Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs for 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Those bands are sh1t mate. 100% right.

Squid were garbage on Sat. Babe Rainbow on the other hand were a right old laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Black Country New Road also sh1t live - really?

Only saw them once (@ATN) where they were decent if grumpy due to persistent sound issues.

Hoping for greatness from then In The Meadows - don’t burst my bubble!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Lads a few Osees fans in here I know. Never seen them, give me a read on them. I love some of their stuff, great garage rock, catchy as ****, next thing I listen to tips into metal with the vocals to match, too much for me. What's the live experience like? Where should I start my dive into their extensive back catalogue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Live they are essential. One of the best acts you will see imo. Psych, garage, punk, prog, jazz, kraut, it's all in there without being tedious muso wankery. Plus, John Dwyer is a funny guy. I'd love to go for a pint with him! The run of albums from The Master's Bedroom… through to Drop is a decent place to start. After that their sound starts stretching in different directions that may or may not be your cuppa.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

Cheers Dreamweapon, I'll get stuck into that so.

Dwyer is a workaholic so the discog is unwieldy. I always recommend "The Dream" from Carrion Crawler as the entry track. If you like that give albums a go. Mutilator first, then Orc, then Smote Reverser. Then flip a coin.

Along with Newcombe, Dwyer one of the godheads of modern psych. Genre has exploded in last 10/15 years. Lot of success down to him. The two drummer live show is some seriously nourishing gear for the soul. Pity he's not playing here this summer. He knew last summer which is well odd.

Funny that we approach their records from totally different angles @Dreamweapon ! The run you suggested is ace. I'm more aligned with the krauty goodness than the nuggetsesque garage gear howevs. All good.

Ah i like both elements, i just figured that run of albums would be more digestible for stillill42 to get started on. Although your suggestions are probably more useful as they haven't done the pure garage stuff for a long time now. I would love to see a return of Destroyed Fortress Reappears to the set though. I first saw them around the time of The Master's Bedroom… upstairs in Whelans to 15 people so that album will always be a cornerstone for me in their catalogue.

Ta lads. They're an intriguing bunch, a number of different bands in one. The fact that ye're recommending a run of 10 albums as a decent place to start gives a fair hint at their complexity. Loving some stuff so far, though not all. One way or the other, they'll be at the top of my to do list for Green Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭T.V Eye

I wouldn't usually recommend a live album to get into a band but Live in San Francisco is worth a spin. The current set will still feature a lot of songs from it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,311 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Can't underestimate the impact The Dream being on Vinewood radio in GTA V had on the band and on the genre

https://ktswblog.net/2021/10/21/how-the-radio-stations-of-grand-theft-auto-v-changed-the-way-i-listen-to-music/

https://www.reddit.com/r/TheeOhSees/comments/12tbfaa/what_was_the_song_that_got_you_into_thee_oh_sees/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,427 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Still Rocking All Over the World…

Tuesday in Belfast, the day before Rossi's 75th birthday

39 years and 364 days earlier in Manchester, the day after Rossi's 35th birthday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,555 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

a rather random and unexpected addition to the gig year, Gilbert O Sullivan in Theatre Royal Waterford on the 10th Dec

Beak will be decent in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,848 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

My second favourite link for gigs……

https://www.songkick.com/metro-areas/29314-ireland-dublin/tonight

Picked up a ticket for €6 to see Clay Pigeon Shooting. This could be excellent value!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Quo were brilliant on Tuesday and was back in Botanic Gardens last night for the always brilliant Christy Moore. Unfortunately half the crowd seemed to prefer to spend the evening chatting to each other. Why the **** they pay out money for tickets is beyond me - just stock up at the off licence and sit at home with a CD playing in the backgroun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,028 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Heading to see John Fogerty in Camden NJ, the gig has sold so badly that tickets are a quarter of the price they were when I bought them...... So.....

1: Dynamic pricing does work both ways.

2: I will be asking for a better seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Was at In The Meadows day out in Kilmainham. What a lovely day for it. I saw Mercury Rev, who I had a soft spot for many years ago. Forgot about them then, but yesterday brought it all back. The sound of the vocals wasn't great at times, but overall it was enjoyable. I don't know what they did to Goddess On a Highway though - the changed version didn't do it for me.

Saw Mogwai then. Lying out on the grass in the sun listening to mostly instrumental music was just beautiful. Loved it. Caught a bit of Lankum, but had to go home. I don't know their stuff, but seemed good. Very atmospheric.

I know I am opening a can of worms here, but I am going to do so anyway. After Bruce Springsteen gig and the crap with cans of Rockshore, I thought I wouldn't have to see another can of that plss again. But I went up to the bar at about 7.30, and there they were again. I asked for a pint of it, but no pints. I asked for Guinness, but they said no pints of Guinness anymore. So I got stuck with the cans. Paid €15 for 2 of them. I left the bar within 30 yards spotted people coming towards me with pints of Guinness. There was a separate Guinness bar almost beside the main bar, selling Guinness. I know the bar person didn't have to tell me, but God, it doesn't take a whole lot of cop on to say that the Guinness bar is over there if I want that. I wish Aikin would just f@ck off with this cans of Rockshore shlte.

