Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jury Duty?

• 01-10-2024 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,235 ✭✭✭✭

I've been called to be on a jury. I'm not jumping up and down about it but I'm fine about it. Biggest disadvantage is the added cost to me.

Anybody here know what the set up is or have been on a jury?

Regarding getting called, hours, lunch, days, etc?

I've a relative who was called years ago but from my understanding she was just sent home.

However some people give me the impression that I've to keep on turning up for a few weeks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I was called for jury duty a few months ago.

I turned up, along with many others, but then there is a jury selection process.

Most people, myself included, were let go on the day, not to be selected.

I don't have much of an idea what happens after that, but depending on the nature of the trial, the jury period is not limited…. days, weeks, months, etc.

If you are in employment, your company is under legal duty to pay your salary during this time. Apart from that I do not think there is any reimboursement for travel, food etc. but I could be wrong on that one.

I was requested to be in the court at 10am, but was let "free" by lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭csirl

Length of time can depend on what court you're called for. Circuit court cases are usually, but not always, shorter than the Central Criminal Court (murders etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,235 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Thanks, I know you've to pay your own expenses, etc.

Were you left go on day one?

I think the letter says I've been called for a few weeks.

I was let go on day one, as were most.

There are many people selected for the jury, but only some are selected to go forward.

If that's the case, and I hope you aren't selected unless you are interested in it, then you have a duty to be on the jury until the case concludes, which could be any amount of time really. Complex murder cases can go on for quite some time…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tommythecat

I've done it before. You will only know if you are actually put on a jury and that happens on the day. Even then it could be a short case of a couple of days (like mine) or a more serious one which could last for weeks/months.

Edit. I'm fairly sure we were fed in the canteen

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,829 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes did it before, actually enjoyed it as an experience.

The way it worked for me was there was a pool of about I would say 250-300 potential jurors went in to the court building on Monday morning, they then called at random names of those in the room to be jurors for individual cases, this process lasted around an hour, during this time you just sat there seeing if your name would be called. Those who got called were told by the judge that the case is expected to last x days/weeks and is there any reason you wouldn't be able to facilitate this due to holidays or perhaps you know the defendant in the case or were from the area the crime took place. If you are not selected on the first day you need to go in the 2nd and possibly 3rd day until the judges have enough jurors to fill each case they have scheduled, after this you are dismissed and no longer required. Some cases could potentially run for weeks, others days, the judge should be able to give you the best estimate on the day of jury selection, I would bring any details of holidays booked with you so you can be dismissed if they conflict.

Our hours were 10am the court started, I think we had to be in for 9.30am. Some days the case ran from 10am until about 5pm with a 1 hour break for lunch, also had a day where we did 50 minutes and went home for that day. Lunch is an hour and done in slots of 12-1 or 1-2. There can be lots of times througout the day the jury has to leave courtroom where discussions are made as to what is admissable in evidence. Think the case I was on ran for 8 working days. Our phones were put in a safe during the deliberation process.

If this is the initial letter sent (registered) to your address, then it really should be only one day that you have to initially attend. But, if you are selected at that day, then yes, you will be obliged to attend the full course of the trial.

But, I am no expert. Just talking from my own experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Yes about 2 years ago popcorn - AMA

If you’re selected then as a jury you’ll have to elect a chairperson between ye - simply put this is the person that engages with the judge throughout on matters as they arise.

A guard is posted to look after ye on a day to day basis - ye go to lunch together as a group - guard sits away from ye - you can’t discuss the trial evidence until the end - depending on trial there can be a lot of legal argument that jury aren’t privy to- so lots of waiting around in a small room - bring a book to read or a game to play or some other form of amusement .

If you really don’t want to go on a jury, you can tell the judge your reasons - depending on what you say they may excuse you

Glad I did it- got excused for about 10-15 years (can’t remember which) so won’t be a potential jury member again until early 2030s at least

Thanks everybody and

@Oscar_Madison Can you bring a phone as forum of entrainment? I understand they'll be time obviously you can't use it.

If they were lets say 250 people called what would be my chances of actually ending up on a jury.

I'm open enough about being on one just need to be in the right head space/arrangements.

Yes absolutely to phone - and a charger just can’t Google the case at hand and obviously can’t use whilst listening to evidence in the trial - but back in the jury room at breaks and what not absolutely

I was called for jury duty years ago and rejected 🤪- there were certainly about 40 people at least at my selection time and I think they were only looking for one jury - so maybe 1 in 3 chance but that’s a real guesstimate -someone else can tell you just how many jurors each side can reject but I think it’s about 3-4 per side

But remember if they’re looking for a few juries , which might not suit one may suit another - so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Thanks,

Mine is in a city center if that makes any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Kathnora

I got as far as the short list selection. The accused can reject a certain number of jurors (think it's 5 or 6). So, I was sworn in and then promptly rejected! It was probably my cross face that he didn't like 😉

Before the formal selection process began we were given a 15 minute break. We had time to mingle in the reception area of the courthouse. The accused was mingling as well. He got an opportunity to get a good look at everyone which probably helped him when it came to deciding who to reject! Personally I kept my head down and spoke to no one.

