Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• 04-10-2024 9:02pm
    Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,380 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Old thread here

Mod warnings

This thread is about Ireland's refugee policy, not immigration by any other means

Please remain civil to each other. If you think someone is posting inaccurate information, or indeed trying to twist facts to suit theur agenda, do not accuse them of lying. Point out their inaccuracies and move on.

No discussion of anything before the courts permitted

There are threads dedicated to conflict in Ukraine and the Middle East. The situation in those countries is not for discussion here, although the impact on Ireland of refugees entering the country to escape such conflicts can be discussed

No anecdotes without evidence. It's not constructive posting and only leads to disagreements over things that may or may not have happened.

Added 19/11/24:

Can people please discuss the topic in a civil manner going forward - I have had to issue two warnings to posters who simply are insistent on making things personal. A person's background is certainly not up for discussion, and making generalisations like 'your kind' or 'your lot' is not discussing the topic!

However - this thread is about Ireland's refugee policy - it is not about ALL immigration and conflating the two is not fair to posters trying to discuss the topic in good faith. If you want to discuss the topic of the thread then please continue in a civil manner with this in mind. I will be adding this note to the OP of the thread.

Report posts that you feel are problematic, do not respond to them on thread. Any issues, PM me, do not respond to this on thread.

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,311 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Please all load me with thanks for being the first post 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

The below is a response to poster @twinytwo in the last thread (emphasis mine) who said:

Yet again you refuse to see the insanity of the stance you take.

If anyone can come to Ireland on a false passport and a sob story. Claim asylum, even if not granted more than likely will get to stay in the country anyway because as you say were would we even send them. Then what is the point in any type of system or even a border?

The whole purpose of the system as it stands is basically to extract as much money from the Irish taxpayer for every Asylum Seeker that arrives here for the benefit of anyone but the Asylum Seeker themselves or the pony up taxpayer.

There is a whole industry developed around the AS system now. Well established legal eagles specialising in Asylum claims and appeals have been operating for quite some time and at least one of these is wife of a prominent politician - see: State asylum cases earned ex-minister's wife €1m | Irish Independent

NGOs are costing us tens of millions, Hotels closing and becoming IPA centres overnight because it's such an easy earner, former pubs and restaurants too - it's so lucrative that even disused warehouses and factories are weighing in on the gravy train.

You can bet your last red cent that those benefiting from all this money are not going to give it up - they'll be lobbying hard, very hard to keep the border control (or lack thereof) going. When there's a quick buck to be made, morals go out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

For anybody who might be new to the anti-immigration conspiracy theories they go something like this...

The NGOs, hotel owners, lawyers, academics, AGS and MSM are all in cahoots, with minister for integration Rodric O Gorman as the evil mastermind pulling the strings.

You'll probably have to ignore migration trends throughout Europe, and believe that dealing with IPAs is as easy as sending people back on airplanes, just like they do in the border patrol TV shows.

It helps if you've a soft spot for Putin, or are at least willing to turn a very blind eye to his efforts to spread anti-immigration hysteria around Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,817 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Felix Christian Muller was up to no good

Should be shipped back to Turkey the minute he left jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

All the talk all week about a scuttery €9m spend proposed for phone pouches - OMG! the waste, it's outrageous blah, blah, blah

Hardly a squeak about the 1000 million being whizzed up against the wall in just the first six months of this year giving a likely €2bn by the end of the year (or to put it another way, slightly less that a children's hospital in FG's world)

FG: 'Keep on talking about the €9m you idiot peasants, lol'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Great distraction to deflect from the real issues and cost to this country, absolutely sickening!

For anybody who might be new to the anti-immigration conspiracy theories they go something like this...

The NGOs, hotel owners, lawyers, academics, AGS and MSM are all in cahoots, with minister for integration Rodric O Gorman as the evil mastermind pulling the strings.

Ah yes, they're all in cahoots! LOLs. They weren't in cahoots until they were. A fine example was the well publicised cash for ash scheme up North whereby once taxpayers money was put on the table there were plenty of takers and it ultimately ended in an absolute s**t-storm. A lesson for any wide-eyed aspiring politician that 'thinks' they are going to solve a problem is that once you put the taxpayers money on the table there is an endless stream of pi$$-takers (regardless of whether they wear a suit or not) to extract every cent/penny from said table.

