Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Padraig Nally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

When a man is terrorised and threatened and his property stolen on a regular basis by a violent thug, I call the man a hero for standing up for himself and putting an end to the problem. Others agree. You are entitled to your opinion and probably feel that the frog had a hard life and was only looking for love/acceptance/friendship when he was robbing people.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭NattyO

Well that isn't true.

If so, then there will have been a case where they haven't attempted to get a prosecution - do you know of one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,396 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

My 2 Estonian neighbours about 6 years back battered an intruder to the beat of a Pantera drum solo.

Neither even had to go to the station.

No. Beating someone to death would be rare. But he did spend quite a bit of time in hospital and it was a while before he could consume solids again.

What you stated was and what I responded to was

the problem is more that the Gardai and the DPP seem to feel obligated to prosecute anyone who defends themselves in their home

Yeah, my bad, I meant fatally, thus why I mentioned that the starting point should be seeing if the evidence points to self defense. I'd be aware of a few cases where intruders got a hiding and no charges followed (usually where the intruder knew worse would be forthcoming if the case were pursued).

Looking at the half dozen high profile cases where someone lost their life, I don't think the prosecution have been wasteful or flippant in pursuing charges.

To be fair the law is pretty subjective as it is written.

What would a reasonable person assume, etc.

But I do take your point and it is a valid one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,130 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

After considering the evidence given at the original trial, I am of the firm belief that it was murder.

Ward was shot and wounded and while trying to flee was then beaten savagely with an ash plant (a stout walking stick). When he wouldn't die (like a badger) he was given the coup de grâce by means of a second shot.

After the first shot, while fleeing, he was no longer a threat to Nally.

I said in a post above that I believe that the balance of Nally's mind was disturbed at the time.

Not your ornery onager

After the first shot, while fleeing, he was no longer a threat to Nally.

He didn't flee after the first shot, they scuffled.

Also it is not absolute that he was not a threat after the first shot, one might argue that he was even more of threat as his life was in grave danger.

It was after this which is the pertinent decision the jury had to decide on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Nice bit of sarcasm at the end……how many times did Ward 'visit' Nally, did Nally actually know him? Mick Clifford's piece suggests it was wards first time visiting Nally's property the previous day he had asked nally for directions to a lake/river for fishing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭jackboy

When fight or flight kicks in it is unreasonable to expect someone to have control over their actions. Everyone behaves different and it is not possible to predict in advance how someone will act.

You may do the same as Nally yourself or much worse in similar circumstances, the point is you will not be in control of your actions and have no way of predicting how you will act until in the situation.

We don't know how many times Ward visited the farm owned and worked by Nally. What we do know is Ward had about 80 previous convictions for burglary, larceny and assault. Those are only the ones he was caught and convicted of. Nally knew exactly what Ward was up to. He wasn't interested in directions, but he was fishing. Live a life like that and you take the risk that someone will fight back and win.

Nally is a hero.

Stay Free

Why is he a hero, still can't get my head around this eulogising of him

Not Your Ornery Onager

Because we can all kill intruders with impunity now, apparently…

Post edited by Esel on

Not your ornery onager

He prevented a criminal from racking up another 80 convictions, saving any number of people from being assaulted and making the entire community and beyond a safer one. That's what heroes do. Sometimes the bad guy dies and that's unfortunate, but we don't live in rainbows and flowers.

Stay Free

Honestly I don't see how you could be struggling with the concept that some people have a certain level of praise for him.

Personally I think hero is an extremely strong descriptor, so I wouldn't use it personally.

But I think what struck a chord with people and with this particular case is everyone knows or knows of a Padraig Nally and everyone knows or knows of a John Ward or at least did back then. Maybe it is different now.

It's quite easy to sympathise with one and not the other, for very obvious reasons.

Looking at Wards criminal record it's hard not to conclude that he was an absolute menace to society who left a trail of innocent victims and destruction in his wake.

I also think the justice system and the state have to shoulder their portion of Blame for what happened, he had 4 live bench warrants out for his arrest at the time of his killing. He had a wife and 10+ kids, unless he was Irelands hide and seek champion he could not have been that hard to track down.

Nally in reality is probably only a bit part player in the whole saga. And it wasn't really about him, but about everyone else's collective,. One which was always likely to happen sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭mulbot

What does it matter if he was armed, he(a man with multiple convictions for theft etc) came onto another person's property with I'll intention. You don't wait around to find out what or how severe those ill intentions are.

