Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭head82

I'm not so sure that the 'method of the killing' undermines the theory at all. Granted, it was messy.. very messy! But plans don't always go as expected and the end result was still achieved.

• Registered Users Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, that's certainly possible too.

But, I think, an organised killer would probably plan it better. For example, there are lots of high cliffs nearby…..even if he did kill her at the gate…..put her in the car and throw the body over a cliff.

Probably be put down to misadventure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭jesuisjuste

If that happened and the gardai then talked to the Ungerers; as one of the last people to see her alive, and her walking the cliffs alone and talking about dread that day etc. it would have certainly been considered misadventure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭tibruit

"Hills. This does not appear in the statement."

Well yes and she clearly seemed to have an issue with that. Obviously she was initially presented with a statement or memo where something she said about hills had been blacked out and the statement she signed had it omitted completely, that is of course if I take you at your word which I am now less inclined to do as your posts are becoming increasingly disingenuous.

The note is very revealing. She acknowledges that she read the statement herself. She confirms that the statement "is correct except for the part that I pointed out about the hills being black over." So she had no issue with the fact that she had stated that Bailey wanted to go over to Alfie`s house, that he got out of bed and she didn`t see him again until around 9AM when he turned up with a bloodied scratch on his forehead.

"what else would he be admitting?"

Things that he initially denied had happened. Like getting out of bed, leaving the house etc.

"Lying to a suspect is a clear psychological technique that police use to break suspects."

So what? As long as she was truthful, she had nothing to be concerned about. Assuming they did lie to her in `97, this would have had no bearing on events in 2000 when she signed the statement again.

"If you believe it is really "a million to one" that this man might have lied or twisted the words to fit what he wanted.."

I don`t. You`ve just taken something I said about the lottery and used it in an attempt to discredit me in a most disingenuous way. But if you think that Fitzgerald wrote up that statement alone and unprompted by the other interrogators and then forced Jules to sign it, you are utterly deluded. In reality you are alleging a broad conspiracy.

"the only way they could succeed was to "break Jules Thomas""

Well I`ve said this a few times now but this was a big mistake by the Gardaí. She hadn`t a clue what he was up to on the night of the murder and he didn`t need her help to disappear the bloodied evidence.

"she later described these events as devastating"

Unfortunately Jules Thomas hitched her wagon to a man who assaulted her multiple times and who fantasized about murdering multiple people and that`s minimally. She has a level of personal responsibility to bear for her own situation.

"you asked who else-apart from Marie Farrell-retracted their statements"

"Jules Thomas"

Well I did specifically say impartial witnesses.

"Patrick Lowney….no prizes for guessing why he was never called as a witness at the libel trial"

Fair enough. I wonder why he wasn`t called by Bailey`s team?

"Patrick O`Riordain"

He didn`t make a statement. Is that it?

"a million to one"

You have quoted me out of context four or five times in that post. You`re not doing yourself any favours. I suspect you are a bit rattled about how you have misinterpreted that signed note with the statement and your whole argument at this stage is completely undermined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭PolicemanFox

1. Money - Has there ever been any evidence shown that there was a life insurance policy on Sophie? I haven't seen any. Ian Bailey claimed there was, but he was hardly a reliable source.
    2. So did quite a number of other people.
    3. He never came to Ireland - he didn't like Ireland. His comment (according to Margaret, Sophie's mother) was that he thought she should have bought a house in Brittany, because it rains just as much but isn't as far to go.
    4. Melita gave birth in March 1998, meaning they were together in June 1997. According to Ariane Toscan du Plantier, his daughter who cared for Daniel after the murder, Melita came on scene after Cannes. Now Melita was employed in Unifrance in 1995, and she had the same job as Sophie did when she first joined - looking after the office of the comedians. It's possible they were together, but again, we need evidence, and she wasn't pregnant until 6 months after the murder.
    5. I don't think that means anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I see this the same way. Daniel's influence in France would most likely have meant he could have hidden his financial affairs as well, police not having an insight into his finances/bank accounts, etc…. Daniel certainly wouldn't have liked any media coverage in France on his financial situation.

The problem with the invesitgation of the Gards regarding checking for flights and arrivals in Ireland at that time is that results were limited from the start. No big IT as today, no biometrics in passports ( one false passport may not have stood out), the investigation could only have focused on the PNR, the passenger name records. Finding one of thousands was impossible, lot's of family, relatives, etc travelling home over Christmas, Irish working overseas not uncommon in the early to mid 90ies. Somebody taking a train from say Paris to Brussels, then a flight to Dublin, gradually making his way to Cork wouldn't have stood out in any search.

