Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F30 335d needs a new engine. What to do?

• 22-09-2024 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭

Hi

So my 2014 F30 335d needs a new engine. Found it after a lot of help on the "where should I go next?" thread on here about 4 years ago. At an oil change the filter was cut open and there were a lot of metal particles, they inspected further and thought it was big end bearing wear but long story short the entire block is warped and it's not possible to repair in their opinion. It was only at around 140,000km and had good service history in paper and logged with bmw digitally.. anyway it was also remapped for its whole life so there's that possibility too of it being the cause.

Options given to me have been a replacement engine costing €7,000ish plus fitting and €13,000ish for a replacement engine being fully reconditioned and fitted. They're recommending I go with the fully reconditioned one as a used engine can be a big unknown which sounds fair enough.

Waiting on them to give me an offer for what they would buy the car for as is just to see that option too. Hadn't really any want to change cars but obviously considering it now too if the offer to buy my car as-is, is decent I might be able to move up to something else.

I do like this particular car though it took a while to find one in the spec I wanted. I think with a new engine I wouldn't have many issues for the next few years but it might be a nice moment to walk away too.

I also wouldn't be against finding another 335d but I'd rather replace my engine than do that I think. Lots of other cars I would like to try though, at some stage id like an M car but also interested in owning a GR yaris. Not sure if now is the right time for either of those. Prices seem high and it's hard to know if some deal will be done in the next few years to make UK imports cheaper again which could decimate values...

What should I do, 13k for a new engine or sell it and move to something else?

Budget is hard to figure out, I don't want to be losing 10,000s on depreciation but I'll never get as lucky as I did with the timing of buying this 335d again so I have to be realistic.

335ds with similar spec and working engines are above €20k and list for high 20s in some cases. No idea what the mechanics/garage will offer me, but mine with a fresh engine and warranty would be a good one, adaptive suspension and a few other nice options. I'd be better off keeping mine than buying an unknown one.

Any ideas what should I do? Most people in person have said walk away get something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Cerco

First thing I would do is check the resale value of the car by looking at a few of the second hand car sites. Decide then if it is worth repairing or better to sell. If looking at dealer offerings allow for their profit margins.

Looks like a nice car and may appeal to some enthusiast who could source an engine and install it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Bump in case anyone has some wisdom for me

what should I do? I've been quoted 13k for a replacement refurbished engine. Does anyone have any recommendations for other places I should try for a quote for the work?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Is that from BMW?
    Surely a BMW breakers in the UK or Germany could source a good engine for much less than 13k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Is the existing engine totally a write off? If not then a rebuild might be a cheaper option than a replacement.

If I remember correctly, you are in the Mid West. Did you try Clondrinagh Motor Centre and Alpina Motorworks in Limerick? They are or at least were BMW specialists. They won't be cheap but won't be as expensive as a main dealer. Unless BMW are offering goodwill I wouldn't be giving one of their dealers 13k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭User1998

Is the car driving perfect? Would you trade it in somewhere and say nothing? You are not obliged to mention any issues the car has

That's the first thing a lot of people said to me, close the engine up and trade it in but honestly I just couldn't live with doing that. Maybe if I was buying a car from a main BMW dealer but I'd just feel bad selling a grenade to someone. The car was driving perfectly and still had a tonne of power I actually can't really believe how it went from metal particles in the filter to completely unrepairable engine with not so much as a puff of smoke. I felt it was slightly down on power since its last visit to BMW for an EGR replacement so maybe that was related but I genuinely just thought they'd put on a different map or updated software.

I'm splitting my time between Galway and Clare/Limerick yep. That's €13k quote from Clondrinagh Motor Centre… they offered me €5k for the car as is which is just way too low. He said we all think our own cars are worth more than they are which wasn't exactly the right thing to say when I've been watching the value of F30 335d's for the last 5 years from time to time as I considered swapping…

I've just emailed Alpina for a quote thanks for the recommendation I forgot about them, I also emailed a few more I found on google

I never thought to ask BMW themselves, I doubt there would be any sort of goodwill considering I didn't use them for oil changes, but the car is less than 100,000 miles which might check some sort of box for them to consider at least attempting to soften the blow? Even if they'd sell me a replacement block at a decent price and I could get someone else to do the work maybe.