And before some wise-a$$ comes on to provide wisdom that we don't have to buy them if we dont want to, I know that. But a couple of beers in the sun listening to music generally adds to the enjoyment. For me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭T.V Eye

Is that how they usually play Goddess live... no complaints about the rest of their set but that version was odd.

Brilliant gig last night by Weezer and Smashing Pumpkins in the 3Arena. Nice to get if off the bucket list. Next up Rammstein in the RDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Weezer and Pumpkins. 'Mazin'!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭CantonasCat2

Anyone heading to Limp Bizkit in Belfast tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭Penfailed

My young fella is going. He was at Weezer/Pumpkins with me last night too.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Actually for me it was a fantastic triple bill:

Weezer

Smashing Pumpkins

Kiki Wong

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭CantonasCat2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Adrianne Lenker is a genius- there is no one in the world writing / performing better songs; to see her perform in an intimate venue is a gift. I really wouldn't start trying to compare her to anyone. Some songs sound a bit like this, some songs sound a bit like that but overall there is nobody like her.

The crowd that night was fantastic also, no messing about with phones, quiet where it was needed - it added a lot to the show.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,831 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

The Killers last night in the 3Arena were sensational as always. Brandon Flowers is such a great frontman and knows how to work the crowd. Amazing stage set-up too. To steal a line - it was all killer, no filler. Hit after hit.

Also was super lucky to have Travis supporting. Saw them a few years ago in the Olympia but they really got the crowd going last night too.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,427 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

And a few more pics from last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Had to Google Fran Healy to check that was him. That's quite a hairstyle!

He's a jinx. I might have beaten the storms home but by this morning it was definitely raining on me…

Absolute Bowie in The Button Factory. Great show, they obviously love what they do. Couldn’t help himself, I was singing along with everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,585 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Sting & Blondie in Musgrave Park tonight.

For 78 years of age, Blondie still knows how to rock it! Brilliant greatest hits set from her. I really enjoyed it and I am thrilled to get to see her before she hangs up the mic for good.

Sting was also brilliant, you really can't beat a man with his guitar. Only disappointment is that he didn't do Don't Stand So Close To Me, otherwise very good set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭fafy

sting was unbelievable, 3 piece, tighter than ducks arse, really exceeded my expectations.

Blondie was a good show, band very good, but voice is well gone, gave a good effort though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

How long were Blondie on for?? Going to Belfast tonight!

I would say about an hour give or take. She did 13 songs.

There was another support act on before her, they were probably on for about a half hour, only performed something like 5 songs or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,028 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Are bowling for soup a world changing band that will re-evaluate the way you look at music? No, absolutely not.

Are they a ridiculously fun sing-along throwback that remind you of a more innocent time? Abso-fckuing-lutely.....

Blagged a ticket see The Scratch support Sum-41 in Fairview. They are learning their craft. 👏🏻
    Strange audience, all 25 years old, fanatical but must have been 5 when Sum-41’s first single came out. Go figure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Wouldnt be a huge concert goer, maybe one or two a year. Saw Take That tonight, really brilliant but I was surprised they had no encore. First concert I can remember attending that there wasn't one. Is this common? Not complaining as they played all the big hits but more interested than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,831 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

P!nk was at her incredible best tonight. She is an icon and an absolute tour-de-force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Tipp1991

Anyone want a ticket for Dylan Gossett in Vicar Street tonight?

Rammstein RDS last night, amazing show

Next up Green Day in Marlay Park on Thursday

Rammstein looked jammers!!

it was

Any videos of the show been heard up to 15km away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Bhail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Jeez !! Looks crazy !
    Do they have to distract from their own music ?

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,311 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Did you filter by "Worst seats available" on Ticketmaster?

After Sunday nights Rammstein extravaganza, up next was Shania Twain in Musgrave Park tonight.

Delta Goodrem was opening act and she was amazing. Quite the voice for a live performance, what a set of lungs she has on her. Performed a mini greatest hits set including Innocent Eyes and Wings to name but a few.

Rag N Bone Man was up next and despite not being to my taste, he was a real crowd pleaser.

Then the main woman herself came on to rapturous applause. A brilliant greatest hits set, which thoroughly pleased and engaged the crowd. She did have a few slip ups in forgetting lyrics but she powered on through with great humour. She did pause the show for a while when people in the Golden Circle made her aware to a medical emergency and Shania asked for assistance for the ill fan. She was very concerned for her fan and was greatly relieved to be given the thumbs up that the individual concerned was going to OK but was taken to hospital as a precaution (I hope they are feeling better and it's nothing serious). She finished the night with Any Man Of Mine and Man, I Feel Like A Woman which had the vast majority of fans on their feet, dancing and belting out the songs.

Post edited by Tauriel on

Ty Segall very good in the Button Factory tonight. A 90-odd minute set mostly consisting of latest album Three Bells, plus a host of career spanning selections. I think most denizens of these parts would have enjoyed tonight. Sure, there were the expected thick, fuzzy riffs but it wasn't too heavy, or out-there or awkward. More like a group of locked-in musicians playing solid ragged glory rock. I was getting bits of the Grateful Dead, Floyd, The Band, maybe a bit of funk mixed in with the garage fuzzers. Recommended.

Nah got what was offered on the morning they went on sale

They were pretty good seats