Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

150KTubs - future career in Virgin Radio and other soulful pursuits **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

🤣

Is the Mr. Mister / Marillion mix-up a comment made in jest or did he really say that? It’s entirely plausible that he did say it of course.

Reminds me of the time many years ago (in my teenage years) when I heard Peter Collins play R.E.M.’s “Orange Crush” and he came back on air saying something like “What a great summer song there from R.E.M. - who doesn’t like some refreshing orange crush on a hot day?”. The song is most definitely not about a refreshing summer beverage…..

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭nonetheless

No believe me it's genuine, heard it with my own ears using VRUK playback about 2 months ago iirc. Actually posted about it but I can't find the actual post. What you just referred to there about Peter Collins etc. yes I would agree with you as that sort of thing tends to happen in RTE🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

“What a great summer song there from R.E.M. - who doesn’t like some refreshing orange crush on a hot day?”. The song is most definitely not about a refreshing summer beverage…..

Perhaps his tongue was rather firmly in his cheek on that one, Peter.

It wasn’t. From memory, some sort of apology was issued after the next commercial break.

This was the same Peter Collins btw who was once drafted in to do the Irish rugby team’s post game interviews and proceeded to get every player’s name wrong (one Victor Costello was particularly unimpressed by this) so faux pas were a strength of his.

Didn’t someone once call Bell X1 “Bell Eleven” on 2fm too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭supereurope

The "young fogey" who spent his 20s listening to crooners and Nora Jones, then became a Swiftie in his 50s…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭rightmove

you never realise that Tubs had an emotional crises at the time and that he needed the prodding of the wommin in his life to see things clearly etc.

I dont know maybe he had 150k reasons to leave the LLS but he never mentions that.

Just back this morning from 10+ days on a multi-city jaunt in the Middle East and absolutely shattered - I haven’t felt this tired and as sore all over since my sporting days. There was no direct flight from my final port of call so a multi-leg return journey and layover in Istanbul didn’t help (the lounge there is surprisingly nice though - Aer Lingus take note).

Anyway, due to a combination of in-flight boredom and the wonders of modern technology with Wi-fi in the sky I went down a Tubridy rabbit hole and read the entirety of old thread dedicated to his former radio show, and a sizeable portion of the thread dedicated to the payments scandal when it broke.

It really is fascinating to read these with the benefit of hindsight, particularly the radio thread with many posters calling out what was hiding in plain sight for years before the payments scandal broke. What was also interesting to read were the comments from Ryan’s ardent supporters, some of whom frequent this thread. If I had to sum it all up in one word I’d use one of the man himself’s go to phrases - intriguing.

If one were bored over the Christmas break it’s certainly worth revisiting one or both of these.

I’m off to bed now with an ambien, I hope to resurface sometime tomorrow in considerably better form than I find myself in at this moment.

Goodnight and good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawley

During the interview that Tubridy did with Dermot Whelan, he called Sinead O'Connor a "Cassandra". A figure who would say correct things but would be dismissed by the general public. Tubs really knows how to play the media game, as he tries to align himself with her. Of course there were plenty of Cassandras on the old Tubridy threads, who could see through him and could see how poor a presenter he was. The likes of Tubridy have no real interest in truth or what's right. He recently dismissed those complaining about the new Netflix series set in Northern Ireland, as a bunch of cranks from X, even though it included victims of the IRA, such as Jean McConville's family.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Extra.ie article, hilarious read regarding the recent Willowwarm school competition:

"Ryan Tubridy returned to Ireland this week to pay a festive visit to a school in Co Cavan.

The popular Irish radio host and podcaster has been living in the UK since the end of last year, when he landed a job presenting on Virgin Radio following his exit from RTÉ.

Taking a break from his hectic schedule, Ryan travelled to St Joseph’s National School, Kingscourt, Co Cavan as part of the WillowWarm Christmas Schools competition."

And from Tubs himself:

"The WillowWarm Christmas Schools competition is such a great way for me to reconnect with young people in Ireland who I love to chat to and encourage to read.'

Now, please, no derogatory comments about Tub's choice of book.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭supereurope

Extra.ie tends to be the most gushing towards Tubs, I assume NK's minions have infiltrated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,571 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I have visions of Tubridy flinging packs of those logs into the audience, there's one for everyone in the audience!!!