I haven't seen the engine myself but they claim the block is warped too much to be repairable, but there's a big jump between a replacement block and whole replacement engine which I haven't fully had explained to me. There must be several parts which are reusable aside from the block?

The price from CMC was made up of €7k for a replacement engine and the balance of the money to recondition and fit it. Maybe it also includes the bill to date for works opening up the engine to get to this point but I'd need to figure that out for sure.

I genuinely believe they could sell the car with a warrantied reconditioned engine(which should be no risk to them) for 25k, and for me to replace the car it would be €25k-ish and I'd have an unknown engine at that point so doing the work at the best price possible I think makes sense.

As far as I can tell the rest of the car is sound other than the wheels needing to be diamond cut again etc…

thanks for the replies… my head is absolutely melted by this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Back Home

Not really. Its up to the professional garage to do their due diligence checks. I buy & sell cars for a living and gladly accept that people will try trade in cars to me that are f*cked. Thats why you make sure to have enough profit margin to cover these things. I mean where do you draw the line, would sending it to an auction be unethical too? Sure the same garages will be bidding on it there too..

€7k does seem about right for a replacement engine tho. Theres a few on Ebay from Germany at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

there is a year older car on donedeal for 19000, lets say you get for 18000.

Ideally you'd find a decent engine yourself with some kinda person standing over it that its ok.

Than if you found a bmw local guy to do as a cash job.

Dealer means mad prices.

4 to 5 grand for second hand engine, get some local chap to do the work if you can, and sell!

Why would you sell it right after putting an engine into it. Makes no sense. Cheapest engine on Ebay is €7k so its unlikely you’ll find one for €4k to €5k. Plus fitting is another €1k by someone decent

Will see what sort of quotes I get from others and I'll get back to CMC then, asking specifically what 13k counts towards because I really wouldn't like to get a call a few weeks in and find out they're after putting turbos back on that they later decide should have been reconditioned and all of a sudden they're asking for more money and I should have just walked away instead of pouring money into it. I am obviously not in the business of reconditioning engines so I'd be just trusting them to not come up with any unforeseen costs.

I don't want to sell this car I'm only approaching it from not wanting to get stung by good money after bad. If it made sense to then I would sell it, I think there's profit in there for someone to do the engine job and if that's me then that's fine as I'll have the car back and keep it for another few years at least. at which point the total cost of ownership will have been not bad for how much I've liked the car. The car cost me about €20,000 (15k cash + 4400 to VRT, then a few random bits needed sorting). even if I sold it for 5-6k right now that's not a bad cost of ownership over 4 years @ €3,750 per year. If I put 13k into it it's 33k, keep it for another 4 years and the TCO has gone up to €4,125 per year but I'll have a car worth a non-zero amount of money. What will my car be worth in 4 years is anyones guess but lets say it's 5k, we're back in the range of €3,500 per year. Obviously assuming nothing else goes wrong but something could go wrong on a replacement car too unless I went with something under warranty, and realistically what else could I be driving which would depreciate less than 3500 per year and have a warranty…

What else could I move to at the moment with a similar amount of depreciation over the next few years including mechanical issues, I'm just not sure there's anything

I think the 13k would be more palatable if I was absolutely sure it was going to cover everything but I'm quite worried that was for the "engine work" and the "finding out the engine is fked" work hasn't been paid for yet and it's quite significant. If that's the case then I don't really know what to do.

What sort of warranty are you getting for 13k from a specialist? There is also Bavarian Autotechnik in Abbeyfeale, Co Limerick.

But you also need to consider the replacement engine is second hand so what if it has the same issue or develops the same issue 2 years down the road when you no longer have any warranty?

It's a very difficult call to make - spend 13k to restore it back to it's current market value and hope that it goes ok for a few more years or take a financial hit now and part with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,912 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Filter is suppose to have dots of metal in it,

Nothing wrong with your car, who the hell cuts open a filter, and then rights off an engine because the filter done it's job.

Sell it back to UK for 10k pound ,and claim back the 4400 vrt you spent clearing it. That would be best, if you send it home, you can get that 4400 back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

That's a bummer. Lovely car.

Try Border Motor Works in Strabane for an engine.

Because i'd get a cheap 2nd hand engine in and shift it asap

Haven't discussed that with them yet so I'll have to find that out about how good the warranty would be.

Have sent Bavarian Autotechnik an email thanks for that.

