Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run Like A Girl!

• 12-03-2024 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

Been meaning to start a log. I'm literally just putting down a marker so my adhd brain will actually see it through (at some point in the future time / space continuum). Maybe I'll never write here or maybe, just maybe, I'll be the Ann Frank of the Training Log forum 😄

A friend gifted me a sweatshirt last Christmas with the above emblazoned on the front and, as I'm unoriginal as feck, so it becomes my log title.

I'm doing Tallaght 5km on Paddy's Day, hoping for a pb. My last 5km pb was a whopper (for me) so I expect it to be marginal, but anything on the pb front is always great.

Lying here beside crazy toddler who's finally nodded off, now to make the dinner. Oh wondrous life! 😀

MM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Alexus25

Good luck MM 🌟🌟🌟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Welcome to the world of logging (hopefully😅) You're doing some great training at the moment, great to see! Best of luck with the Tallaght 5k on Paddys day💚

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭MiniMonstera

Ok, I finally have time (and focus) to post. Whoop 🤩

So a little bit about me. I’ve been on Boards a bit due to having completed my first marathon in 2023 so I was active in the Novice group last year. Got great advice throughout the weeks and months of training and made many firm friends along the way, many of whom I have since met. Being in that group enabled massive growth within my running journey, both physically and mentally, so once again a massive thanks to the mentors and all those who contributed. I'm (almost) 45 and running since Lockdown 2020, having been sedentary all my life.

After the 2023 marathon, I was back out running soon enough but I think mentally I was a bit traumatised from it. I kept the wheels turning with short easy running and did the Jingle Bells 5km Race in early December. I hadn't trained for this and didn't even know I was signed up (thanks, husband) and low and behold I got a PB (still had a lot of fitness banked from the marathon, I guess). The conditions were ideal for me – overcast but dry and bitterly cold (-3°C). I overheat easily when running so these conditions were optimal, not to mention that the last 1.5kms or so were downhill. I did it in 24.02 negative split, my previous race that year was 25.11, so I was thrilled. It was totally unexpected and I was not watching the watch at the end when I was going all out - had I known I was 3 seconds off a sub 24 I’d have pushed it more and actually vomited over the finish line (came close but managed to hold it back). Through December and January I again kept the wheels turning, with no real goal in mind, but the elation from the 5km success stuck with me and so I decided to train for the Tallaght 5km. And here I am, having put in 6 weeks of focussed running with help from the lovely @skyblue46 who is definitely not my coach but is giving me coach based direction and advice whilst definitely absolutely not being my coach😄. My coach – I mean @skyblue46! – said that 6 weeks was not long enough to train properly for a 5km but I’m still going to try and do him proud at Tallaght with a 23.59 - I’m not making any promises though as the last km or so is uphill, and I can attest that Tallaght is a cyclonic fecker at the best of times. I do one last shake out run today (leaving it til later), the anxiety is only massive! So here’s to 23.59 -  I’ll report back tomorrow! ☘️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭marathon2022

Good luck with the 5k, personally I think it's the hardest race distance. Hate racing it but loved the afters

Chip: 24.39

Well it was a great day and a lovely race. I knew early on I wouldn't make the ambitious pb as it felt hard when on the down sections. However I didn't go absolutely all out and when it came to the uphill in 4th km I passed a few runners out (some were even stopping on the hill) so I think it was a good strategy, but overall, if I'm honest, it ALL felt hard.

The hillwork I did in my training definitely helped as the incline didn't feel horrific, just challenging at that point in the race, and I never once thought of stopping. The 14 degree temp definitely didn't help and I could feel my palms burning from early on. A tip I saw online was to gently press the tips of your index finger and your thumb together, kind of like👌🏽 but without the fanned out fingers, and it definitely helped air circulate around my palms during race.

For some unknown reason, and I didnt even cop it until husband said it afterwards, I slowed right down to a virtual stop with 5 feet still to cross the mat. I do not know why. I can only assume my brain got a bit fuzzy or I was feeling defeated about the pb. Also, I feel like sometimes when I see the imminent finish line I take the foot off the pedal in an act if self preservation, rather than floor it, and I really can't explain it...

I was hard breathing too but I always do that so I just need to get over it, I'm not a quiet runner, not at all, and I'm pretty sure some people let me run past them because they just can't handle me heavy breathing down their neck! 😆

So all in all, a productive day in terms of lessons learned and roll on the next 5km race in summer (when it'll be even warmer!) 🙈☘️

Post edited by MiniMonstera on

Thank you @marathon2022 , it definitely feels like the hardest and there's no room for much variance in pace at all if you're set on a goal, it's just too short a distance to try and make up any fallback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Well done on Sunday! Was lovely to meet you beforehand, albeit briefly! That 4th km did not come with enough warning

Ah it was lovely to meet you. I read your log - well done to you too, a great result!

I'm from that area in Tallaght (if you put a pin right in the middle of the race route you're at my mam's house 😀). I felt knowing the route inside out was more burdensome than not having a clue. I felt every kilometre intensely! 😆

Well done J, was lovely to see you beforehand too. It's a tough enough route and I always lose time on that bloody climb! Haha I used to do the exact same thing on the finish, I'd try a sprint then start slowing down before I was officially over the line🤣. Great to see you'll be doing more 5ks in the summer, they do take a bit of practice & doing some near enough together can sometimes be a good help. You have lot's of improvements to come so enjoy the journey 😊

@Laineyfrecks, you had a fab result, my god you're a speedster!!

I'll have to have a look and see what 5km races are on. SKYblue mentioned one but I forget. The brain fog, I have to say, is unreal at the moment, like so frustratingly bad.

If you remember last yearLeixlip 5km, I nearly died after that and I hated every second of it. It was very, very warm. Also, I just don't know if I'm suited to evening races. You waste energy all throughout the day with race anxiety and stressing about about what to eat and when. At least with morning races you have to just get up and get it done. Also need to look at my diet. I got quite tired at times over the last 6 weeks, even though I found the training very manageable and enjoyable, so just need to up the calories I think - who has time for all the eating though! I'm gonna follow your lead and get into the eggs I think... 😃

Thanks a mill but it's all relative really to each person😊

God, don't talk to me about brain fog(or brain fook as Klopp calls it😂), my kids are lucky if I call them by their actual names! My memory was never great, but it's gotten so bad now. Yeah, I'm with you, defo prefer a morning race. I need to look at nutrition again myself & probably need to go back to the docs, I think I may need my HRT increased, getting symptoms back that I initially got rid of or were only very minor. Oh, the joys of being a woman!! I always find my diet, rest, recovery, and fluid intake is always so good & disciplined during marathon training, so I need to try get myself back on track. I do love eggs so eating 2 or 3 a day is absolutely no problem to me, my main thing now will be trying to cut out the crap I keep eating👀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Ah delighted that you’ve set up a log!! I really enjoyed your posts in the Novice marathon thread. Graduates now!!

well done on all your running since - great time in your 5km with still room for tweaking!

I think I'm going to go to my gp soon, I've ignored it for long enough, but I've literally fallen off a cliff in recent months, particularly with 'out of the ordinary' tiredness, nearly as bad as pregnancy tiredness. I'm thinking that it's going to start affecting my running so I really need to address it. I don't know if they'll put me on hrt as there's a family history of estrogen receptive cancer and blood clotting, but we'll see....😀

Ah so lovely to hear from you @Sunny Dayz. I must pop over to Graduates. I've not had a minute lately - lucky to get my runs in most days! I'm so glad the weather is turning. More energy, more daylight to run, more everything! 😀

So I've failed terribly thus far with this logging lark. As I knew I would.

Last week I had a great week of running, albeit the kids were off. Did some lovely sessions in the evenings. Was chasing daylight a lot but still great. Now that the hour has gone forward I don't know myself - just adore the long evenings! Kids off again this week. Also my sister is visiting from London and husband heading to Milan at weekend so it could be tricky getting my scheduled miles done. Doing avg 45km per week with a view to Bob Heffernan 5km race in May. Sure might as well give the elusive sub 24 another shot 😃.

Hellllooooo! So in true disorganised fashion I hope to post a (commencing Week 2, I think) Weekly DCM Training Log.

I did a few 5km races over the summer and PB'd at 23.06. Also did the Fingal 10km and PB'd at 49.28. Happy now to focus on DCM. I'm booked in for the FD 10 miler at the end of this month.

29 July - 3rd Aug - 69km

Monday: 8km Easy.

Lovely run, rained for the entirety but really can't complain about warm July rain. Keeping the pace at 6.15 and slower keeps me in Zone 2, but there's wiggle room to up the pace, so I need to figure out what Easy is for me now. Also need to be mindful not to get too prescriptive with Zones and work on feel/effort more.