Process is the same - just more people and juries to select - the trial can run days or weeks - the judge will provide you with as an accurate estimate as possible but with legal arguement the trial can be prolonged for many days longer so take with pinch of salt

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,947 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Depending on which court you've been called to, if you're not selected on day one, you might have to go back on day two for selection process for a different set of trials.

I was called many years ago and came within a whisker of being on a jury on a rape and sexual assault trial - but was home by lunchtime and didn't have to go back. But that was central criminal court, in the four courts, and they only had five trials they needed juries for that week. Other courts will have more (less serious) trials.

Thanks, everybody.

Will I still be able to work weekends or does it depend on the trial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,025 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

While the trial continues, you will still be able to work weekends. Courts do not sit on Saturday or Sunday.

There is a theoretical possiblity that, after the trial has concluded the jury will be sequestered (i.e. kept together, and in isolation) until they reach a verdict, and this could be for some time. This is vanishingly, vanishingly rare but it could impact on a weekend.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,947 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

happened my brother once that they were sequestered - IIRC it was because they did not have enough time to deliberate and reach a verdict before COB so they were sequestered overnight, but reached the verdict the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I've been called 4 times but never ended up on a jury.

1st time, there was only 1 case & it ended up getting deferred so they dismissed all of us on the first day.

2nd & 3rd time I couldn't attend due to college exams.

4th time, I was there for 3 days waiting. I was picked for a jury but the incident in question happened quite near where my mam lives & I grew up so there was good chance I could know some of the witnesses. Judge dismissed me on that grounds when brought to their attention. There were a lot dismissed from that jury selection because it was expected to last a number of weeks & people had holidays etc. I think they went through about 60 of us before they got a jury. All of us got dismissed on the the Thursday morning as all the trials scheduled to start that week had juries so didn't need us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭JVince

Its not a registered letter. Just sent standard mail.

How many days you need to turn up for selection is up to the court and then that would depend on how many jury cases are listed.

Whilst Dublin may have several cases, if its outside Dublin and a circuit court case, its likely a single case and if not selected you are informed there most likely will be no need to return any additional days. (unless of course you've been selected)

Selection process is in several parts too. Initially they could call 50+, then whittle it down to about 30, then counsel on both sides can reject you.

https://courts.ie/what-happens-day-i-go-court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,857 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I had to go to the Central Criminal Court during the summer and I had just started a new job. I got chosen for a jury for some gangland crime thing but before being sworn in I just explained to the judge I started a new job and could I be excused and she was fine with that. They seem to accept all manner of excuses.

Another time about 7 years ago I was called and sworn in but when the trial started they removed me from the jury because I had met one of the junior counsel at a party, or something like that. It was a blessing in the end because it turned out to be the Sean Fitzpatrick trial that went on for 6 months, the longest in Irish history. Dodged a major bullet there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Eldudeson

When I was called I had to go to Trim for 2 weeks. The first morning, they selected 2 juries and I wasn't called. Told to go home and come back 2 days later so I was able to work on the Tuesday.

Rinse and repeat for the 2 weeks. In at 10 am, not selected for a jury so out by 1 and come back on the day specified.

They stamped a form every day and work were grand about paying my salary for the days that were stamped.

Alright, good to know Thanks.

The letter just says Central Criminal Court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Alonzo Mosley

Not a well known fact but most house insurance policies will cover your expenses for jury duty and not affect your no claims. Axa pay €20 a day to a maximum of €750. When everyting is wrapped you will receive a letter from the court stating how long you attended duty whether called or not. These are needed to make a claim. Best of luck !!

I completed about 8-9 days jury service a few years ago and that was tough enough - I can’t imagine what it would have been like spending 6 months doing that - really and I know it sounds really stupid, but you’d have to pay me a ton of money to sit on a jury for 6 months 😀

was that recently? Our jury deliberations were spread over 2 days- went home that evening and back the following - I wonder is the “tradition” dying out? I imagine the current hotel accommodation status might have also impacted this- never saw a reason for it myself - you take an oath so doesn’t matter if you’re staying at home or in a hotel you’re still under oath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,857 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

i know, and especially the seany fitz case, would have been hours every day of just crunching the numbers. how they expect the lay man to get through that, for free, is beyond me. and what about holidays etc.? biggest bullet i dodged in my life after almost marrying some crazy wan about 10 years ago lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭cml387

Not only picked but finished up being foreman!!

Kinda nice when the judge addresses you personally as "Mr. CML", but on the downside the garda looking after you will let you know that you're there to keep an eye on the jury that there are no shenanigans.

This was years ago before smartphones, but I imagine there will be a temptation among some jurors to google the case, so there will be dire warnings I guess about consequences of same.

I never got to pronounce our verdict because the defendant copped a plea on the second day.

