Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you get good at DIY?

• 01-04-2023 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Hi I was wondering if anyone could recommend any good DIY courses (a general overview for looking after your house fixing basic plumbing, electrical problems etc- please don't say use youtube😜 ). I'm absolutely clueless when it comes to DIY (no dad, uncle, grandad etc. taught me anything). It's embarassing as a man (or at least I feel embarrassed😅) to not know these things especially now I'm a husband and home-owner 😬. I can't put up shelves, heavy pictures, fix a fuse or anything. Any advice?? Did ye just learn from your fathers, a grandad, tradesmen you knew???

I recently learned how to use a drill. It nearly half hour to set it up I'm a bit slow when it comes to anything mechanical 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Any half decent DIY courses that you might attend nowadays, are invariably going to recommend that you subscribe to certain YouTube channels, or they might suggest other online video sources for watching and learning a type of a particular skill set.

Anyway, why are you so resistant to learning anything from YouTube?

The only other alternative to videos are these big paper things people used to use to learn about how to do stuff . . . I think they were called books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

I personally stay away from plumbing and electrical DIY.

Buy a basic toolkit, I only buy electrical tools if I need it for an upcoming project and I can justify it.

I think YouTube is a great resource but use it to get an idea of what you are doing then learn from mistakes.

I have a 2 tonne digger for the weekend and I spent 20 minutes the evening before on YouTube getting an idea of what the different controls do. 13 hours of use later I am fairly competent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭BK5

Learn by doing and don't make the same mistake twice is the basic best advice I can give.

Also, learn how to use a spirit level and a measuring tape, if you are accurate and fussy about both then you are covering a lot of construction work.

And as already said use Youtube videos. I'm 50, have worked construction and maintenance most of my life and still use Youtube for tips, have fixed the washing machine and the tumble dryer in the last year alone by searching Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 TheCrank

Start small. Don't do anything that can end in disaster if you aren't confident.

Trial and error. Books. Youtube.

Practice. Get some bits of pipe and learn how to join them. Pull out your washing machine and look at the connections. Put up a shelf in a shed where you can make a mess and it doesn't matter. Look inside a plug. Again, YouTube. It is phenomenal. There's no job that isn't on it.

Above all, safety. Don't drill where there might be cables etc. Learn about electrics, isolating switches. Where's your stopcock for the water mains etc.

Learn, have fun, enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 MilkMusic

Thanks for the advice. I think Youtube is great but I was looking for a course as it would be organised and I could have clear things to work on etc I'd didn't know where to start. There's so much to learn. Maybe I'll just come up with a list of very small projects and use youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Just take something apart, study it and reassemble it. If it works afterwards and you have no 'spare bits' then you've learned something. That's how many start off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

The we best way to learn is to practice!!

As you’ve said, if you have a list of things to do, take them one step at a time and at least you have a huge resource on YouTube for whatever job you are doing.

For most DIY stuff, particularly when you don’t do it often, the greatest skills you need are patience and persistence, but when you do get the jobs done, there is a good feeling of satisfaction after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Honestly, practice.

Can't fix a fuse? Buy a screwdriver and a pack of fuses and practice.

Then buy a pair of snips and rewire the same plug.

Start small and build on it. Aldi and Lidl do great tools for a DIYer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Don't be afraid to ask for advice in your local DIY shop. V experienced lads working there and won't be shy to offer advice on how to do a particular job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

.... by having a go while still realising my limitations.

Then research. Example, TV had stopped working. I searched youtube firstly to diagnose the problem and I honestly had to dredge through some crap before I found one that actually helped. Knowing what the problem was I then searched youtube for more detail and eventually found a video of someone fixing the exact same problem on the exact same TV. A short wait for parts to come from Poland (there was more time spent researching the part numbers required) and the purchase of a new tool from Amazon plus an hours work and I had the TV working as good as new for under €50. I've never fixed a LCD TV in my life before.

Now I was quite prepared to buy a brand new TV if all failed but my wife is into fixing stuff rather than throwing things away so worth the effort for €50.

