Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SPHE Teacher's Interview - What Happens in the Classroom... - Mod Note Added to OP PLEASE READ

• 14-10-2024 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭

Teacher in this vid talking about how the schools are/are going to start showing 12 year old kids cartoon vids of women masturbating and talking about rimming, fisting, anal? And teachers are told to just throw general information at any childs query on these subjects without any safeguarding when questions take a weird turn…all abit messed up???

And this even touches on phones no longer allowed in class rooms so theirs no vids of whats going on making it home to mammy and daddy and the school buying the books and keeping the books in school so parents don't see whats in them.

Mod Warning:

OK, this thread is getting very close to a train wreck. I had to go back and check the OP to see what it is about, because reading through it it's impossible to figure out the topic.

PLEASE stick to the topic, which is the SPHE curriculum. Bringing up the transgender topic for the umpteenth time is off topic and derails the discussion. We have more than one threads in CA that discuss the transgender topic. Any more of this and warnings/bans will follow.

Thank you all in advance for getting the discussion back on topic.

Post edited by Irish Aris on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭_BAA_RAM_EWE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,949 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Stinks of complete rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Had no sex education whatseover. Learned everthing off the telly and then as I went along as I grew up. I'm feel fortunate I didn't, it sounds really cringe and inapprotiate. I feel I'm one of the lucky ones that dodged all that.

One thing I loved to know, does sex education have a reductive effect on the numbers of unwanted pregnancies and incidence of sexually transmitted diseases? Were both those things HIGHER when there was no sex education? Why do I have this feeling that if anything it's the opposite. I could be totally wrong of course so if anyone has the stats do please … :)

Oh, and thank God there was no lgbt education when I were a lad, I would have gone bright red there and then in the classroom if the teacher brought up homosexuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Post edited by eightieschewbaccy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,352 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Fisting vids in school?

Jaysus the poor nun who gave us an extremely vague talk on the birds on bees will be spinning in her grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

1. Phone ban stop bullying of kids, sexting during class time, or other nefarious activities.

2. From what I've heard from trainee teachers the stuff seen in the vids is educational activities for teachers on how to answer questions from that push boundaries and/or educate young teachers themselves on phrases and things that are commonly our there amongst older teens.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

One thing I loved to know, does sex education have a reductive effect on the numbers of unwanted pregnancies and incidence of sexually transmitted diseases? Were both those things HIGHER when there was no sex education? Why do I have this feeling that if anything it's the opposite. I could be totally wrong of course so if anyone has the stats do please … :)

Not in and of itself, no. ‘Sex Education’, as you can imagine, varies wildly depending upon the ethos of the educational institution. Issues like unwanted pregnancies and STIs, etc are more common in the absence of education, as opposed to being predicated on sex education specifically. Interestingly enough, due to the lack of access to education, while rates of unintended pregnancy are easier to determine among specific groups, rates of STIs are a bit more difficult to nail down to particular groups:

Despite our study’s limitations, the results demonstrate that sexual minority women face elevated risks for mistimed and unwanted pregnancy compared with heterosexual women with only male partners and the importance of including measures of both identity and behavior. Given the dynamic and multifaceted nature of women’s sexual orientation development over time, more research is needed to understand the implications of the diversity of sexual and romantic partnerships among sexual minority women if their reproductive and sexual health needs are to be addressed effectively.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5819992/

The increased risk of unintended pregnancy among sexual minority women likely reflects structural barriers to sexual and reproductive health services. It is critical that sex education programs become inclusive of sexual minority individuals and medical education train health care providers to care for this population. Health care providers should not make harmful heteronormative assumptions about pregnant patients and providers must learn to take sexual histories as well as offer contraceptive counseling to all patients who want to prevent a pregnancy regardless of sexual orientation.

https://www.guttmacher.org/article/2019/12/sexual-orientation-differences-pregnancy-and-abortion-across-lifecourse

This research provides evidence that it is critical to consider sexual behaviors in conjunction with sexual orientation identities when studying STI risk across the U.S. population. Indeed, these findings add to the growing body of research that suggests that behavior and identity are not interchangeable categories and that focusing on one indicator of sexual orientation alone may lead to misinformed conclusion about how STI risk is distributed across the population. More research is needed to understand sexual health needs of bisexual identified and behaviorally bisexual persons. Indeed, STI prevention efforts aimed at reducing victimization among women and addressing safe-sex practices among both men and women may benefit from a more tailored focus of the needs of these risk groups rather than grouping all identity groups who engage in same-sex sex together.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3575167/

Oh, and thank God there was no lgbt education when I were a lad, I would have gone bright red there and then in the classroom if the teacher brought up homosexuality.