I suppose the police kept a copy of all the PNR data around that time. Suppose they've matched one man still alive today to Daniel's circles and things would get interesting, - also rumors would be rampant quickly as well. Another book written, another documentary filmed, etc… Everything, but absolutely no real evidence.

Thus to me my ranking is based on motive:

1. hitman sent by Daniel, highest financial motive, lot's of problems solved for Daniel, no costly divorce, gotten inheritance as husband and next of kin etc….
    2. drugs related, and somebody local, Alfie Lyons, Leo Bolger, Finbarr Hellens, possibly one or two corrupt Gards involved. 2nd highest financial motive, motive of avoiding a jail sentence for somebody with a previous brush with the law.
    3. something sexual, jealous ex lover, horny Guard from Bantry, Karl-Heinz Wolney, no financial motive or gain
    4. possibly Bailey with unknown motive or just sheer lust for beating up a woman as a motive

Only an informed hitman, Alfie/Shirley, Leo and Finbarr/Josie would have known with a high degree of certainty that Sophie was alone at her cottage and the location was sort of isolated. ( and this doesn't mean that they did it) I don't even think Bailey knew that Sophie was alone? Maybe one or the other bar man in a pub, as well as the Ungerers. However I neither see a motive for a bar man, nor for the Ungerers.

Yes, all valid. But, just to play devil's advocate, (1)the money issue isn't confined to any insurance policy…..there is the potential divorce settlement too.

On the second issue, other people did, indeed know……but he had motive

3…I would argue that most husbands, regardless of a lack of affection for the country, would have travelled in such circumstances.

4. Like so many issues connected to this crime, speculative, but possible additional motive.

5. It means that, unlike the ordinary man in the street, ( say a bus driver) he probably had the means and contacts to organise something.

Of course, its all speculative and I'm not promoting this particular theory, but Daniel, as Sophie's husband, has to be the focus of some attention.

I've never read about Harbison suggesting that the body may have been moved….any more on that?

Hitman theory really doesn't hold much water. Daniel also may have been advised not to travel by his lawyers, and given the **** show of an investigation, that was probably sound advice.

Also if it was a hitman it was a complete disaster, totally amateur. The bare minimum is to make it look like an accident. People may say, well no one knows who did it so that's also a successful hit. No chance, if you were the hitman you created one of the most high profile murder investigations in the history of the state. Who the hell would be happy with that outcome. Not much chance of future business….

I would contradict this. The hitman theory does have the biggest financial motive. Also the way Sophie was killed could easily hide a professional hit by making it look unprofessional. Suppose Sophie was killed by a pistol, a single and clean shot to the head? Then the fingers would have pointed straight to Daniel having sent somebody, given the orders. A single clean shot plus some financial irregularities in Daniel's bank account would have been even worse for Daniel.

Also the fact that West Cork rarely seen any murders at all would lead to suggest that the locals living there were getting along, or somewhat getting along. They may have had differences, done some shady things here and there, dealing or otherwise handling drugs, some argument over cattle, some arguments over land here and there, maybe an odd brawl under the infulence of alcohol, etc…. but murder was clearly rare. This would be an indication that both victim and murderer were not local or connected to anything local.

All not evidence, but possible indications.

I think people get hung up on the Hollywood idea of a hitman.

The fundamental goal of a hitman is to kill someone in a way that makes it look like an accident or suicide, not that someone else might have murdered her, or to leave it in a grey area as it is here. That would be more akin to trying to frame someone for a murder.

You want the book closed on any investigation as quickly as possible. You don't want it to remain open and talked about for 30 years, with politicians, gardai, journalists, everyone looking into it. People in the area freaking out etc. The best hitmen murders are the one's you never hear about or even suspect, that's the point. This hit would be a botch of almost the highest degree (aside from leaving her alive of course).

I think a financial motive for a murder has nothing to do with the movie industry.

It's just one motive, or even more, it's the biggest financial motive.

I couldn't see a bigger financial motive in this murder case, - that is of course, if the motive for murder was financial at all….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

But a "hitman" type of killing would need to be planned. And this one doesn't look planned, to me. For instance, the hitman would have known that Sophie would be alone….so the best place to kill her would be inside the house, where the body might not have been discovered for many weeks. And done in a way that wouldn't be messy, or let her cry out, or leave potential clues.