Tuesday: 3 km Easy, 12 x 1 min @ 5km pace (4.36) w/ 1 min easy recov, 3km Easy

This was a lot harder than I thought it would be. It was 21 degrees and full sunshine. Aside from a pause before the reps, I kept this very fluid and it nearly killed me. but it was a great session. Heart rate maxed at 161.

Weds: 12 Km Easy

Another very warm day so ran in the evening but temp still 20 degrees. Lovely run to Castletown House and back. Tired though as I had spent the day at the beach with the kids, so a very active day.

Thurs: 10km incl 10 x 10 sec hill sprint

Another warm day and so a late evening run. My calves screamed at me for the first 3km of this, I was wincing. Muscles were very, very sore. I remember when my mileage initially began to climb in '23 DCM training the same thing happened. Once I got the hill sprints done the pain had gone and the remaining 7km was grand, albeit a bit too fast. I foresee plenty of foam rolling in the weeks to come😯.

Fri: 2km Easy, 2 x 15 min @ 5.20 off 2 mins, 2 km Easy

Warm again although rain forecast. Kept this very fluid but walked the first recovery and stood for the second. Heat combined with fatigue and another evening run after crazy day with the kids had me wiped. During my last 2km the heavens opened and I was drowned. It was glorious.

Sat: Rest. Was so happy to have a down day!

Sun: 18km with pace pickup on last 6km.

This was very enjoyable. Slightly cooler temperature at last. Started out a bit too fast so pulled back to Zone 2, the ramped up for the final 6k. Was a bit breathy at the end but felt great.

Still haven't thought much about marathon pace for October. I'd love to do sub 4 hours but not sure I have it in me. Still get the shivers when I think about DCM '23 and that was closer to 5 hours! 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,318 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Great to see you posting here! You've been absolutely crushing it on Strava recently@MiniMonstera , they must nearly be running out of pb icons to give you!

Ah thank you @witnessmenow! 😊 It's been a good summer of running! I was glad to give the 5k distance a few shots, it's a beast of a race. The 10k is also its own beast. Trying to get into the marathon frame of mind now and honestly I'm crapping it a bit! 🤣🤣

How are you getting on?

I'm getting on pretty good at the moment. About 6 weeks into marathon training now, but I have been training very regularly for over 3 months at this stage.

It's going well, definitely in better shape than last year. But I have similar feelings about the pace of DCM24 as you, I think sub 4 is probably out of reach for me, but something like 4:10 is probably achievable based on some other results over the summer. But I was pretty confident of finishing somewhere near 4:30 last year and that didn't pan out so I have my doubts!

Yes I too thought I'd do better than I did last year but that last 10k was so hard.

5 - 11 Aug 56Km

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 3k Easy, 4 x 2 min hills with jog back recovery, 3k Easy

Nice session, definitely one for waking up a sleepy head!

Weds: 3K Easy, 7k Steady

Nice and drizzly today. Set steady pace at about 5.50 mins p/km

Thurs: 10 km Easy

Woke up feeling absolutely crap and so didn't run in the morning. Just couldn't do it. At one point I felt so tired I did a covid test. Neg thankfully. Got out in the evening and it was a bit of a slog. Think it was just hormonal.

Fri: 2km Easy, 8k @ 5.35, 2 km Easy

Felt much better today. Gorgeous evening. Fab run and paused briefly for Adeleke's race, Gutted for her.

Sat: Rest. Watched Olympics ALL day 😁

Sun: 4k Easy, 15 x 1 min @ 5.50 with 1 min Easy, 2km EAsy, 3km Steady

Wanted to get out earlier as it was a hot one but didn't get going til 10am. The heat and direct sun was unreal and really affected my enjoyment of the run. Also I was dreading the Steady bit but was happy to pick it up at that stage just to get it done. A great session nonetheless.

Total KMs: 54KM

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 3Km Easy, 8 x 3 mins at 10 Mile pace (set that to 5.20, as that’s the target for Frank Duffy this Sunday), 3km Easy.

This was a lovely run. Went out at 7am and it was drizzly but warm for the whole run. The 5.20 was completely manageable but I did wonder if I’d be able to sustain it for 16k on Saturday.

Wednesday – 8KM Easy. Another early morning rise. Felt a bit tired on this one for the first 4k but then got into it. A pleasant run even though surrounded by traffic. Strong wind on the open parts.

Thursday – 6Km with a few 30 second strides. Couldn’t get out until evening time. Kept rigidly within Zone 2 HR and then really enjoyed the strides at the end.

Friday – Rest. A second rest day is a rare treat!!

Saturday – Frank Duff 10 Mile RACE REPORT

Very pleased with this. Shaved 8 minutes off last years’ time. Set out with a plan to run 5.20 p/km ish, didn’t want to go slower than that. I didn’t realise that would give me an 8 min improvement as I tend not to focus on (or even add up) what the total race time would be for a given target pace. Perhaps if I’d know I wouldn’t have had the confidence to push on with it. If anyone remembers my 10 mile from last year, I set out for 90 minutes (target plucked from thin air). The race was extremely tough going, and I actually pulled off to the side with a bout 2 km to go as I just felt crap and was at my limit. I totally overcooked it. A woman pulled me back in and I made it to the end in 94 mins (approx.). I felt weird for ages, nauseous and dizzy. The whole experience was horrible.

This year, I set out at 5.20 p/km (suggested by husband based on recent races) and I knew it would be challenging but doable. I got up at 6am for a shakeout, I do this mainly to get the bowels going so I’ve one less thing to worry about. Set off for PP at 7.30am and had a lift. My compadre parked 4km from the start and we walked / jogged there. Needed the loo again, which was odd, but got it done. Did a few strides to warm up and then got into the pit. Weirdly, the nerves really go the better of me and I became claustrophobic whilst waiting for the gun. The pack was tight and loud. I stood at the front of wave 2 beside the 80 minute balloons. For a split second I thought about running with them, but I gave my head a wobble and said stick to your 5.20 plan – after all I didn’t want a repeat of last year. I wanted to do a good time but enjoy it a smidge too.

Waiting for the gun the conversations got so loud and raucous around me I got really panicky and for about a minute I stood with my head down and index fingers stuffed into my ears. I just wanted to get going, it was a weird one. When we started moving someone patted me on the back as if to say “You’re’ grand, we’re off now”, they must’ve seen me struggling. I let the 80 min ballooners burst ahead and stuck rigidly to my goal pace.

I ran a very solid race. I reckon I would have been able to have short bursts of speaking (one liners, certainly not conversation) so I knew I wasn’t absolutely killing myself. I had the uphill kms jotted on my hand so that I didn’t get into a negative spin on tough sections - worked a treat. Had the usual mental wobble at the half way point but brushed it off quickly and got the head down. The effort was increasing to maintain the pace. With 3 km to go the plan was to up the pace a bit if I could, but the 14th km was a bit congested (path, not road) and I didn’t want to risk running in the grass to get around some people. As soon as the hairpin onto Chesterfield came I put the foot down (well I thought I did) and gave a good push. When I look back on the splits it was only a small kick, but still, it was something. My breathing was heavy. I overtook a fair few people in the last km which was a great boost. Came in at 1:24:27 (2023 was 1:32:47), so PB of 8:20, and nearly 6 mins faster than the 90 balloons! Immediately lay on the grass for a few mins, it was so warm and muggy. But was back to feeling normal not long after. Hooked back up with my mate who came in about 15 mins after me and we walked the 4km back to the car and had a lovely coffee. 😊

Sunday 8km Very Easy – had a lie in so left this one for lunch time. Let my body set the pace and landed at around 6.45 p/km average. Lovely, but tired legs so was pleased when it was done. The 4km walk after the 10 miler definitely helped as DOMS was there but certainly not overwhelming.

p.s. regarding the mental wobble in the pit - it was all imposter syndrome bullcrap, there was no other issue or worry going on and I'm not generally a claustrophobic person. Typical 🤷‍♀️🙄

Week 19 -25 Aug

Mileage – 51KM (should have been circa 70km)

Monday Rest – nice day off. Two days post run and minimal DOMS, thankfully.

Tuesday – headed out for 6.45am run. Session: 3KM, 4 x 1500 @10km race pace with 3 min jog, 3KM Easy.

Well, this was a disaster. Have been feeling iffy for a week or two, feeling like a bad cold is incoming, only never to arrive. Well, this morning something landed. The 3K easy was fine, but as soon as I upped the pace I struggled badly. It felt completely undoable – as if I was being asked to run 3 minute KMs. I couldn’t understand it and tried to ignore it but the watch was letting me know. After the first rep I was bent over hands on knees. Took ages to recover. Stood still for most of it. When watch beeped for second rep I took off but couldn’t manage it. Then, a short but sharp hill (that I’m well used to) put paid to my second effort and I just gave up. But get this - I started to cry uncontrollably. Thank god no one was about that early. So mortifying. A culmination of a few things – my mam who is terminally ill had a bad few weeks and landed in hospital, I had bad PMS (or possibly a peri- whateverthefeck moment) and then also this dose finally landing. Anyway, I easy jogged / walked back to my car and headed home. Had another wee cry when I saw husband and got back into bed for a bit. Mad altogether.