I’d imagine there were a few lads went bright red alright in my class too when the topic of homosexuality was broached in an all boys Christian Brothers School (nobody dared look around to see who was going bright red 😂), but like I alluded to earlier - the sex education delivered in the school was based upon the Catholic faith, so while topics like homosexuality and abortion were brought up, homosexuality got far less of an airing than the ethics of abortion.

Similar story when it came to my own young lads education in sixth class around the time of the referendum to repeal the 8th amendment. I was talking to his teacher not just as my child’s father, but also as a member of the Board of Management of the school. We both had our own personal views on the issues involved, but knew at the same time without having to be reminded, that our professional and legal obligations were what matters in the context of her employment as a teacher in a Catholic ethos national school. That was a difficult conversation that neither of us wanted to be having! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

That whole post is going off on a tangent, but...

the results demonstrate that sexual minority women face elevated risks for mistimed and unwanted pregnancy compared with heterosexual women with only male partners

...What?

both men and women may benefit from a more tailored focus of the needs of these risk groups rather than grouping all identity groups who engage in same-sex sex together.

Were gay and lesbian students being given different sex ed classes than the rest of the students?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

...What?

Needs context, I guess:

CONTEXT

Many sexual minority women, regardless of sexual identity, engage in heterosexual behavior across the life course, which provides them opportunities to experience an unintended pregnancy. In addition, sexual minority women are more likely than others to report characteristics that may make them vulnerable to unintended pregnancy. Little research, however, has examined whether the risk of unintended pregnancy is elevated among these women.

both men and women may benefit from a more tailored focus of the needs of these risk groups rather than grouping all identity groups who engage in same-sex sex together.

Were gay and lesbian students being given different sex ed classes than the rest of the students?

Doubtful, hence the suggestion that both men and women may benefit from a more tailored focus on the needs of those risk groups rather than grouping all identity groups who engage in same-sex sex together. If they’re receiving any form of sex education at all, it’s likely it was the same for all students regardless of their sexual identity, whereas nature just doesn’t have the capacity in either circumstances above, to care about anyone’s sexual identity or how anyone identifies themselves.

Nature will do its thing regardless of how anyone imagines it does or doesn’t apply to them, hence the reason why some women become pregnant when either they, or the person they had sex with, hadn’t intended (as if their requisite reproductive organs are rendered obsolete by virtue of their sexual identity), or people who imagine themselves immune to STIs (either by virtue of being ignorant, or ineffective use of protection), can find themselves exposed to some rather nasty bugs that are considerably more difficult to detect by visual inspection alone!

I thought about it, but I’m useless at drawing diagrams 😬

Debunked how?

Some expressed incredulity when Gript asked them if they were certain the exercises had been intended for replication in Irish classrooms, asking what exactly the point of a training course would be if none of the exercises in it were intended to actually be used

https://gript.ie/audio-dcu-course-participants-discuss-talking-fisting-with-students/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,313 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

That clip pretty much has feck all in terms of illustrating anything. It's a random out of context 50 second clip. Gript seem to be using the project veritas approach of manufacturing a scandal.

The recording features a discussion during a break in the DCU course which has been the subject of recent controversy and which was conducted partly over Zoom.

I presume they have a recording of that whole session, but can't share it for legal reasons.

Any response to the bit I quoted:

asking what exactly the point of a training course would be if none of the exercises in it were intended to actually be used

I have done plenty of training courses where we do exercises that are not intended for the classroom and more as an internal educational tool. Exercises amongst adults sounds like what it amounts to.

In relation to the legal reasons claim, nah it's pretty much the same approach that project veritas group do. Out of context clips can misrepresent pretty easily.

Learning off the TV isn't ideal either. The Dutch model seems to be effective according to this article.

https://dutchreview.com/expat/education/sex-education-in-the-netherlands/

I wouldn't have minded learning off a dutch model ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

In case anyone else's spidey sense were on full alert after hearing an American voice at the start of that video - that lady is Jana Lunden. She was mentioned in a piece in the Examiner last year about the far-right in Ireland.