Now, we don't know if she cried out: maybe not. But it was carried out in a place where any of the neighbours or locals might have passed by - as Shirley, in fact, did, some time later. And the scene was left very messy, which carried a high risk to the killer of him being spattered with blood, harder to hide or to get rid of. I'm sure professional criminals know full well that blood traces can be easily detected by chemicals. The car he would have used must have at least blood traces where the feet rested; his boots must have stepped in pools of blood. And the weapons were crude and improvised on the spot.

Doesn't look professional or planned to me. On the contrary, very much an impulse fight.

I've been thinking lately that it's very likely the perpetrator may have been drunk; as we know from road safety campaigns, many people who were drunk the night before can still have dangerously high blood alcohol the next morning. And it was that time of year when drinkers drink and smokers smoke.

Yes, on balance it has the characteristics of a sudden escalation rather than a planned event.

But its worth considering the other theories too.

I am aware of all this. Even the very definition of planning would be up for debate. Though it doesn't look professional and it doesn't look as planned to many, some form of planning must have happened when one thinks about it.

Like the mere question, on how to get at a victim alone, a high probability of having no witnesses in a remote location. The cottage would have been the perfect setting. Something which isn't too difficult to figure out. The cottage was vacant for the majority of the year and Sophie was visiting outside of her normal routine. The killer most likely planned to go to the cottage expecting to find Sophie and to find her alone.

I think on balance for a very significant proportion of murders it is often just escalation, spurred from something, whether money, land, or simply just insulting someone, or causing reputation damage (a pretty common one in fact). There can be a motive for a confrontation, or just a motive for being at that location, but not necessarily to be there to carry out a murder as such i.e. no plan.

In this case we can't really rule anything out, but, to me it would appear to be very unplanned, amateurish, almost like someone treated her like an animal to be put down as brutal as that sounds. There may still have been a motive for things to escalate from, to blow up. Sophie doesn't back down, and hot-head loses the rag etc. Some of the motives that could be considered,

maybe someone didn't close the gate, or crossed her land without asking,

maybe she lent someone money and asked for it back, or

made a promise to bring something from France, or

for someone like Bailey, told them she'd make a movie with them and then brushed them off, or promised a liaison and backed out.

For Daniel it could have been financial.

The motive would be tied to the individual, but the preponderance of evidence should also point to that individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭chooseusername

If Daniel organised all that so it wouldn't point back to him, he would be on the first plane to Cork playing the grieving husband in full media glare.

I don't think so. In France he had his connections and his influence. In Ireland he didn't so he could never have known where a meeting with the Irish Gards would have gone.

Also later on in the cold case investigation, the Gards must have had something to go on, to travel to Paris and interview a man who was close to Daniel. Not that it's any evidence, but again, the Gards must have had something pointing into a certain direction. So Daniel behing behind this would still be one of many possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭tibruit

Sure didn`t Marie Farrell pick a Frenchman out of a photograph for Jim Sheridan. He was the fella that she saw at Kealfada bridge and in the beret outside her shop. Jim is making a movie now about it all, inspired by Twelve Angry Men, a movie with more holes in its plot than a colander.

Apparently Colm Meaney is going to play a character similar to Bailey. He will no doubt be a narcissistic English bollox, beating the up the wife, an outcast in his community who gets arrested on suspicion of the murder of a French lady who lives down the road.

Brace yourself for dramatic court room exchanges and a guilty verdict. The penultimate scene will no doubt have Meaney`s character standing forlornly behind cell bars, grasping them with both hands as he looks forward to being locked away for twenty five to life.

Cut then to the final scene where we will return to the night of the murder to see a man in a long black coat and beret, a string of onions round his neck, with a Gauloises perched high between two fingers in one hand and a bloody axe in the other, strolling out along the victims laneway, humming Je Ne Regrette Rien.

What a graphic screenwriter!

Sadly, no new facts there. But a very vivid set of images (if it happens…)

But I genuinely wonder if anyone else saw "The Frenchman" - who may not have been French, of course, but clearly came across to Farrell as being "Continental"

— and could he have been the "vagrant" sometimes reported as having been sleeping rough in the area of Kealfadda bridge?

The gardai doing anything after lining up Bailey could also be seen as going through the motions to give an air of having any sort of competence. Like they didn't even check for a pulse or do basic common sense actions at the beginning. Somebody with a bit of sense would have told them that looking at the French angle, and potential involvement of the husband is about as a minimum standard you can set to create any sort of confidence in their investigative prowess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Regardless of who did it-Why was the body not hidden?

Any thoughts? It’s been puzzling me- isn’t hiding the body by far the most common “thing” to do post a murder- even a one that’s carried out on the spur of the moment?