Wednesday – 14KM – didn’t run. Woke up and felt crap, The only option was for a very early morning run if I was to run at all so I took the day as rest / recovery.

Thursday – 8km with 8 x sharp hills. Enjoyable

Friday - Late Evening - 8k Easy into 15 mins at 5.50 – Super, Super enjoyable run, could have done it twice over. Felt strong and healthy, just really enjoyable. Headed home delighted.

Saturday – Woke up again not feeling the best. DOMS in quads from Thursday hills which is weird as the session wasn’t that taxing. Put it down to being sick. Thankfully a rest day today, but a full on day with family stuff. Deteriorated as the day went on. Questioned if Sunday long run was doable at all.

Sunday – 24km. Up and out fairly early. Have been feeling crap in the evenings so wanted to get this done. Very windy and a bit of rain, but very enjoyable. Ran to Celbridge and did 2 loops of Castletown, so nice scenery. Bumped into a couple of other runners I know, so nice chats. Pre run I had a 2 handfuls of Ritz crackers, a pint of water and took some Ibuprofen. Re in-run fuelling, I had 3 tiny packs of jellies from Lidl, ate 2. Had 2 x 250ml water, drank one. Didn’t need more than that. So glad I was up to doing this run, as missing out on 1.5 days of the plan this week was frustrating.

Onward we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭crisco10

Your wobble on Tuesday - I've been there! (not the specifics, particularly your mum - sorry to hear)

I remember starting a 5k time trial a couple of year ago and just broke down about a mile in and felt horrific about me myself and everything.

Life and running are intertwined, (duh!), and they both impact one another. in the long run you'll be stronger for the experience, and nothing to be mortified about.

Ah thank you @crisco10 🤗 yes life and running are definitely intertwined. It’s not the first time I shed a tear when running, it can be so therapeutic. Having a full on sob was certainly a new experience 😆

Week of: 26th Aug – 1st Sept

Total KMs: 67kms

Monday – Rest

Tuesday -3km Easy, 9km @ HMP 5.25 – 5.30, 3km Easy

Well, where do I start with this one. Basically, I had an urgent toilet need about 2km in. Was in a park (but a very open section on a pitch sideline) and I had to go. Immediately. Things got messy but I’m always prepared as this is kind of normal for me. Thankfully no one around except a quite elderly man on other sider of pitch, who I’d already run by, and reckoned his eyesight wouldn’t permit him this horrific visual from the opposite end. Anyway, I restart the watch and ran to the park loos to clean up as much as one can in a park loo. I’d entered the HMP element of the run by now and was stressed tf out. Realised I needed to pop home and further sort myself out, if I was to finish the session. Did that (a small detour as I was near my mam’s house) and got the HMP element truly underway (total downtime about 20 mins). The HMP bit was hard and I hadn’t done the route before – 2 laps – first section being very draggy. It was boiling out and quite windy too. The stress of earlier had me on tilt a bit and I really just wanted to sack it off altogether, but I kept going, ticking off KM by KM. I stopped once to let my hear rate settle a bit. Got going again. Second lap was a bit easier, and then the 3km Easy was fine (although my heart rate remained high for all of it). My HMP pace was marginally faster than should have been, but I think that was because psychologically I just wanted it to end. If I look at the positive side of things, I think this run was a test of my resilience and mental strength and I won out on that front (gotta find the positives).

Anyway, I’ve come to accept that this is going to happen on most runs (not this severe or out of control) and I do all the planning I can to minimize things, physically and psychologically, but some days are just going to be crap (pun intended). I’ve made dietary and lifestyle changes, and also had literal ar$e physio for 6 months (as well as colonoscopy to rule out anything serious). I’ve concluded I’m just one of those unfortunate runners, who should probably change hobby, but won’t because I love it too much.

All in all, the HMP session was tough going.

Wednesday – 10KM Easy. Gorgeous morning. Out early as kids still not back to school. Roll on the new term!

Thursday – 6KM Easy. Another gorgeous morning. Probably won’t do any more early mornings soon, I’ll miss the summer for early morning runs!

Friday – 3KM Easy, x 2 mins @ 10KM pace with 3 mins off Easy, 3k Easy

A gorgeous run but a bit stressful timewise, got it done by the skin of my teeth, before school pick up. Another belter of a day.

Saturday – Rest. Well didn’t rest as Oasis ticks went on sale. Avid fan. Saw them 28 years ago in Cork, aged 17! Didn’t get tix ☹

Sunday – 22K: 3km Easy, 16km @ 5.50 – 6.00, 3km Easy. A lovely run and was unexpectedly joined by a friend from my village. Thankfully no toilet issues. Imagine the mortification. Lots of chatting so pace was a bit messy, but got it done. Was exhausted after, but in a good way 😊

Week of: 2nd – 8th September

74KM

Monday – 5km Recovery - 6.45 p/km pace. Lovely gentle run in the rain.

Tuesday – 10km Easy, 6.21 p/km. Feeling Sunday’s long run a bit in the legs.

Wednesday – 12Km Easy – 6.25 p/km pace. Usually a creature of habit so changed it up a bit for a nice run in Phoenix Park. We practically lived there as kids. My dad would take us all the time as he was an avid amateur photographer – we’ve thousands of pictures of the Phoeno. Made me well up a bit running an easy run there and letting the memories flow through (dad gone 14 years). Nice to finally run here as only used to racing. Got literal PTSD on some familiar stretches though😄

Thursday – 6km Easy with 5 x 10 second hill sprints. Was very tight for time for this run so I chose a hill closest to my house, could’ve been steeper, tbh. Enjoyable session but too many gawking eyes (busy industrial estate road).

Friday – 10km Easy - 6.23p/km pace. Was meant to be a HM pace interval session but I maddeningly thought the Dublin HM was this weekend and adjusted my plan slightly to account for it. Found this run to be a bit sluggish on heavy legs.

Saturday - Rest

Sunday – Long easy run 30K

Was dreading this from about 8pm Saturday eve. First 30k+ since DCM ’23. Wanted to do better than last week on the pre and in run fuelling so brought 3 gels (Kinectic cola flavour – not crazy about them, need to get ordering some Maurtens). I got up at 7am and ate straight away as I wanted to to do a pre run loo visit over the next hour. Did some jumping jacks too. No luck. Had some choc cheerio cereal, drank a salt tab drink over the hour and got going at 8.05. Cue my first loo stop inside the first km. Annoying…

It was very misty to begin. The first 9 kms are downhill and I began thinking about finishing on a 9k uphill drag (the route is out, loops, and back). Put that out of my head quickly. It was very humid with little to no wind. At 9km I stopped at Centra and purchased a litre of water and took my first gel. Drank half the water and hid it inside the shop (hate carrying water, even soft flasks). Headed on to do three 3km loops of scenic public space. Not really used to doing loops and found it a bit challenging mentally. Loads of runners out which was great. Took a second gel at 16km (second loop) as I felt a hunger pang and wanted to get ahead of it. I think it triggered my digestion and another loo stop was needed. On way back I went to Centra again and finished the water. Took a slightly different route on the home straight. A couple of cyclists high fived me and commented that they saw me 2 hours ago and well done keep going etc. It was a great boost for the final stretch. Felt good after the sluggish loops and really felt the benefit of the gels. Didn’t think I’d take the 3rd gel but I did at 22k and was glad of it. Got another energy boost at about 25k which was good as I was in the uphill drag at this point and fatigued from the miles. I was also dripping with sweat, the humidity had gone next level as it was very warm but also very overcast. Got home and stretched (upper back felt a bit tense). Drenched to the core. Hair dripping. Into the shower and then a lovely coffee and french toast lunch. Bliss.

Dipped into HR Zone 3 more than I’d have liked (25%) but that was largely in the final uphill KMs when fatigued. 6.23 p/km avg pace and delighted with that. Last year’s pace for a similar run was circa 70 seconds slower per k/pm. Great to see the progress over the year 😊

9 – 15 September

Total KMs: 75

Monday – 8 KM Easy/Recovery. 6.23 p/km. Felt fairly fresh considering the 30km run yesterday, for half of it anyway. Second half I felt a bit of leg fatigue. Nice and fresh out and back to my usual spot where I can totally switch off.

