Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline: Old thread full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,713 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

HE's sick of it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,107 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What colour was the 6p cane you bought him?

Yeah......he done nuthin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Tow

This is Joe's logic that gurriers become a good citizen once they reach 30.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Joe frantically trying to tot up how many months old a 12 year old is.

I wonder if Joe got a clatter for not knowing his 12 Times Tables?

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭squonk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

proper order.

M

Lol, someone unhappy with Joe on Twitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Would Joe just say what happened to him so we can move on 🤔

He's definitely hiding something, maybe he enjoyed it and is feeling guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Joe: "For some reason she(the nun) took a scunder to ye." 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Paterson Jerins

Joe made a mess of that quote

Joe's heavy breathing is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Another vulnerable man who Joe is encouraging to detail his trauma live on the radio, rather than to a qualified psychologist or counsellor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭mountain

Duffy seems determined to speak to everyone in the country who got a bating at school,

Is there no one in RTE who can reign this bollix in?

'Thief Boy'

😀

M

Thief Buoy…a good name for a youthful villan.

M

Even someone calling in to complain about the carbon monoxide advert would be a nice change at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I'm wodering how many people commenting here were in National and Secondary school during those horrendous times. People that weren't have no idea what it was like.

M

I wasn't but I could probably script a film on it as this stage, he's on week 3 of it with the country burning down around him with other topics needing attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Self -inflicted combustion? 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Another day of this sh1t. RTE need to be held accountable for its content. As tragic as this topic was 3 weeks ago and as stated before it has dropped down the news feeds and more pressing issues need to be discussed.

Joe loves all this misery and listening to people relive their trauma is downright wrong.

M

A casino element in the punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Maybe he's saving his story to use when publicising his new book?

Then again, that would make him a crass and cynical c.nt.

This woman has stayed up the middle of the night in Australia to add to Joe's gallery of woe.

"Liquorice stick." Say that fast a dozen times.

I'm ten years younger than Joe and everyone knew what teachers to avoid for the worst beatings,

Joe acting like he never knew anything like this went on in his school,

I'd love one of his class mates to ring in

Remember Mr pervy Joe, used to always keep you behind, you'd have a big smile on your face when he'd finished with you, do you remember that Joe, you'd love sitting on his lap, think you were 14 or 15, you never wanted to go home you loved it Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭mountain

Duffy can’t wait to get rid of her.

She had little to no misery

Ah FFS ya one has said i hope this carries on, it's been weeks and weeks

I read Joe's book (forgive me, library book 😁)

And if my memory serves me Joe's dad was pretty handy with the beatings

He acts as though everyone had a fantastic childhood apart from these callers

Joe: "Credits are all to me because I am great. Vote for Joe."

Yes. Joe's 3 weeks of misery is bringing out PTDS symptoms. It is not been hit with the leather once or twice, which I was. It was not used sadistically at that stage in the school. But I was once thrown across the room into the wall for leaving work in another classroom. I did not know I left it until I opened up my book to hand it to him. Whack, with the teacher in a fit of rage. I was only 12/13 at the time. That teacher left the following year and went to England. Last week I discovered a YouTube video interview with him. His life story after he left Ireland, seemed to have done well for himself! The school had an another infamous teacher, who I just missed being taught by. Plenty about him on the Internet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

I was in primary and secondary in the 50s and up to the late 60s. Maybe I was lucky but I saw very little corporal punishment. That was with 3 different orders of nuns. Actually I have very good memories of my schooldays.

Boys’ schools certainly had more of a reputation for being rough, but there again I never heard horror stories from my brothers or their mates. Again maybe they were lucky.

Country schools with the old ‘master’ system were hit and miss. Some of them were bullies who had way too much power in the parish, but there were other country schools with fantastic teachers.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

someone was asking yesterday about Joe's contract - hes said he isn't having it renewed he's leaving when its gone, so he will grind his axe away till then. Not that this isnt an important topic and that it shouldn't be heard, but Joe should be attacking the system that not only caused and allowed this but is actively working against the survivors at least as much as giving a voice to the victims.

After weeks of this it is counter productive now, there is so much of it that it is becoming "just another story" and people will get fed up and tune out (mentally and actually) - maybe Joe is enduing in some grand plan to demonstrate the blandness of mass evil, but i doubt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

I was, and like almost everyone I was in there with i got the occasional wallop from a teacher known for it, and suffered the cane for spelling mistakes and talking during class. However, i was at the very end of it, it was all banned when i was in secondary and it seemed like it was fading out anyway when i compared what we went through with what my uncles would recall from their times - but I was always in lay schools they were in the brothers.

It wasn't long after the ban that the teacher i mentioned above started on a lad in 3rd year but with a new twist of "I'll take you on after school" and when he did the lad absolutely smashed him. Removed form the fearful environment of the classroom and without the backing of the state it was a different story.

TBF i think the people who come across as light hearted here are mostly reacting to Joe and not to their stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Meanwhile, in Clontarf, an emaciated, dehydrated cat has been stuck up a tree for the last three weeks wondering when is Duffy going to send the Fibregade out!

Man who allegedly left building with child refused bail

The court heard Visak Rajesh Leela, who is a student from India, is in Ireland on a student visa and has an address in south Dublin.

A district court imposed reporting restrictions on his name earlier this week.

But those restrictions were lifted by Judge Alan Mitchell this afternoon, following an application by lawyers representing RTÉ and other media organisations.

Does the middle of the night only apply to americans calling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭squonk

I’d love to hear a teacher ring in saying he needed to give the little bollixes a good wallop because they never do their homework and it didn’t do them any harm.

Post edited by squonk on

Joe will get another week out of it, giving gainful employment to voice actors reading aloud dat auld thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I grew up with this and if you told adults about what happened you weren't believed and slapped for telling lies or you did something to deserve it so you might get more slaps.

People saying why not tell adult or parents see above and but I'm sick of hearing this cr@p for weeks having lived through it. It just brings up bad memories for me and not helping anyone including the callers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Yeah I could just turn off and that is what I did. Turn in the odd time and the same sh1t with Joe low breathing like well you know…

Post edited by Jeff2 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Anyone who tunes out....

Is getting 12 of the best accross the fingers and a bite on the ars3 from Joe's XL Bully dog (Brenda)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Today:

Same sh!t, different day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,270 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Lol

After listening to Joe list out the names that teachers called the people who rang in these last 3 weeks, we should keep a list of the names Joe has been called on this thread.

Joe reads out a long list of derogatory names pupils were called, as stated by Gabriel Byrne. More more more school beatings. Priest, friction, beatings, matches…