Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election to be called Fri - predict outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭uptherebels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,480 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ffg will stick together now, well into the 30's, as one of the main reasons for the confidence and supply was to try prevent any sort of alternative government from forming, in particular a sf one, and its working, but of course sf have done an amazing job of wrecking their own chances to. under this situation, any alternative would require a significantly high number of votes, a near majority, in order to make it impossible for this dynamic to continue, i.e. for continual ffg governments, hence why we re probably gonna keep defaulting ffg governments well into the 30's, and maybe beyond…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Joe286

I really don't care about the internal operations of SF. They seem to have followed the law. Though it's ironic they give out about kangaroo courts now.

I don't accep the the violence had to go on as long as it did. So therfore I don't white wash their show trials.

But nothing criminal has been proven at all. I love the way posters get excited over texts to miniors but have no issue with Tulsla is a mess. Child services a mess

Post edited by Joe286 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,243 ✭✭✭Patser

Change just for change's sake, without a demand or vision from a viable alternative is never going to be attractive.

People on here have to remember that Ireland isn't actually doing that bad at the moment, especially when compared to our neighbour the UK.

This Govt was born during covid, and saw the massive spike in cost of living that impacted globally when Ukraine was invaded- and the Govt did throw money at it, pandemic payments, ESB/Gas payments etc all while lowering headline tax bills. And now after all that splurging where are we....actually quite financially sound, with a surplus and arguing how to spend billions in Apple windfall tax.

Compare to the UK who limped through Covid, squandered billions, had Truss wreck people's mortgages over 1 month tenure and now is facing billions of pounds of cuts.

As others have said here before, if you're a homeowner and healthy Ireland is fantastic. The crisis in house prices and hospitals don't register. So why change? What's the big benefit in suddenly going to an unknown that are pretty much nowadays saying, we'll do status quo only better.

yup, some would wanna take a good look at themselves, and ask how continual ffg governments have completely neglected the most critical needs of many children in this country, those that have been experiencing homelessness are now effectively doomed for life, most will remain unemployed for life, with chronic lifelong health care issues, including chronic mental issues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,431 ✭✭✭bladespin

Can't see FG doing well at all, Harris is very unlikable and provokes a strong response with certain groups, despite the blurb SF are hugely popular among those who don't care what press is and FF will be too, Indies and the likes of Anotu will have their followers too, the Greens/Labour may not survive in current form much longer - just opinion etc.

Interesting times.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭HBC08

I can only go on having spoken to him and reading his literature.Young,smart guy who's views align with mine,my colleagues, friends,families views on what's happening around our local area.None of this crew would be in favour of changing abortion laws.

That may have been a central tenant of their policy originally.A candidate talking about abortion around here would be laughed out of it and called a nutter and rightly so.

Things change and smarter partys/ candidates react to what theyre hearing on the ground.FG even did this when Simon Harris took over.Less smart partys like SF get shown up for being well.....less smart.

…and again, you ll find many ffg supporters continually trying to paint a rosie picture, yes ireland is in fact doing well, for those whos needs are being met, particularly their housing and health care needs, and other critical needs, but ireland is really not doing well for those whos needs are not being met!

these issues are in fact fundamental in nature, and ffg are never actually going to change their approach to these issues, i.e. we must now prepare your kids, grand kids, nieces and nephews for a deeply uncertain future, particularly in relation to critical needs such as housing and health care.

again, when a government runs a surplus, its actually a government taking money out of the economy, i.e. surpluses are not always a good thing, and sometimes running a slight deficit is actually good! but dont worry, thats never gonna change either, unless theres another catastrophic event such as another pandemic!

yes we know the uk is fcuked, we know this!

cause staying the same, is definitely gonna lead to changes, definitely!

again, dont worry, theres not gonna be any changes in irish government formations for a very long time, so dont worry about it!

I'd say that a term in opposition would suit FG down to the ground. They've been in power since 2011, and a lot of their big names are now stepping down this election. Harris is young enough now to be around for a while and bring in a new batch, and few years sniping from opposition bench while new frontbenchers get to rattle off soundbites at Govt to build their profile, without pressure of delivering would be nice for them.

FG are fairly unique amongst the bigger Irish parties as in having a 'wing' of politics just to themselves. They are seen as (very, very) Centre (small) Right - but there's no other right wing alternative to steal their votes since PDs disappeared. Aontu maybe on moral issues but not financial terms.

Compare that to the left with SF, PBP, Lab, SDs, Greens all cannabilising each other on left - and FF now in middle still trying to say how they are different from FG on right and others on centre left.

