Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

USA 2024 presidential election

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

People they are told are criminals. Hispanics who are doing well are becoming, in a process that replicates that which the Irish underwent, more conservative, more invested in the status quo. They are comfortable now and look at-as they see it-the 'teeming hordes' with disgust. It's an old story: climb the ladder and then pull it up behind you. Prosperous Irish would have looked at the ragged, hungry, ill-educated crowds pouring off the ships in 1849 with disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭foamcutter

I'm actually concerned about our future. I saw a YouTube video where it explains what plans Trump has for the USA, and in the long term, it seems like the economy may be screwed, with all the import taxes and everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

you’re better off staying away from YouTube if you find videos that upset you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭advisemerite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,059 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Seriously

YouTube?

"You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,866 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

He was in office before and nothing changed. 4 years isn't that long. And some other eijet will be in. The narrative is to talk in terms of doom and gloom from the media. Scaring people gets hits and ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

He cares more about jobs in the US, while Ireland is merely a tax haven to avoid high corporate taxes in the USA. Even if he will drop the corporate tax rate to 15%, it is unlikely to cause mass redundancies; more likely, it will just lead to a reduction in investments. The government has plenty of time to consider how to stop wasting money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,726 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Eh, abortion was banned across vast swathes of America, the POTUS was given absolute immunity to prosecution by a heavily loaded SCOTUS, but most importantly, Trump and the entire GOP learned that Trump gets to do anything he wants and anyone who opposes him will be ruined.

Trump actively campaigned on rounding up tens of millions of people using the US military on american soil. The practical realities of doing this, is dystopian

Don't be surprised when this happens in 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭foamcutter

You seem like somebody who isn't informed enough, so maybe try reading the news once in a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

If you base your opinions from what you watch on YT, i'd be concerned for your judgement.

Out of interest, who was the creator of this video?

Ireland gives companies the ability to hold European HQ and pay lower corporate tax in Europe

Most of the companies have HQ dotted around the World. Very few have shut their HQ in the US and moved to Ireland. Aptiv and maybe Accenture are the only ones?

Even if he drops the corporate tax rate its not going to kill Ireland overnight as some will claim. Companies will not shut down their European HQ and for the companies with the HQ in Ireland it takes years to move a HQ around.

Plus why move it if in 4 years someone walks in and moves the tax rate back up in US?

Regardless how well they may or may not be doing, they won't have been issued with a social security number. So if they are doing well, then they are doing so illegally.

Good on them though, they saw an opportunity to move to find a better life(a % of them) but have done so illegally, so will face the consequences if caught.

Nobody is up in arms when the Aussies deport illegals who are found to be working illegally, no different here. Government make the rules and government enforce the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,707 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Regardless how well they may or may not be doing, they won't have been issued with a social security number. So if they are doing well, then they are doing so illegally.

You don't need an SSN to file and pay your taxes in the US. Anyone can get an ITIN.

Ironically, you have many people who are paying into the system there to fund future social benefits which they themselves cannot avail of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭yagan

Plus they have an EU HQ because they want to trade in the EU too. Do people really believe Trump is going to make US companies withdraw from a market like the EU of nearly half a billion consumers?

They must be high on sugar rushes from too many Crispy Cremes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

May I remind you what he said two months ago at a rally.

" Ukraine should have ceded territory to Russia ahead of the invasion. The worst deal would’ve been better than what we have now.”

Trump also accused Ukraine’s president, Volodymyr Zelensky, of making “little nasty aspersions toward your favorite president, me.” 

Bodes well for negotiations with Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Americans.
    Is Joe Biden still running for president was searched a lot as well.

He talks out of both sides of his mouth, you know he's done it for years.

I was only reading an article an hour ago were he slated Megyn Kelly a few years back, best mates now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

In other words you are saying at least 50% of what he says is BS.

I would say its closer to 100%.

Ye, you could put it like that, or , that he just says whatever comes in to his head before he thinks about the impact. He's a liability and extremely erratic but i don't think he'll want to be remembered as somebody who made massive mistakes when it comes to Global events. He's a narcissist, he'll want to think he'll be remembered as one of the all time greats.

I can't see him boycotting Ukraine, I have no idea what he'll do though and it's just hopeful on my part, but i am very confident that there'll be no trade wars with the EU, or that any multi's will be leaving Ireland

They are domestic issues, they don't concern us.

If people are living illegally in a country, the State can and should deport them. This is the policy of all Western countries. The State here announced only last week or so that deportation orders were up 140% on last year.

You need a SSN to be able to work in the states. (Taken from one of their gov websites)

Foreign Workers and Social Security Numbers Social Security numbers (SSN) are used to report a person’s wages to the government and to determine a person’s eligibility for Social Security benefits. You need an SSN to get a job, collect Social Security benefits, and receive some other government services

Zelensky seems to be a bit of a dodgy character

He has said plenty of things at rallys. I don't think we can take any of them as what he will actually implement

It was clear the war was not going to finish with Biden or Harris in the US, better chance now which is better for Ireland.

The undocumented Irish that have lived in the states might have something else to say on that.