Tuesday – 3km Easy, 3 x 8 min at HMP 5.25 with 2 min easy float, 3k Easy. I adored this run. It rained from start to finish but oddly it was glorious - I guess because its still fairly mild out - although the first half was chilly enough because I was drenched from the outset and running into the wind. The plan was to be very focussed on pace on this one as I overdid my last HMP run. 1st rep was too fast, damn. 2nd rep too slow (compensating). Stuck rigidly from thereon as much as I could. I feel I’ve been going too fast in sessions because I don’t like negative feedback from my watch! That sounds mad – but I’m more comfortable being above pace looking down, than hovering around/under pace looking up, if that makes sense. Need to start getting comfortable with sticking to bang on pace and if I dip under, take the information on board and adjust upward.

Wednesday 13km Easy. 6.19 p/km. Very enjoyable, nice and fresh but sunny. Wore the long sleeve marathon top. Changing season weather can be hard to predict. I would say good choice for 80%, then sometimes I was a tad warm. Felt sluggish and crappy as the day went on. Two coughing at home so who knows what’s in store.

Thursday – 8km Easy, including 4 x 8-10 Sec full recovery steep hills

6.20 p/km. Today's run was tough. I was so exhausted going to bed last night, and then got woken up in the middle of the night with about 25 garda vehicles speeding up our road, with overhead helicopter, chasing some car nut for driving the wrong way on the motor way. My HR was fine but my legs felt like cement blocks. I stopped a few times for brief rests, the fatigue was unreal. The hills were fine. Felt a bit emotional and boobs sore so I think I'm pms-ing a bit. Reckon I'm headed for a head cold very soon. Came home to delivery of new runners (Asics Nimbus 26, my last two pairs were 25s and I adore them) so that cheered me up. Got a deal on them too - €50 off, possibly because of the garish colourway but IDGAF, 50 quid is 50 quid! Onward we go!

Friday - 7Km Easy with 30 seconds @5km pace effort at the end of each km. Woke up feeling crap. Had a good feed for breakfast which helped, dropped the kids and went straight for run. Enjoyed this format, it was challenging but very doable. Overdid the 30 sec reps and sort of went all out as opposed to sticking with 4.35 p/km which is my current 5k pace. One of them was 3.58 – I’ll be in trouble for that :D. But it was nice just to sprint a bit again, what with all the long controlled running. Good for the head I think. 80KMs done in the last 6 days!!

Saturday – Rest. Woke up in a jock. Did a covid test a I was visiting my mam – neg. Unsure about tomorrows run. It feels like a massive challenge as I head to bed. The gear and supplies are laid out, as is the medicine - throat spray, paracetamol and ibuprofen. It’s also due to rain in the a.m. FML. Also boobs very sore – seems like a small issue but can be really annoying and distracting when running.

Sunday – 2km Easy, 21 at target MP (5.35 to 5.40?? still undecided), 2 km Easy. This was challenging run in so many ways other than pace. Three toilet stops – that’s all I’m saying about that…

Woke up and felt good. A 9 hour sleep and a good feed last night set me up nicely. It was raining and although it was persistent it seemed light enough. Had some granola and a banana and drank a zero tab. Decided last night to wear my racing shoes. Packed 4 gels seeing as I was doing a MP run (purchased some Maurten 100s yesterday), 2 x 250ml soft flasks of Zero tab, tissues, headphones, phone. When I got going I immediately felt I was carrying too much and the belt started to really irritate me. I wasn’t running near any shops (wanted a change after last weeks long tun) so I had to carry the water. I’m trying to source a particular pair of Decathlon shorts that have multiple pockets. I wore them for DCM 23 and loved them, but need a new pair. Checking the stock daily. I’m not wearing a belt in the marathon as they ride up or ride down depending on the load and I can’t be doing. I really hope the shorts come back in stock in time.

After the warm up I had the rain jacket off - the rain persisted but temp was very mild. Headed onto the canal and took my first gel circa 8km, and drank half of each soft flask - just to really lighten the load on my hips more than anything else. I’m not carrying them again – took note to be better prepared ahead of time re water for my long runs. The pace felt challenging but v doable. I decided on a whim not to put music, audiobook or podcast, and really dialled into the run - my pace, how I was feeling, the rain, my bowels (!), nature, wearing my racers (they are so different from my trainers). It was lovely to give over 100% focus and also dealing with some of the boredom and sitting comfortably with it (I usually use music to distract from that). I decided in that moment to do way less running with music/audiobooks.

Fair few runners out in the rain which was great to see and a good boost as the canal can be a bit desolate for stretches, especially in the misty rain.

I took another gel at 14km. 125ml water at 18km, final gel at 20km, and final 125 ml water at 21km. Probably didn’t need the third gel but I felt the boost immediately so I think it was the right decision. I really like Maurten gels and their viscous consistency. You can run with the gel open in hand and consume at your leisure, also the lack of flavour is fab. Probably could have done with more water – 500ml probably not enough for 2.5 hour run, but it I didn’t feel wanting either. When the MP finished I went straight into cooldown. I was very tired but didn’t feel the need to stop, regroup, pant, breathe down slowly, I just felt grand but tired. I did note to myself that I won’t be able to to that twice over (but that’s my negative thinking for me). I finished the cooldown at Lidl and went in to get a protein shake like a drowned rat. Everyone staring. I wasn’t going to be the “I’m training for a marathon” w4nk3r and no one asked so just kept my head down and scurried out quickly😅. Walked home in the rain (800m) it was lovely.

I’m rushing adding this up, if I’ve more to add, and no doubt typos to fix, I will do.

Oh and p.s. my husband told me I did a HM PB in that run, I hadn’t noticed on Strava!

Week: 16 - 22 September, 65km

Monday – 6-8km Recovery

6.41 p/km. Kept the pace v easy. Did 8km. If ever I get a distance range I’ll go for the high end. Bed early last night (story of my life atm – craving sleep). This dose that’s been hovering for weeks has finally exploded into life and is in my chest. Coughing up sh1te – the works. Calves very, very tender during this run. Took a few brief rest stops. It’s almost more difficult/painful to run easy when muscles are aching. I find I just want to belt out a fast pace and clear out the muscles, so going slowly is kind of torturous. No music etc. again today. Really enjoyable and amazing weather. Gotta love September. Some difference to yesterday.

Tuesday – 2km wu, 4 x HMP 5.25p/km, 3 min off, 2km cd

8.3km. Avg 6.34p/km, HMP element 5.17 – 5.23. Dose ongoing. Probably a little on the fast side for the HMP element. Calves absolutely screaming at me again today - I actually think I ripped myself a new pair on Sunday (didn’t feel like it at the time, far from it). I cracked out the new Lidl massage gun last night but only seems to have helped marginally. I’m not injured - just have to suck it up and let whatever adaptation that is occurring, well, occur. I jog / walked /stood the recovery elements as just wanted to keep heart rate down and was paranoid I overdid Sunday and won’t be repaired in time for the HM next Sunday. No music today. Another fabulous morning in the canal. Made sure I (and husband who also has dose) ate some superfood with dinner (full bag of spinach). Need to kick this awful dose.

Wednesday – 10 Easy, 6.16 p/km

Lovely run, finally the calf ache has reduced - significantly. Bit of a rushed morning and forgot to properly hydrate at breakfast. Stuck on a podcast. Was parched by halfway so stopped and got bottle of 330ml orange Lucozade. Got fizzy by accident but guzzled it anyway, got straight back into run, no GI issues from it - good to test that out. Practically wanted to sing for the second part of the run. Thank you lucozade! Very, very warm by the time I finished and was glad that run was done, I can’t do heat. I hope it gets much cooler for the HM!

Thursday – 8km Easy, 6.22 p/km

Nice sunny run. Calf ache present but just background noise now. Gentle on the way out and quite windy on the way back – nice bit of resistance. The reeds are still tall in places along some stretches of the canal and were swaying hard, can’t help but run my hands through them as I go by. I’m sure I look quite mad!

One run left tomorrow before the HM on Sunday. Apparently, the weather is to turn and there might be a drop of rain – wouldn’t mind tbh, much better than battling sun and heat.

Have been having some anxiety about the marathon lately and whether I can do it at pace. Last year was a case of ignorance is bliss but now I have the vivid memories of pain to look back on I’m starting to sh1t a brick, a little. My Achilles heel is not having taken up strength training this year, I’ll be beating myself up about that during my negative spells around the marathon course for sure.

Friday – 7km with 6 x strides. 6.14p/km

Lovely morning again. Calves 95% back to normal. Got home, changed and made coffee, then realised I forgot to do the strides. And I love strides! Doh. Would have gone back out had I not changed. That’s it now til Sunday morn race.