So of all parties, FG are the ones most likely unphased by being in opposition. It was their main role for decades

fg will more than likely be in government with ff for a long time to come, theyre grand, both parties will prop each other up until its impossible to do so, again, the whole idea of the confidence and supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,348 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I can absolutely guarantee you he's anti abortion, and very proud of it. And I can also guarantee his literature mentions "life" repeatedly, but you didn't notice it somehow.

The party only exists due to abortion laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

I'm no fan of FG, but they seem to be devoid of any talent (excluding Paschal) is there anyone else? Honest question, Carroll-MacNeill seems extremely dis-ingenious, less said about Justice minister the better,Peter Burke….. MEP's Carberry, Maria Walsh…..i'd like to know who the genuine talent is in that party?

I'm sure they've changed and added to their agenda but that is the core value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

I'm hoping it's not just a FF/FG behemoth, I'd like to either see the Greens returned with them, unlikely, or the SDs/LAB making up the numbers.

I just can't see any way for SF, with their current woes, being able to steady thier own ship and also steer a course to government. They've just capitulated.

Nature and politics abhor a vacuum, if demand really rises for a change some party will rise to take that mantle.

It's actually the old FF chameleon trick - stick in centre but lean left or right depending on the coalition partner the public voted in with them. So during early Celtic Tiger years when Ireland was suddenly banking nation of the world, PDs get votes go in with Bertie and tax cuts for all (especially corporations), everyone happy. Things a bit tight, need social policies like in early 90s and FF go in with Labour.

That's one of the reasons behind FF's long standing success, they could present themselves as almost anything. It's also one of their biggest threats, and I'm surprised they've survived so well after 2011 when they lost all dominance; how do you identify FF when they sit so fairly square in the centre of all, they are hard to say what they stand for except they've always been there

First off,let me say I think you're a good poster and generally make your points well..Based on that and you seem fairly sure on this I'll double check literature,I won't vote for him if there's any nonsense about right to life or anything like that.

Could you be open to the fact that young,smart,up and coming Aontu candidates are moving away from what we just mentioned and towards what they're actually hearing on doorsteps?

Edit,

Just had a look again there.

Main headings are immigration, housing,health,crime and some local issues.

No mention of abortion or anything " life" related.

I'll pm to you if you like to have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Polling would indicate that SH is indeed quite popular and likable and is up 17% in lastest Ipsos poll.

I heard my daughter and her friends who show no interest in politics or currenct affairs telling me a few days ago that SH 'adorable' and 'cute'. He is connecting with younger voters very well and I suspest no Taoiseach ever has ever been referred to this way by young people before.

That's exactly why I said they'd probably like a term in opposition to rebuild new members profiles. Varadkar, Coveney and Richard Bruton have been the face of FG for 2 decades, all going. In fact 15 of their 35 are not standing. They need to rebuild, and while the old saying of a day in power is better than a year in opposition, being out of spotlight might suit them as they rebuild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,883 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

It's not FF or FG fault that the main opposite are an incompetent party, with links to organised crimes and seem to have questionable attitudes towards paedofiles and criminals.

I think you need to question those parties and not blame others

The Green party are a great example of a party which is run well, has an objective and when they get into government deliver on as much as possible of that objective. Yet are hated in Ireland.

Work that one out

Ye listen "adorable" and "cute" isn't gonna cut it with people who will actually vote, or if people are voting for him on that basis, it's a sad indictment of today's youth

Lol, as opposed to voting for a party because they have for generations, it's a popularity game at the end of the day, whatever works, a youth vote (if it happens) would be very unlikely to favour the FF FG parties.

He's not, or well, doesn't come across as a natural leader. Being honest, he doesn't strike me even as being a good local rep. But they are just my views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭bureau2009

There are ALWAYS surprises in an election.

Opinion polls generally don't predict the outcome.

Expect the unexpected.

No, I can't be open to that, as they're not doing it. They may be trying to convince people they've changed; but they haven't and won't.

Its a single issue, anti abortion party currently wearing a bit of a cloak to try and get in to do their single issue. The party only exists due to said single issue.

Does the leaflet not even have the party slogan on it, which has Life in it? Its the first word on it.

I'd suggest you ask him outright what his views on it are and what way he would vote on it when elected, as it seems it would be an outright vote loser for you. Don't be surprised by the outcome.

You're correct with the Aontu logo,that is on it and it's Life,Unity,Economic Justice.

The Life part and the Unity part (if this is in relation to United Ireland) are of no interest to me and my peer group.Its at odds with everything else on the literature which is more specific to what the candidate stands for.