What should we do with intruders, coming into someone's home,( where there may be children or vulnerable people) to steal or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The amount of people in rural Ireland who are terrorised by travelling burglary gangs is huge , going on for decades … the closure and reduction of hours in rural garda stations was a huge help to these gangs and their local spotters .

so to extrapolate from above…..someone comes to your door / through your front gate looks a bit disheveled, you don’t like the look of him and you become fearful for your life, …….based on the opinion you form from viewing him through window, you get your shot gun out of storage load it , crack the door open and let him have it…..? The guy could have no previous convictions or a string of them like ward but what does it matter he sparked utter fear /terror into you and deserves what he gets for ‘trespassing’ on to your ‘castle’

Aha! I see it. Sarcasm. You need to work a bit on it though. I thought for a moment you were serious.

But yes, if in a similar situation and living rural, one should be prepared, or be prepared to be burgled, or worse.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,406 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Oh right, so there was nothing about Travellers in general on this thread then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,406 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Just for those keen to forget the context of the replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

" No longer a threat"

These people return ( pride culture demands it) and in numbers, Nally not only saved his own life,he mostly likely saved many other old people who would have been future prey

Anyone with any knowledge or experience of travellers knows that Asking for directions is a common tactic of theirs, it allows them buy time while they scope out a place for future operations, travellers know every boreen in the country, they don't need to ask for directions, I used to live in kells in meath and once had a traveller ask me directions to Longford, as if a traveller wouldn't know the way to Longford

Just like asking for a smoke is a pre-cursor to a fight, or a mugging. But i'd be saying the same thing about Nally no matter the gender, race, ethnic status or whatever else. Someone with a rake of convictions and multiple warrants was about to commit another crime and his reign of terror came to a swift end by the actions of Nally. God rest his soul.

Stay Free

Travellers usually enter a yard with a buddy, one hops out and has a quick gander to see what's worth collecting, the other distracts the home owner by asking for directions to o Connell St Dublin, doesn't matter if the yard is in Mayo or Kerry

Not Your Ornery Onager

Pretty much, except Nally wasn't in the house, he was in a shed. Ward was apparently trying the door into the house.

Not your ornery onager

He was able to watch his house about to be broken into. Lucky for him he was able to stop it.

you are just being a w@nker now

Mod: Warned for personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭batman75

It couldn't have been easy for Mr Nally to live with the reality that he took a life. My sense is that he was at his wits end. That he snapped. We all have a breaking point. If you haven't peace of mind you have nothing.

I can see the merit of mitigating circumstances and a character reference if it arose in the defence of Mr Nally as he as defending his property. But I believe that both mitigating circumstances and character references need to allowed only in certain circumstances. For example character references/mitigating circumstances shouldn't be allowed in cases of theft, unprovoked assault or drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭aero2k

I think @Manic Moran has explained above that the "reasonable man" test doesn't apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭jay1988

Bit of a sweeping generalisation no? I had a traveller stop me in Coolock looking for directions to the Omni in Santry when I was about 12, was he scoping me out to rob me of the about 50p I had in me pocket at the time?

Ward was clearly a scumbag, no matter where he was from or what community he was a member of but its very harsh to paint thousands of people with the same brush. A few posts above is examples of discrimination travellers face every day and your post above is another one, I'm not sure if you'd get away with making those generalisations about any other group of people.

It's the most pertinent test.

And in the high profile cases we have seen it is up to 12 in the Jury to decide if the force used was objectively reasonable or not.

Like I said, asking for random directions is a traveller trick as old as time , those of us with experience of them , know this well

Travellers spend a lot of time on the road,they know the country better than any Sat Nav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭aero2k

I agree, it's used in a wide variety of cases (I recall a lecturer saying "a reasonable man is a pain in the arse"). I'm not au fait with the details, but I think Hardiman's comments might refer to current law rather than what pertained at the time of Nally's case. As I understand it, Hardiman said it's unreasonable to expect someone to react in a reasonable manner in such unreasonable circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭arctictree

Their excuses are legendary. A neighbour of mine met one coming out of his own lane with his trailer hooked up. "I'm only borrowing it for a few minutes to move a horse" was the excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭jay1988

A burglars trick as old as time maybe? Surely not only travellers case out places before they break in and use **** excuses if they come across someone while doing so and obviously not all burglars are travellers.

In rural Ireland,the vast vast majority of burglary and assault crimes committed against elderly people involve travellers

It's virtually it's own crime classification - garda division at this stage though obviously the guard's can't admit it

Two broke into a site I worked in before. They had two ladders with them, one for each side of the fence. All observed by security camera while the guards were called and on the way. When the guards caught them they said they were looking for their lost dog. Sounds moronic but it satisfied the guards who just said on your way lads.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 5,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod note:

Good afternoon everyone.

A reminder to all posters that the topic of the thread is the death of Padraig Nally, not generalisations about the travellers community which has dominated the discussion the last couple of days and I would consider off topic.