The dog on the street knows that the vast majority of the MSM are died-in-the-wool socialists who think that national borders are an abomination. The academics and the MSM have long held these views. The AGS and Roddy along with a large cohort of the public service in Ireland are running scared in fear of being labeled 'racist'. Their irrational fear of same clouds their judgements.

You'll probably have to ignore migration trends throughout Europe, and believe that dealing with IPAs is as easy as sending people back on airplanes, just like they do in the border patrol TV shows.

Migration trends throughout Europe - what an example, because the failures of mainland western European countries to grapple the migration/refugee crisis had been and continues to be a never-ending blunder. Whole districts of EU cities have descended into ghettos, racial tension, radicalism and continuous micro-conflicts. Ignore that at your peril - because those issues are manifesting in Ireland. Way-hay - we're European now, we've got our own [insert nationality here]-town.

It helps if you've a soft spot for Putin, or are at least willing to turn a very blind eye to his efforts to spread anti-immigration hysteria around Europe.

Putin and his buddy in Belarus are actively encouraging non-EU migration into the EU in order to create social cohesion issues, so having a soft spot for that demagogue isn't the 'gotcha' you think it is. Interestingly the fervent hard-left of Daly and Wallace had a soft spot for Putin - so perhaps you should be looking further left then to find your real source of hysteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Surely there's enough money in the coffers now to set up a fit for purpose screening system for IPA's.

We should be aiming to accommodate genuine applications and have a system in place to escort bogus applicants out of the country swiftly once their applications are denied.

Any genuine IPA's that are being left in tents or in arms reach of angry mobs are there because of the refusal of bogus claimants to leave the country, a country in the midst of a housing crisis no less.

The figures that were released earlier this year detailing something in the region of 80% of applicants being found to not meet the criteria for remaining in Ireland is an indictment of the system as it currently exists.

The fact that tax payers are funding NGO's who have been at times been illegally removing fencing placed to stop tents being pitched in dangerous locations placed by the Irish government at the expense of the tax payer shows how broken the system is here and the contempt these groups have for not only Irish tax payers but the IPA's they wish to leave in flimsy tenets often only inches from deep canals.

Everything around this situation has spiralled out of control and with an election incoming, nothing will change for the better for the foreseeable future either.

Glazers Out!

Well said. Traditionally the Irish people would give an extended 'céad míle fáilte' to anyone and their dog who turned up - it was ingrained into our national psyche to do so, and we were very proud to do so. But the 'globalist socialists' or NeoSocs (as they should really be called) turned up with their absolute disdain for anything resembling a nationalist tradition had to be pulled down. You can see it being played out, albeit subtly, in almost every sphere of Irish life and commentary upon of today. They have weaponised our culture against us.

This video sums it up quite nicely:

Man attempts to rescue one kitten, finds 12 more! 'We've got a kitten problem!' (youtube.com)

Spoiler - you can't rescue all the kittens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Occasional summaries of @MegamanBoo posts are useful, so let's recap.

This poster has previously argued that the Irish State should fund private airlines and ferry companies to actively seek out and transport masses of undocumented asylum seekers to Ireland.

He/she has suggested that we should allow unlimited numbers of undocumented passengers to board ferries and planes without ID, thereby ignoring standard global security measures and enabling anyone who wants to travel to Ireland free of charge to do so at the expense of the taxpayer.

The same poster has also argued that we should allow economic migrants to use the international protection system as means of moving to Ireland because "they would come here anyway". In other words, the poster is in favour of the large-scale abuse of the international protection system.

Nobody in their right mind could agree with these ideas, as is reflected in the lack of thanks on their posts.

The icing on the cake is that this poster has accused anyone who disagrees with them as having mental health issues. It all beggars belief but it's useful to remind ourselves who we're debating with at times.

warned and 1 day forum ban applied

Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,642 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Where is his family, waiting in Greece or Germany for him to get set up in Ireland?