Were they disturbed by the sound of a distant car? Was day breaking? Were they drunk? (A fair question I guess considering everything)

If the extra time you gain didn't provide you any extra benefit, then the risk is not worth it. A fair few of the suspects would have gained nothing from hiding the body.

Hiding a body brings with it additional time and contamination risk too. Also, if someone acted in a rage, and then came to their senses, they may have been horrified, and just wanted to run away.

Another good question yet unanswered, another riddle.

If the murderer was a strong male, he would or could easily have dumped Sophie over the brambles and briars and bought himself some time in getting away.

Shirley would just have driven by, not noticing anything.

Either the killer was too weak to lift the body, or he was in urgency to leave, or he clearly wanted Sophie to be left there and easily found.

We don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭almostover

Reading Mick Clifford's book about the murder of Una Lynskey at the moment and it's pretty eye opening as to the behaviour of the Gardai including some who were very senior and members of the 'Heavy Gang'. Their actions in that case lead to an innocent young man being killed by the family of Una Lynskey. And 2 young men serving sentences for her manslaughter based on very tenuous circumstantial evidence from eye witnesses who changed their statements after pressure from the Gardai. Not to mention 'confessions' by the 2 men that were illicted under credible allegations of the use physical violence by Gardai. A certain John Courtney headed up the murder squad in that case, again in the Kerry babies case and he was a mentor to Dermot Dwyer who headed up the murder investigation in Schull.

Not trying to weave a conspiracy here, personally I think Ian Bailey to be the most likely killer. But I also hold an opinion that there was nowhere near enough evidence to charge him with her murder. There was a culture in the Gardai in the 70s, 80s and to an extent in the 90s that relied heavily on inappropriate and sometimes illegal interrogation techniques to solve murders. There was little effort put into following the physical evidence, more of a practice of formulating a theory and finding / extracting witness statements that would corroborate that theory.

Whether one believes Bailey did it or not, it is no conspiracy that the gardai of the era were generally not following investigative protocols and partake in extremely inappropriate and illegal practices. The fact that the gardai carried out these practices is in itself a conspiracy between themselves.

"If you hear hoofbeats (in West Cork), think horses, not zebras."

Back to the beginning with the benefit of all I have learned since.

Sophie bought her house believing her property folio included the shed and land it was on, was hers. So knowing Sophie's personality as we do now thanks to @PolicemanFox and @bjsc and PhilMathers over on Reddid, I'd say it was not an easy conversation when Alfie pointed out that he owned the shed. Not only that, but to get to his shed and the field it was in, involved using the path along the rear wall of Sophie's house, right by her back door.

She took it out on the estate agent and conveyancing solicitor, but I'd say it set the scene for a awkward relationship going forward.

After the murder Alfie said it was resolved amicably, but he would say that, wouldn't he. He was unlikely to say he found Sophie to be an awkward, complaining moaner that he didn't get on with.

The only inkling we have of their relationship comes from a poster on here who was at Shirley's retirement party and heard Alfie referring to Sophie as moaning old so-and-so until Shirley shushed him up. Others at the party moaned when they realised who Alfie's neighbour was.

Alfie and Sophie rubbed along together for a few years. Sophie wasn't there very often and Alfie came across as a mellow character and probably steered clear when Sophie was around. He kept a goat on the field there, but would have little reason to access the shed and field otherwise.

Around this time there was the issue of someone breaking in and using Sophie's bathroom, Josie Hellen pointed the finger at Alfie. But considering there was no evidence of a break-in, it's more likely the intruder had a key. (Think about it). Josie's fingermarks found in the house after the murder, which is understandable, but there were fingermarks of other family members also. There was also a dispute between Alfie and Hellens about fencing around this time.

Anyway, come 1996, Sophie had had 2 gates erected by Finbarr Hellen to secure her property, one from the lane into her lower lawn and the other at the rear of her house. This is where it gets interesting. We don't know what kind of arrangement was in place between Alfie and Sophie about the access to the Alfie's field. Sophie may have thought access was a private right of way for Alfie only, and whoever was using Alfie's field may have thought they had a right to access Alfie's field with his permission. So a complicated Irish right of way law interpreted by a French landowner with poor English and their Irish neighbour is a recipe for a confrontation. An obstreperous entitled blow-in meets an equally strong willed local (male or female) and there you have it, my take on it.

The thing is with Bailey as a suspect, is what would his motive have been? And he must have had one, otherwise one doesn't hike for one hour to her cottage and one hour back? Sounds a bit much in terms of exercise after more than a few drinks, for just lust of sheer violence towards women.

