Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrabawn/ Tipperary merger

• 08-10-2024 11:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

Is there any good reason for Arrabawn to bail out Tipperary Co Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milk supply!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Does Tipp still have the cheese plant? AFAIK Arrabawn doesn’t do cheese so that could be a reason.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Tipp have a plant in France, could help arra diverse. T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

It appears Tipperary have a €40m debt. Arrabawn are now paying a decent price for milk, if they take on that debt it will have to be paid for by the cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Well as a former "nenagh" supplier I still get nightmares when I recall the merger with midwest , I still recall the findings that were disclosed by the action group at the meeting in portumna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭fulldnod

Arrabawn weren't able to run there own plant so I don't see how this is a good thing

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Could you expand on that?

I'm a potential Arrabawn supplier but the downside of the Tipp merger is one of the things that's pointing me towards Tirlan.

Do you mean there was info not disclosed on a previous merger which only emerged when an action group started digging into it?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Something to do with a big pay off for the retirement account?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

This isn't the time or the place, it's water under the bridge now , but former nenagh suppliers at the time got shafted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

there is still a possibility tirlan may takeover tipp its not off the cards, the war chest has been created, cash is king, thats if arrabawn deal doesnt progress…..

i think its actually a good fit for tirlan, tipp built top class facilities….the debt can be worked through they are just to small to over come the production issues they had, as far as im aware they sell more infant formula ingredients that tirlan

As a former Mid West supplier, I wonder why Arrabawn developed the most modern liquid plant in the 26 counties at Kilconnell Ballinasloe Co. Galway. It was closed down due to mismanagement and its customer book sold off to Aurivo

Why was the plant not included in the sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Scale and margin is the killer at liquid milk. Probably only room for 2-3 major carton milk suppliers. The push from the northern diaries has cut margin on this. Count in the drive to seasonal milk production it has hit liquid milk. About a year before the sale of kilconnel, arrabawn lost some big contracts for liquid milk to the multiples and it was the final nail in the coffin for the plant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭yewdairy

Arrabawn had lost a lot of contracts as already said, only thing of value was their branded products like Dawn. Packing liquid milk is pretty straight forward, aurivo plant in killygordon is big enough to manage the extra milk.

Biggest thing for aurivo was removing a competitor for contracts with the big supermarkets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Some amount of southern liquid milk processed from the northern side of the country now...Convoy, Killygordan, Omagh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

lots of hearsay and speculation lads …..this is akin to the bit of land coming up beside you at home …..it may be a once in lifetime opportunity ….chance may never come again ….you’d do your best and maby stretch yourself to get it …..this merger is similar

Do Arrabawn need it ….simple answer is probably not as we are in a seriously good position now …..tipp desperately need it as they are not …..but there is big gains potentially for both sides ….near 900 million litre milk pool ….a more diverse product mix

I’m all for this but have concerns considering tips financial position and debt and the speed at which this thing is going …..there is area meetings coming up and an sgm to vote ….i strongly urge every supplier to get up to speed on details of this merger ….get onto your board and rep members with concerns and go to the info meetings coming up very soon on this …..

kilconell was closed and liquid discontinued because it was a sound business decision ….liquid was costing us a fortune yearly ….the product scare was very badly handled and it took us far too long to make decision to exit it ….but ultimately we did and it was the correct decision …..just look at our current financial position and milk price…..I understand there is still bitterness and resentment over it down that side but financially for Arrabawn it was 💯 correct decision

area meetings coming up and board members can answer those concerns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭green daries

Because it was a **** show ran very very poorly that business should have done well

There was no extra milk ......

few years back maby true …..but last few years we’ve gone from strength to strength ….our accounts ,financial position ,debt level and milk price reflect it

Killygordan should have been closed when the clause ran out(good plant but wrong location) I hope they got a good grant for the last 3 million that was pumped into the place.

it’s low margin cut throat business that left a loss more years than profit ……you’d find very few who would say liquid should of been held …….we’ve powered on since we got rid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

what’s in it for the Tipp suppliers in this deal. Is there some sort of share purchase or what’s the sweetener.

the sweetener for tipp is a far better milk price and together a far stronger coop for both …..

Arrabawn's decisions to drop diversity in lieu of a smaller number of better paying products has served it handsomely.

Tipp is not alone in being one of those coops, all over the place in its product portfolio, chasing diversity and majoring in none.

The driver of Arrabawn's focus is about to leave through the front door though.

if this all works out we will be in a very strong position …..the money spent on the casein plant and what it’s churning out has been a roaring success …….but the downside is we are heavily reliant on that success in one product stream continuing ……the product mix coming with tipp coop will add a new string and the tippagral cheese business has huge poteintal

area meetings for merger proposal ……don’t any Arrabawn suppliers sit on yer arses giving out from the sidelines make an afford to attend one of these meetings and ask questions

Why does Tipperary Co Op find itself in financial difficulty ?

What products does it produce ?

not much good attending meetings when you won't get honest answers

very true ……but u still got to go and poke holes that need poking …..I’m for the merger but I have concerns …….tipp coop suppliers are in line to reap benefits of a lot of our good work last few years ……what’s in it for us …..we’re on a good thing now but I in no way want to see us going back to days of a crap milk price and propping up division 2/3 …..I’d like to see tipp coop suppliers making a 5 year min commitment to staying with new entity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭fulldnod

I don't think arrabawn suppliers will be happy to take on the level of debt tipp are in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

It's a big ask for arrabawn shareholders to take on the debt level. The key in the proposal is how is this debt going to be managed without a detriment to milk price.