I wonder was any investigation done in regard to his story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭thereiver

I just read family's are coming here they apply for asylum if they are declined they stay here the process to send them back does not work or is not enforced this is a problem. There is not much space for rental or even places left in hostels for people to live in this country

I hear on newstalk around 20k are arriving every year

Does the government Just intend to spend billons renting hotel rooms or building new hostels ? Do they have a plan at all

Yes our economy is booming but as night follows day it will slow down

The price of oil will go up or maybe Intel or google will decide to lay off some workers

Do politicians plan more tthan 2 years ahead in this country

The government by it's actions is inviting abuse of the international system for asylum seekers

A right wing government has been elected in Austria because I presume young people are pissed off with how the present system works or how the eu rules on immigration works

If you drive around Dublin at night you,ll see men sleeping on the streets .I wonder are the hostels full

Post edited by thereiver on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

You can't be naive enough to think that when the Government is signing a blank cheque to deal with this crisis, that Gombeens in a number of industries you mention wouldn't emerge from the woodwork to "wet their beaks" and lobby for more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

If the migration crisis is not dealt with by this much vaunted EU Migration Pact, the EU will fracture in the next 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

This leftie governments immigration policy has destroyed Ireland-get them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭creeper1

I'm concerned about this now 2 billion a year "international protection" bill.

There's people from literally all over the world continuing to arrive.

That bill is going to go up. It's metastatic. In fact all the bloody spending is.

Such money being wasted is no problem when you are taking in so much money in corporation tax and one off payments from apple.

What is going to happen if things go south?

We have to consider a future where inward foreign investment slows. Despite having the advantage of now being the only English speaking country in the European union there are no guarantees in life.

Low paid Irish and "new Irish" will be competing for jobs and benefits.

I'm old enough to remember the word "austerity"

We could be setting the stage for some serious, serious social problems.

There is no consultation from the government to its people on their refugee policy -what kind of government does this describe hmmmm ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

No their plan is to provide new homes at a cost of €440,000 to people who arrive and have never contributed a cent to the economy.

Meanwhile working nurses and gards who pay taxes can’t afford a place to live in or call their own.

It’s gone past the point of been outraged as people are numb to the whole farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,731 ✭✭✭prunudo

amazing how they were able to find the resources to fund 400 extra staff for the IPO. Shame they couldn't put the same efforts into protecting the border at points of entry or into the providing the resources for aBp and planning departments so we can invest in our future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

If we keep admitting people, speaking english wont be the advantage we have anymore. The way its going

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

I think its far more complex than simply calling them a leftie government. What has happened is both FG and FF have implemented more and more left policies as they strive to stay in power. They adopted many of the left idea's put forward by the Greens to keep them sweet and on side. Equally, in their desire to quell the rise of SF they tried to appeal to their voter base.

Ultimately though, despite having far too many Left ngo in their ears, FG and FF are still centrist parties at heart and I believe will swing back right in their policies in the years ahead as they see the wind changing in Europe.

Case in point was last week, when the usual leftie x accounts were loosing their **** when Simon rightly pointed out that immigration is putting a strain on housing. And we'll see more of that in the lead up to the election, as the pro immigration ngo's realise that FG/FF aren't the friends they thought they were.

You are correct -but its to late .As you have seen all around the country Irelands gone .

unfortunately so, one community at a time. But its never too late from stopping it getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭rgossip30

To those who say migrants do not commit more crime than natives . This type of internet crime along with , invoice bank scams , money laundering does appear to be the domain of migrants .

https://www.thejournal.ie/courts-romance-fraud-ireland-dating-apps-6505840-Oct2024

Independant Irieland robust manifesto on Immigration .

https://www.independentireland.ie/immigration

Aontu has a policy too on Immigration and protection of our border .

https://gript.us19.list-manage.com/track/click?u=f5c1b5b46f9bf7e46e0f8ddd5&id=68fe839741&e=7b1578e656

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

A single post in and you attempt to smear how shameful and predictable

Your motivation can only be 1 of 2 basis

1. Money, lots and lots of money
    2. Agent Provocateur

Anyone that truly cares wants to uphold the integrity of the asylum system, not let or advocate for it's descent into chaos

Post edited by 99nsr125 on

Yeah the ignore button is handy alright. Good observation.

If only the communities paying the price for the government's reckless immigration policies had the same luxury.

3. Trafficker

Anonymity is great in the land of the digital communication.

To answer your question at least somewhat - the government's plan is the "Comprehensive Accommodation Strategy" which involves using State-owned lands to house 14,000 asylum seekers and the remainder in privately owned places like hotels, factories, Mosney etc.

The main plan is to use tented sites like the ones in Crooksling and Newtownmountkennedy, and the forthcoming ones in Thornton Hall and Athlone (right beside a pre-existing centre - lucky Athlone!). State-sanctioned shanty towns is what they are.