Also, why didn't he kill again? He practically would have had to wait for Sophie to return to Ireland, a woman he didn't have any real prior contact with. If Bailey would have known about Sophie's visiting habits, he would most likely not have expected her around Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Mannesmann

Wasn't there some fencing posts and wire near the entrance too? At least in some of the photos around the time. These seem not to have been used and removed later?

For those who have further questions will find the following links of interest ( if not already known ) :

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/comments/1asbpih/sophie_life_and_personality_report_michel/

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/comments/1f87b9k/the_harrying_of_jules_the_full_story_how_the/

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/comments/1f878kn/was_sophie_killed_in_the_morning/

@Mannesmann

Wasn't there some fencing posts and wire near the entrance too? At least in some of the photos around the time. These seem not to have been used and removed later?

Yes it is marked in green here;

It marks her Eastern boundary, Sophie's car was parked outside the fence on Richardson's land.

The fence is not in later photos all right.

The blue line is the low wall by her Eastern gable, I believe there was a small gate between it and the corner of her house

Post edited by chooseusername on

@tibruit

Am I rattled? No, but I am suprised and a little disappointed. You are the only person who I have seen maintain Bailey is guilty but Jules Thomas is truthful. I couldn’t get my head around this. It still doesn’t make sense to me - we've been over that enough - but I understand you now. You call me disingenous, I would never think that of you. I know you are absolutely certain in your mind and honest in your expression that Ian Bailey is guilty. However I mistakenly thought you had genuine sympathy for Jules Thomas.

Until you said the quiet part out loud.

"Unfortunately Jules Thomas hitched her wagon to a man who assaulted her multiple times and who fantasized about murdering multiple people and that`s minimally. She has a level of personal responsibility to bear for her own situation."

According to you @tibruit she was assaulted and because she refused to leave the man who assaulted her, she has "personal responsibility" for the abuse she was subjected to by Gardai. No weasling out now, this is precisely the context you made that statement, that Jules Thomas found the arrests of herself and Fenella and the treatment by Gardai "devastating".

The explanation is obvious in retrospect, you simply think you are a superior person than she. You would never have made the choices she made and you wouldn’t have ended up bearing the “personal responsibility” you say she bears. According to you, she "hitched her wagon" to Ian Baileuy so she deserved it.

Another subtle tell from you is that instead of condemning what the Gardai did you merely say it was a "big mistake", as if this psychological abuse was a mere strategic error. Do you really think it was OK what they did?

This is victim-blaming, and it’s outrageous. I see now why you and others bang on and on about the assaults Ian Bailey made on Jules. It's faux sympathy which is just disguised contempt. It's just like Pete Bielecki, who has never missed a chance to appear on TV, in all the documentaries, just so he could tell Jules’s story. So he could play the hero, all the while undermining her on Netflix. Bill Hogan is another one, who has never missed a chance for a photo story in the papers.

I suppose these count as "impartial witnesses" in your account? "Impartial witnesses" - how does that work? Are the only impartial witnesses the ones that hate Ian Bailey?

You brought up lot of other things, but this statement of yours that Jules Thomas bears "personal responsibility" for her treatment by the Gardai is the most important.

I will have to come back to the rest.

Yes, you have it exactly. This was just they way they all worked, and they thought it was OK. They didn't think it was illegal or inappropriate.

I don't know if Courtney was a "mentor" to Dermot Dwyer, but he was a personal friend and colleague. Also was Dwyer the head of the investigation, or was that Noel Smith, or JP Twomey or Sean Camon or Liam Hogan? If you have difficulty answering this question, then you're not alone. This is part of the reason why the investigation was botched.

After he retired, Courtney ran a Private Investigation agency. Dwyer got him and retired D/Gda Liam Leahy to round up the witnesses for the newspapers for the Libel Trial. The solicitors for the newspapers would have known nothing about the case at the time or who the witnesses were. Basically Dwyer made sure the papers had access to the case file so they could fight the case. Naturally this was illegal. If Bailey's solicitors had been given the same access they would have known that Marie Farrell had already admitted she was lying. Bailey would have won.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0409/866459-bailey-toscan-du-plantier/