If for example you wanted to put some shelves up then you'd probably need a wall, brackets, shelves screws and for those new to DIY the dreaded raw plug. Getting a fixing into the wall with the rawplug or whatever other fixing system you use is a big part of the job. Enter youtube, you will find no end of videos on rawplug type fittings and whats the best for a given situation. Now I listed a wall as a requirement here and I was only partly joking because you really need to know what type of wall you have and again youtube will help if only to show you whats best for a solid wall, insulated wall, stud wall etc. If you see a tool in a youtube video say in this example a stud finder for finding studs in stud/partition walls then follow up and find a youtube video on which ones are the best and how to use one. Then you might want to check up on the best drill for a particular drilling job. Rarely will you find a youtube video that fits your exact requirement but the information is there if you piece it together.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There is nothing wrong with using YouTube. I'm a plumber myself and I know many tradesmen search youtube. Plumbers that trained in the 80s didn’t have heat pumps, wood pellet stoves, solar, qualpex, push in fittings & hundreds of other things that are out now. They may do courses on some things but others they go to youtube

Skillbuilder has a good channel. He can be annoying to listen to but his knowledge is correct. Some of the DIY channels don't give you the best way to do things. I'd prefer watch a qualified tradesperson give instructions.

There are plumbers & electricians always happy to help here on boards on the plumbing and electrical forum. And of course plenty of advice here on the DIY forum

A follow up to that would be if you are chucking anything out that isn't working then happy days spend some time taking it apart to see how it works you don't even have to put it back together but obviously that would help the skill level. If you don't know what a part is then make a point of looking online to find out what it does and learn more.

On thing I was thinking OP how much space do you have? Do you have a shed or garage? A good start and something you might need anyway is to make yourself a workbench. Start with free materials and try making a pallet bench (obviously check a few youtube videos for a type that suits you) if you screw up who cares fire it out and try again.

There's always one more job for a DIYer. So if you now have a bench fit a vice to it.

Edit> Another simple one that uses basic tools is a Wheelie Bin Storage Unit.

Post edited by The Continental Op on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

maybe go down to your local

MensShed

they would be more than forthcoming with knowledge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 emiko_mariela

Just follow amazing diy pages on instagram it will be really helpful. and also keep experimenting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭eusap

Nobody thought me, except trying it and youtube

When it comes to hanging pictures / shelves start off in a room less used to practice before attempting to put one up in the living room etc...

Always think twice before putting a drill into a wall, is there likely to be a pipe or cable behind etc....

Make sure to get the right fixing for the type of wall (ask in diy shop)

When changing light switches / sockets I always switch off the power etc....

DIY can be fun, just think before you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

and look up two or three youtube videos :)

Honestly, I check youtube before I do anything, you can see further when you stand on the shoulders of giants.

Out of interest I went looking for a beginners youtube video on hand tool safety? Didn't find anything that I thought covered the subject very well.

What I was looking for was something that showed a beginner how to use a screwdriver without stabbing themselves in the palm of their hand or a stanley knife with out slashing the muscles just below the thumb - yes I've done both and worse. But there are few basics that youtube seems to be missing out on. I would say that from about 12 years old I knew how to use a knife and chisel safely and the make sure that any slip with a tool wasn't going to impale part of my body - from woodwork lessons at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Found your calling then. I'll be your first subscriber. 😁

It did occur to me then I thought better of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭RainInSummer

Was a plumbers labourer for three years and worked on building sites for a year too.

Had to completely take apart and reinstate everything from kitchens to wardrobes and floors, including moving sockets etc. I also worked on gas lines under the supervision of the qualified plumber and was plumbing up rads etc.

Was also in a factory working on machinery for a few years.

Both of those gave me a very solid grounding in the skills your average DIYer would take a lot longer to build up. You can't beat being exposed to problems on a daily basis.

A lot of it isn't skill set as such, it's building up an analytical mind and having basic safety to give you the confidence to attempt a job.

Thankfully I had all that under my belt before YouTube came along. What a game changer when it did though! The sky's the limit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Mr321

You will actually learn more tips and tricks from YouTube then you will any course.

The only way to get good at anything is to get at it hands on yourself. Think about things and study them. Everyday is a learning day for anyone and when you do something the first time you'll learn a better way of doing it for the next time.