If it doesn't take your head off…

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭nonetheless

Note that the book is opened centre page in which a copy of one of Noel's invoices have been inserted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Kids look too old for that book too. I'd say they were riveted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭RoTelly

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Tubridy's schedule is never less than "hectic"

🙄

That article could have been written by ank one of a number of NK-bots

All the familiar buzzwords and buzz-phrases are there

Only Darina Allen and her organisation of deviants get more inexplicably good press in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭yagan

Interestingly I just saw a clip about criticism over Tim Allan's lenient sentence for down loading child porn images on that "don't look back in anger" TV series.

Oh ffs. 🙄 I wake up to this?

The school gets €1,000 (I think) Tubridy probably getting 25 times that for turning up for approx. 30 mins to an hour I’m guessing? You’d think the school principal would have more cop on that to allow this chap with shall we say “a chequered past” into the school?

You’d have to ask how this translates into sales for the brand - that’s a lot of extra sales of briquettes to sell to break even in this “event”. And that’s before we bring Dermot Bannon’s fees into it (he’s a Brand Ambassador for them too).

The only saving grace is at least he didn’t force the kids to read “Patrick and the President”. 🙄

Nice use of language in the piece too “following his exit from RTÉ” - that’s one way to describe it I guess.

I’ll need 3 Ambien to get back to sleep after seeing that now. Thanks a lot podge! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭rightmove

Cash-strapped RTÉ to spend €1.75m on giving its staff tax-free vouchers of up to €1,000 each in the new year

Good times are back at Ryan Tubridy Extras (RTE)

Any link to this? Not doubting you, I’d just like to read for it myself if so.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cash-strapped-rte-to-spend-175m-on-giving-its-staff-tax-free-vouchers-of-up-to-1000-each-in-the-new-year/a418538713.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/companies/arid-41535575.html

The last RTÉ pay claim agreement was in November 2022, when RTÉ staff received a 6% pay increase, over a two-year period, with a 3% increase in January 2023, backdated to December 2022, a 1.5% increase in October, and a further 1.5% on April 30, 2024.

IMO I have no real problems with a bonus, however you'd think staff would understand this year its not on the table or being offer. I got a reduction in my bonus this year from my company, and when the announcement came you could here a pin drop, very ungrateful of us, but when your bonus is cut by 25% it is disappointing. But then nobody expects a bonus nor should they. RTÉ seem to think they are entitled to one.

It would have been nice to see those in RTÉ under 60k getting a bonus of €1k and the rest having to suffer through their own hard earned money. but then I wonder how many people in RTÉ are actually on under 60k.

______

Yesterday

Some are under €60k…..a month, for as much as 25ish hours work in that month. The hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,692 ✭✭✭Tow

It is a breach of employment law to pay employees in vouchers. They might be back in front of the WRC and Revenue trying to explain the vouchers really are a bonus and not part of a pay deal.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

Labour laws and such matters don’t apply to RTÉ - don’t you know this? 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Hence why Mr. Backhurst was so keen to retain the services of the HR Director - even though most of the “shenanigans” of the last few years happened on her watch. Those HR Directors really do know where the bodies are buried……

New scandal: Tax payers money used for private book launch. Note: Ryan was not paid.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

He may not have been paid by the Embassy. Eoghan Murphy and his publisher may have organized Ryan's appearance fee.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,782 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

The vouchers are a cheap way to give employees a bonus, a lot of employers around the country use it. Although knowing RTE, they will have some agreement with a newly formed company (with definitely no links to anyone, definitely) where they charge 2k for a 1k tax-free voucher.

You really do have to wonder how anyone thought this was a good idea? The arrogance and general “couldn’t give a flying fück” attitude of these people is truly breathtaking. A grand total of zero self-awareness by everyone in that room.

100% on this.

The Embassy allowing it to take place there with scandal boy Tubridy as the host though is just such a bizarre and “bonkers” decision it beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

There is a something quite apt about Ryan Tubridy gleefully sharing a stage with the grandson of the man who cleaned out his mentor and role model.

