Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The €3,000 per month luxury welfare apartments

1111213141517»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭greyday

Its not their job to reward non workers with 3K per month apartments either.

Proportionate housing/apartments to ones needs is critical or why would anyone work, very few workers can afford to pay 3K per month for housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

In terms of this being a % requirement. What is the argument for mixed housing.

Is it seen that the people in receipt of the social housing look upon their neighbours earning and paying and get inspired or what?

There surely must be an argument beyond it being an alluristic gesture to people dealt a bad card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

which is why they don't reward non-workers with 3 k apartments.
    those in subsidized housing are only getting 3k apartments because that is all that is available due to **** housing policies which no doubt you voted for.
    the type of housing provided to a tenant in subsidized housing has no effect on whether one works or why they work.
    people work because they earn money and are in a better position by working then they would if they didn't work, someone being in a 3k apartment doesn't change that.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,434 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Ironically, many social housing tenants wouldn't be that thrilled to get one of these:

It's an apartment, they want a house with a yard for the kids to play in, and to be able to park at the door.

They cannot afford to patronise local cafes, restaurants etc.

The neighbours aren't friendly, and have nothing in common with them. The worse ones are right karen's / nigels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

My missus works for one of the approved housing bodies, she worked for another previously. It is certainly the case that there is way more trouble with social tenants that are being housed for almost free, the crap she has to put up with from them is unbelievable and the stories she tells me are nuts about some of their behaviour. The messes she cleans up!

She tries to spend as much time as she can with the cost rental end of things, the welfare end of it is borderline dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

People in social housing are not "non workers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

So, while the effects of a single development, taken in isolation, will diffuse out, when there are enough of them, the effects I would think that the effects could be noticed.

22 apartments in a luxury development. You might think well that's only giving a lift to 22 lucky families who were going to get housed in Darndale. But it is also taking those apartments away from 22 private buyers. Those private buyer can just move down the ladder a bit to their next preference. Not the end of the world. Say they go to Rathmines. But now there are 22 less houses in Rathmines. So the next 22 potential buyers who would have otherwise bought in Rathmines move out to Harold's Cross. And so on and so on. And eventually you get down to the 22 families who were pushed out of buying in Beaumont, and get the 22 houses in Darndale.

Perhaps a bit simplistic, but once repeated often enough, especially in the given climate of severe shortages, jumping a lucky group way up the ladder, shifts a lot of others back down one rung each to make space

yeah, this never happened.

there is still no evidence to show that people in social/subsidized housing are more likely to be an issue then those not.

even for those in such housing who are an issue, it's because they are an issue and not due to the status of their housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Interesting how these people who are more likely to be an issue never end up in D4 housing, amazing that.

some of them do, you will never hear about it however because certain delusions must be kept up by the upper classes of society.

What never happened?

She's been assaulted herself, has to deal with domestic violence, drug overdoses, barring orders, 2 stabbings this year alone, child neglect and TUSLA, rows between neighbours, she is on first name terms with loads of gardaí in the areas she has houses.

She has about 300 properties in her portfolio I think and the prevalence of bad behaviour is huge, way higher than you'd expect in 300 households. I know about 30 tenants by name even though I've never met them

'Brian and Louise's kids got taken from them again because Brian had an overdose'

'Jimmy turned up again and Jacinta had to ring the guards'

I actually hate her working there but she likes it because she does get to help some vulnerable people, I don't begrudge them a house, it's the wasters that just won't work that are the problem.

Theres very little of it in cost rental because people are working and they respect their home because they're paying for it. And they've to be up in the morning so aren't drinking and doing drugs.

Theres a small block of social housing in my area and you can tell the difference straight away how it is kept compared to the owner occupied and private rental areas.

Id say the evidence is available if someone went and looked for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,818 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Not only are these wasters getting housed in luxury apartments for pennies, they are then complaining that they don't have access to the gym, cinema, etc. that regular tenants are paying thousands for. This place in D8 is 2k+ per month for a 2 bedroom apartment, and the govt is leasing 40 of them.

Take take take, whinge whinge whinge…

https://dublininquirer.com/2024/05/15/time-for-government-to-direct-councils-to-make-sure-council-tenants-have-access-to-amenities-in-private-complexes-tds-say/

Yeah I saw a tiktok video some local councillor giving out that some social tenants didn't have access to the gym in a complex, most of the place was rented by IT workers in Google and paying a fortune. I wish I had access to a gym in my development but I don't! I'm sure if all residents paid for it we could build one locally but I can't see that happening!