Saturday – Rest

Sunday Dublin Half Marathon Race Report

Up at 6am for a shakeout only to realise its pitch dark now at that time. Had breakfast (muesli and banana), got organised and left shakeout (2km) until 7am, 20 mins before I was being collected. We picked up another friend and got to Parkgate Street and parked up for about 7.50am. Walked to the race location (about 4km – nice warm up for the legs). Unfortunately, I packed a lot of stuff (change of clothes, runners etc) as rain was forecast before and during the race, so my backpack was heavy on the walk. Whilst heavily overcast (ideal conditions) it didn’t rain at all. Following numerous random toilet stop for the 3 of us (nerves, nerves nerves) we dropped our bags and headed to the start. My friends were going with the 2.10 pacers. We said our goodbyes and I decided where to go in the pack. Took a gel at this point as hadn’t eaten in 3 hours by now (aside from supping on zero tab). I wanted to aim for an ambitious 5.10 p/km if I could but was worried about constantly monitoring the watch (my short sight has deteriorated massively in a tiny space of time, hello 45) and I struggle now to read my watch when running at pace, so I just decided in that moment to run with the 1.50 pacers and focus largely on them. Bit of a risk as my pacer experience isn’t great (pacers not an issue, its all me and my negative mind!) but I just thought chill out and go with it. Obviously the pacers had a tight crowd around them in the start pack which didn’t help my pre race anxiety. I told myself it’ll beak up as the race unfolds. In that moment I wished for a racing companion so much. Everyone around me was in pairs and groups, yapping away excitedly. Felt like I might vomit so I put my fingers in the ears and started doing calf raises to while away the time until the gun went.

1-10 km

Got going at 9.09am. Started really well and the pace felt totally manageable. Could have gone out faster so was glad the pacers were there to anchor me. Tend to go out too fast but I’m getting better at managing that. In retrospect the pace was fairly consistent - not from looking at the watch but just sticking with the pacers. The pacers were brilliant - no ongoing random chit chat (which makes me lose focus) but very encouraging and full of pertinent information, which was good given the slight course change. There was a downhill on the 5th km and we were well notified of that and encouraged to pull back on it and take a rest, and so the guidance went on like that, they were just great. The pack was fairly crowded - it didn’t dissipate like I thought it would. Got caught behind / in between people many times but what can you do. Just tried my best not to lose the pacers and weaved when I absolutely needed to. Took another gel at 8km. Smacked elbows with people as I had to reach under top into back shorts pocket while running to access the gels and also put my wrappers back in that same pocket. Won’t be storing them there again.

I started to feel the pinch well before the half way point but I just deployed some mind over matter and it worked for the most part. The usual negative thoughts didn’t flood me as they normally do, as in I was thinking how hard I was working and how difficult the effort was, but other non-running stuff didn’t come up, or negative self talk. Recently I listened to both audio books by David Goggins and some of the stuff he talks about I’ve taken on board – like callousing your mind for when it wants to quit etc. He’s a hard MF and some of his stories are batsh1t crazy, but he also talks a lot of sense. Also, I’ve been doing tons of consistent training and that has fed my confidence too, for sure.

11 – 20km

I lost the pacers on the 11th km. Not that I lost them exactly, but they got away from me by about a minute or so. It was just too packed. I kept them in sight and kept up the pace. There was no catching them up the Chesterfield path stretch but when we turned into the huge triangular open space there was more room to make small consistent gains, so I did. Checked the watch sporadically and was hovering around 5.15 so was happy with that. Really started to feel the burn around 16km and was breathing hard. At some point I shouted out Jesus Christ and some guy from Lambay club gave me some encouragement and I picked the head up and kicked on. I felt a niggle in the right hip, that I rarely get and only when doing sprinting drills, and I started to panic, but thankfully it went away. After the triangle it was all a bit of a blur. I really needed to catch the pacers now. By the 20th km there had long since only been one balloon (other one popped) and when the pacers went around a sharp bend at the little lake I heard the second one pop, 30 seconds or so later I was upon the burst balloon. I panicked and for some reason thought I’m never going to beat 1.50 now, however I quickly picked out the pacer in my sights, he was dressed all in red anyway so easy to keep an eye on.

21 – 21.2

Took the last hill, the hairpin one, just inside the 13th mile and it almost killed me, I slowed to a walk for about 12 seconds then gave my head a wobble and got back on it – but as a result had second thoughts about chasing the pacers as they were further gone now and felt my tank was near zero. I knew I was on for a good pb anyway. About .5k on, I just thought eff it, put whatever boot down you can – you’ve been with these pacers the whole time, more or less. I had a huge [recurring] blister on my big toe by now and an annoying cut on the other foot from tiny stone rubbing for most of the race. I thought it’s going to be all over soon, and I found a small kick. I gained on one of the pacers, Fozzy, who I could hear in the distance roaring frantically at people to keep with him, he was brilliant. He kept shouting Come on the One-Fifties!! And was practically running backwards beckoning us on. I pressed harder and harder. My form went to sh1t. There was snot and coughing. Picked off a few people and kept at it. With 400m to go I was at his feet and he was urging me to pass him, which I did – felt like I absolutely booted it, and got across the line with – in retrospect - 17 seconds to spare! 1.49.43. Fckn A! 16 min PB on last year! Kind of regret not hanging back to thank Fozzy, wasn’t really thinking straight and badly needed a drink, but I should have done so. I really wouldn’t have come in under 1.50 had it not been for him and the other pacer. Definitely not. They really kept me engaged and were the carrot at the end when I was really struggling. I bumped into Lambay Guy in the medal queue and thanked him for his words of encouragement half an hour back. It seemed lots of people who stuck with the pacers made it in under 1.50 which was great to see and a testament to the pacers.

4km walk back to the car loosened the legs nicely. What a great day. The atmosphere was fab as were the spectators. Won’t lie though – I’m bricking the marathon!

Super strong performance there J,you should be so proud & full of confidence for the Marathon🤗 You have been so consistent with your training & now you are reaping the rewards. I hope you are still buzzing from that PB💛✨️

awesome work, hope you are absolutely thrilled with that result!

I don't know if this is odd or not but I've actually been finding your progress and results this year very inspirational! Most people who post on here are at a completely different stage/level to me, and while their progress and results are obviously very impressive, it's hard for me to put myself in their shoes.

I think since we started posting last year you've always been a step or two ahead of my progress and to see your results continuously improve definitely is a big motivation to try keep up! Although I think this half result puts you in a completely different league, poor old 2025 witnessmenow will have a lot of catching up to do

aw thank you @Laineyfrecks and @witnessmenow for those lovely words. I really do feel a lot more confident, knowing I've been putting in the work. My confidence has always come from seeing results, as opposed to believing I can achieve something that I haven't attained yet, and I'm trying to flip that on its head a bit. I swear most of the psychology of running is getting out of your own bloody way, putting the work in and just showing up consistently to every run, even on the hard, tired days.

Last year was so different - the goal being to get a handle on LSRs (that first 20 miler - sheesh!) and really just getting around the marathon course on race day, but this year has been full on with challenging my current paces and pushing consistently, little by little. Like for example, and easy pace for me know is 6ish mins, last year it was 7ish mins, and that is, in part, because I've been pushing my easy runs to the limit of HR Zone 2. I can really see the gains from the year of work, which is so encouraging. Also, training for and doing 5ks in early and late summer added so much more to my running and racing experience.

I honestly don't know if I have a sub 4 in me for the marathon (the endurance for that has me freaked out!) and I havent been doing S&C. However, I reckon if I can do a 16 min PB in the half then I should be able to do 4.15 in the full (30 min PB). So we'll see :)

Witness, just keep doing what you're doing. You're the same as me in terms of your consistency, just keep pushing for tiny gains and fuel fuel fuel. Lainey, you must be absolutely full of taper madness by now, but I know you're gonna smash Berlin this weekend you little rocket!🚀

Week: 23 – 29 September

Total KMs: 76

Monday – Rest. Nice to get it after the race. Still absolutely buzzing from the achievement -endorphins are high. Legs not feeling too bad. I felt way worse after the MP run last week where I’m sure I ripped a set of new calves. Drained the big toe blister (not sure what to do with that situation but am using it as an excuse to get some new socks!)

Tuesday - 10K Easy, 6.15pk/pm. Nice run. Had to make a trip to the bank so ran there. Two birds, one stone.

Wednesday – 12km Easy with 30 second surges @ 4.40 p/km after each KM – 6.08 p/km – thoroughly enjoyed this run even on tired legs. Temp dropped massively today – it was circa 7 degrees. Wore a long sleever.

Thursday – 6KM Easy, 6.11 p/km – lovely, short and uneventful!

Friday – 3km Easy, 8km @ 5.40 p/km, 3 km Easy. 6.02 p/km. Tired today. Race fatigue catching up with me at last. Still a very enjoyable run but I did get caught short with emergency loo pitstop so that was stressful.

