Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

251 registrations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Do you know them personally? Another bitter poster because people getting new cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,402 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I obviously dont know them and perhaps they did buy it in cash… I do know, some of my mates, are getting new cars on PCP as usually the Mrs wants a newer car, they arent on bad money, but have fcuk all left at the end of the month… Everyone's circumstance is different, but I will hand it to the finance companies and dealerships, PCP is one great racket….

You are right in going for the 0% finance over outright cash too…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Yeah I hear ye, look I did the pcp thing myself for long enough so I am not criticising anyone who makes the same mistakes I did but it would be good if people could learn from them instead.

I had all the same reasons to justify PCP but in the end the unjustifiable spending on cars to get from A to B just can't be justified.

You can't deny the size and weight of cars is gone ridiculous ? this trend of bigger and bigger needs to be reversed, we all know it. We can't keep choking up the streets with larger and larger cars, it just can't continue. You probably think your EV is going to save the earth even if it is big and heavy ? come on ffs.

There's no way in hell the tax payer should be subsidising 40-60k + cars.

Leave it for now, thread derailed. I hope to see a nice 251 on my commute tomorrow morning. I haven't seen one yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭pale rider

saw my first one today, a Porsche !

Plenty of money in the country and certainly some is going into new cars, I have a car on order and am a cash buyer, I found any talk of finance meant I was paying the full retail sticker price with no negotiation.

PCP is the real "never never" lol, because at year 3 when reality is coming back about the balloon they realise ah **** it, I'll just go again with minimal deposit much the same monthly payments for another 3 years, it is mad, I did it long enough.

I have been mortgage free since age 37 and while I do have a fair bit of disposable income, we are heavily saving for the Boys collage and their deposit for their first house, f1ck cars because having kids made me realise that there's a lot more important things to spend money on than myself an the way the world is now the Boys will need all the support they can get long into the future.

lol those were the days, F1ck Dee Forbes for destroying 252 Khz , she was hell bent on destroying the transmitter and mast and in reality it was partly that corrupt B1tch who was loosing RTE millions not 252 Khz ! Good to see the back of her and ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Luna84
    Mentally Insane User

You have your priorities straight anyway no point in being tied down to a car payment every month. Well done paying off the mortgage and looking out for your kids future not many would do that.

To be fair, Ireland depends heavily on the motor car due to the failure of the Government for decades to provide proper public transport.

I wouldn't increase the tax based on the fuel source but I would increase it based on the size and weight of the vehicles, the size of the cars people are driving now are nuts and also the sheer weight which is bound to have a negative effect on fuel economy.

The Government talk about reducing emissions but the reality is the ICE industry alone is worth about 6 Billion a year to the Tax man. The government solution to reducing emissions is to increase tax on energy ? no this is just a way to increase revenue and it's by adding the year to the reg and the 1/2 to the reg that has promoted even more car sales which increases tax revenue.

I'm not sure on the NCT, I see a lot of people with bald tyres so this should be inspected more I think.

Mobile phone detection is a joke

Now we have more and more digital infotainment systems to distract drivers and digital instrument clusters with endless menus and customisations available while driving. The whole thing is gone mad.

I really don't think we should be subsidising cars costing 40K + though, this means the lower income folk have to subsidise the people capable of buying more expensive electric cars, this is wrong.

No I've called you out for coming into a thread about 251 registration with the same miserable story you've been at for ages, across threads that have nothing to do with your situation. You were a decent poster in this forum when you talked about cars but now you are completely miserable and upset about losing money and criticising anyone that doesn't make the same choices as you to drive the cheapest class of car possible.

You've been banned for it before too. Might be an idea to give you your own thread to keep your repetitive posting away from other topics. Or just ban again.

Mods, what do you think?

Thanks, the way things are now, house prices, rent, even digs for collage, it was a very wise decision to start their savings when they were born. If they want to get a masters or PHD they will have some nice savings to give them the means to allow them pursue the career they want and hopefully some money towards deposit for house each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭angeleyes

We are collecting ours on Wednesday we are 266 in Limerick. We bought a Toyota Yaris Hybrid Cross.

Who are you to call anyone out ? Stop making this about me, you're the one with issues trolling me from thread to thread for quite some time now, sort yourself out first! There are people you can talk to. Seriously, I'm not the one commenting on every post you make because I am not the one who has issues, you do and if you don't like what you read then there are better ways to be able to respond and deal with it and if you can't then I highly recommend you talk to a professional, they're better equipped to handle your form of personality disorder and I mean that with the utmost respect because mental health issues are a serious issue and often people don't realise they have a problem. I really hope you get help for your issues sooner rather than later.

You have to seek help from the mods to deal with your issues you don't like what you read so you try get a mod to intervene ? seriously , the mods on boards can't give you the help you really need. They should understand that you follow and troll me from thread to thread, this is unacceptable because you are trying to drag me down with you. You're like a school Child who rats on their classmates because they exclude you for not fitting in because you have the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭angeleyes

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Will you stop killing threads with your miserable behaviour. Some people can afford new cars, savings and kid funding. You don’t get a medal for giving up cars to do what many others do every day.

Be the hokie lad, I remember the yaris being a hell of a lot cheaper. Is that just cause it's hybrid ? the 1.0l would have been 20 K max is that even still available ?

