest and NATO Russia Founding Act. Remarkable that your post doesnt mention these isnt it?

Russias legitimate security concerns wrt NATO were recognised in those treaties and Ukraine joining NATO is allowed by those treaties.

Likewise Russia never adhered to Minsk. That is what is behind the comments from EU leaders. Russia was not a good faith party to the negotations.

"A major blockage has been Russia's insistence that it is not a party to the conflict and therefore is not bound by its terms."

https://www.reuters.com/world/europe/what-are-minsk-agreements-ukraine-conflict-2022-02-21/

Oh so concerned about Azov and not a mention of Wagner? Not believable.

You have done a lot of research but none of that came up? Nope. Your claims have negative credibility.

This is just a dump of discredited pro Russian propaganda.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭blackwave

@Luna84 "Soon after, there was a massacre in Odessa"

Both sides were throwing petrol bombs inside the building and it got out of control.

"For 8 years the Ukrainian military was indiscriminately shelling civilians living in Donbas."

Russian false flags.

Didn’t zelensky get elected on platform of wanting to do a deal with Putin which he did only for Putin to tear it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Polar101

"I have stated a lot of facts and I have given my honest opinion"

You must have copypasted the wrong document, the post was devoid of facts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Research" I.E. verbatim regurgitation of the Kremlin spin. Spin that has evolved by the by. Many Russians seem to suffer from amnesia(& fear), so the Kremlin wrongly assumed people beyond their borders would also forget.

For 8 years the Ukrainian military was indiscriminately shelling civilians living in Donbas

You forgot the 16,000 Russians killed line. In fact at least 6000 of those were Ukrainian(Russia herself claimed 10,000 plus Ukrainians killed). Now I've asked you this before, to deafening silence on your part; when did the vast majority of those deaths occur? Hint:2014-16. How many died in 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021? Russia themselves say just over 600 of their men were killed in that period. So why didn't Putin officially invade at the height of the killings he's claiming are his reason for invading in 2022? I say officially as his "little green men" were, already in country. Something he denied for years and then admitted.

Most of all; how many dead, injured and displaced are there now since Putin's invasion? Ukraine is now the most mined nation on Earth. There is a zone of utter devastation so big it can be easily seen from orbit.

someone visited Zelensky in Kiev at that time Russia's national security was compromised once NATO began to expand eastwards.

Ah Boris Johnson, again. The same Russian speaking Boris who was so in bed with FSB connected oligarchs, he visited them in Italy when he was the British Foreign Secretary without his government entourage, who elevated one oligarch's son to the British peerage, who so concerned the British intelligence services they went public with their concerns. That Boris Johnson? Interesting choice of the Kremlin's spin…

But forget all that, one fact torpedoes this spin; the talks went on for weeks after Johnson had left. Oh and try and find these Kremlin claims from the time it was going on. It was many months before they spun that up and it took nigh on a year before Putin after cranking up his word processor and printer before he claimed he had the documents. You'd think they'd be shouting about at the time, no? No, at the time it was the famous "feint" that had them back off from Kiev.

Oh and those WMD Biolabs and weaponised birds and insects. They've gone quiet on them haven't they? Even though they're in control of a large chunk of Ukraine for two years they couldn't even invent the "evidence". Don't mention the sims, or any "waifs in their underwear"…

Russia clearly stated that Ukraine joining NATO was a red line (November 2021) and unfortunately this concern was never taken seriously. The Russians openly stated: if nothing changes, we will be forced to act in order to defend our national security. Enhancing the national security of one country at the expense of another is unacceptable. The Russians have legitimate security concerns.

If you didn't have your flag planted so firmly in one camp you would know that it was impossible for Ukraine to join NATO. Unlike your Russian friends NATO members have to be voted in and it has to be voluntary. And most of all no potential NATO member can be approved if they have an active conflict on their lands. Y'know, the Donbas war you claim was what kicked off this "SMO"? It wouldn't get past the first stage. It's written in black and white in the charter of NATO.

Oh and you do realise that Latvia already a NATO member for years is closer to Moscow than Ukraine? Never mind that now after Putin's fcukup his border with NATO has doubled. Nice one Vlad. 🤦‍♂️

Darya Dugina (journalist) R.I.P.