What's worse is that this plan, reckless as it is, is totally failing. The government is struggling enormously to get these sites up and running. The Thornton Hall site is meant to house 1000 but has been in the pipeline for a long time and still empty. The Crooksling site has a few hundred on it, is prone to flooding, and is an absolute hell-hole by all accounts. The few tented sites that they have managed to set up are accommodating relatively small amounts of asylum seekers and they are places where violence and gangs are the norm.

The failure to address the issue means we're going to see more and more asylum seekers living on the streets and billions more handed over to private landlords/hotels etc. And the government will continue to take accommodation from Irish students as they are doing in Sligo, thereby denying many the opportunity of third-level education.

In sites like Mosney, some refugees have been living there for many many years. They're unable to leave because of the lack of housing, and they have become totally dependent on the state - institutionalised.

They will try to remove Ukrainians from State-owned accommodation and put asylum seekers in there, but it's going to prove very difficult.

All of this is only the tip of the iceberg. Things are going to get much worse.

Post edited by mistersifter on

Imagine over 25 thousand crossing the English channel so far this year.

God knows how many will be coming to Ireland, what a fucked up situation and just nuts that in this day of age they cannot stop this blight

Well said. These 400 'extra' staff will likely be wet-behind-the-ear new recruits or juniors moved from elsewhere in the public service. All scared to death of getting accused of being 'racist' if they deny a claim for Asylum. I expect these 400 poor souls to rubber stamp each application out of fear and naivety, for a while at least.

This move shows the governments real intent which is to continue to accept increasing numbers annually. There is little or no plan to discourage IPAs heading for Ireland from this current government, if anything the opposite is the form horse - tweets in several languages, etc…

I dont like people drowning due to illusion and lies of traffickers. But this shite of us being the salvation of the world has got to stop and the truth being shown. Money will run out. Thats a guarantee. Then the real moral and obligation compass will point its direction then. Problem is where are we by then. And the UK are no better if not worse from what im taking in

Well now you've gone n done it, highlighted race. What exactly is the portions of ethnicity worldwide at this present time. Lets highlight it. Ya want to bring up race. Lets do it. Lets see who is the real minority. Considering Nigera alone in population is to surpass all of north America with inhabitants by 2050 alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭lmao10

Jumping at the chance to get into your conspiracy lark. "The cabal!!" lol

Oh nice! Predictable actually that Leo throwing his hands up now and saying immigration is something government can not control.

Unbelievable. This government or any has apparently no control over immigration.

Would they abdicate responsibility on other areas of governance?

"Hospital waiting list is something government can not control."

Law and order?

"Law and order is something government can not control."

This is the only they will claim this. And it's exactly as Douglas Murray says.

There's definitely something seedy going on.

https://youtu.be/ndtVvMnFw5A?si=VJuHmmE3MKFl1A4Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭lmao10

I thought Mick Clifford rebuffed that quite smartly. It's a clear tactic being used by that party in the run up to the election. Also probably why the hate speech bill was pushed back until after the election.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-41482525.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭gw80

Where's the conspiracy?

You just have to listen and read their own words, they are not trying to hide it.

Barberra Specter.

"Europe will have to accept that it will not be the monolithic culture it once was,and the Jews will be at the Heart of that"

Peter sutherland.

UN migration chief Peter Sutherland has said that the EU should do its best to undermine the homogeneity of its Member States by encouraging more migration and greater multiculturalism.5 Sept 2012.

This has been the plan for a long time now, what we are seeing now is the conserted effort of numerous groups all of which benefit from

We should really be working on our relationship and cooperation with the UK,

When the next elections come around if Starmer lasts that long and a party like reform gets into power,Like what happened when the rawanda deal was suggested,they will end up volleying refugees from Europe (france) straight back into Europe (Ireland) and not The UK,France or the rest of Europe will give two **** about us,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭gw80

I'm an atheist,

I know the earth is round.

I think trump is an idiot,

I believe your religion and religious beliefs should not go past your own doorstep. And that would be being generous.

I am going of what they say and what they do.

Do you believe that these people did not say these things?

Why was Simon Coveney a guest of Peter Sutherland at the bilderberg group meeting,

Has there any explanation why he was at that meeting?

I'd be looking at our own tribe before others. Specifically hotel owners and such.