Saturday – Rest. Two rest days this week – I don’t know myself! Although family life is hectic, ferrying kids to two parties and husband away on work trip, mam unwell. Well prepped for tomorrow’s long run - mapped out route on the OnTheGo app, and included a draggy hill for good measure. Even drove and left out water and supplies beginning the last third of route.

Sunday – 20 Miler - 6.13p/km. Didn’t get going til 8.52am, usually like to get a long run going earlier than that, but the extra hour sleep I’m sure did no harm. Packed a large bag as heavy rain forecast and plan was to stop back at the car at the 14km mark and switch out my top or jacket if needed. First mistake was having a bowl of muesli for breakfast. It sat in my tummy for first 5km and made me feel very sluggish. Too much fibre in it, I imagine. Simple carbs from now on, pancakes, bananas etc. As a result, I decided to get some Lucozade into me at about 6km so give me some pep. Annoyingly it took about 8 minutes to get served in the shop. I guzzled it and got going again. It did the job, but only marginally. Wore a running beak but ditched it in a bush as the rain didn’t come and it was very warm and overcast so it just became annoying. Collected it when I circled back at 11km and took a gel. Got back to the car at 14km and drank 500ml water. Didn’t need to switch any clothes - it drizzled on and off but the wind dried my jacket in jig time . Left the hat. At 16km I arrived at Boston Hill and slowed a bit to get up it. Nice downhill thereafter. Took second gel at 18km and immediately felt nauseous. Second mistake – had 3 different gels – Maurten, High 5, Kinectic. Just grabbed what was in the house. Sticking with Maurten solely from now on. Ran on but at circa 21 km mark I felt overwhelmed with nausea and intense tummy discomfort and stopped for a minute. Urgent loo break ensued, and I got going again. At 22km I derailed to my water and supplies only to discover they’d been taken! I thought the farmer maybe moved them and I saw him on his land with his dogs. Ran over to him and he said he saw the bag yesterday, but it was gone now (he lets me leave stuff there when I need to). He offered water up at the house and I was gasping so we jogged up – he nearly died but hid it well. Introduced me to his whole family and so we chatted for ten mins – wanted to get going much earlier but would have been rude to just drink and leg it. Lovely man, Anyway got going again and my body must’ve gone in to recovery mode because I really felt tired, when up until then the run had been going grand, nausea notwithstanding. Put the foot down, a small bit, to get me going again. Doubled back at 26km and bumped into friend of husbands. We ran together a bit, and him being faster than me, I did a couple of quicker kms, but it was actually the boost I needed to get the rest of the run done. We departed company, I had another drink of water at the farm (took a bottle with me from farmers house) and did the last 3km at normal pace. Last km was very tiring, but I guess a lot of that is psychological at that point. Heavy rain held off which was magical but the wind was something else. Grabbed a coffee and did a cooldown walk of 1km back to car. Felt good but had a bit of discomfort to left of pubic bone, something I only ever got in heavy pregnancy. Panicked a bit as that can escalate but it went away after and hour. Another long one in the bag!

p.s. one of my kids is coughing again. Seriously, I just can't with the ongoing school germ fests

that is one eventful long run! read like a novel! well done for getting it done and not letting anything fully derail you. I couldnt do a 10 min stop, I just couldn't.

I hear you on the last point, re kids being sick. I am carrying the nerves on that one! Espeically when we start to approach midterm and kids get more and more tired and more and more sick.

yes sorry a bit of a novella alright!🤣

Second child now coughing 🙃

Mon 10km Easy 6.29p/km

On tired legs but not too bad at all. No screaming calves just overall fatigue. A very wet one and the rain got particularly heavy in the last km. T'was fine though as temp was good, not cold at all.

Tuesday: 2k easy, 1,2,3,2,1,2,3 mins at 4:30-4:50 off equal jog recovery, 2k easy

Found this a wee bit tough. Tummy feeling iffy since last night. Lower belly pains and strong nausea throughout the session. Enjoyed it and weather was super,  but was also glad when it was done. Didn't hit the second rep but otherwise it was doable.

Wednesday: 15k easy 6.23 p/km

A very nice run. Great weather. Can't shake this feeling of nausea and illness, definitely a bug in my system for sure, albeit a mild one hopefully. Appetite also not great at all. 

Thursday: 6k v easy,  6.40 p/km.

A nice gentle run and about all I could manage. Felt like vomiting a few times. Unreal nausea.

Friday: 5k easy, then 10k very gradually picking up from 6:05 to doing the last 2km at MP. 

Really enjoyed this. Programmed the progression and it was great to focus on it. Ended the last kms probably a bit too fast - think MP is going to be around 5.38, but ended with 5.29 and 5.26.

Saturday: Rest. Not feeling great but still mild enough illness. Wish it would just p1$$ off now though.

Sunday: 2k easy, 24k @ 5:50, 2k easy

Set off at 8.30. Decided that my route would involve me running back to the car twice for water, after last week's incident I didn't was to risk leaving it out for someone to take. Stupidly, I read this run incorrectly on my plan and did the 24km at marathon pace (5.37). Don't ask me how.

Again with the bloody nausea and the first 8km I found very difficult and just felt awful. It was also very warm. I had music on but felt it was distracting me from the challenging pace and how awful I felt so I put my buds away and really focusssed on some positive self talk and continual body scanning. It helped a lot. Took a gel at 8km, then guzzled 500ml zero tab at 13km at first stop back at car, that also helped a lot. I included a long drag with a very steep hill at the top, in the middle of the run, as I wanted to test myself in terms of in-run mindset before and after tackling it (didn't quite reach marathon pace close to the summit but didn't do too badly). The hill was ever present in my mind for the first half of the run but I didnt feel at any stage that I was dreading it, so that was good. l took another gel on the flatter part of the hill, this goes on for a bit and then the hill gets steep. It was a tough one. On the descent I felt a bit weird, like I physically over did it, my shoulders were very tense and I had to mindfully relax them before they dropped back down naturally,  but that wore off after about a km. I had 7km still left to do at marathon pace and 2km Easy. I initially panicked a bit over it but mentally I dealt with that better as I ran on. Circled back to the car at about 22km for one last quick stop for water (I was probably 20 seconds at the car) and continued on. For some reason I thought I was inside the last 2km of MP, when actually I had 4km to go. My head was getting a bit weird by now. I really had to mentally pivot from beating myself up over yet another mental miscalculation and just get on with it. Two voices in my head argued it out but self compassion won out in the end! I put the head up, shoulders level and leaned right into the fatigue, the pace and this last leg of the run. Sporadic drizzle saved my life and at one point I shouted thank you god! I got to the end of the run and went straight into the easy but I was so wrecked. The easy was a slog. Back at the car I stretched. A bit sore sore for sure. I then had to sit for a few mins before I felt I could drive as I was dripping sweat. Just needed to chill for 5. All was good then and I headed home.

First 50 mile+ week, delighted😊

Edited: to fix the 482 typos. Types this out last night in the dark whist trying to get my kid to sleep

Mileage: 69km

Monday - Rest

Tuesday: 2km Easy, 2 x 15 min @ HMP, with 3 minutes off, 2km Easy. Pace - 5.45 p/km

Again with tummy pain and nausea but got through it. Felt great after. Might start a probiotic to reset my gut, seems to be lingering too long this nausea.

Wednesday: 12KM Easy. Pace - 6.16 /km

Thursday: 8KM Easy Pace 6.29/km. Took this one super easy.

Friday:2km Easy, 8km at MP 5.38 / km, 2km Easy. Pace - 5.45 / km.

First day in 10 days that I haven't felt unwell. Long may it last. Finding the MP runs tough which isn't filling me with confidence. Maybe I'm just tired.

Saturdays: Rest

Sunday: 26KM at 5.50 - 6.00 /km. Pace: 5.53 / km, Included a long, draggy then steep hill again.

Really enjoyed this run. My marathon shorts arrived from Decathlon so I tested them out, and included 10 gels and 1 pack salt chews. Initially I was worried they were a bit tight on my thighs where they end (cycling short type of shorts with numerous built in pockets [2 x zipped] at the waist) but comfort wise they felt fine for the whole run. They have a drawstring too which I love (female bloat is real - lol )- always good to have the option to loosen and tighten as required.

Only made one pitstop at car at 13km. Guzzled a Zero tab, dumped some bits (it was cold starting out) and was off again quickly. Felt a new niggle in the inside of right knee for about the last 5km and was panicking. It subsided a few hours after the run, thankfully.

Had a few loo stops unfortunately. It's becoming more and more of a worry for DCM. Really need to plan out marathon morning strategy to address the issue. Hopefully nerves and adrenalin will naturally help, and maybe a 5am double espresso!