You spelled "hard right ultra-nationalist fascist" wrong. Goebbels was a "journalist" too and had written over a dozen books. Oh and for your own "research" look up both the actual law and timeline and non signing of said laws around the Russian language in Ukraine. Though I find it hilarious that Russia of all places bitches about squashing languages after their post war Eastern Bloc nonsense, especially in the Baltics.

But as sure as the sun rises at least a third of the above will be memory holed and the script changed by the Kremlin, if it suits, and the faithful will learn the new catechism ready to spread the UNBIASED good word.

The Wagner coup a great example and a good example of how so very different, even alien Russian political culture truly is. Prigozhin at first berated the military leaders and their screwups, but then berated "grandpa in his bunker" and then went on to say that the reasons for the invasion were bogus, effectively repeating what Kiev had been saying and that it was a screwup from the start. He then invades Russia, panics the Kremlin, then some deal is worked out, a stash of his joke shop disguises are rolled out and within a couple of weeks he's back in the Kremlin glad handing African diplomats at an official Kremlin junket. Perfectly normal(save for the Russian service people who were killed by Wagner on Russian soil). Then he gets offed. Cos Putin. Can you imagine any of that happening in any other nation that's even vaguely open, democratic and normal? If that was a Hollywood script it would be rejected as being internally daft.

But like I say that's been memory holed. As has the horrific ISIS slaughter of civilians in Moscow, among so many other things. But hey, keep on keeping on. Ukrainian spin can be "interesting" at times, but they do far less memory holing and are far less, well, weird. I await the next installment.

PS Jimmy Dore, Roger Waters? Ah jaysus…😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,212 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Your the bigger idiot for wasting so much time on that nonsense.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

This old chestnut again! What is your evidence and how do you draw the conclusions for same?

At the very outset of the war, the US was planning to supply primarily weapons that could be used in an insurgency type scenario.

If that isnt proof that the US didnt plan this, then surely the fact that the money the US s spending is such a hot topic politically? If they were really trying to spin it out and cause maximum damage to Russia, why isnt the US producing 3 million unguided shells a year for them?

The reality is that America has provided far more aid to Ukraine than they were originally comfortable with, and tbey have no real interest in a war with Russia because they see that as Europes problem while they (America) are focussed on China.

Americas first choice would be an outright Ukrainian victory. The second choice would be a quick but bloody Russian victory. The law drawn out war is the best of the other sub optimal outcomes, but it is far from ideal.

If you have a good counter argument based on what is happening Id love to hear it. But I dont think its helpful to just assert this as the putative reason for US reluctance to give additional aid.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair B, I am a big idiot, so I figured go with the flow. 😁

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

Post edited by SchrodingersCat on

I didn't say America planned the war itself. But it's clear as day the drip feeding of weapons and red tape on their use is tying one hand behind Ukraines back. They see this as an opportunity to completely destroy Russia's Soviet stockpiles over a 4/5 year period. It's not in their interest to end this war after 2 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I certainly wouldn't have the patience, but its important that someone does because what the likes of that poster and the Kremlin Spin Office (indeed any bad-faith spin office) rely on is enough lies getting through unchallenged for enough naïve people to swallow.

Russia will increase its number of soldiers from 1.3M to 1.5M with about 2.4M military personnel overall.

Denmark will send more F16's by the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Putin's still dreaming.

I find it unbelievable that he hasn't had an "accident" yet as the rest of the Russian hierarchy must really be feeling the pinch at this stage. Mad Vlad has been responsible for the biggest balls up in Russia in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I wouldn't be surprised if Mad Vlad declared the area still in Ukraine's hands on 1st of October no longer Russia. Master Strategist's aims complete.

I joked about that before lol, only matter of time before Putin claims Kursk was never Russia

September 16, 2034 - Putin- “Areas outside Moscow ring road was never truly Russia, bring out your boys to die for a geriatric old man, oooooooorrrraaaaahhhh!”

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭AngeloArgue

Driven back in Pokrovsk. Hundreds more km2 taken by Ukraine in Kursk. Drones striking military and industrial targets hundreds of KMs inside Russia. F16s on combat missions above Ukraine.

Looks like the tide has changed against Russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Russia will reduce it's population from 144.2 million to 139.7 million by the end of the war.