Thank you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

It is not the most pertinent test. It is specifically disavowed in the case of burglary by both Irish caselaw:

"Nor, in our view, would it be just to lay down a wholly objective standard, to be judged by the standards of the hypothetical reasonable person. The victim of a burglary is not in the position of an ordinary reasonable man or woman contemplating what course of action is best in particular circumstances […] To hold a person in this situation to an objective standard would be profoundly unjust".

and Irish legislation:

"the force used is only such as is reasonable in the circumstances as he or she believes them to be […] It is immaterial whether a belief is justified or not if it is honestly held."

The trick for the jury is trying to determine if the homeowner held a belief or not. If the jury found that the homeowner honestly held a belief that force was necessary beyond the level that most reasonable people would think necessary, the homeowner gets acquitted.

"Nor, in our view, would it be just to lay down a wholly objective standard, to be judged by the standards of the hypothetical reasonable person. The victim of a burglary is not in the position of an ordinary reasonable man or woman contemplating what course of action is best in particular circumstances […] To hold a person in this situation to an objective standard would be profoundly unjust".

There is a but after that. I can't quote it for some reason.

If the jury found that the homeowner honestly held a belief that force was necessary beyond the level that most reasonable people would think necessary, the homeowner gets acquitted.

An acquittal would be if the prosecution failed to prove that accused did not believe the level of forced they used was necessary and then fail to prove that a reasonable person would not come to the same conclusion.

Murder

If a jury finds the prosecution has proven that an accused knew the force they used in response to an unlawful attack was disproportionate to the attack, and that a reasonable person would also consider the force excessive, that is murder.

Manslaughter

If a jury finds the prosecution has failed to prove that an accused did not honestly believe that the force they used was necessary for self-defence, but has proven that a reasonable person would consider the force used was disproportionate, that is manslaughter.

Aquittal

An acquittal arises when a jury finds the prosecution has failed to prove that an accused did not honestly believe the force they used in response to an unlawful attack was necessary for self-defence and has also failed to prove that a reasonable person would not have reached the same conclusion.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2022/06/15/murder-charge-acquittal-on-basis-of-self-defence-rare/

Yes, I think this is why Nally got off. He was honest with what happened and even though his actions could easily be described as excessive, he was credible and it was very believable that he was in fear of his life.

I think people that get prosecuted in similar situations it is because it is not believed they are telling the full truth openly which leads to significant doubt about what happened.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Not a "but", but further explanation: "…but it must always be borne in mind that the burglar must take the occupant as he finds him and in many cases it will in practice take the deployment of grossly disproportionate force, or evidence of actual malice (as in the well-known Martin case in Great Britain) to fix the householder with liability. He or she has, after all, been deliberately subjected to an experience which will shock even the most robust and might make many irrational with terror".

The rest of the section on "degree of force" explains how the Court arrived at the compromise between the inappropriate reasonable man standard, and not permitting a free-for-all/anything goes on the part of the occupant, which basically comes down to the 'honestly-held-belief' standard later enacted in legislation.

With respect to the article quoted (in which I would note that the subject, Bento, was acquitted), I submit that there is not a direct equivalence because there was no excusing statute directly on point. There are two reasons for the difference. The first is that an occupant is exercising an additional constutional right. He is not only attempting to retain stolen property as Bento did when he was acquitted, but acting under Art 40.5. Further, the Defense of the Dwelling act does not observe any difference between manslaughter or murder (indeed, neither term is used), it merely says that the occupant may "use force." Manslaughter and murder are both unlawful uses of force, the difference being intention, so if the force used was lawful, the degree does not apply. The definition of what is lawful in the specific circumstances that the Act applies is the whole 'honestly held belief' thing and whilst the act specifies that belief criterion, it notably says absolutely nothing about 'but if reasonable people would not have come to that belief..." Only if it fails at that honestly-held belief test, can a charge be placed. Which, if I take it to the logical conclusion, means that the only options are murder conviction or acquittal, as the standard for 'manslaughter' as used in other circumstances could not be met. I think that's a reasonable enough result.

This discussion may be better suited for the legal forum, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

One of the biggest deterrent for these guys with 50+ previous convictions would be the withdrawal of free legal aid and would see a drop in solicitors enabling these guys and when they would have to fund there own defence would be a wake up call, but still a double bore with two number fours in it is still the best form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭buried

You can be assured of this anyways, if Mr. Nally did what he did LAST year instead of 2004, Mr. Nally would have been sentenced to life, his property confiscated by the state authorities and full exoneration for the gadge with the previous 80 convictions. The current neo-liberal regime who will prosecute a Garda for doing his job against 3 other thieving robbing scumbags isn't going to look twice at some poor farmer who they'll be soon wanting to jail for warming their own house with turf, let alone protect themselves.

Make America Get Out of Here