Mileage: 44km

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - 1km Easy, 1 2 3 2 1 2 3 mins @ 5k-10k pace, equal mins recovery, 1km Easy.

5.44 /km pace. Challenging but very enjoyable. Body and legs definitely feeling the taper tiredness now, GPS was patchy and my watch completely skipped over the 4th recovery (even though programmed correctly) which threw me off a bit.

Wednesday - 8km @ 5.50 - 6.00 p/km

5.52 p/km pace. very warm out but a lovely run. Isn't it mad how 8km can feel like hard work when you've been used to doing 15s 20s 25s and 30+ runs. The mind is mad.

Thursday - 6km Easy

6.04 p/km pace. Another sloggy one but the location made up for it. Got some bodyglide on my way home and new Steigens

Friday - 1km wu, 2 x 5km @ MP + 5 seconds, 5 mins off recovery, 1km cd

5.50 p/km pace. Nice session, very windy, and almost got attacked by a dog! all in a days work.

Saturday - Rest

Sunday - 10KM Easy

6.02 p/km pace. Blown all over the place by Storm Ashley, heart rate a bit higher than usual a a result, especially running west. Bought a little toe protector thing for my big toe as I got a huge blood blister on it both in the 10 mile and half races. Tested it out on this run. Felt good. I'll put vaseline or bodylide on my toe before I put it on to minimise rub/friction during the marathon.

It's all systems go and just need to manage the taper anxiety now! So happy I stayed injury free throughout this training block

Training wise you're there!

Just need to get your head in the game this week. :-)

Yep, all about the mind this week. And I'm going to re- listen to some David Goggins stuff about callousing the mind 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭MisterJinx

Well done J, you'll do great, races have really gone well so far and your training has been really consistent and you're hitting all the paces. Keep those nerves in check, nothing to be nervous about, you'll have a great day out on Sunday. Might see you on the day at some stage

ah thank you P! Sure I might see ya. I'll be the one walking sideways 😆

You've done brilliantly yourself this block.

Don't forget your change of runners this year! 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭MisterJinx

Might just throw a pair of slippers in the bag :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭SuspectZero

Very best of luck tomorrow, go smash it 🙌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

the very best of luck tomorrow. You’ve put in mighty training. Enjoy!!

Thank you, same to you!

DCM 2024 Race Report

I should be paid a book advance this is so long!

TL/DR – happy out!!!

Week of the marathon:

Kept the mileage low, total of 25 km up until the Friday. Felt lethargic for most of these short runs and put it down to taper. Sleep routine this week and last week has been amazing, went to bed most nights with the 4 year old so that kept my evenings nice and short, and minimised phone scrolling.

Settled on wearing a 5km split pace band, weighted to a conservative start and neg split, with a 3.58.30 finish. I wanted to keep the data points to a minimum.

Husband convinced me to turn off HR for race (to save battery) and to have only 2 data points on watch (face is small) – Time and Pace. I normally have Time, Pace and Distance.

Went to the Expo on Friday, nice experience, but just had a general feeling of anxiousness about everything. Also started to feel a tickle in my throat and a bit nasally, and husband suggested it was maranoia. I agreed.

Saturday woke up not feeling great, but the more worrying thing was the overwhelming anxiousness that persisted for the entire day. Husband had to talk me down from the ledge a few times (at 7pm I dramatically announced I was backing out altogether!) and in fairness to him (after laughing at me) gave me tons of positive feedback and reassurance using real examples (wildly consistent training block, don’t drink alcohol, great sleep habits, super half marathon result last month etc. etc.) I’d say he was sick of me by the end of the day, and he was doing the marathon too! 😊 The taper anxiety that Saturday was Off. The. Chart. I was close to tears at times. Can’t explain it really – fear of failure, fear of letting people down, fear of the pain, fear of blowing up, fear of DNFing due to toilet emergency - All of the above! I was truly wishing away this day from hell.

Offloaded the three kids circa 6pm, got home, made dinner, could only pick at it, went to bed circa 9pm with an Electrolyte drink to be supped through the night. Fell asleep relatively easy, even though neighbours were having a Halloween party.

Sunday morn – Great sleep. Alarm went of at 5am. Nerves completely gone! Excitement in full swing. Plan was to leave at 6.20am and do park and ride Luas to town at 6.50am. Forced down sliced banana on toast with honey and did a few laps of my local roundabout in pitch dark to encourage a bowel evacuation (successful!). Arrived at Luas to many bobble hatted people in shorts in 6 degrees, emerging from their cars. Cursory nods abounded. A great sight and a feeling of electricity in the air! Sipped another electrolyte drink on the way in – but didn’t over do it. Didn’t want ongoing peeing and flushing out of said electrolytes.

Parted ways with husband (Wave 1), met up with two mates, and headed to top of Wave 4. Bag drop etc went smoothly, gentle stroll to start (almost 3km but didn’t mind – nice leg loosener). Had a pee. Just as we muscled our way to the top, a steward shouted ‘anyone who wants to go in Wave 3 come under the tape now!!’ The three of us looked at each other and nodded and all hopped into the back of Wave 3, which had already started two mins ago. Was delighted to get going; zero static time in the pen was ideal. We bumped fists and went our separate ways. I saw 4.10 balloons in the distance, couldn’t even see the 4.00 balloons, but didn’t pay heed as I was going to pace myself with the band.

1 – 5km (Target 5.54/km avg)

Actual: 5.58 /5.53 /5.50 /6.06 /5.58 /

Don’t remember much of this, the pace obviously felt easy enough, back of the wave with the addition of a fair few Wave 4 people meant some congestion but nothing major. Loved running by City Hall and turning onto the quays that way. Decent few spectators out but nothing major (my preference). Took it handy up Stonybatter – and was passed by many people. On ye go - I had no interest in ploughing up the hills at all. Dipped over 6 min p/km on fourth km and was happy to do so. I took a Maurten gel and grabbed 2 water bottles at the first station, drank one, carried the other. The bottles are great – sip at your leisure, no slowing needed. Unbeknownst to me at the time, I would carry that second full bottle more or less to the end of the race either in hand or in shorts (like a security blanket I guess), I ditched it with about 2km to go.

6 – 10km (Target 5.43/km avg)

Actual: 5.47 /6.02 /5.46 /5.46 /5.47 /

From this point the pace band began to confuse me, compounded by (1) my watch face not showing me my distance (unless I toggled to the next face) and (2) the course only being marked in KMs at 5km junctures (I knew this was the case but didn’t consider it might cause confusion when using the pace band). I decided then, that save for the odd cursory glance at the band, I’d just focus on my overall target avg of 5.37 on the watch. I remembered my husband’s words: don’t be a slave to the band.

A guy sidled up beside me for the long Chesterfield stretch and for some reason started to somewhat pace me. At first I was glad of the friendly interaction but as I tried to pull away he admonished me for picking up the pace on the drag. This went on for a good bit. I knew exactly what pace I was doing and so being schooled by this fella began to annoy me. He kept saying “Save yourself for the Castleknock Hill”, and I felt like shouting “I know mate!”. At the top of Castleknock the crowd was electric and I took it all in. Normally crowds don’t energise me but this was amazing. YMCA was blasting out and all the runners were doing the silly arm dance. I joined in. I also did a ‘let me hear you roar!’ hand gesture to the crowd as I ran up the hill and they roared back at me in total delight. It was fckn deadly. Pacer Guy then shouted “Enough of that – THEY are not running this race, YOU ARE, don’t waste ENERGY!! It was in that moment that I ditched this chap, I’d had enough. He slowed to taker a gel and I put the foot down.

Grabbed another bottle of water. Could feel the gentle need for a pee creep into my bladder, and had no intention of stopping, so eased up a bit on the water and just took sips. Didn’t want to lose the precious electrolytes - hoped it would reabsorb and it did. I took two salt capsules that my husband gave me, very strong ones (5x stronger than regular chews). Bit risky as hadn’t tested them in training but they were fine. He gave me eight, but I only planned on taking four, as I don’t suffer cramps, but also didn’t want to salt out at any point. Took another gel. A stitch pain crept in between my left shoulder blade and collar bone. It was more annoying than sore, but it lasted a fair while which had me a bit worried. Eventually it faded.