Locking in milk suppliers is a great point. Arrabawn is bringing the security to mange the debt. What is the plan with milk processing. Will all mik be processed in nenagh and close tipp towns plant??? Has Nenagh the capacity for this???Potentially the tipp town site could be sold for redevelopment. Other assets that tipp coop have would be the supermarket in the town. Does arrabawn want to be stuck in retail of sliced pans and nappies. What's the plan with the agri retail side of things. Arrabawn has spent big on new stores in athenry, nenagh and Newport over the past 10 years?? Are they going to have to spend big to support this in Tipp town or do they focus on keeping it simple. Lots of questions on where the savings are going to be made will be vital and this.

Is there much duplication going to happen initially and what the plan to create efficiency in staff cost, which is big.

Looking at it it's more questions than answers at the moment

I think securing tipp suppliers for 5 years minimum is key …..no point bringing them in bringing up milk price and then in 2/3 years a tirlan /dairygold throwingvsweetners at them to move milk

Our combined milk pool will be over 850 million litres we will have our ow deft and tips debt which will be circa 75/80 million combined …..management /board tee is it is very manageable ….lots of other very good questions posed here ….be sure to bring them up at area meetings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I guarantee tirlan will be actively trying to poach suppliers at the minute, 5 year milk contract will be a poisoned apple potentially too, and could play into the hands of other processors trying to poach suppliers before any deal is done, tipp have a very loose msa at the minute and its handy enough for their suppliers to leave

tipp management have agreed to exclusively deal with us for the minute …..tirlan have a proposal on table but not been entertained atm as tipp have a preference to side with Arrabawn …..majority of tipp suppliers seem happy to join us too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭farmertipp

huge dairygold catchment area nr tipp Town. great opportunity to poach good suppliers . big area around golden as well. many would move given poor board andmanagement in dg atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭giveitholly

I assume majority of tipp suppliers have to give the co-op 12 months notice that they have to leave. So tirlan won't be able to poach them immediately. I know for certain of two suppliers who approached tipp management in the spring actively wanting to leave. They were asked would they wait on their decision until the end of this year and that something would be sorted. In fairness they agreed,although not all suppliers would be that obliging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭cosatron

as an arrabawn supplier, ill be voting no. These are uncertain times, age profile of dairy farmers creeping up, cost of production through the roof, weather getting more unpredictable, signs that derogation will be no more, export of calves could be no more in years to come, lack of labour and possibly agri contractors, not to mention the nearly unmanageable regulations being enforced, why would any functioning company take on more debt in the current climate.

respect your decision to vote no ……I have reservations but will vote for it …..we

Have a prime chance to secure our and coops future …..if we let this go I feel we will be a weaker coop…..tirlan/Dairygold will swoop in and mop it up ……we are heavily exposed on casein atm ….products and tippAgra cheese brand will bring a more diverse mix to our range and help our milk price ……I’ll again say it again. If your for or against this contact board members ….our management are also very approachable …go to upcoming area meetings and get clarity

Diverse is not the preserve of success. Efficiency is. Have a look through the milk price leagues. Diversity is at the bottom.

If the merger agreed to jettison diversity, it could join with debt levels of under 20m.

Have a look at what each is bringing to the table, fit the pieces that fit together simply and sell what's noise around that and you'll end up staying top of that milk league for the future..…which should be the ONLY outcome being pursued.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Maybe a bit like a fella milking 60 who buys 40 in a dispersal sale with the aim to be milking 80 in 2 years time.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

it’s came up a few times ….were heavily exposed on casein which tbf has performed well last while ….if anything happens that we can only divert so much to butter /whey/skim

easier thing to do here would be just go after the milk pool and not bother with merger but no willingness to go this route

I presume all share holders have a vote in this not just the current active milk suppliers? Herself got notification re the meetings anyhow.

this is grim reading which i think every arrabawn supplier should have a look at

Tipp Co-op AGM hears details of disastrous 2023 - Premium (farmersjournal.ie)

This should not be the basis on which an Arrabawn supplier would make their decision.

Their decision should be based purely on the business plan being proposed, and the guarantee from executives and board members that all will purse that plan to it's completion.

These 2 coops can bring synergies to each other, but the plan will need to be ruthless to be effective.

What have Tipp in assets compared to loans would be interesting?

i agree that they can be can bring synergies to each other, but the plan will need to be ruthless to be effective. But considering the poor management of killconnell bottling plant which ulitmately lead to its demise, i fear that Arrabawn won't be ruthless enough. I know mj is going to come in and say no money in bottling which maybe true but the rumours regarding the poor management of kilconnell prior to the closure seemed to be justified.

I would have to agree with alps re decision making. That article is grim reading but much of then problems are now in the past .... I've no skin in the game here either way but I think it's going to be a good venture for both coops. I think Arrabawn will have enough/extra milk to make tipps more efficient. Tipp were taking in milk from all over the country at stages of the year.

i agree to a certain extent a merger would be good if both parties are bringing the equal goods to the table, but when tipp coop are 40m in debt its hard to justify. I would ask you this, if tipp coop weren't 40m in debt would this merger be discussed, no. in 2001, arrabawn was formed on the merger of nenagh and midwest, both strong coop at the time with a good relationship on equal footing.

risk and reward ….new entity will have circa 880 million litre milk pool ….combined debt will be 75 odd million ….management ,board and auditors/accountant tell us this is very manageable

Goalposts have changed now …..milk pool to make use of processing capacity is key ….tips death close to 55/60 millio. I think but they bring a plant ,tippagral cheese and different product mix to us