Oh lord, another troll from the Electric Car threads. Who asked for a medal ?

These are the people who keep trolling me from the EV threads since I ditched electric cars, sad people.

These are the people willing to be in debt their whole lives and look down on the rest of us who don't think driving expensive EV will save the planet lol.

Post edited by Mad_Lad on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭letsbefair

This great thread about 251 cars spotted has been taken over by a bunch of people who should start their own thread about people who hate cars and people who love cars and find cars interesting. I for one find you boring and want to see pictures of new cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭DrPsychia

He has a point though. You are consistently miserable and resentful. So many words to describe your behaviour. Why would you even talk about how people can't afford new cars in a thread about 251 reg cars?

Just because you can't comfortably afford a new car and take the depreciation hit that comes with it, doesn't mean others can't. Miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭itsacoolday

Only saw one new 251 car this year so far here in Wicklow, a Hyundai. I wonder what car registrations will be like this year. Maybe I am not as observant as I used to be.

Ah lets-be-fair now, "great thread" come one lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Arnout

I saw a car with plates starting with 251-D- last Tuesday, 31st of December. Huh that's early, looked again, was 251-D-0000, must have been out for a test drive and because a law making someone had the bright idea that dealer plates should go on the inside of the car no-one sees those.

Saw the first proper ones on Saturday, 251-D-966 I think, 251-MH-59 or so and one that I know for sure 251-D-1251.

Ah here now don't pretend to know what financial position I'm in, just because I choose not to engage in throwing away money on new cars ( any longer ) doesn't mean I can't afford to with not having a mortgage or rent to pay, don't be so petty. Calling me miserable, I bet by you're in much more debt than I am lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭User1998

Stop trying to make every thread about yourself. Everyone is sick of the same nonsense you are spouting on every thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Damien360

It was asked on page one but has there been a update for the Laois man that gets LS1 almost every year ?

Yet another troll from the ev threads, funny that.

I regularly post in all the motoring threads, I don’t care about EV’s. I’m just a regular poster who is fed up of you taking over every thread and filling it with the same nonsense as the last

What's nonsense ? you know me mostly from the EV threads. what have I said that's nonsense ?

I don't need help but thanks! You've belittled people buying new cars in a 251 thread saying it's all pcp and you can't afford them, cars are too big, you're not saving the planet, we all have debt and you don't.

Then straight in asking the yaris buyer how much the car was, as soon as I saw you asking that I knew straight away you'd have a go about the price which you did, along with a dig about hybrid and asking could you not get a 1 litre for about 60% of the price. You know well there's no 20 grand yaris out there.

Stop the pettiness mad lad.

pot kettle black if you are accusing that poster of hijacking threads / making it about themselves.

It’s a rare thread that you contribute to without telling us yet again about your car or your daddy’s fleet of cars. Modesty obviously lot one of your qualities

😎😎😎

My dad drove vans all his life, and commercial hiluxes etc, his one extravagance was an etron which he bought with pension lump sum and he then decided he hated it and went back to a van.

The fleet is work related, and nothing to do with my dad, he never worked here. I'm trying to push that fleet electric as much as I can.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,975 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Looks like the first 251 I see may be my own. Just got a call from the garage to say my car is in 😁

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,975 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

An ID4 pro plus. First ever EV so slightly bricking it about running out of battery but really looking forward to it at the same time.

Well, at least I've never had a poor credit rating and have always been far better with my finances than you, I wouldn't trust you to go out and buy the weekly shopping, you'd probably manage to get into debt for that too.

Speaking of debt I saw someone on the Irish EV association FB page post about how they purchased their tyres from a main dealer so they could get them on finance😂

How the hell could someone get tyres on finance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Killer K

Winter tyres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,224 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Could really do with some Chrome. Nice colour but the grill just looks lost. Anyway that is just my opinion. Whoever it's this is probably very happy. So good for them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

That yours gumbo? Beautiful looking machine, colour suits it well

Jeez no, chrome on cars is just tacky dressed up plastic. It’s generally on the lower budget trim cars. I had it on a Leaf. Hated it. Had it on a model 3. Got it wrapped black!

Grills could be worse…..

No. lovely bus though. I wouldn’t say no. But my brother has a 192 M50D. Lovely machine and hard to go back to the standard diesels after it. Plays the active engine sound through the speakers. Not a fan of that.

Mentally Insane User

I seen a video from inside an electric car on instagram. And when put in manual mode it bounces off the limiter when you floor it until you change gear. Don't ask me what car it was as I forget that part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,224 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

No manual in EV’s

N changing gear in an EV either.
    that’s teenage one unless it’s the stupid active noise thing the Ioniq 5N has. It sounds like a car going through the gears.

Mentally Insane User

I know there is no gears in an electric but it's all simulated like a real sports car even the bouncing off limiter until you change gear. I just mentioned it as you were talking about the sounds piped into car and this car which ever it was takes it a step even further.

Next door neighbour just arrived home in a 251 Corolla. GR model in white with contrasting black parts, looks very well I must say, a step above your average corolla anyway.

I don't think its a performance GR or anything more a styling thing.

Brother picking up a Seat Leon sportstourer (estate) tomorrow, weather permitting he has a long drive to Dublin to collect it so he may not if it's too icy.