Even just our mindset of a continuous increase of house prices. I understand home owners want that.

It does imply a continuous increase in population to achieve that however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Its a bit strange that Mary Lou, Holly and Bacik are screaming blue murder about the cost of the childrens hospital, and its a valid point they are making but not a peep out of any of them about this 2 billion of a spend on migrants.

Could the reason be that they just don't want to talk about the unstainable numbers that are arriving every week?

973 migrants in 17 boars crossed the channel yesterday

The largest of daily arrives for almost two years

I dread to think how many will come here

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/housing-planning/2024/10/02/rising-cost-of-modular-housing-attributed-to-smaller-sites-and-abnormal-ground-conditions/#:~:text=The%20Government%20was%20told%20this,of%20some%20of%20the%20sites.

“Unexpected abnormal site conditions” along with costs of complying with building regulations make the long-term plan of using modular units to house asylum seekers unfeasible.

The "Comprehensive Accommodation Strategy" is bullshit. The lands they're using are not suitable. But that wont stop them. Hazardous, ****-hole shantytowns coming to your doorstep if they're not already there.

Post edited by mistersifter on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,064 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

All we really have to do (and should be) is the bare legal minimum.

If they don't like the conditions they can go back home or anywhere else that'll take them. No one is holding them hostage.

Meanwhile we should be asking any politician that darkens our door in the coming weeks/months what their position is on Ireland's immigration strategy/laws and how they and their party propose to address the free for all and outright scams that are currently occurring. Don't be afraid to speak your mind - the current approach relies on people being too cowed to stand up for themselves and their community for fear of being branded racists by people they probably don't care about anyway!

If it were up to me, anyone arriving with fraudulent or no documents would be turned around and sent back on the returning flight/ferry/whatever.

Likewise anyone with a criminal record likewise or arriving from places where it's blatantly clear they're economic migrants. It's ridiculous that we end up paying for legal representation and potentially imprisonment for scammers and criminals.

Ukrainians need limiting too. It's already started with the reassessment of supports but it needs to go further. It's not our conflict and there's a massive area west of the actual fighting they could go to. The conflict itself will continue so long as the West is willing to keep throwing money and weapons into it and it's a useful way to distract and destabilise Europe for Putin. We can't just keep accepting anyone who arrives regardless.

Ireland needs to put Ireland first. We have our own massive domestic problems that aren't being dealt with and need the billions and focus being put into all this. Once we get a handle on those, then maybe we can think about saving the rest of the planet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

There's practically nothing happening (that is being reported on anyway) regarding the asylum seeking situation these days - No protests, no garda heavy squad quelling said protests, no sneaking 80 lads into a hotel anywhere, no mention of our tented shanty towns - Nothing. It's total radio silence and this will suit the great ones down to the ground and is likely of their doing. I wonder where they're stashing the on avg 400 p/w still arriving

You'd be forgiven for thinking there was a election on the way or something

Moving swiftly on.

A quick glance of the purchase orders raised (by the dept of the destruction of Ireland - DODI) for any quarter of the last few years is quite sobering - The sheer amount of these connected ones and the eye-watering sums of taxpayers money being dished out is a sight to behold - It's walls and walls and walls of spreadsheets of perfectly legal deals but reminiscent of the corporate pigs carve up of 90's Russia assets. The lads in there banging out these PO's must be on crystal meth to get through the day.

Have a look at Q's 1 & 2 of 2019 - Yes you're right, there were only 2 Q's in that year lol - The PO's would fit on a postage stamp. Now have a look at Q3 of 2020 which is when Rodders got his feet under the desk having insisted that the Greens got the integration brief added to that portfolio and this was agreed to and signed off on by FG FF (y'know, just to keep power)

https://www.gov.ie/en/collection/dfdadb-department-of-children-and-youth-affairs-purchase-orders-for-20000-o/#2019

Just to piss yourself off completely, have a quick scope at the PO's for last year and this year by Qtr - It's a 200 ton runaway train on a downward slope and the Govt are placing a few matchsticks on the tracks to halt it.

FG and FF were so desperate to keep power they allowed the Greens to run amok and that's where it all started to go horribly wrong - O'Gorman, in late 2020 had this light bulb moment and decided to tweet out (Feb 2021) to the 3rd world to come to Ireland and again this was agreed to and signed off on by FFG at cabinet level because otherwise O'Gorman would've taken the ball home.

