Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2024-25 UEFA Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,122 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

They now have the champions pathway and the other pathway so you could just let the champions drop to a lower tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Match Day 1
    Tuesday 17th September
    17:45 Kick-offs
    Juventus (ITA) V PSV Eindhoven (NED) - Live on TNT Sports 2
    BSC Young Boys (SUI) V Aston Villa FC (ENG) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 1

20:00 Kick-offs
    AC Milan (ITA) V Liverpool (ENG) - Live on Premier Sports 1 Ireland / Amazon UK
    FC Bayern München (GER) V GNK Dinamo (CRO) - Live on TNT Sports 2
    Real Madrid C.F. (ESP) V VfB Stuttgart (GER) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 1
    Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) V LOSC Lille (FRA) - Live on TNT Sports 4

Wednesday 18th September
    AC Sparta Praha (CZE) V FC Salzburg (AUT) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 5
    Bologna FC 1909 (ITA) V FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) - Live on TNT Sports 4

Celtic FC (SCO) V ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK) - Live on Premier Sports 1 Ireland / RTE Two / TNT Sports 2
    Club Brugge KV (BEL) V Borussia Dortmund (GER) - Live on TNT Sports 5
    Manchester City FC (ENG) V FC Internazionale Milano (ITA) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 1
    Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) V Girona FC (ESP) - Live on TNT Sports 4

Thursday 19th September

FK Crvena zvezda (SRB) V SL Benfica (POR) - Live on TNT Sports 4
    Feyenoord (NED) V Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 2

AS Monaco (FRA) V FC Barcelona (ESP) - Live on Virgin Media Two / TNT Sports 2
    Atalanta BC (ITA) V Arsenal FC (ENG) - Live on RTE Two / Premier Sports 1 Ireland / TNT Sports 1
    Atlético de Madrid (ESP) V RB Leipzig (GER) - Live on TNT Sports 4
    Stade Brestois 29 (FRA) V SK Sturm Graz (AUT) - Live on TNT Sports 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Villa giving Young Boys a good spanking

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Villa firmly in control just don’t concede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭jj880

Anyone know how to check the Amazon Prime feed details on an LG TV for Milan Liverpool?

Its a great quality feed.

Great match also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Delighted the dive wasn't rewarded

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Who needs ceentre forwards when you have centre backs like that !

Is Shearer drunk? Talking some load of bollox

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Standard for him, glad I don't have to listen to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Milan players have basically downed tools since Maldini's contract was terminated. Before that, the hardest working team in Europe. Could they bring him back, would he come back? Pioli didn't like his influence in the first team, but he instilled belief and fight in them, that it was an honour to play for them. They've lost that buy in since he left.

They're a shambles now

Goals show is available on TNT 3 but its not the same without the usual European line up

True just seems worse than usual rambling on. Jon Champion is obviously getting annoyed with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Pen gets to take some amount of pens for club and country, his stats would look wildly different in another era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Oof, Bayern didn't hold back, total demolition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Madrid came through a tricky tie, unconvincing though despite 3 1 scoreline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭doc_17

I see Harry Kane scoring lots of goals that aren’t important. And penalties. He needs to do it when it really really matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭klose

50+ goals already for Bayern and he’s playing for them little over a year, he’s holding up his end of the bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Going to be a lot of games that are meaningless for at least one team by around week 5/6.

Next Man City manager: You lot may all be internationals and have won all the domestic honours there are to win under Pep. But as far as I'm concerned, the first thing you can do for me is to chuck all your medals and all your caps and all your pots and all your pans into the biggest **** dustbin you can find, because you've never won any of them fairly. You've done it all by bloody cheating.

yeah, how many of those goals made a difference in big game? I’m not saying he’s useless, how could I, but he’s not a man for the big occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Are the extra TNT channels available on Now TV? How about Livescore? Do they still have rights to show the obscure matches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭rpirl

Was Dovbyk the only big player who left Girona? Would be good if van de Beek could do well there but him and Miovski just might not be good enough if they want to build on last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,156 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

1-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Might be a rights issue, might be TNT, but they have made a right horses ar5e of the goal show. More like Soccer Saturday now, watching the so-called experts like Joe Cole watching the games rather than flicking from the action in one game and another. No Jimbo and the other regulars (tonight anyway). Load of boll1x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Only things worse than TNT coverage.

1. Man City "kit"
    2. PSG teamwork and will to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,079 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I actively avoid TNT coverage because of the likes of Joe Cole & Rio. Those 2 are the worst of the worst 'pundits' in my eyes. And the other ex-players they have on aren't much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Not a braincell between them, particular dislike for Rio. I look at the former players, how the difference in character going into management putting your neck on the line vs these lads who like the sound of their own voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

That is a cracker of a goal for Bratislava.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

seems to be teething problems with the sound & cameras too. Not impressed so far…

The ‘leaving us in suspense about which team scored’ thing is even lamer than before when you can see the celebration on one of the screens…

This City Inter game has the feeling of a CL quarter final of 2002-2012 ish era of the away team keeping it tight but combative at the same time on the break and not just sitting deep holding on. I'm enjoying the cagey and competitive nature to it.

We wouldn't have got this match up in the old format. Might just be a once off but we don't know yet.

You don't get an Irishman scoring a goal in the CL group stages for 13 years and then you get 2 in an hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Blow it up ref!

I said the same last night they have ruined it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭xtal191

Some amount of shite teams in it this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

The trouble with expanding the tournament is that there really only 6-10 top class teams most years so they're just diluting it more and more. Seeing all the dregs in one table just seems to accentuate it.

it's only 4 teams extra this season, not 16 dregs! Those clubs ye are calling crap are in it every other year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭randd1

I know it's early days, and seeing Celtic and Villa put on a show in Europe was worth watching, and there's been a few cracking goals, but is it all still a bit 'meh'?

If it was simply about adding more games, would it have not been better to go back to the two group phase format from a few years back? You know, 8 groups of 4 gets whittled down to 4 groups of 4, then into the QF's.

The top teams would have more games against more top teams as they wanted, and likely a little bit less dross in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

What's this? Teams that aren't Man Utd or Liverpool……?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

To be fair, albeit with the gameweek not over yet, having Celtic, Leverkusen and Villa sitting in the top 4 points to it being good so far.

The group stages haven't been good in years. That's one reason they had the reason or excuse to make the league bigger. Yea, you get one or 2 games OK every year, but a lot of dead rubbers and meaningless games as well. Not much of a change this year, we'll see some good games, and a lot of filler, and the knock outs might redeem it after Xmas, but we'll continue to watch it doromfthe long nights.

Those Doritos, Domino pizzas and Heineken won't sell themselves.... keep watching those ads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Should just be 32 teams straight Knockout over two legs for each round.

this Arsenal Atalanta match is dreadful. Arsenal really know how to make a game c**p!

Post edited by doc_17 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No tournament has ever got better by adding more teams.

Just look at Euros for a good example.

Jesus but that was a lonnnnng ass half. Arsenal are getting harder to watch by the week, 4 CBs shielded by, Partay and Rice, 2 primarily defensive players, and now it seems Reya has morphed into John Lucic kicking every ball long as well - George Graham would be proud!

Everyone to their own of course, if you enjoy this type of thing, but this is one expensively assembled Tony Pulis tribute act.

It's time to turn on the Netflix.

Well able to shut a game game down and keep it shut down. Arteta sort of reminds of Benitez in that aspect.

Arsenal games are not entertaining to watch as a neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Brilliant double save/ Wonderful Raya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Caustic

It's nice to see Atlanta and inter put it up to arsenal and city hopefully a sign that Italian football is on the way back to being really competitive at the top table