1. Ok, but hiring a hitman to murder your wife to avoid divorce is quite extreme, Daniel had navigated two divorces already at this point.
    2. Perhaps others also had motive.
    3. I don't think that's true in this case. Many witnesses said that Daniel was floored by the murder ("boulversé"). That's plausible and maybe part of it but I think the main reason Daniel stayed in France is obviously because he feared being detained by the Irish police. Even so this does not make him guilty or even suspicious. Daniel thought Ireland was just a backward rainy country and he probably thought he would risk being stitched up. In retrospect, he was probably wise to stay in France. Imagine if your wife (or husband) was murdered in - say - Iran. Would you immediately travel to see the body?
    4. Unless someone can show they were together at the time of the murder, there is no motive at all.
    5. If the means is merely the organizational ability to find someone to travel and brain a petite woman with a block, then that is within the reach of anyone. It's a moral stretch, not a financial one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Ms Robini

Why do you say he would have won? My understanding is that for Ian Bailey to have won the libel case that he lost against the newspapers, he would have had to prove on the balance of probability that in publishing the stories that they implied that he was the murderer. He lost because none of the stories implied that - they referenced that he was a prime suspect (which was true) and as regards the references to his violent character and past, these were true. Even without Marie Farrell acting as a witness for the defendants, it seems more likely that Bailey would have lost that case against the papers in any event.

Thanks for the reply.

Further to your comments:

1. It would have been extreme - yes. But a great many husbands have resorted to murder for this very reason so, whilst extreme, its not implausible.
    2. Perhaps "obvious motive" would be more accurate.
    3. I still think that it is curious. Most husbands would certainly have travelled. No, maybe I wouldn't travel to Iran. But The Iran/Ireland scenarios are not equivalent.
    4. Again, there is, as you point out, no proof that a relationship had started. But it's not a stretch to say its likely.
    5. I see your point re the moral aspect but its undeniable that Daniel was well connected and powerful. If he was capable of navigating the moral obstacle, he could have organised the logistics, whereas the "man in the street" would, imo, struggle to do so.

In summary, I accept that its an unlikey theory. But its not something that can be completely ruled out either.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

3. I still think that it is curious. Most husbands would certainly have travelled. No, maybe I wouldn't travel to Iran. But The Iran/Ireland scenarios are not equivalent.

Why? Because it would have been daft for Daniel to think that the gardai might frame him, an innocent man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭head82

I would argue that Daniel not travelling to Ireland created the suspicion of his involvement in Sophies death and laid the groundwork for the hired killer theory. He may not have had much love for Ireland but it's a feeble excuse for not wanting to visit upon hearing of his wifes murder.

Fear of being 'stitched up' by the Irish police is also not a natural response. What would he have to fear if he was completely innocent?

I know he did visit Ireland a number of years later when Bailey was conveniently the sole focus of the Gardai.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As a husband who was about to divorce Sophie, Daniel was always going to be under suspicion.

"Hills being black over"

I wish we all had the same access to the files and information. Then we could all talk about the same things. In fact I am working to achieve this, but it is not as simple as that.

The comment is a handwritten note on a typed copy of the statement from 10/02/97. This is reproduced in photocopy for the French files. There is nothing "blacked out" in the statement, and there is no reference to hills. The comment is signed by Jules. I can think of only two possible explanations. Maybe the Gardai wrote it for whatever reason and Jules just signed it without reading anything. If so then her signature means nothing.

More plausible is that Jules asked the Gardai to write something down about the "hills being black over" which means she did not understand statement being referred to. Far more likely is that she was commenting on something not in the statement - something a Garda said but did not write down. This is verballing by definition.

This also means her signature means nothing.

A million to one the Gardai are corrupt?

"a million to one" This is the lotto metaphor and it came from you @tibruit - choose another if it suits.

You are saying that it is extremely unlikely the Gardai are corrupt in this case just because they were all those other cases I cited. Your meaning is clear, so just own your words. I disagree. There is overwhelming evidence the Gardai were corrupt and abusive in this case.

The Statement that Jim Fitzgerald wrote.

I don't know how Fitzgerald wrote the statement but we both know he wrote it - it's in his own hand. You talked about people pulling bits of paper out of their pockets. I'm sure Fitzgerald kept notes - but if he did, they aren't recorded in Garda memos. That's one of the most curious things about the interrogation - there are no memos from himself or Leahy for the last 6 hours of Jules detention. In every other interview of Ian Bailey, of Fenella, of Jules Thomas in 2000 and for the first 6 hours of her first arrest, there are memos from each of the interviewing Gardai. There are none for the last 6 hours when Fitzgerald and Leahy were with Jules - there is absolutely no record of her interviews during this period. The statement appears out of nowhere. The previous memo was 4:50pm from Garda Kevin Kelleher and Garda Norma Keane. There is no further record until she was releasedat 1:14am. Seven hours - that plenty of time for Jim "Mr Fixit"Fitzgerald to write up the perfect statement.