11 to 20km (Target 5.36 p/km)

Actual – 5.44 /5.42 /5.32 /5.33 /5.39 /5.40 /6.01 /5.33 /5.26 /5.40 /

Really enjoyed this part of the run as we were back in the park and there was lots of downhill. About 1km beyond the Furry Glen I was approaching the 4.10 pacers and that was quite congested. It was downhill and I had to overtake four times (into the soggy grass bank which was a bit risky) to try and maintain pace and get through the pace pack. Once I got by them it felt lovely and open and I can honestly say I never gave pacers another thought – behind or in front. It was just me and my two data point watch now – pace and elapsed time (the latter not meaning a jot until the last half hour of the race where I knew my brain would cope with some simple maths) - that’s all I could manage strategy-wise. Took another gel at 15k. Chapelizod was a buzz, but the hill at the end I had completely forgotten about from last year. The head wind was unreal, I slowed right down for it. Great crowds out in Kilmainham and a woman I worked with years ago who was handing out cups at the station screamed my full name at me. It was a mighty boost! Took another gel as was focused on taking one every 5km, whether I felt I needed it or not, and I took a cup or bottle at every water station. I slowed almost to a stop to drink from cups – really dislike them – messes with your rhythm so much I find.

21 – 30km (Target 5.42 p/km)

Actual – 5.45 /5.58 /5.38 /5.30 /5.34 /5.29 /5.44 /5.30 /5.31 /5.36 /

Crumlin Road was fine. I did find the need to tuck in behind someone so the wind must’ve been strong enough – can’t remember. Tucking in was unsuccessful as the runners were too spaced out. When I found a big guy to tuck behind they were usually running too fast or slow, so it just didn’t work. I was weaving to do this and so wasting energy, I just let go of the idea of tucking and cracked on. Passed the halfway point and didn’t even look at my watch to see elapsed time, no point, as trying to cross check with pace band and do maths would distract me and I actually didn’t really care, I was confident enough with the km splits that I was doing ok. A really positive thing was how I was feeling – which was that I was working hard but felt good. No panicky feeling at this spot like last year, when I couldn’t wrap my head around doing it all over again for the second half. @Laineyfrecks spotted me and we high fived, and fair play she took a decent running pic of me. Just at McGregors pub we all had to quickly fall into single file due to an oncoming ambulance – It got through fine. Up the Walkinstown stretch before the roundabout I saw a pal from parkrun and high fived, I remember telling him I was tired. He slapped me on the back and told me my husband @Lazare was doing great – which was a great update to get at that point – it spurred me on. Cromwelsfort Road, Terenure etc were a blur. I have no memory really except fuelling and watching the kms. A pain deep in my right hip joint did creep in however but was manageable and I knew it was just fatigue. Kept on with the gel and water intake and popped another two salt tabs.

31km to 35km (Target 5.35)

Actual: 5.48 /5.23 /5.31 /5.41 /5.46 /

Mainly a blur, but I do remember needing to dig really deep mentally because some negative thoughts were creeping in that I could not let spiral – mainly about other runners that were distracting me with talking and also the spectators shouting (I’m ashamed to say). This happened last year too, but this time it wasn’t as intense, and I wasn’t wishing for the headphones like last year. I kept flipping my thinking to positivity and it worked. I recalled a lot of the learnings I took from David Goggins’ two books which I listened to over the course of my marathon training – like leaning into the pain and discomfort to get through it and out the other side. I also showed self-compassion and this helped a lot too – I’m a natural introvert who likes solitary time and bitesize interactions with people. At this point in the race I’ve run in many packs, listened to many conversations, and received 3 hours worth of shout outs and bell ringing from spectators. Whilst that energises sometimes, I find it eventually becomes overwhelming, especially when you’re pushing the envelope, as it were. I know this is a me problem and not a them problem and I planned for it - to overcome it I visualised running up a tree lined mountain, with just nature and rivers and soft woodland floor underfoot, and it helped a lot. I then happened upon the section that I was bent over rubbing my quads last year. I remarked to myself how comfortable I felt (in comparison) and that was another fabulous boost.

Heartbreak Hill was a non-event (I still slowed right down) and I remember a spectator shouting at the crest “That was the last hill, you made it!” and that was a great boost. Go9t another shout out from an ex co-work and that was lovely. At 20 miles I had the sense to remember there’s only 10km left and I sense checked if I could keep the pace for another 10km - I was full of confidence that I could, but I figured sub 4 has slipped away marginally. Either way If I kept at it I’d be on for a big PB.

36 km to 40km (Target 5.38)

Actual: 5.48 /5.19 / 5.19 / 5.14 / 5.18 /

Again more of a blur, just getting through it km by km, but generally felt ok. Repeated a few mantras over – “Youve trained for this”, “Pain is temporary”, “You’re on the home straight” etc. I really got into the zone. Head up, straight gaze, relaxed (ish) body except for legs. Zoned out from the fanfare. Hip pain was to the forefront now but I managed it well. Had a mild headache develop (I think that was down to the mental overwhelm more than anything physical). N11 stretch was grand, up over the bridge to RTE and beyond Vincents Hosp. I looked at my watch at some point and it was about 3h 30 min elapsed. There was about 6km to go. I did some very simple maths thinking if I speed up I might make 4hr. I just remember thinking I can do 6km in 30 mins no bother – a push at that point in the race but I was confident. I haven’t checked back to see if that thinking even made sense. There was no logic or calculation applied so probably not. I just went faster, as fast as I could handle, which in retrospect seemed to be circa 5.18 pace. I really wanted it to all be over now and that kept my pace fast! The faster you go the quicker its over I told myself as I questioned all of my life decisions heretofore. I took full advantage of the downhill kms with a slight forward lean and got a great helping hand from gravity.

41km to 42.2 (Target 5.36)

Actual: 5.25 / 5.14 / Last 400m 4.39 /

This part of the race was simply sublime. I was so focused. I started interacting with the crown – LGBTQ group were buzzing and I grabbed a small flag from the Palestinian supporters group. The woman said nothing other than screaming “FREE PALESITNE!” It was electric. The noise was bouncing from one side of the crowd to the other and back again and vibrating from my solar plexus outward. Then the shouting was replaced by screaming. None of it decipherable anymore. Turned left onto the canal and saw the countdown markers. Someone shouted “Great running!” Another boost. Turned right and ran by the church and noted a pothole and two pools of vomit to be avoided, otherwise a blur. The purple mile was trippy (in the psychedelic sense), I found it trippy last year too. I found one final kick, where it came from I have no idea. Maybe I was buoyed by the fact that the finish line was imminent once I saw it, rather than a long stretch as per the original finish chute. Crossed the line, pressed the watch, and saved it without even checking the time or the overhead clock. I really didn’t care.

Aftermath

I stumbled on, got my medal, top and bag, and a few mins later fell into a doorway where a few lads were getting changed/resting up. One lad had his phone out and I asked him to look me up as I didn’t know my time. He handed me the phone and I searched myself on the app. Could barely focus on the screen, as if I were drunk. “3.59.37!!!” I roared and everyone around me cheered and gave me back claps! It was epic.

Stumbled up to McGrattans and met Lazare, MrJinx and my mentor SkyBlue46. It was a fair walk but it did me good. We all hugged and celebrated. Everyone was delighted with how they did. Creamy pint of Guinness to celebrate! Sure you’d have to.

Took me many days to do this report as I got so sick for a few days, all good now though.

Stats of interest (from TDL)

46 minute PB!

First Half: Second Half:

Time: 2.05.20 1.56.36

Pace: 5.56 p/km 5.31p/km

Position:11063/ 17824 6,114 / 17628

Overall Position:

8343 / 17723

Gender Position:

1532 / 5644

Gender/Age Group Position F/45:

292/1021

Learnings / Keys to Success

Probably could’ve gone faster in first leg, but who knows how that would have affected the second leg.

Don’t make changes to your watch face at the 11th hour

Amazed at never stopping, save for slowing right down for water cup drinking. Like, how?? Not even a pee stop.

Got into the mental zone early on and save for friends, Castleknock and the finish chute I didn’t really engage spectators or other runners.

Running 5 or 6 days per week the entire block was key to success I feel - You can do a mix of all type of running when running almost daily.

Full commitment to the training block – I think there was only run one I didn’t finish due to feeling unwell and having an emotional day.

Racing – I think I did 9 or 10 races this year – all helped to build up my confidence, banish the imposter syndrome. Running in club runs like St Coca’s and Johnstown 5Ks really made me feel like a proper runner. Also, rocking up to some of these races by myself, and then heading home was a big deal for me (introvert) Had to chat to people and let the barriers down a bit.

Being mindful to run Easy when the plan dictates, but also, always running near the threshold of Easy tipping in to Steady. Gotta be always pushing in order to make consistent gains.

2 Long marathon paced runs in the block.

Prioritising sleep throughout the entire block, not just as race week approached. I turned into a right granny and adored my sleep!

Ate well and never ran hungry - not my jive at all.

Running, running, running – I’ve clocked 2100 KM YTD

What’s Next?

Jingle Bells 5k. Cannot wait to start training for this!! But I’m still recovering from both the marathon and this dose, for now.

Huge shout out to @Lazare and of course @SkyBlue46 for your expertise, mentorship and above all belief! Oh and David Goggins, he needs a shout out too. STAY HARD!!!