Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4 months in jail for stealing a Yankee Candle.

• 06-10-2024 05:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭

The chap was a drug addict at the time of the offence and was cooperative with the Gardai, although the candle stolen from a Mr. Price shop in Clonmel and valued at 20 euro retail was not recovered.

He had the usual par for the course couple of dozen convictions that most drug addicts have.

Judge Brian O Shea sentenced him to 4 months in prison which seems to me like a harsh penalty not only on the offender but also on the public in general as that sentence will cost the state 28,000 euro just to house him in the prison alone. On top of that we have the amount of Garda time spent on the whole preparation of the case, transport costs, and of course the cost of free legal aid.

I hope he comes out of this prison term a rehabilitated character but I can't help thinking it would have been wiser to just have him pay Mr. Price the 20 euro for the candle and maybe another 100 euro compensation out of his weekly wages or social welfare payments, or maybe have him do some community service work.

I don't want to give examples of more serious offences being dealt with more leniently but is there one law for the rich and another law for the poor in this country?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭JVince

Hopefully a stay in a secure place with help them on a road to recovery.

It's rarely the single offence that a sentence is given on. Most likely a string of offences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭con747

Yes.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

It should be a 4 month sentence for selling those yokes.

he should have gotten that sentence on his 3 conviction. You have forgotten the costs of his previous couple of dozen convictions where he got a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

He probably got a fiver for the candle...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,453 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

What community service do you think he could do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,261 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The price of Yankee Candles is robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,901 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Prison didn't work the last time, they should proably send him somewhere to dry out.

https://archive.ph/YtIyI#selection-5235.0-5235.180

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Ted222

You can’t give them away. Why would anyone steal one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭nachouser

Certainly the Irish have for years complained of Yankee discrimination against them.

— William F. Whyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

My friend and i were in a taxi going to McCarran Airport in Las Vegas and got talking to the driver who was a woman. She was upset because her son had just been sent to jail for 3 years. He stole a DVD. It did sound harsh but she admitted when he was 16 he stole a car, and when he was 17 he was caught with a bag of weed.

We were very supportive, but talking about it later, and agreed, in a state with mandatory minimums, if you had 2 strikes against you, how monumentally stupid would you have to be to steal a DVD, risk getting caught and go to jail for 3 years?

This guy, the one in the OP, has committed any number of crimes already and the judge thought "Clearly the last slap on the wrist wasn't enough. I hope you like porridge".

I say good. About time. I'm fed up of people wandering around with 64 convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

And yet a guy with 60 previous convictions from the same town walks…

Its paywalled but just posting it for proof.

Tipperary man with over 60 previous conviction gets ‘last chance’ from judge | Irish Independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭larchielads

shoulda stole a red sox one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Who are we to argue with the 61 strikes and you’re out system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,612 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

he had plenty of previous, so while it might seem a bit draconian, a suspended would have been zero deterrent, and a couple of weeks might have seen him back out in one. He’ll serve about 3 months, maybe slightly less.

the wellbeing of society and the victims should be the priority when sentencing, not the wellbeing of the criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭CPTM

Jail ain't the best place to get clean but it's worth a shot if the outside world is clearly not working. I can see what the judge is thinking. It's not punishment it's recovery.

Probably cheaper than all the "free" legal aid he would get over the next 5 or 10 trials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭65535

4 months inside ?

He will be out in 2, maybe even less with good behavior

Prisons are full these days.

Yep, and straight back to his previous. A few months in jail isn't going to teach him anything.

They have draconian rules in the USA, but we're the opposite here.

I'd suggest that it is progressive. Up to three minor offences and the judge can use whatever discretion he/she wishes. The 4 - 6 sentence is applied but can be suspended in parts.

But after 6, imprisonment is obligatory with full sentence handed down and up to 50% reduced or suspended based on standard criteria (guilty plea etc). Then further incentives within the imprisonment for extra credit including drug teesting, education etc

Problem is we'd need a couple of thousand extra prison places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

firstly, the guy will be out in a lot less than 4 months, if he even does two months I’d be surprised.

Secondly, if this was his first offence, he’d have been given the probation act. The guy has twenty convictions, going easy on him doesn’t seem to be working.

Imagine some poor young one on minimum wage in Mr Price having to challenge a junkie over a Yankee Candke ffs, is it fair on her?

Making people like this out to be a victim isn’t helping anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭randd1

Why a Yankee candle?

Why n0t some food, or some electrical goods. Mr Price has plenty of small but relatively expensive items, such as superglue, locks, drill bits, ma more hide-able things than a feckin Yankee candle.

He deserves the four months on stupidity alone.

That being said, it's my understanding that said individual is essentially a "ducks head in water" when it comes to prison, as in he's popping in and out all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

While 3 strikes does sound harsh, here I am, at 40 years of age and yet to be convicted once. The idea of having a judge is so he or she can hear the case and if found guilty make a judgement on appropriate sentencing. A modicum of common sense would negate the need for mandatory minimums, only judges have not been utilising any common sense for many years now. Paddy has 64 convictions already, here's another 2 convictions and another suspended sentence. If that thinking continues, then mandatory minimums are needed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,744 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

sentencing in the states is a whole other ball game, where some states instituted mandatory life sentences on conviction for any crime. apparently they end up clogging the court system, because instead of copping a guilty plea for the theft of a DVD, they'll fight it tooth and nail.

I'll beat you by 16 😀

But there can be underlying reasons - even for "decent" people. Mental heath is certainly one and something the gardai are dreadful at understanding. Hence opportunity must be given to make changes themselves, but if that opportunity is not taken, you need to start using the stick approach.