This feeds into my point and illustrates exactly what i was suggesting, that young,up and coming,smart,new politicians are moving away from what the party was about originally and more towards what people on the ground are concerned with.

If elected, he'll be whipped and required to vote to remove abortion rights at any and every opportunity. You are voting for the party policy as well as the candidates desires; and the party policy is single issue with decorations - ban abortion first, other stuff after

And I am absolutely certain he's in favour of doing that. Ask him.

If I get the chance again I will.

If would feel a bit weird bringing something so off the wall up with a candidate,I would look and sound like a bit of a loon but I absolutely will if I have the opportunity.

It's not off the wall when it's a core of the party policy. I'd suggest just emailing them to ask.

Always party first, whoever writes the party mandate runs the show. Same for all the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Unless SF started to support the middle income and upward earners, there will always be a chasm between them and FFG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Its highly likely we will get 40k homes in 2025, probably 33k to 40k this year.

We have 62k commencements in the last 12 months alone, with 15k in September. We havent seen 60k commencements since the Celtic Tiger days.

All markers are pointing upwards on housing delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Commencements are a notice of intent from developer to LA. It does not mean site has actually commenced. The surge in commencements was directly related to the waiver for development levies if sites commenced by a certain date.

All those sites are just backlog, and next year's commencements will drop massively such that average completions across few years remain broadly similar.

The idea we have a surge in new building because of commencements is nothing more than hot air. Party spin from Darragh o brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

25% of 18-24 voters in that same poll will give 1st preference votes for FG or FF and that's growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The Greens have delivered more public transport for rural Ireland in the last 4-5 years than at any other time in the history of the state.

They have reduced public transport fares by 20% and 50% for under-18's.

What taxes exactly have they raised?

People give out about the Greens, but when challenged on actual specifics they come up short and give overly generalised rants about "Green Policy". It is very much an emotive response rather than a logical one.

I'd be wary of polls, especially around younger voters, they've yet to get it right, can remember being surveyed long ago, wouldn't have been accurate or reflective.

I;m always wary of polls, iwanted to see who actually conducted the mentioned poll in that age bracket, spin fm? Ipsos?

This.

On mature reflection when people actually go to the polls and look back over the last 5 years, what a ride it has been.

First Covid, then the war in Ukraine, along with a massive increase in migration.

Do the government get an A+? No, but all in all they haven't done too badly either, and certainly better than our near neighbours both North of the border and East over the Irish Sea.

The electorate gave the government a nice kicking during the referendums and let off some steam.

But maybe they have forgiven them now and on a more mature reflection may well stick with FF and FG to lead us for the next 5 years.

Given every international metric, Ireland is doing very well. It has its issues, with health, housing and migration. But these are issues that impact every well-developed Western country.

And anyway, who is the alternative? The band of chancers and ex-terrorists called SF, who can't even get their own house in order! They spent the last 4 years shouting and roaring, giving the impression that Ireland is a failed state (it's anything but). Polls were riding high for them, but the government knuckled down and got to work, while SF TD's were out measuring the carpets and curtains for their new ministerial offices. They got lazy and took the eye off the ball. Losers medals for them again.

So given we don't really have an alternative, its FF and FG with another, possibly the SD's or some Independent grouping.

It does seem there is a lot of home-building going on. It is quite noticeable on the ground where I live. The place is a high of activity with new construction and projects popping up all over the place. Of course there is a backlog and a shortfall, buts its good at least that output is ramping up.

People see this, feel it and get a sense that things are getting better. This is a powerful subliminal message.

So, you want to exist in a world with no hope?

How the hell did you get to posting that message from me posting a link from the Indo claiming people wanted more action done with housing?

No good having bus routes if the only stop twice on a 25km route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Enda was extremely charismatic man, may not have come across like that on tv, but irl he was very sound, genuinely interested in people he met. He was decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,685 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Committed to give a No.1 to the Greens yeah, to give a transfer no, and they're not getting in without transfers.

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

They're the same as Renua in that everyone knows there is only one reason the party exists - abortion - even if they try to deny it like Renua did.

Plus the membership attracts the hardline anti-choicers so if they do ever get a non-Toibin TD, and he or she tries to equivocate on abortion, they'll go mad

You would be foolish to vote for Aontu unless more (much more) restrictive abortion laws is a high priority for you.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

It's great to see, but all I hear is delays and more delays when it comes to completions.

It's almost guaranteed we'd get another FF/FG coalition. They're basically the same party in all but name. Can't believe how SF screwed up over the past 2 years. All they had to do was do nothing, yet they're falling from one controversy into another.

It's as if the crash and the bank guarantee never happened…