I think that's a big risk if it happened again it would be an expensive second go and I'd be kicking myself for not walking away.

I also don't know what I would move to as every replacement is so badly priced right now and I just couldn't go back to bangernomics I've done my time

it looked like a lot of metal here are some pictures from them. They took a few weeks to then tell me they had the block off to be machined and it was found to be too warped to be salvagable. He said I could look for a new block alone but for the price it makes more sense to get a running engine and recondition it. This might be just from his experience but I'm really not in a position to be able to say what should be done because I honestly have no idea what else was damaged. Should I get a second opinion entirely about the state the engine is in whether it's repairable?

Revenue CO2 Estimate

1. CO2 Emissions
    2. 143

1. Rate of VRT
    2. 23%

1. VRT Calculated
    2. €3265

1. - Export Admin Fee
    2. €100

1. VRT Repayable
    2. €3,165

Just shows how lowball the 5-6k offer is when it's got the equivalent of 3.1k cash inside it as well as tonnes of parts people would pay good money for if it was to be broken. And that's aside from the fact it could get a new engine and be worth whatever if it stayed in Ireland…

thank you I will

the drift lads often cut open filters to check how engine is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Hold on.

Is the car still driving properly?

Why not drive on. It will surely start to knock if its going south.

Warped block? How have they checked this?

Sounds alittle dodgy to me.

You.haf.a perfectly Good car. It still drives.like a perfectly good car yet you.are being offered 5k for it.

I'd drive it on or at least seek a further opinion.

Can't believe an oil change led to them taking the engine apart and sending off block to be machined. I thought car was altogether. I'd not have worried about traces of metal, engines wear, they're suppose to wear, it's why you have a filter, and a magnetic sump plug, these parts are to collect the wear and tear.

Haven't seen the car in a couple of months now… no idea what state it's in but I'd imagine it wasn't put back together after they had it apart. I agree I was shocked. So it went like this initially he said it'll be in the region of €5k to have it open and to do the big end bearing. Then when it was opened more issues were found, the block was sent off to be machined but they decided it was too warped to be possible to repair. and from then on it was discussions about replacement engines.

There was a lot of silence in between updates and I had to reach out a few times for updates.

I've seen more metal in filters from motorbike engines that were still running fine, too so I was surprised that it ended up in being unrepairable. I can understand them identifying it was from a bearing which was failing and wanting to replace that. but the garage were fairly serious that the engine wasn't in a condition it could be driven again and the best time at having a chance at saving the engine was then, and after that they considered the engine unrepairable.

Should I be looking at having someone else look at the engine who might confirm the engine needs to be replaced?

as it stands though I'd say my engine is open in the corner somewhere waiting, and the rest of the car is sitting somewhere without an engine in it.

If you are dealing with a reputable garage, fair enough.

If dealing with anyone kinda sketchy, I'd say you have been had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

The initial diagnosis with the metal in the filter was that the big-end bearing was gone? And if so, would you not be approaching that from the bottom crankcase rather than removing the top-end? At least for investigating?

they did a good job on a few engines from people I know, replaced a plastic coolant pipe deep inside my dad's 645ci which hasn't given any issues since and its been years, and did a mini engine that had a chain break on someone else who was happy with the job and price.

Not impossible for them to be doing something dodgy now but I would definitely hope not…

Not really sure, but it went from metal discovered in filter → suspected big end bearing failure → engine is apart to replace big end bearing → head needs machining → machining place said that it is too warped to work on.

So the car is with them for a few months. The diagnosis doesn't seem to fully add up given what you say they have done to this point. 13k is a fair chunk of change to parting with based on a bit questionable or inconclusive diagnostic. Also if they still have the engine taken apart then it's going to be difficult and even cost more money to bring it somewhere else for a second opinion, the first garage is going insist you pay them for what they have done so far before letting you have it back.

So it's the head that's warped and it's off the car.

I'd walk in on spec to that garsge and take the cylinder head with me. Bring it to machine shop for checking and see if you are being absolutely scammed.

The Car didn't overheat or anything and was running fine and now the head is so bad that its beyond use. ..... hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Big-end bearings gone. Sump off, check crankshaft, if good, fit new bearings.

Work on the block does not follow from that scenario, imo. Not a mechanic though...