So then this statement appears, with no corrections, full of Gardalegalese. Jules signs it and is let go. Three days later she told Pat Kenny:

PK So you are completely convinced of his innocence? You would find it difficult to continue living with someone if there was any hint in your mind that he might be capable of something....

JT Absolutely. Absolutely, I wouldn't, you know, as I said at the end of my um interview, I was, I was pretty well forced to make a statement or they were going to take me down and charge me, so I was thinking of the consequences I have three daughters, two at college and one at home and I was thinking ofthe consequences and I knew I had to make a statement and at the end of the day I did say that if he had done it, I would never want to see him again. The whole idea of being close to a murderer would, you know like any woman, feel absolutely appalling.

She never denied making a statement, but she has repeatedly denied saying that the contents are her words. And when the Gardai tried to get her to reaffirm her statement, she clearly did not affirm the contents of the statement that they showed her. Note the handwritten comment "Read over by me" is not in Jules Thomas's handwriting. She claims all statements were read to her not by her.

Why is it so unreasonable to say that Fitzgerald forced her to sign it? He simply put her in an impossible situation where she would have been charged as an accessory. After 14 hours she simply let him write and agreed with it - with no corrections. She needed to get back to her daughters. Saffron was adult but the other two would have gone back to the care of her fathers. I can think of a few reasons why she might not want that.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20095548.html

Why didn't Ian Bailey not call Patrick Lowney?

Because nobody knew about him at the time of the libel trial? The Gardai didn't share the statements, or the witnesses with Bailey's team -only with the newspapers (illegally). You can be sure the Gardai would have tipped the newspapers about him in 2002. Evidence that Ian Bailey was developing photos of the murder scene? It would have been sensational! I reckon they probably did approach him and he made it clear he would not stand over his statements.

Patrick O'Riordan

Patrick O'Riordain - you say there was no statement from him - really? Are you certain? The French file contains this gem.

Statement of Gerard McCarthy 15/03/2007 (to McAndrew review).

While I am aware that allegations have been made against the investigating Gardai by Ian Bailey, Jules Thomas and Marie Farrell where it is alleged that the Gardai attempted to "Stitch up"Ian Bailey for this murder. I wish to say that proper procedures were followed at all times during my involvement. This is clearly indicated by the actions of D/Gda Liam Leahy and I where we recorded a memo of interview with Patrick O'Riordan on the 26/9/2001 at Cork District Court and the subsequent disclosure of that memo in the clear knowledge that it would be highly beneficial to Ian Bailey. Had we been involved in withholding evidence or fabricating evidence as alleged this memo would never have seenthe light of day.

In other words, "look how honest we are, although we tried to use a prison snitch on Bailey we discovered the story was all made up, we fessed up, we didn't try to bury it as we normally would"

Strangely, this highly beneficial memo (which is code for highly embarrassing for the Gardai) has never seen the light of day. Ray McAndrew probably saw it and maybe he referenced it in his report, which has also never seen the light of day.

I wouldn't say that the Garda in general are corrupt, but they certainly acted in a corrupt manner in the murder case of Sophie. From missing evidence to coercing a witness, missing pages in a job book, to giving drugs to transients to move the investigation in the wrong direction, same as the Bandon garda station tapes would all be corruption. And that all happend under the leadership of Dermot Dwyer. There were also no consequences out of this behaviour, nobody gotten demoted, fired or disciplined for that.

Suppose you're a CEO deliberately misleading your investors and stock holders of a business? But the Garda gotten clean away in this case, Dermot Dwyer at the helm.

It's hard not to think about Garda corruption in this matter.

As to your points, strictly from a murderer / motive kind of speculation the theory that Daniel could have sent a hitman is certainly not extreme, considering the financial situation. The idea that some people want to so desperately exclude this theory will give some idea on the small mindedness of the general investigation. The investgation / cold case review should always go in every direction and this would include Daniel.

Also the comparison with Iran doesn't hold up at all. Remember just before the pandemic, when the Iranians shot down a civilan airplane? Lot's of people travelled there in the aftermath, visitng relatives, paying there respects etc.. many even with ties to as far away as Canada.

Ireland was part of the EU back then, so in legal respects even closer, even more so geographically.