Have faith in your work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Most start off with at least a few spare bits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

The more you mess up the better you get :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

By trial, error and a couple of expensive mistakes 🤷‍♀️

I am quite handy and learned most of my meagre skills before YT tutorial videos were a thing.

There are copious step by step video guides for nearly everything these days.

Brave new world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

"Becoming good at DIY" is a very very broad goal. This can cover everything from hanging a picture to installing your own bathroom.

So best to focus on what it is you want to do right now. Start with small jobs that need doing. Practical experience is better than theory when it comes to learning how to DIY.

Lets say you want to properly hang a picture on a wall. Youtube can be a big help here. You might need to remove old picture hook/nails and fill holes in. Touch up paint if needed/possible. Then measure precisely where you want to put the new hook in and figure out how to safely insert that new hook in exactly the right position.

"Measure twice, drill/cut once" is a good motto.

The point been that if you take your time researching how to properly do each job then you become more confident and competent in doing what you want to do.

Some people definitely have a more natural talent when it comes to DIY so its ok to take your time, start small, and get to know your limitations. If you do get a guy in to do some jobs then observe how they go about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Youtube is great. Have found so many useful tips, big and small, such as removing screw plugs from plasterboard up to replacing a tap.

I decided to take on the task of plastering the kitchen ceiling and watched a good few videos. Almost every one of the videos started by saying that plastering is messy and difficult and getting an experienced plasterer should be considered. I attempted it myself anyway and wish I listened to the guys in the videos because I made an absolute balls of it and ended up getting a plasterer in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Youtube is a great resource there is a number of detailed videos on anything you want to do.

Experience is the only way you improve though and I can not stress it enough buy the proper tools. I am always upgrading my tools on every project I take on. You won't cut timber as well with a hand saw as a mitre saw, cheap tools are rarely accurate.

I use B&Q alot for there sheet cutting service, accurate clean cuts that you don't have to set up at home. I have a track saw too for when I'm winging it and have no plans.

I am very handy now, I'll take on anything and I wince when I look at my jobs around the house I did years ago. The splashback I did in my kitchen six years ago is absolute shite, I did one in my mams house recently and it was flawless. You learn as you go

Measure twice, cut once!

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'd never do plastering in my own house tbh. When it goes wrong, it's impossible to hide.

With other things you can just take your time and do it. You will be a lot slower than a professional, but you can get a more than acceptable result.

With plastering going slow is not really an option. You need to know what you are doing, and you need skill to get a good finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Plastering is an art and very difficult to do for a DIYer, you really can't hide a **** job its a trade I'd really consider hiring when it arises. I recently plastered a garage for my dad and it turned out really well I used the roll on method with a speed skim. I still don't think I'd be confident of plastering my living room if needed.

I've done a bit of plumbing and electrical work, I have the electrical stuff checked over by my mate who's qualified. Plumbing I don't like, water has the potential to really ruin your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I did multiple things wrong. From trying to use premixed plaster right up to starting with a ceiling instead of a wall. Well, if the youtube people didn't convince me enough, my utter failure finally did it!

Have a dilapidated shed that needs a new roof. If I get that installed, I might put up new plasterboard and plaster over that for practise. But that's a few years off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

Youtube and making mistakes. I did FAS courses for MIG and TIG welding, I loitered around my cousin in his garage a bit, and when I had to pay a guy to do plastering, I watched him intently. I've had occasion to need to patch up burst water and waste pipes a few times, which was hairy. Keep your nerve, and learn where the off switches for everything are.

I can now do most things from plumbing, electrics, brickwork, carpentry, the only thing I won't touch is gas.

I also have a big Box of Shame where I keep the evidence of work I made for myself or jobs I botched, from the first rounded oil sump nut right up to the floorboard through which I drilled into a heating pipe I wasn't expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The only way to get handy is to get stuck in really, your skills improve as you do more jobs.

My rule of thumb for DIY vs Hiring a Pro has been that if I can get a job done, including buying any tools I may need to get the job done for less than half what the Pro will charge, I'm going DIY. As time goes on, and my tool collection has become larger, that means doing more and more stuff DIY. At this point I'll tackle anything I'm legally allowed to (i.e. I'm not going to run a new spur off the fuse board or go near the gas boiler) or that clearly requires a skill built up over years to do well (i.e. plastering).