Not so much the parents as the children, the hope is that they would see there's more to life than sitting about getting everything handed to you, or that they can aspire to be a professional of whatever sort they please. I'm speaking in very crude terms here, there are plenty of people in social housing who get up and go to work every morning.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,019 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

All sorts of people live in social housing and pay a % of their salary to live there, it costs those with higher incomes more. There are people that scam the system but they are few, and there are people that grow up knowing no better and can learn that there are opportunities for them.

Why are they "wasters". Explain in detail as you must know every single one of the social tenants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Someone unemployed getting a 3k per month apartment in one of the countries nicest suburbs absolutely disproves your point that someone working is better off than somone on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭taratee

They do. I lived beside one of them in Ballsbridge. A prolific shoplifter to be more precise. The percentage of social housing in the area is increasing all of the time.

Am Yisrael Chai

And at the same time, the majority of schools in Dublin have unfilled teaching posts, because teachers cant afford to live in the capital.

Make the majority of social homes affordable and cost rental, so that teachers and nurses can qualify for housing & ensure that the people who work for a living are prioritised for social housing.

I think we've learnt from the mistakes of the past with our social housing model and i applaud the governments of the last couple of decades for moving towards the integrated model of housing. You will always get begrudgers but for the most part people are happy with the way things are going and welcome the approach.

Thankfully all political parties and councils are moving in the same direction and nobody wants to see segregation become the norm again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭taratee

I agree. However, if they do that, people will start complaining about D4 being elitist, no social housing there etc. Here is the interesting bit. That shoplifter ended up leaving the apartment. Place was far too quiet for her. Garda were stopping her all the time because they knew who she was.

Am Yisrael Chai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭amacca

Maybe that's the idea....speed up the gentrification of areas the gards are afraid to go into!

There is social housing in D4. There is also an asylum centre in D4.

The majority of social housing within the canals should be going to working people, is the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Someone on the social housing list but working full time - absolutely zero problem with them getting these apartments.

Long term SW recipients, welfare tourists and the link - 100% no.

However we know who a) shout the loudest and b) are supported by the Boards SJW cohort - so imagine Factory Worker X and Nurse Y will be f**ked off if they think they're getting one of these - when they 100% should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

"if you work hard little Jimmy, maybe some day you can afford to live in a place like this!"
    "is that what you did dad?"
    "dont be daft, I get this for free, why on earth would I want to work?"

"for the most part people are happy"
    Based on what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,818 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Personal dealings with a few of them. Even McVerry managed to get a few of his best and brightest in there.

"Personal dealings with a few of them" So they are all wasters then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭zell12

include six apartments bought for €611k each with a further eight purchased for €499k each.

😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Around my area there's been tons of developments over the last 5 - 6 years. Mainly a few houses scattered about in small estates with blocks of apartments in the same complex.

They don't seem to integrate them into the buildings with paying tenants/mortgage holders. Which I can understand.

You may have 5 blocks but they seem to fire them all into the one block. Then it turns into a shithole.

And any development you drive past or walk past you can clearly tell which one is the social housing block, some not a couple years old look like they've been there since the 80's.

Ones around here have outdoor lamps and playgrounds in front of them. All ripped to pieces or smashed up. Shite lying around everywhere.

Been inside one building in Glenageary. The walls in the halls have holes in them, covered in muck and filth, Tiles broken and intercoms into the building smashed up or just scraped with keys to destroy them..

And they always seem to put them in the first block closest to the main road entrance of the estate. Away from the rest of the complex but close enough.

I'm in favour of the new way of integration.

But it seems to be done half arsed.

But then you could make the point who would want all that crap in their building after paying half a million for an apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭purifol0

Why do people in these threads always assume its some lazy man on the dole who is recieving state housing. The overwhelming majority of free housing, and welfare in all its forms is given to women.

Thats why we are now the world biggest welfare state, women vote for free stuff. They don't care where it comes from and politicians are more than happy to cater to the womens voting block, its much bigger than the mens. Despite being listed and treated as a minority women are in fact the majority.

This preferential treatment is reflected in all areas of govt policy, welfare spending, public sector hiring, prison sentencing and of course free gaffs.

Did you just assume Jimmy's dads gender?

For shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭purifol0

You mightnt believe me but I do have a friend who's dad went trans.

We slag each other constantly about every little thing but none of the lads dare touch this subject.

He still loves his Da but it really did mess him up.

I'd be dead happy to change my gender if I could get a free gaff out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Woodcutting

I see she respects all her clients confidence too. She should not be giving that information to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Banjo Carney

This exactly the welfare brigade getting these houses is an absolute joke. Disability allowance is far too easy to get in Ireland also.