I think Daniel knew quite well that the state of the marriage would automatically come up, even more so, if he was faced by the Irish police and being present in Ireland. He would also have made a guess that at some point the police would speak to Bruno and things would come to light, so there would not have been any point for Daniel to sugar-coat the marriage. An inconvenient situation for Daniel at any stage he certainly wanted to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Deeec

In the netflix documentary, Sophie's family did mention that they didn't know Daniel that well, that they were surprised he did not travel to Ireland in the aftermath of Sophie's death and that they were not happy with how he organised Sophie's funeral. I thought it was interesting that they mentioned these points. I think they do have a certain amount of suspicion towards him but had no evidence against him and perhaps were powerless given his wealth and high up connections.

No, it is perfectly natural to fear ending up in jail in a corrupt backward country. Now you might think that it was unfair to describe Ireland like that, but this is how the French thought about Ireland at that time. We were a country of terrorists, leprechauns and rain. Daniel was also extremely selfish. He didn't care if it made him look suspicious. In fact when he finally did visit, he brought his lawyer with him. Also he probably thought the Gardai would interview him like French police treat suspects. For example, Bruno Carbonnet was never charged but he was arrested and interviewed thoroughly over 2 days by the French.

The gardai aren't a singular entity, they are a sum of many parts. There are many, and in fact I would say the vast majority these days who are really good people, literal pillars of the community. Of course even today there are some who would be less than stellar, and a few who would be criminals, or criminal plants, up to no good. Overall as a system, even today for the most part, they try to handle issues internally, and on some rare occasions it comes to the national press, or whistleblowers etc. This is still a reasonable way to operate imo, it's never going to be perfect.

In this case it could be as simple as one or two corrupt Guards protecting someone initially (who themselves didn't have to be a guard by the way), and at the same time pulling the wool over the eyes of the rest of them. By the time others started figuring it out, there was no going back, the case was already lost. It could also be just sheer incompetence across the board, and then corruption once they figured they had to pin it on someone, whether they believed he (or she) did it or not.

But it wasn't just that they wrote he was a suspect. They wrote stories that Ian Bailey had been seen "washing his boots" near Kealfadda Bridge. This was a lie, which Jim Fitzgerald admitted to spreading in 2015 High Court case. Marie Farrell made a statement to Gardai in 2002 that she had been lying. If this had been known to Bailey's team the case would have been settled before trial, especially for the paltry sums that Ian Bailey was asking for.

It's incredibly ironic that the Libel Appeal collapsed when Ian Bailey told the judge the defendants had knowingly put a liar on the stand. The Judge thought this accusation was horrific

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20025601.html

And yet, Bailey was correct. They did put a liar on the stand and they had to put a lot of pressure on her to do so. Marie Farrell met Dermot Dwyer at the Viaduct Pub, he told her what to say, and gave her some cash before putting her in a taxi to the courthouse.

But you're right, you never know how it would go. Judge Moran glossed over the fact that Bailey was named immediately after his arrest in The Sun and the Gardai tipped off the press about his arrest, he just said it was a matter for complaint to the Gardai, which is rather letting the papers off on actually naming him.

No, I don't agree.

Ireland, for all its faults, was not perceived as a backward or corrupt country and there was no reason for Daniel to fear that he would become a victim of injustice.

The fact that he saw the need for legal representation when he did come to Ireland is not indicative of a clear conscience.

Statiscally the liklihood of a husband being involved in the murder of a married woman is high. That alone brings a degree of focus on Daniel.

The fact that he was wealthy and stood to lose a significant amount of his wealth in a divorce compounds that focus.

His refusal to come to Ireland to accompany his wife's remains does nothing to reduce the suspicion of his involvement. Similarly, when he, ultimately, did visit Ireland, his insistence on legal accompaniement could be regarded as questionable.

And the short period between Sophie's demise and his impregnation and marriage to his lover, with whom he was working prior to the event, can only raise further questions.

So he cannot (imo) be dismissed so easily as a suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Bailey would have been attracted by the smell of money.

From the little I ever knew of Daniel Toscan du Plantier, he always came across as quite a distant, chilly type. (Not that I'm in any position to judge the man)

The Wikipedia kind of confirms my opinion, though; bit of a ladies' man, no problem attracting les femmes, or moving on from them, either.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Toscan_du_Plantier

Maybe he's a lovely bloke, how can we tell? - and he must have some amount of sex-appeal, going by his track record. Yet he still appears to me as quite uninviting - or should I say, pas sympathique.

However, his list of ladies looks very much like "easy come, easy go". Nothing to suggest that he'd go so far as to have one of them murdered; seems quite a stretch, going to such lengths, when all he had to do was arrange another divorce. He had a girlfriend, and Sophie had a boyfriend; mais bien sûr!

All very French. But not very criminal.