My advice would be to start by picking a job you want to do. Research it on Youtube. Post any questions you have about doing it here. Then get your tools & materials together, measure twice and get stuck in. You'll make mistakes, you'll end up back on Youtube / here asking questions and you'll get the job done. Next time that job needs doing, you'll know what to do.

As time goes on, you'll have done lots of jobs and your friends and family will start refering to you as "being handy"... then you'll be on here asking how to get out of doing their jobs too! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 dublin7runner

Watch plenty of youtube channels in your free time and if any of your friends need a hand give them a few hours if you can, nothing better than hands on experience! practice makes perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I started doing bits of woodwork when I was about 11, around the same time I was making my own dresses. I learned that both woodworking and other DIY and dressmaking require much the same skills - look at the problem, understand what needs to be done, read up on how to actually use the tools and what are the best fixings etc to use, then practise. Plan, figure it out, scribble diagrams, think about it, don't try and cut corners. Its no good having someone else tell you what to do if you don't understand what it is you are doing, so learning by doing - cautiously doing - is much more useful. Buy appropriate tools as you need them, a chisel is not a screwdriver, and a pair of trestles will save you a lot of chairs. 😀

Neither my dad nor my husband had the first clue about diy so I didn't learn from one, nor could I rely on the other, so I did it myself. I learned much more from books and experimenting than I ever did from school sewing and cooking lessons. Mostly they were a waste of time.

Beyond the most basic (wiring a plug, or fixing the ballcock in the toilet cistern for example) I never got involved with electricity or plumbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Best way to be good at DIY is to embrace the wonkiness. That shelf is mostly straight and hasn't fallen down yet = success

A pro will almost always do a better job but you lose the satisfaction of seeing your own work, and they can cost more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

I'm pretty handy at DIY - partly driven by not wasting money.

Tonight I replaced the battery in my wristwatch - and smashed it in the process of closing the back.

I'd had it for years and done this several times before - luckily it wasn't valuable.

You have to accept that things don't always go to plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Declan T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

If someone can do it you can do it.

Maybe not changing a nappy on a new born child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 notthereyet

Necessity, 12 of us in A 3 bed council cottage it wasn't un common to see a washing machine pulled out in the middle of the floor and taken a part and all of us having a go at fixing it same with cars and TVs, that was the 80s and people forget how poor and backwards this country was back than, unfortunately I still have that I can fix this myself attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I worked for a shopfitting company when I was in college and used to get stuck into helping in the workshop at every opportunity. I'm not the most taleneted, but I do aim for reasonable quality and it's amazing how much knowledge I gained... While still being very green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Woodcutting

Get a simple flat pack like a bookcase to start. You get instructions, so it's a good place to start. A small stubby ratchet screwdriver or even a battery power 4v screwdriver is very handy.

Hope it's OK to reply here a year later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭boardsdotie44

Their is so many different types of DIY jobs, that no course will cover everything. Like everyone else said here, Youtube is great, have fixed my dishwasher earlier this year from a youtube vid (Was about to buy new one, but decided to give it a go, glad I did)..

Built garden walls earlier this year, steep learning curve, but between Youtube and Boards got some good advise.. And their still standing (only 4 months old tho)

Have addressed few issues with car over the years from Youtube vids…

Its the way too go…..

https://parslickstownhouse.ie/etb-do-it-yourself-classes-for-beginners/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Deregos.

That looks to be an absolutely brilliant beginners course for anyone interested in learning DIY, it covers nearly everything . . and its free!

Good call Woodcutting.

And as far as I know it's possibly in other areas. Check local ETB site.

Some people are actors, some singers, some farmers, some engineers, some carpenters, some accountants, some lawyers but there is only one Donald Trump.

That doesn't mean no one else should have a quiff.

Donald Trump can do everything.Solve the world's problems in a second.

Even have a quiff worth €1,4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

@MilkMusic Draw up a List 👍️

I actually wrote a full and proper post, to follow that. Can't be bothered though. Copied it, should ye want to see it.