I'm assuming they are cash in hand, i don't know enough about the states tbh about how things generally roll on sites etc

Exactly, they would be shutting down access to the European market which is massive for these companies, in reality for some of the MNC's the European market is bigger than the US market to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭CliffHangeroner

Many people here simply don't understand America, i don't completely either but i don't pretend to be an expert. They get their perception of America from the European or American main stream media or heavily algorithm-modified echo chamber online or on RTE etc... I lived in the US for a few years and some of my family still live there. The result isn't surprising at all. Here are a few points:

Most American people (rightly so) are first and primarily concerned with putting bread on the table for themselves and their family. Economy was much better during Trump's first era (according to them). You may disagree with its causes, you may disagree it was actually Trump's policies that enabled this supposed great economy, it doesn't matter to the voters. They remember 2017-2020 and the economy was mostly very good and prosperous pre-pandemic. That's the most important issue right there. It's the same in Canada, I know they have elections next fall, but the gov't has 20% approval rating as the middle class has been hammered last 10 years under Trudeau, and he's polling so bad that his party (Liberals) could become the 4th biggest party if the election was held today (behind even Bloc Quebecois and NDP). Liberals in Canada face utter demolition with conservative super-majority incoming if elections were held today because they've completely fu-ed up economy and immigration (sounds familiar, doesn't it?).

This whole "threat to democracy" , "world ending" and "racist" stick doesn't catch on. Trump was president for 4 years and the world didn't end. It was a peaceful era, no major wars, no one was sent to gulags, nothing crazy happened covid aside which wasn't his fault. One of his son-in-laws is a Jew, whereas another one is of Lebanese descent which was key in getting the Muslim and Arab vote in Michigan and flipping the state. People aren't stupid, they don't buy this "he's a Nazi" line when he literally has a Jewish daughter and an Arab son-in-law.

Many citizens, immigrant or native correctly believe opposing illegal immigration is not racist. If you believe in concept of a "nation state", then it's defined by borders. It's not just an American thing. It's everywhere. I was talking to work colleagues from Iran, and their biggest concern after the scum ayatollah regime is the "influx of Afghan migrants who are sympathetic to Taliban...9 million of them imported to the country over last 4 years".

I have a client in Japan, super liberal guy...and his red line is over-immigration and preservation of Japanese identity. It's a global phenomena. In fact the majority of legal immigrants are extremely vary of illegal immigration, because they take opportunities from them and can paint them in a bad position (re: crimes and misbehavior). For example, Trump won Starr County in South Texas, which is 96% Latino, by 16 points. In 2016, Trump lost the county by 60 points.

You like it or not, Trump has that "cool bro" factor with a lot of people. That's why he resonates with men, regardless of their skin color or race and every election cycle, he's attracting more % of men of new demographics and races to his side. Americans like machoism more than Europeans for example, doesn't matter that Trump isn't macho it's perception that matters.

Lots of democratic fearmongering messaging comes from elite white liberal class who've never experienced actual dictatorship, fascism or communism. It gets laughed off by many of minority immigrants as it just doesn't resonate.Take a cab in Manhattan (you will probably get a minority driver) and bring this subject up with him or her because for them, just like almost everyone else, it's first and foremost about economy. They don't give a hoot about Ukraine/Gaza/Russian interference etc…

The only real question now that remains is will the Democrats learn a lesson from this election or will they just plow on with the same failed approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,707 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Nothing in your link contradicts what I told you. You are talking about being the equivalent of what we would have a PAYE employee be. Not everyone in Ireland is a PAYE employee.

Even in cases where an employer needs a SSN on the books, some might have other people's down instead. Even in Ireland, those "deliveroo" type bike lads……………. they can allegedly hire other peoples accounts to get work. But the same principle holds insofar that the individual who is working is paying tax but won't be eligible for benefits. You don't think it could happen? Here is a case of an undocumented lady who was working in Goldman Sachs for years before getting status.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/sep/13/julissa-arce-undocumented-immigrant-memoir-goldman-sachs

Anyone, legal or illegal, can get an ITIN. Not paying your tax is taken far more seriously, and more likely to result in action against you, than other breaches. In addition, you will need to have your taxes in order for any future application to go legal.

What you are imagining as "illegal immigrant" is a monolingual Spanish-speaking Mexican fresh across the border with clothes wet from swimming the Rio Grande. In reality there are millions of people in the US who arrived as kids and grew up there but never got regularised. For most of them, it never becomes an issue. They grow up in the US, start businesses, serve in the military, get married to US citizens and have kids there …….. and sometimes they get deported…often to places where they don't speak the language.

Watch 60 seconds at 2m30 of this to give one example. If I remember correctly, they eventually had to let that man back to the US to his family, but his business was destroyed.

Here is a story about a "Korean" man who was deported from the US for being an illegal immigrant.

He was brought to the US as an adoptee at age 4 and lived there for 41 years. Some paperwork was not followed during his adoption process. That's a shorter video. But you'll notice is you watch it that he had his own business, and later got married. It was only when applying for a Green Card that he was lifted.

Reports on US army veterans subsequently deported

The point to you is not whether they should or should not have been deported, it's that they were living there normally, working or running businesses, or serving in the military, up and until the point they were deported.

