Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Required To carry an Irish passport When in Northern Ireland????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭irelandrover

His kids are irish citizens since he was an irish citizen when they were born. So technically they do not need an ETA but how they would go about proving they are Irish citizens i have no idea.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

To be (needlessly) pedantic, they are only automatically Irish citizens if the OP was born in Ireland. Otherwise they would need to apply for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Is there some database of every resident in the north that can be accessed at a roadside check?

I'm trying to figure out if this is just a pedantic answer to prove that in some circumstances the OP might be more convenienced by having proof of citizenship to hand, or you're saying that the authorities in the North, routinely enough to be concerned about it, stop residents and demand their papers and they are subject to detention if they're not carrying them.

I know the UK has taken steps in a more authoritarian direction but this seems unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭wandererz

And what about the wife? She may be married to him but did she obtain Irish citizenship....

OP, the North is a sh1t show anyway. Unless you have a specific reason to go there, I wouldn't bother.

Spend your money down south. There's lots of great places. Donegal can be nice too, but it's a long drive there and back for not very much return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭volchitsa

As I understand it, he is a Swiss resident but not a Swiss citizen. It's quite difficult to acquire Swiss citizenship - I know a British/Irish couple who did so a few years back after 20+ years living there, and it's not a foregone conclusion, never miind a simple administrative process..

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ted1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He is a Swiss citizen. Swiss residents do not have National ID cards.

It's not that difficult to acquire - I am in the process of it myself at the moment. You are correct that it is not automatic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,250 ✭✭✭Allinall

But you do need to be able to prove you are an Irish citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,736 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I never said anything about a routine stop.

But things come up. Particularly easy to generate attention on yourself if you're going around trying to make life difficult for yourself.

"Ah sure it'll be grand"'ing it when the OP can do nothing to prove they are anything but Swiss with invalid travel documents is a terrible, terrible idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

ETA is £10. An Irish passport is €75. If your worried about getting the passport checked up North use the Swiss one and pay the tenner for the ETA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Sam Loudermilk 247

are you on the run? evading the law? in Switzerland to avoid paying taxes in your home country? no passport for either ? lots of red flags here.

Doesn't have a Swiss passport, just a Swiss ID card and a 20 year expired Irish passport.

He will probably get away with things if stopped. Not sure about the wife and kids, who don't have passports of any kind. They wouldn't be able to apply for an ETA either, without a Swiss passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I didn't really follow all this at the time, and I'm surprised that it fell foul of (presumably) EU law, because Belgium has ID cards with personal information such as marriage status on them, and there doesn't seem to be any legal problem with that.

I only know that addresses and marital status are in the chip for having had that explained to me at a wedding (the newly-weds don't sign a register but instead hand in their ID cards before the marriage ceremony for updating, and get them back very soon after - maybe even straight after, I'm not sure)

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,303 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm open to correction on this, but I think it eventually fell foul of the civil liberties crowd predictably going bananas, and all sorts of conspiracy theories about state supervision and monitoring.

I don't recall any issues of legality, EU or otherwise.

Absolutely nuts that we don't have one.

Hmm, I wonder if the daughter (who works for a travel agency herself) has a passport?

Probably not, by the sounds of it. Crazy stuff, if that's the case.

I don't get why you think this is crazy. I live in the Netherlands and know loads of people with only ID cards. You don't need a passport to travel extensively in Europe.

But this situation must apply to the thousands of people who cross the border every day without carrying any sort of citizenship documents? I've been in the north without any form of ID. Are they all trying to make life difficult for themselves? Are they at risk of detention?

They are going to be able to show some form of evidence, if required. Provide their home address or other details to show hwho they are, get someone to get documents to them if they are actually in significant trouble, etc.

The OPs evidence all makes him Swiss, travelling without any valid travel documents - which yes, will get you detained.

That's the bit you just don't seem to quite get.

"ah sure it'll be grand" approaches don't actually work.

I'm trying to understand what the situation is here, the question was specific to travelling around the North, presumably he's got to Dublin as he normally does and crosses the border without any fuss. Does the OP need to be arrested or suspected of committing some crime for the documents to be necessary? How is he any different to the thousands of 26 county residents who travel up north daily? In what situation will those documents be necessary?

Nothings stopping him from sending for documents from Switzerland in that situation either.

So your argument is entirely "ah sure it'll be grand", then.

He does not hold valid documents to enter Northern Ireland as a Swiss citizen, at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Sam Loudermilk 247

something very shady going on here methinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Suckler

FFS, it's 2025 and an adult need's to be told go get a passport to solve a problem created entirely by themselves.

I'm not buying the 'Switzerland is so great I don't need one' reasoning. If it goes on much longer it has to be a wind up of some sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I self identify as a subject of the kingdom of Prussia, even got the pointy hat to prove it!

🙈🙉🙊

Not at all, I have no advice for the OP. I'm concerned about the civil liberties and rights of people living on this island angle. Taking the advice being given to the OP at face value and following it to its logical conclusion you'd think that a citizen of this island can be banged up, even temporarily, for not carrying the right documentation, which seems incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,316 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Incredible because it's not true and never happening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,206 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Fine- so either don’t go there or obtain the documents you need to get there - why is this even an issue? If I go anywhere outside of Republic or Ireland I’m subject to whatever are the international rules of travel . If you travel from Switzerland to UK then you’re subject to the rules based on the flag of convenience you’re flying under - in this case a Swiss ID card - no-one is going to care if you’re Irish - you’re only creating trouble for yourself - it’s the same principle as going to America when you’ve an American passport and an Irish passport - if you fly on your Irish passport expect to be quizzed at Dublin airport before flying - different process if flying on your US passport passport - you’re creating problems where there’s none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭3d4life

I dont understand why the belabouring of the Swiss ID.

Switzerland is about as much in the EU as Norway is.

Perhaps OP is really a frontier worker ………… who lives in France and but works in Switzerland :)

If he heads up to N.I. there is a very remote but not impossible chance that he will be treated the same as the girlfriend of a friend. ( far eastern, landed Dublin for a couple of weeks visiting boyfriend, they go to N.I. for a bit of touring, Some N.I. official spots them and demands papers, he is OK but not she, detained and deported home ! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭beachhead

Jimmy boy has taken the yodel.We all know who the superior race is now.Get a passport or get arrested in NI if stopped.

He will be asked to proof his identity or spend time in a cell unlees the oirish accent is still there.If,Geneva prob not.