I'm not a journo getting paid to investigate the companies in those spreadsheets but there are few standout ones for me -

Cape Wrath Hotel Unlimited are the biggest players, so it's - Cape Wrath>Tetrarch>Citywest hotel. As discussed before, Paul Connelly is Chair of Tetrarch and is also Chair of UNICEF Ire - so make sure you make an urgent donation to UNICEF for the children so Paul doesn't have to, oh and the best bit of that is, your favourite national broadcaster gets top rates for the UNICEF ads (paid for by your donations) - It's just one big ******* club and we're not in it.

We also have our ol friend Paul Collins of Remcoll - Townbe - Remcoll Modular Int (That's Paul of the recent RTE doc fame, where he was the victim in all this) - Paul (the victim) was/is making 10's of millions hosting IPAs and UAs all over the country. He thought he wasn't getting enough from that so he bought the Crown Paints site and is currently getting 10's more millions for accommodating SFA at the site - I think Paul's plan was to whack a load of his Remcoll Modular Int units into the site

Then there is MF Modular Engineering - By an incredible coincidence, MF Modular Engineering was set up just two days before the OPW released a list of the sites at which the modular home sites would be located - How lucky are those guy eh

Leprechaun Oligarchs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Careful now, he will pretend he didn't actually say any of that…

So some current outstanding questions that @MegamanBoo has yet to provide an answer for:

1. An explanation of these "hard border policies" he continues to insist that Ireland has?
    2. As he is worried about the costs involved in "useless deportation attempts" and the security costs involved with dealing with the "mentally ill and racists". Why given the situation he again insists we must have whereby anyone can come here without a passport, can claim asylum and most likely never leave if attempt fails - are we wasting huge sums of money running the system, having immigration control, visas etc or even a border.

The floor is yours, enlighten us.

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The aforementioned Paul connolly and Michael mcElligott another big player are also directors of Framespace solutions Ltd, a modular housing company filling their boots on all sides,🎶keep those doggies rollin rawhide there's gold in them thar fugees🎶🎶the boardrooms are lovin it.... I think primetime are doing a special on the whole thing in 2034

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

This poster has been corrected several times but insists on pushing the same nonsense.

It's typical of the anti-immigration brigade, and raises the question of how to deal with a (quasi) political movement who just aren't grounded in reality.

Here's some more lies they commonly push.

Lie: Asylum seekers don't work and become welfare dependent.

Fact: The ESRI reports strong employment uptake by people from the IPA community.

https://www.esri.ie/system/files/publications/RS160.pdf

Lie: People coming through 'safe' countries are 'bogus' asylum seekers.

Fact: IPA's do not have to stay in the first 'safe' country they reach. While many do, it's of course reasonable and legal to travel further, whether for family reasons, job opportunities or long term stability.

https://fullfact.org/immigration/refugees-first-safe-country/

Lie: 'Bogus' asylum seekers arrive from 'safe' countries.

Fact: Countries which are designated safe by the Department of Integration are deemed to be so for the majority of people. People can still seek asylum from these country where individuals or smaller minority groups might still be persecuted.

https://www.thejournal.ie/what-are-designated-safe-countries-of-origin-in-ireland-what-countries-how-does-it-work-how-many-applicants-6285239-Jan2024/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

You are very good at twisting what people say into what you want them to have said.

1. You start off by implying people have said all AS's do not work - this is not the case. I wonder do you read what you post though, the conclusion of that article does not back you the point you are trying to make. Between 2018 and 2022 30,000 + applied for asylum. According to the report 15,000 applied for work but only 5000 confirmed they were in employment. So what exactly are you basing "strong uptake " on?
    2. They do not have to but they should - these really are just excuses, at what point does seeking asylum become asylum shopping? you are constantly crying about the hardship people have go to to travel half way around the world to get here. logically you should be happy with them staying put.
    3. Again you are unwilling to accept our asylum process get abused because it can - you have said yourself many times that people come here and apply for asylum because they cannot get a work visa. This is not a genuine case of seeking asylum. So which is it? Make up your mind!

It really is funny though that you of all people use the term "aren't grounded in reality"… the sheer irony and you are oblivious to it 🤣

You are like a politician, regurgitate the same answers over and over regardless of the question.

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,642 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Given our safeguarding is at best taking people on trust I'm not shocked.