I'm glad I did it for the experience but I wouldn't want to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

About 25 years ago I was called, then got called again about 2 years later and was selected for a Jury where (guys house was searched and they found about €300k worth of drugs) the guy had a smug face all morning on day 1.. Case only lasted a day. Garda van brought us around to some hotel for lunch in the city centre (Dublin), then back to court afterwards.

When we went back in the afternoon, we were led in and the judge explained to us that because the Gardaí had used search warrant form 104-02.6rev.b instead of the slightly newer version 104-02.6rev.c (or whatever the form was named) the case was to be struck out and all charges dropped.

The judge thanked us for our service and excused us from having to return for the remainder of the 2 week period of jury duty. He did tell of the still good outcome of 'at least these drugs are off the streets now', but the guy had a smug face all morning, and in the early afternoon too.

Good to know, just need to find a cheap house to buy and insure in the next few weeks.

To me the only real downside of it is travel/parking/etc expenses..

Ha! A few of the jury members had their cars clamped after parking in an area advised by the Gardai on duty in the courts on the day

yeah I was foreman too- none of that rubbish about making sure the jurors behaved themselves - we were all under the same oath so all under a duty to report anything untoward- but I would have been the one to communicate such messages if asked by a juror to do so- thankfully nothing like that happened - and yes I had to announce verdict at the end before the individual jurors were then asked

not sure it happens much anymore - maybe for major gangland crimes but a lot of those would be special criminal court anyway so no jury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭csirl

Sequestering juries overnight was done away with years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Just arrived home from Portugal today and a letter was here for my husband re jury duty starting the week of Nov 4th. We have our daughters graduation on Friday 8th Nov and we are booked to go to Spain on 9th Nov. Flights and accommodation have been booked for a long time so I expect that they will accept this as a reason to be excused. On the other hand, I’d actually love to be called - I reckon it could be quite interesting 🤔.

I'm okay about doing just not into waiting around.

Lot's think I should try and wiggle out of it.

Your husband should be fine.

Enjoy the holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 KeithKelly1992

I've been called for Jury Duty.

No you haven’t. You’ve been called for jury service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Mormegil

If they were lets say 250 people called what would be my chances of actually ending up on a jury.

It will obviously vary but the time I did it there was about 80 - 90 people there for the initial selection process and they needed to pick two Juries.

They called out 24 (I think it was) names for The first jury who went into the adjoining courtroom where the Judge and Barristers were (we could see it on a screen) and at that point they could ask to be excused or be rejected, anyone not picked came back into the original room (where they could be called for the 2nd Jury).

They didn't get 12 jurors from the first group so another 6 were called and this got them over the line.

My name was called for the 2nd jury and counting ahead I was number 17 in the line so was fairly certain (based on how the first selection had gone) I would end up being needed (which I was).

There was at least one person who was called both times and ended up on the second jury (they were excused from the first one as they lived in the same area as the defendant).

AFAIK any one not picked for the two juries were sent home and did not need to attend any other selection days.

The trials were to run consecutively and even though we were picked second our trial was scheduled first.

The trial itself lasted 4 days and we probably spent at least a day and a half of that sitting in the Jury room while the Judge and barristers discussed points of law etc..

The other trial never took place as the defendant changed their plea to guilty and on our second day we saw the other jury brought back in just to be dismissed.

We actually ended up with only 11 people on our Jury as it only came to light on the first day of the trial itself that one of the witnesses knew one of the jury and they were asked to step down and leave. The Judge said that it would be ok to carry on with only 11 jurors and the trial carried on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 KeithKelly1992

Jeez, you must have little going on in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,902 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Depends on how much you want to avoid being picked on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,182 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

I've been called at least 4 times (maybe 5) but it always clashed with pre -booked plans so I got out of it. My sister got called and didn't get selected on the Monday so had to go back Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and then got released. Spare a thought for the Stardust jurors who had to sit through harrowing testimony for almost a full year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭herbalplants

I am on Jury service tomorrow. The same I don't know what to expect.

I also have my annual holiday booked for end of October. So would they pardon me?

So I presume you go in every day until Thursday if you are not selected.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭wench

At the start of each jury selection, they will give a brief outline of the case, who is involved, etc.
    They also give an estimate of how long they will need you for.

Many cases will only take one or two weeks, in which case you'd be fine. If it would be longer, they'll usually excuse you if you have hols booked.

At the end of each day's selection, they'll tell you when you need to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

As a long time PRSI worker I eagerly waited with interest to be called & to carry out my civic duty. Never happened. Handed in my notice & set up my own company, three weeks later got called, I was raging, couldn't do it, one man show with no staff then. My then (rip off) accountant had to send a letter explaining things (which I drafted) and he charged me €140.

I have a new accountant.

My wife did it and found it a really really informative, interesting, educational & insightful experience regarding our justice system. She found it odd being on the same bus home as the accused though!

Why didn’t you just send the letter yourself ? My husband sent them an email and attached details of our flights etc and got excused no problem.