Specifically she's trying to import more American-style fear-based culture politics to this country mirroring it exactly on what's going on over there

Children are at the centre of his rhetoric. On this, Blighe’s party Ireland First is closely aligned with the Natural Women’s Council (NWC) led by Jana Lunden.

Lunden is an American whose NWC, not to be confused with the National Women’s Council of Ireland (NWCI) brings to Ireland an exact replica of Moms for Liberty in the States, if you haven’t heard of the moms, they are a populist group intent on breaking down state education in America. 

They share ideological roots with wealthy conservative organisations in America like The Heritage Foundation. Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is an educational and research thinktank. You would recognise their messaging; it is the exact same bile being shouted by Lunden and her tribe outside libraries across Ireland.

Both Moms for Liberty in America and the Natural Women’s Council in Ireland claim that schools have adopted a ‘woke gender ideology’ and are ‘grooming’ children. They also promote a version of womanhood that is seemingly unthreatening and wholesome. Underlying their rhetoric is a hatred of feminism and vulnerable minorities. Just like Moms for Liberty, they want to dismantle our education system from the inside out.

source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Raichų

It was about 20 years ago when I did it in school and it was just the biological facts of reproduction, puberty that kinda shite.

It wasn’t videos of women masturbating or anyone getting rimmed anyway. My sister tried to let on you were show a video of people having sex, you definitely weren’t, but it’s not a new phenomenon to have people way over exaggerating about sex ed.

Most parents are too skittish to do it so it’s important they learn it somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I have a recollection of coming home from school at the age of very young and going directly to my mother to ask her 'is is true that man has to dot dot dot to a woman to make a baby'. I don't remember if she said anything back but the look on her face will stay with me forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I love the idea of a mad epidemic of fisting among the youth, how far up the rabbit hole do you have to get when fisting becomes relevant.

I must be a fierce prude but to me fisting is not a real thing, just an obscure and likely unhealthy thing that very few people would actually enjoy?

No child is going to take fisting seriously as a worthwhile activity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭aero2k

Oh I don't think we're talking about rabbits' holes, though I'd be happy to defer to those with more experience in these matters.

I fear with all the recent focus on the budget and fiscal rectitude, someone might have got it confused with rectal fistitude!😱😱😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I presume they have a recording of that whole session, but can't share it for legal reasons.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Wake up. They're not showing the whole recording because it'd debunk their bullshít if they did. Gript take a clip with no context and then misrepresent it to fool the gullible.

But "MSM" eh 🙄

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

DCU said any material shared on the course was provided only to the teachers as adults in the context of their broader education on the programme.

“It is made clear by DCU that no graphic or explicit material is intended for use by teachers in a secondary school classroom setting,” said the university.

It said the video “completely misrepresented” the course and the materials on it. On the back of this, the university said there had been a disinformation campaign about the course and what would be taught to children.

“This campaign purposefully conflates what is taught to teachers on the graduate diploma programme so that they have a broader knowledge of the SPHE/RSE area, and what is actually taught to secondary students in accordance with the national curriculum.

“It has led to targeted attacks on the academic staff who teach the course, with unacceptable threats of violence, misogynistic and homophobic slurs, and libellous remarks being made on social media, in comment sections on articles about the course and over email.”

Jana Lunden, founder of the Natural Women’s Council, said that “threats of violence or slurs have nothing to do” with the council “or any of the campaigning groups that represent ordinary parents and teachers”.

Coward. You could at least own the consequences of your lies.

What a rephrehensible bunch.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

The people that have called her a liar have, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Well, you will notice that I didn't call her a liar, you made that up. But the people who have called her a liar have supplied the evidence that she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

You have it the wrong way round.

The burden of proof is on the people making the accusation.

Otherwise people can make up any old rubbish (like this American inspired group are doing) and when pressed simply respond "prove me wrong".

saw this on twitter

kids colouring in different LGBT flags as part of a SPHE exercise. which is grand on the face of it, but what flags were included I wonder?

googled lgbt flags and first result was:

don't have to go too far to see some controversial takes

Post edited by Quantum Erasure on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Well as they say, time will tell. Either the whistle-blower made it all up, or she didn't, and time will tell as the truth is sure to come out someday. Same with the two female boxers in the Olympics, who some claimed to be male. They too will be proven to be liars or not, as the case may be.