Not your ornery onager

Yeah I had to chase them for info eventually with one call where he said someone should have told me weeks earlier that my engine was unrepairable. I don't really want to bring it somewhere else either, except for this time around not being smooth I've been happy with them for years so I don't know what's suddenly made them change and handle this so poorly to be honest

that's probably what I should be doing just to get a second opinion so I'm not completely being led wrong but I'd hope they wouldn't be doing that unless it's an exit scam and they're about to close the business or something. The only thing I noticed on the car was that since it went for it's EGR replacement a few months ago it felt like it was slightly down on power but it was still fast not like a limp mode or anything it just didn't feel as fast and I'd chalked it down to them updating software at the dealer.

It might have been that's what they did, then kept going until they discovered it needed work on the block and then it turned out it was warped. Just giving them benefit of the doubt.

I've asked him lunchtime yesterday in a message whether €13k for a new engine is all in or if its 13k plus works done to date.

Same for whether the €5-6k offer to buy the car is including writing off any costs to date. Still not tempted by it at that price but just to know what that actual offer is.

Will just wait now until I know. Some crowds have emailed back about engines for £4,500 sterling so €10-13k seems the correct range all things considered as long as it's a proper job if it is that they are sourcing a good engine, refurbishing it properly, and standing over the work i.e. handing me back my perfectly driving car. Anything different from that and I'll have to look at what it'll cost to settle up and move it somewhere else of the places people here have recommended

I was waiting to send this post yesterday in case they got back to me but haven't heard back so far so we will just see

Sourcing a good engine and then refurbishing it is nonsense.

If I sourced an engine, I wouldnt want it pulled apart other than fitting new chain kit and fully serviced.

They would then have to swap whatever ancillaries it didn't come with off your own engine and fit it.

You are being screwed one way or another here.

I'd settle up and remove car.

That's what I've been thinking and there will be a full engine minus block of parts left over that aren't worth nothing.. waiting to hear back from the situation of what's owed etc

Ok I've got an update,

There's €2,300 owed so far including vat.

12 hours @ €80exvat per hour - €960exvat for removing the engine and finding out that it's unrepairable

copy pasted from a pdf so please ignore any issues with formatting

Category

Item

Quantity

Price

Discount

Total

Parts

OIL FILTER - BMW N47N

10%

Parts

Environmental charge

Parts

OIL CASTROL 5W30 BMW LL04 / VAG 504/507

Parts

MICRO (CABIN) FILTER BMW F30 (ACTIVE CARBONE)

10%

Parts

WINTER SCREENWASH 1000ML -20C deg.

10%

Parts

BRAKE DISC /R/

10%

Parts

BRAKE PADS SET /R/

10%

Parts

WEAR INDICATOR /R/ BMW F2x, F3x

10%

Parts

CLEANER INDUSTRIAL 500ml

10%

Parts

WHEEL STUD.

10%

Labour

Oil service

Labour

Cabin filter replaced

Labour

Front brake discs & pads replaced

Labour

TYRES FITTED

Labour

BMW Online service record updated

Labour

Service data has been transferred to vehicle digital record

Labour

Remove engine to inspect + strip to find source of filling's in oil filter

exvat

Total amount owed to date: €2,303.82

it says front discs but I think it was rears actually.

The offer to buy the car is €5000 which would also clear the money owed on it.

The other option at roughly €13,000* is completely recon engine & turbos + €1,000 for work done to date.

so the options

Pay €2,300 and bring it elsewhere

accept €5,000 and walk away

pay €14,000 to be driving out of there with a recon engine.

**the 13k price is approx** so there's scope for it to change

Need to ring bavarian for a quote on the engine as I didn't get a reply yet from them.

I'm not an expert but I think 12 hours @ 80+vat to come to the conclusion my engine was unrepairable is a lot of money for that.

Bavarian will do an engine for €5,900 plus about €1k to fit it but they're too busy to do it soon. I said at the rate CMC are moving he'd still be quicker even if it took a month.

so lets say between €7,000-8000 for bavarian to do it and I'll clear the CMC bill at €2,300.

bavarian would also want to keep the old engine as part of that to take as many parts off it and hold onto spares etc which is fine by me.

At those figures, it's clear the original guys are scamming you.

I'd query their bill also to get it reduced abit possibly.

Also the engine was so bad..... not...... that they saw fit to carry out a load of service work on the car.