If he had ANY integrity whatsoever he’d have declined that gig on that point alone, but after his Oireachtas Committee appearance I think it’s fair to say integrity is not something the chap is overly familiar with. Though his salary is enormous, it doesn’t affect his soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawley

I won’t go through the storyline other than to point out that Paul Mescal is a megastar and it shows, Denzel Washington is extraordinarily mischievous throughout, the two demented emperors are terrifically terrifying and there’s a monkey in a dress. This is before we get to the rhinos in the Colosseum! The whole film is an epic spectacle that was built for a cinema visit. Book a seat and don’t waste something this big on your television at home. https://evoke.ie/2024/12/15/entertainment/ryan-tubridy-pat-kenny

Does he really think that he deserves the support of people? He has never taken one bit of responsibility for what happened with the hidden payments. Pat Kenny has a grudge against RTE, plus he's a NK stablemate, so he's biased in his support of Tubs. The rest of it is just, all celebs are amazing. Everything is amazing.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

Are you saying that Tubridy should have refused to do Murphy's book launch because Murphy's grandfather stole money from Tubridy's friend? It would hardly be fair to hold the grandson responsible for the grandfather's actions, particularly since Russell Murphy died in 1986 when Eoghan Murphy was four.

He did more than steal all of Gaybo's money. Russell was also Gaybo's best friend and Godfather to his daughter, which is worse than your accountant 'just doing' a doing a runner with your life saving.

Then again, Todd Andrews tried to give Gaybo the boot from RTE.

Yes, but in what way is Eoghan Murphy culpable for what his grandfather did?

He is free to do whatever he wants, and clearly does where there’s money/a fee involved. People are also free to judge him by his actions.

You either don’t see anything wrong with this, or you’re possibly just trolling for a reaction.

Others however might find it a tad uncomfortable considering his relationship with Gay Byrne. He could of course have said no to this “opportunity” on such grounds and I assume Mr. Murphy would have understood. But “a gig is a gig is a gig” it seems for almost all of the NK stable, and as Ivan Yates always says he doesn’t speak Latin and doesn’t understand pro bono.

The embassy said no fee was paid to Tubridy by them. Why would they be paying a fee, they were merely the host venue for this event, the organisers (Murphy’s side, his publisher) would be the ones footing any fees to Tubridy - which begs the question why the embassy (the taxpayer) picked up the catering costs? There are legitimate questions to be asked about this.

I'm still not sure why you think that Tubridy should hold Eoghan Murphy accountable for what Murphy's grandfather did to Gay Byrne.

His film reviews are always hilariously bad takes. The starting point is everything is amazing, but by golly if it has even the most tedious of Irish connections it’s amazing, delicious, gorgeous, beautiful, going to win Oscars and definitely the “bestest” (I have heard him say this) film ever. It’s all over-simplified platitudes and banal compliments, there’s no actual educated criticism of the film’s plot or themes or anything of depth. The “monkey in a dress” line however is pure Partridge. Monkey tennis anyone?

I assume part of Tubridy’s logic here is if he plays cheerleader to the actors then one day they might appear on his show so he better not be a big meanie and say “actually, this film is crap” (which is what an actual critic would do) lest he offend said actors.

Surely you can disagree with Peter's viewpoint without resorting to ad hominem attacks.

Aside from the vulgarity of your post you’re clearly mistaking me for someone else.

My own career in radio? I’ve never worked in radio, or tv, or any other form of media. I don’t know who you think I am, but I’m not that person.

Of course anyone who dislikes Tubridy has mental health issues. 🙄 you forgot to include your usual tropes that they’re also unemployed, alcoholics, divorced, live in their mother’s basement, see their kids (who hate them) once a month, loners, losers etc.

Classy post though, says more about you than anything else.

No Brian, they can’t. Attack the poster is always the way.

lol, ok Bobson.
    “Be kind” he says after his original post. 🤣There’s lacking self-awareness and there’s that.

….

I think over all it looks bad. Eoghan left politics because he got a better job elsewhere while he was Minister for Housing during a time of a housing crisis.

I wouldn't line Tubs up with Murphy per se, but the connections of the Murphy family and the Tubridy family aren't to be totally dismissed. IMO so called diplomats in the Embassy should have turned around and said,

"Look this seems political, and its not old history that we are talking about, also even if we agree that Tubs has served is time following the RTÉ scandal, many in the public may not be happy with an event hosted by him talking to a former Housing Minister and politician, and that's not to mention Mr. Murphy's Grandfather, and while we may not link him to his Grandfather's business there are plenty that still remember him (or have heard of him) as an Accountant to the "stars"."

IMO while I think the embassy should host book launches and other cultural activities, I think they should be a little more careful as to what they are supporting.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭HBC08

Mmmmmhhh....this rereg poster sounds oddly familiar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭yagan

It's like someone obsessed with derailing this thread in particular, as if they had some personal stake in the topic.

My reply provides a subtle hint as to his alleged identities (plural).

I’ll probably be reported now for assuming his gender, even though everyone knows who it is.. 🙄