My kids school spent the week doing pro LGBT stuff. He just didn't engage and found something else to go to when they raised the flag.

I wonder will they spend a week doing pro heterosexuality stuff just so everyone can be seen to be equal. More likely than not it's a case of some are more equal than others and they won't.

Ah yes, the decades of heterosexuals being discriminated against for being straight. What would "pro heterosexuality" even entail? 😂

Well from my seat in the world anyone who says heterosexuality is the norm and right is the the one shouted at and discriminated against.

It's seems to be the case of we're all free to believe what we what but you must also exercise your freedom to believe what we believe even if you don't or else your whatever we choose to denigrate you as.

That's not equality

Events, flags. He didn't take a lot of notice. Just found other more useful stuff to do in school.

Nobody is saying being straight is wrong. I'm straight, I've never felt that there's something wrong with that. Meanwhile the rhetoric you seem to be referring to has more to do with implying there's something wrong with LGBT people. That's the group that is consistently targeted to imply there's something wrong with that.

You basically want some special recognition for those being intolerant more than anything by the sounds of things. You aren't limited in some way in life because of it...

LGBT aren't limited in their way for life either. I have a right to disagree without being called bigoted, homophobic or whatever other denigration someone decides I am because I disagree.

If they want true equality, do what the rest of the world does. Just get on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭elperello

But they were limited.

Now they are out and not going back.

They have the right to express themselves.

Their freedom doesn't make you less free.

Just get on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

In what context would it be appropriate for secondary school sex educators to be discussing fisting and rimming in a training course?

You literally just want to imply they're not normal or right, that's gonna get a response that's not positive and that's your own fault. By the sounds of it, you're teaching your own child this logic. You can get offended that people don't have much respect for your views but you don't gain an automatic right for respect. LGBT people are still discriminated throughout the world, parents even in Ireland can still end up rejecting their children because of their orientation. Even if we're to say everything is perfect in Ireland (they're not), I think it's very much so necessary to remember the movement and what they did to get where they are in terms of civil rights. Straight people never had to create a movement.

Now, explain how you're discriminated against for being straight? Holding homophobic views etc is not an example of intolerance because you're straight. 😉

Events and flags? What kind of events? Why would he not take part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Remember LGBTQ+is not one lovely cosy homogenous group of people. They are two distinct groups who can be divided into the LGB (lesbian Gay & bisexual) and the (TQi+) who added themselves to the moniker around about 2015. Since then serious rifts have developed between the two groups, with the LGB feeling threatened by the TQi+ who (they say) are "Transing the gay away", which roughly translated means that effeminate boys are now being taught in school that they may actually be girls trapped in a girls body. A boy is then put on the path of being socially transitioned in school. New name, new female pronoun she/her (listen up Enoch), and everybody must now affirm this for fear of being called either a bogot or a transphobe. Calling the boy by his original Nigel is called deadnaming and is a serious offence, for Nigel is now Wendy and must be affirmed as such, or else . . . Lesbians are also suffering for another really crazy reason. Men who say they are now women and remain attracted to women, are now calling themselves lesbians because they're (same Gender attracted) !!!

Think about that one.

All in all Gay people and lesbians are getting serious flack because of all this madness, as they claim to have nothing to do with the TQi+ activists who are pushing their own agenda against biology and reality. LGB TQi+ are really two groups. Not sure what's been taught re all of the above, but children are being taught about gender identity and pronouns etc.

NOBODY SHOULD BE DESCRIMINATED AGAINST.

If someone wants to believe they're normal and that a male can be a female just because they think they are they have every right to. I have a right to think otherwise.

Nobody is preventing you from holding any belief you want. Equally we don't have to any particular respect for your belief. I take it you can't point to examples of you being discriminated against for being straight. 😂

I dunno, cos they're school events? You didn't say what kind of events. Does he isolate himself much in school?

So you don't have to respect my beliefs but expect me to respect yours otherwise I'm a homophobic bigot. It proves my point.

Funnily enough no. Though I know a lot of kids didn't take part in what was going on. Why would a school try impose the beliefs of a minority on someone?