The whole thing stinks in my view.

EDIT I guess the Bill to date is not scandalous if you are happy that all that service work was done.

The engine quote though is nuts.

Post edited by mickdw on

I think it's a lot of hours to come to the conclusion the engine is a write off. I can understand the rest of the bill, probably cut the filter open at the very end of everything, and went oh shite it's full of metal.

I'll need to add reconditioning turbos to the bavarian cost I presume. but it'll still be much less than CMC in total.

I don't know would they entertain lowering the bill, I haven't asked. I told them to fix the car and it's unfortunate it took them 12 hours to give up instead of them reassessing earlier and saying the damage is massive and it's not worth fixing…

It's a bad situation and I'm not looking for anything for free. If someone else can do the job for a few thousand cheaper then I'll be getting that someone else to do it.

it's really about €1200 so far on the engine, still a lot but not as bad when the rest of the work was unrelated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Mac 3

Apologies if this is a stupid question but whats this charge? €1.35 x 80?

Labour

Front brake discs & pads replaced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Mac 3

Sorry Brian, my mistake, Thats a very exact time. everything else is rounded evenly to 1 or 2. Id have been expecting a similar description like on the rears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

I'm feeling like the obvious answer here is to just clear the outstanding cost with CMC, and organise getting the car transferred to Bavarian and then waiting a month+ for it to be worked on, and be done with it?

€2,300 to clear CMC

cost to transfer a non driving car + separate engine to Bavarian. Have access to a trailer and jeep but they're 2.5 hours away so diesel alone would probably pay for CMC to do the transfer

€5,900 for replacement engine

€1,000ish for fitting at Bavarian

€??? for two turbos to be reconditioned

€??? for remap after

back on the road around 10k from now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

There's a lad set up in Cavan that's specialising in this era BMW. He's flat out with work and on appearances seems to be very good. He posts quite a bit on tiktok.

Be interesting get a price off him but then you'd have the issue of getting the car to him.

Getting it fixed to fully operational but as cheaply as possible and then trading it in against something newer would be the best course of action for putting this whole episode behind ya.

Edit: "BM automotive" is the name they go by. He has tiktoks up of n57 failures and replacing them.

Well its your best option so far. I would have the transfer done myself and not wait for the current chaps to move it or it might never happen.

That guy in cavan looks good but it would be a serious pain in the hole to get it to him but definitely a good backup plan I think.

Don't really want to sell it after I fix it but I know that's the best way so I'm not kicking myself wondering why I didn't get rid of it if anything else goes wrong. If I fixed it for €10,000 and sold it for 20-25, there's nothing I'd really be able to upgrade to without spending a lot more

going to see if I can go in to look at the car and maybe talk to someone for a minute about it and I think that'll make it fairly clear what the next step will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭pooley124

There's a 2016 335d on copart UK with only 54k on it. Heavy rear end damage on it so engine will be fine. Would make a good engine donor plus it has a perfect front end to sell on. Don't forget to factor in fees and transport costs.

Great shout that.

No brainer if it can be bought at right price.

Everything you need. Turbos etc included and considering your guys have pulled the car apart, you will have no worries about missing bits either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Am I the only one not fully convinced that you definitely need a new engine?

The volume of sparklies in the filter is concerning, but if the bearings are suspected (not unreasonable) you wouldn't go top down. The next step would surely be to check the sump for more metal. Why did the head come off at all? It would make no sense to start there. And why would it be warped?

It just doesn't add up to me - doubly so if the car was driving fine beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭pooley124

Would be best to go to the garage and see exactly what is wrong and what's been done to it. Emails/ messages are no good in this situation.

thanks lads, I went into CMC today to look at my engine

I think after discussing with him that at some point in time something dodgy was done with the engine before I owned it

He showed me that there are imprints on all 6 pistons from a valve collision (I tried to take a picture attached at the end of this post but not sure if I'm really showing it properly) so he thought at some point the engine had a snapped chain. He also said that the general look of the engine seemed to be older than 140,000km or at least that it wasn't in good condition for a 140k engine if it was really 140k. He said the engine had definitely had someone else in there before.

He said what likely happened is the incident with the valves happened, the engine was repaired but something had been damaged and was slightly oval so over time it was hammering away until eventually the big end bearing started to disintigrate and then cascaded to other failures like the block being warped beyond repair.

