Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭popsmoke

I applied. I hope to hear something back in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Jimmy.1733

how did ye go in stage 2 lads? Did you get an OOM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Yeah sorry, meant stage 1 for the OOM results. Stage 2 interview 🥵

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Marty1476

hey Jimmy, I got oom of 55. has anyone any advice for the interview? I've only done an interview for the full-time role (which didn't work out)- just wondering if it's as intense or is it more casual with less prep needed

Not fact but i have heard it is not nearly as intense @Marty1476

I am way down in mid 300's so im a bit behind. Have you got emails looking for some details from you? I hear they are getting ready for interviews. All the best with it

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Just wanted to check, are you 100% on that OOM number? Have a guess why I think you might be wrong…

Thanks Jimmy, i don't think the oom means much tbh. I got the email to send details last week and got interview information today. The structure seems to be very similar to the full time interview

Interview links look to be sent out today.
    Anyone doing the interviews next week, Let us know how ye get on lads. All the best 👊

had mine this morning. Very hard to know how it went cause they don't give anything away. Two on the panel, one from Public jobs and a Detective Sergeant. The DS went through 'resilience and motivation' to be a reserve and the public jobs woman went through teamwork and previous work history

Just got my interview date for the end of September, my oom was in around the mid 300s in case anyone is wondering were about they are in calling for interviews. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated in regard the interview

Cheers folks

Not sure if this helps but here's some points they focused on in my interview.

Motivation to be a garda reserve: The asked how would I feel taking orders from someone younger than me. They also asked when the last time I had to prepare a long document. How would I feel being around violent situations, dead bodies etc.

Community engagement: They asked about volunteer work and how that would help me in a role with AGS, working with the community etc.

Resilience: They asked about my resilience under pressure and for some examples of that. Also how I have dealt with difficult situations within work with other colleagues or as part of the community.

They seemed to circle back a few times to when 'I was faced with a difficult or dangerous situation and how I handled it'

Teamwork: They asked for examples of when I was faced with a task as a team leader and how I overcame obstacles to complete the task, they then asked for an example of when I was part of a team but not the leader and what my input was to help achieve the goal.

Sorry if this makes it sound difficult but my personal advice is to start a note book with some examples of the above and add to it day by day until you're comfortable with a few examples that you can speak about confidently

Fair play @Marty1476. Great information and something to think about, very much appreciated.
    Hope you hear back, i was reading it could be with in the next 10 days you guys will hear something back. Keep me updated if you get good news 👍

any word back? still waiting

Did you get another OOM number after the interview Marty? I dont have mine until next week so im a bit behind you

I haven't gotten my result from the interview yet, I thought it would be quicker to hear back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭jopax

I would imagine it would be no harm to send an email just enquiring as to the results of the interview.

Interesting, from what i have read lads got results in 10-14 days of the interview. Definitely may be worth sending an email….

I don't have my interview until Friday morning this week so unfortunately a bit behind you

I sent an email but nothing back yet. Any advice ?

Just got my interview results today, did the interview last week. Have you heard anything?
    Saw on another forum there is a number to ring 6662571, supposedly very helpful and the email (which i presume is the one you mailed but just in case) gardareserve2024@publicjobs.ie

all the best, keep me upto date

passed the interview, thankfully! I've sent off the vetting form and I did the medical so just waiting for more updates at this point. Any movement on your side? I haven't chased anything up myself cause I'm up to my eyes with my job at the moment, and no news is usually good news with AGS :-)

Happy Days man, fair play. Im in the same boat myself. Vetting was rough but flew the medical. Keep me up to date on how you go pal or if you hear anything. All the best

has your vetting come back already? I used to live in a few other countries in my younger years so I know that's gonna hold things up

No, i have not had anything back like yourself. I think will struggle to get past the vetting, alot of information needed i couldn't source but we will see what happens. Are you in Batch 1 or 2 to be called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Can someone DM me a blank copy of form b please

I haven't been given a batch? I honestly don't know what batch 1 or 2 means. I haven't heard anything from AGS since attending the medical and uploading the vetting form, have you had any feedback?

the form B is all online, you 'save' your progression as you go through it. It's not the form they used to send out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 chippyireland

oom was 216 . got a email today to book medical. sent medical centre a email today . hopefully my paperwork comes back without having to fix anything. been a few weeks now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 nippy12

MY b form was paper if I remember correctly

So the batch is were you are on your OOM listing. Those from 1-198 on the oom would be batch 1

Batch 2 then the next 198 on the oom and so on.

Heard nothing back myself but no one seems to have, they are running the vetting and medicals simultaneously so just a waiting game.
    Saw today they are looking to take in the first group of reserves by the end of the year

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/question/2024-11-05/773/

Ah, I get ya now with the batches. My vetting will be a nightmare, it's the first time I've been asked to get reports from other countries I've lived in, usually AGS would do that themselves and not sure why they're asking us to get these reports ourselves. I'm expecting that to hold me up a lot.