3 strikes is very harsh and very very costly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

What scent Yankee candle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Regarding the judge thinking, here's 4 months in prison I hope you like porridge. The candle thief is after having his choice of breakfasts this morning after a good nights sleep in his lovely warm comfortable bed.

He can go back to his room now and make a couple of phone calls for free or watch TV if he doesn't fancy taking part in any of the courses on offer or any of the payed jobs he will be offered. He can also choose to go the gym, play snooker or pool, a game of cards with the lads or maybe just chill out and read a book in the library before contemplating what he'd like from the substantial 3 course lunch menu. He'll have all the same options open to him again before dinner.

Prison these days isn't about punishment it's geared towards rehabilitation. He'll also be able to have any medical or dental issues he has be seen to without delay, or cost.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

He could be supervised in a group setting where they pick up litter around the town or paint community buildings, weed public garden areas etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,453 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Painting community buildings - yeah, if they can be certain there are no vulnerable clients around at the time.

But the other two are councillors workers jobs.

You asked me a question and I answered it, you can get all the details of what Community Service is and how it actually works with a quick google search.

I just thought it might have been a better option for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Hooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Water2626262

I used to work in a shop and petty theft wasn’t reported to the gardai. The most we could do is try and bar them.

Now I agree that jail over a 20 euro item seems extreme but where is the red line? Can we have people continuously rob items and harass and intimidate minimum wage workers? It’s the latter part which annoyed me most. All across the country there are minimum wage staff being expected to act as security / social worker and be a target for aggression and abuse. These jobs are thankless enough without all that. There needs to be consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

100% - he wont do 4 months and even if he did, so what ?

Like you I'm tired of seeing these scrotes get away with all kinds.

Mandatory life sentences for any crime? Sorry, I need more than a trust me bro on that one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,744 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

To clarify, and I should have done it in my post - that was in the context of the post I quoted where a significant sentence is applied on a third offence, even if the third offence is minor.

California (among others) did it. In order for it to be triggered, one of the previous two convictions has to have been for a serious crime there, but the 'triggering' crime does not need to be serious. But the sentence on conviction of the third crime is life.

https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/public_defender/strikes.html#1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Lighting Yankee candles in his local church and saying prayers :-)

Not always applied.

Is 3-Strikes punishment mandatory in all cases?

In certain circumstance where the sentencing court finds that a second or third strike defendant falls outside the "spirit" of the 3-Strikes Law, the court may, either on motion of the prosecutor or on the court’s own motion, strike or dismiss one or more "strike" priors. This is done pursuant to the power vested in the courts since 1860 to dismiss all or part of an action for good cause and in furtherance of justice. The court must state on the record and include in the court minutes the facts which the court finds justify dismissing the prior. A decision to strike or dismiss a "strike" prior is appealable by the prosecution and reviewable by the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. The San Diego Public Defender’s Office is proud to have been the law firm which established this rule of law in the California Supreme Court in the first 3-Strikes case to be decided by the Supreme Court. (People v. Superior Court (Romero) (1996) 13 Cal.4th 497.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,857 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

highly unlikely he ll be rehabilitated upon release, as reoffence rates are extremely high after release, and our prisons are probably one of the worst places for a person to try work on complex psychological issues that leads to such situations, so on and on we go…..

Should we not just put them in a padded cell and let them go cold turkey to overcome their drug addiction, US style? Of course Thornton Hall should be finished to provide the long needed capacity to do this and provide the additional supports. It also requires proper (real) control on drugs entering prisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,857 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…and im sure this approach works well in the states to!

drug addiction requires specialised care, in specialised environments resourced with specialised professionals, virtually none of which exists in our prisons, so….

…best of luck with keeping drugs out of our prisons!

A businessman (with 29 previous convictions) who stole 21,00 euro worth of alcohol while he was out on bail on a charge that was carried out using a similar modus operandi has walked free from court.

A high degree of planning and preparation went into the crime but he was caught red handed after Gardai mounted a surveilence operation.

Judge Oral Crowe adjourned sentence until February 2025 and said if Stephan Kavanagh is found by the Probation Service to be suitable she will sentence him to do 240 hours community service work in lieu of 18 months in prison.

He’ll definitely get rehabilitated this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,329 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I had to google Yankee Candle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Mr Price are obviously taking the Dunnes Stores approach to shoplifters. They’d prosecute you for stealing a fredo bar. It’s a deterrent to keep shoplifters out of their shops, increases the risk for the shoplifter and reduces Dunnes’ loses overall.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Did he steal it to feed his family?

"I hope he comes out of this prison term a rehabilitated character"

Lol. Poor deluded you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

"Let them eat candles!"

Not your ornery onager

A Bank of Ireland employee who stole more than 200,000 euro from her branch and it's customers and also tried to set the branch on fire walked free from court on Tuesday.

Judge Keenan Johnson put the case back to October 25 to allow a for a statement of Maureen McCormack's means to be prepared so he could formulate a realistic schedule of repayments for the banks outstanding losses.

He said he on that date he hopes to deal with the matter by way of a non custodial sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Things have to happen to lads that do things…

It's that simple, it doesn't matter if its a candle or a car.

This person most likely has been in front of the court many times before and nothing has happened, Judge more than likely is sick of the sight of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

This is pathetic…

Regular people are starting to realise that nothing happens when you break the law. She's after walking away with €50,000. no custodial sentence.

Like where will this stop? I'd argue if you stole a bunch of supercars from a high end dealer, and joy rode them around town, you'd be unlucky if you didn't get a fully suspended custodial sentence…