There was damage to the crank shaft, 6 pistons with those valve collision marks, block warped. My big turbo seems fine and they didn't split it open to look at the small turbo but wouldn't do that unless they were being refurbished. Other ancilliary bits like high pressure fuel pump etc all fine

I was talking about the other engine for €5,900 vs his €7k quote and he said he would be charging me for the engine whatever he needs to pay for it and if they are gone down in price to 6k then that's what I'd be paying but the last one he bought was at 7k. He said I'm about 30 hours labour and an engine away from finishing it plus the decision to do turbo reconditioning which he said he would do if it was him while the engine is out

he said a replacement engine would be getting new linings in the cylinders, new piston rings, new bearings etc all over everything that needs doing will be done. This is the part I'd say everyone here will be most interested in vs just buying a running used engine and putting it straight in without opening it. This is the bit I'm wondering about too. He seemed fairly confident that the right decision is open it up and do the work that a used engine is completely unknown and the only way to know is to do the work up front and know I've got a good engine for the next few years.

He's going to do up an estimate with all of these steps in there and he said I can get rid of the ones I don't want and drop the price as much as I want to by doing less and less extra to the replacement engine. He said they could put a replacement engine straight in but wouldn't recommend it if I want to keep the car.

He also said there'd be a year warranty but a remap would void it which is fair enough.

Completely agree, main cause of all of my concern completely gone immediately when I saw my engine neatly taken apart and clear to me signs that there was real damage. I wish I had gone in the day after the first phonecall because it was much easier to go through it all in person.

So anyway I'm still in the situation until I make a decision. I'm going to have their estimate to go through and I can decide which bits I'd like to do or ignore and make sure I'm comparing it fairly with other quotes

He said it genuinely did take more than 12 hours to get to the point it's at, and I believed him I think they did a tidy job and didn't just yank the engine out of the car

I'm getting confused with the timeline myself now but anyway I think they came to the right conclusion that the engine block is a writeoff, the crank shaft is cut up from the failed big end bearing, all bearings were bad and one of them was completely falling apart. I'd say it would have been a catastrophic seize up at some point so I'm glad that didn't happen while overtaking or something.

took a couple of pictures but only on the phone so not great

He said there's marks from a valve collision on all 6 pistons that he thinks is from a snapped chain at some point or something with timing. I asked if maybe it was swirl flaps breaking in the past but he said the marks are even on all cylinders so its more likely it was timing caused the valve interference and then it was sorted before I bought it.

Was on the phone to Bavarian again and they can still do the engine at 5900+ whatever to fit it as my backup plan but I'm actually much happier with CMC now again that I'm understanding 13k was based on including the price of an engine at whatever he buys it for which might be less now, and it includes all this extra work that I'm able to opt out of bit by bit.

I think he was just incredibly busy and was on holidays for 2 weeks in the middle of it which ended up adding 3 weeks of delay because of messages waiting before and after that. Those delays got me worried when in reality I should have just driven in and spoken to someone in person…

I think I'll just wait for this estimate early next week and then decide? If I get it done in CMC I'd say they'd start work straight away so I need to balance a month less of borrowing peoples cars and getting the bus at times into this situation?

Previous damage is possible but if its as bad as they say, there is no way in my mind that the engine was running so well that you didn't notice nor did they notice anything whatsoever given that they saw fit to do major service work to the car.

Big end slight bearing wear and iron filings you would not hear but the explanation of things being so bad that it warped the block to me doesn't add up.

Perfectly running car has engine taken out due to speckles in filter. That was the only visible issue. As someone said, you wouldn't take the head off. You might do bottom end bearings.

As for wanting to rebuild the engine you buy?

Not a hope would I allow that...... I'd be expecting another phone call. We found x y or z and its going to cost thousands and by opening the engine, you can forget about returning it for refund from wherever you buy it.

Who buys a good low mile engine and rebuilds it? Nobody. Its nonsense.

I don't trust what is presented and the bench display is alittle manufacturered too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I'd get him to bang a good used replacement engine in without opening it just get the chain done and then get shut of the car asap.

It sounds like it has had an eye opening past life could possibly be clocked etc.

You could go all out refurb everything on the engine and then in a short while something else expensive goes wallop or indeed it could run the finest for years but it's a chance you're taking knowing a previous owner was a bit of a chancer.