The only thing I'd pull you up on is the peaceful time bit, Ukraine was fighting Russia by it's proxies (the same ones who shot down that Malaysian Air flight), Putin merely dropped the mask in 2022.

Syria continued to fester and the yemeni crisis saw thousands starve.

Plus the doha agreement with the Taliban happened under Trump's orders yet Biden got the blame when the US withdrew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭ebbsy

When you tell people they are stupid they will do the exact opposite.

Democrats blaming Trump instead of focusing on their own failures.

Hopefully the son will run next time out and give them another lesson.

#MAGA2

Even Biden carried over the MAGA cause and Chyna bashing. His chips act was a two fingers to Taiwan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭lukin

In 2017 Trump reduced corporate federal tax from 35% to 21%. To the best of my knowledge not one American corporation upped sticks from here and moved home. They just kept the money they saved for themselves. The same will happen this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Not at all it's quite scary the amount of people who consider the likes of them to be brave and noble freedom fighters. The second coming of Donald Trump will be brilliant for Israel, and very bad news indeed for it's enemies and haters.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,361 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Not only that; but you'd think people would have learned how well it goes to win a "war" with such forces as shown in Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan etc. Either you have to go down the genocide route of removing / killing EVERYONE and leave scorched land no one is allowed to live on as a buffer zone or you have to give the population a reason to NOT support them by giving them the middle class life. Israel can not do either and when their own generals have stated we're done there by Netanyahu refuses to listen you can guess what's the actual reason is (and it's not to win by eradicating Hamas).

Domestic or not, i was responding to the point that he didn't get much done in his first term but they were huge shifts in the american socio political landscape, which lay the groundwork for a more organised Trump to be much more effective and radical this time around

Same thing was said in 2016 - all doom and gloom.

What is your point? You should never challenge fascists because it only makes their supporters feel victimized?

Or you shouldn't tell the supporters of fascists that they're being stupid for voting against their own interests?

Or you shouldn't try to inform voters that their preferred candidate is a fascist by pointing out all the things he actually says himself that are objectively fascistic?

Maybe the problem is that the 'liberals' were too nice and allowed the takeover of the institutions that protect democracy out of politeness and meekness.

Trump lied pathologically. The 'liberal' judges and officials were too busy respecting democracy to prosecution Trump for the many many many many crimes he is guilty of, the 'liberal' Barack Obama could have insisted on filling his supreme court vacancy but didn't out of 'respect' for democracy, Biden could have ended the Filibuster or stacked the SCOTUS but didn't....

But most of all, the DNC membership rolled over and watched as their primaries were hijacked by corporatists, twice against Sanders, and a third time when they didn't bother to even have proper primaries.

The left, or the excuse for a left there is in America are weak because they're not fighting hard enough for the things that matter.

It seems like the tipping point is way past being exceeded. There is no 'path to victory' for the left in Trump's america

That literally makes no sense. Because Trump wasn't already a former president in 2016

2016, Make America Great Again

2020, Keep America Great Again

2024, Make America Great Again Again

2028. Keep America Great Again Again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

With regards to the sanctions on Russia. Can Trump just cancel all them now or at least the ones between America and Russia when he gets in?

If so not good.

It would be good for Russia but not for poor Ukraine.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

No idea but i do wish in general people would stop looking to America to defend the world. Ukraine is in Europe's back yard and yet we are expecting the guy from another neighbourhood to tackle the scrounger jumping over the fence, taking our kids and raping our women whilst the man of the house just stands their shaking his head.

Europe needs to grow the heck up and start realising this is up to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,755 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Nothing cooler than an obese man in diapers with cheap tanning cream slathered haphazardly over his face, rambling incoherently for hours. You wrote a lot of words just to prove that people are morons, who will happily ignore the evidence in plain sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,706 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

**Cough** my thought process was on here, after all the polls and the noise, the fundamentals about the economy and cost of living was most important for many.

It was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,426 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Listened to a lot of very downbeat US citizens in Washington today on Irish radio vox pops.

"Democracy died yesterday".

How did it? Surely that's Democracy at work, no? People get to vote for whoever they want to.

Just because they didn't vote for your man/woman.

The average everyday voter didn't care about, "It happened all over the world"

It gave its verdict.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Are they planning on trying to win those voters back, do you think, or are they writing them off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Someone posted this on X and got 60K likes:

“Our side lost because of the intolerance of the tolerant left. If you don’t see that, then we will keep losing.
    People didn’t vote for Trump, they voted against you.
    They voted against your “if you don’t agree with me then you’re my enemy” mentality.
    They voted against your need to have an echo chamber or risk being canceled.
    They voted against being attacked for a difference in opinion.
    They voted against being called pedos, racists, homophobes, Nazis simply for disagreeing with you.
    They voted for the right to keep YOU out of decisions for their children.
    They voted against having to walk on eggshells for fear of offending someone.

I don’t care who I piss off by saying this, step out of the tunnel vision and have a civil conversation with folks and take responsibility for your part in pushing people, who are on the fence, to vote against you.”

It's been glorious listening to some of the media the last two days. Tops the 2016 meltdown possibly.