Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2025 CB1000 hornet

• 30-11-2024 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭

Any idea what kind of price this will retail at here. Seems an awful lot of bike for not much money.

1000 hornet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

150 Hp , f1ck me, that would scare the sh1t out of me lol, brave Man !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Yerra shure, you’d be put off by the tft screen anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 744 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

I have a 750 Hornet and I may be tempted in upgrading although the 750 is more than fast enough for me!

I can imagine someone into that kind of bike not using all the power 😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Looks a grand yoke for the price, given the stupid cost of most things nowadays. The SP with the Ohlins shock and Stylema calipers should make for a good road bike, it might not have headline grabbing power but if it makes it in a nice torquey fashion it could be a lot more relevant for road use than say the 214bhp Ducati Streetfighter V4. A naked bike that only starts coming alive above 100kmh is pretty cabbage wherever you try to use is as the head is being battered off you with the wind by 200kmh anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,693 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We're on a road to nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Gets a great review on MCN

Yeah but it's hard for a lot of lads to use all that power sensibly

seems the prive is circa €14000 here for the SP version. The standard isn't coming here, 6 month wait unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,491 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

I don't get how anyone keeps any of these big naked bikes long term or does any serious mileage on them, the power is nice to have, but you're getting blown out of it even at motorway speeds, and in Ireland, absolutely zero weather protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,480 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Definitely not built for motorway.

Good for the twisties though and easier on the body if you're out for several hours.

Also the wider bars can make it almost seem like a supermoto in comparison to a sportsbike.

There are pros and cons to every type of bike.

Yeah, the twisties on a race track, very few public roads unless you're in Germany have roads anywhere near the quality needed for that type of riding, Irish road surfaces are quite bad and often dangerous VS riding around Baden-Württemberg for example.

Then you got nothing but blind bends on Irish roads, high hedges, wide farm machinery around corners, hidden entrances everywhere.

I get it, Lads like the powerful bikes but in fairness riding them even at legal speed limits is very dangerous in Ireland.

I just got a Deauville 700 the other day and it's a great bike, going out in 8-10 degrees it's got great wind protection, I didn't feel cold at all and my arms were nice and warm too which were always cold on my other bike.

The only issue is wind buffeting around the head is quite bad and uncomfortable, I'll definitely need ear plugs. I have to try out a deflector and see if it helps, if I move my head down a bit it's nice and calm.

Yeah but who buys a powerful bike to ride slow ? I recently got a Deauville 700 an it's plenty fast, I couldn't find an excuse to need more power, I could make excuses but in fairness it's more than enough to move.

The issue with speed and power is that people get used to it then it becomes boring and the want more, and more. Even my old 45 Hp bike was more than fast enough for Irish roads even to have some fun.

what year is the Danville? They’re a nice bike, my first bike was one. As forgiving as the day is long. Plenty of storage space too. Just watch out for the pannier locks. I think they’re made of butter. I ended up putting clasps on mine.

There certainly are pros and cons to different types of bike, but I'm not getting you about big naked bikes. How is it easier on the body if you're getting blasted out of it compared to the same bike with some wind protection? This bike has straight bars and is getting ridden on the road, and would be better and more useable for the majority of owners with some wind protection. Also, the power available on a bike like this can never really be fully utilised making it fairly redundant imho.

It's a 2009. It's my first real Motorbike after having the Tmax 500, big difference lol. The Tmax was grand but don't like CVT transmission and for a scooter it's a tank, I wouldn't have one for city riding, I'd have a 125 or 300 max. The suspension on the Deauville is way better and it's only around 35 Kg more than the Tmax. In fact, if I were to do a lot of city/town riding I'd get a Cub 125. Love those and it has a semi auto box, no CVT and no maintenance, unlike CVT.

The Deauville 700 is Good on Petrol, Yesterday over 41 Miles it averaged 14 miles per litre, anyone know if it can be changed to MPG ? anyway works out around 64 Mpg imp.

Have you got a link to the pannier clasps ? I was a bit worried about them alright, they seem to be fine but I haven't put anything in them yet, just used the top box so far. It's some mile cruncher.

But it's great to be on a real proper bike now and I love changing the gears.

Yeah I agree, in fact, smaller CC bikes are becoming more popular in Europe, I believe Triumph's Speed 400 is the smallest capacity bike they've made in many years ? the Honda GB 350s is coming next month, available to order now, looks and sounds amazing, speed 400 looks great and Kawasaki releasing the W230

The W230 is beautiful and check out the gorgeous analogue clocks, wish Honda and Triumph did this on their GB350 s and Speed 400 instead of making it too modern. I love simplicity, not electric shite on bikes.

I'm also a big believer that single person transport like these smaller cc bikes should be heavily promoted in Ireland instead of big heavy SUV with 1 person in the car 99% of the time.

One reason I got into bikes is the fact many , especially the modern classic Bikes look so much better than the boring as hell cars of today and they are much more exciting than sitting in a car with TFT screens in your face and hearing nothing, all refined and boring, they offer an appliance like experience for me now so I have absolutely no interest in modern cars as a result.

Believe it or not what started the desire to get my bike license was watching youtube videos of the Honda Cub 90 !

Here's the W230

Check out those W230 Gorgeous clocks , I'd buy it almost for the look of the bike and those gorgeous clocks !

Here's the GB 350s

Triumph Speed 400

I’ll check the garage later on, I might have a few left over and I’ll send them to you.

I put them on with rivets. Just pre drilled the holes.

I spent more time measuring it to make sure they lined up on both sides than actually fitting them!!

Easier on the wrists and back.

You're not getting blasted out of it because you are moving around on the bike on the Twisties.

Sure on a motorway you will but I'd rather watch paint dry than spending my bike time on a motorway.

I know some people have to but biking for me has gone from a means of travel from when I was 16 to these days a luxury or hobby if you like.

I can spend anything from 2 hours to 8+ hours in the saddle on different types of bikes and if it's 8 hours I'll be less fatigued on a naked than a sportsbike.

The trick to those Pannier locks is not to slam the lids shut. Close them like you would a car bonnet - gently up to the lock then a firm press to lock.

I hear you but you're comparing this naked hornet to a sports bike with clip-ons and poor ergonomics, rather than the alternative which is the same straight-barred hornet but with a fairing. Anyway, we may never agree, it's just my opinion on powerful naked bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,491 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Please Dog let this this thread not become a Deauville blog.

We have had waaaay too much of the same about that fupping TMax already. And the fupping clocks thing.

Sorry, but I'm well bored of it all at this stage!

Not your ornery onager

Yes that's why they make different types to suit whatever tickles your fancy.

Also people ( and most certainly me want a bike that when u walk away after parking it, you can't resist looking back at it.

If I had my way I'd have my bikes in the living room. 😄

Just on the power thing…. I'd rather have too much power than not enough when needed to get out of trouble.

Post edited by blade1 on

"Just on the power thing…. I'd rather have too much power than not enough when needed to get out of trouble."

Lol, power can get you into a lot more trouble than out of it.

You could move the bikes into the conservatory or build one and sit in there all the time when you're home. 😀

We don't use the conservatory much and I'd like to use it as a home for the Deauville as I don't have a proper garage yet , if I were a single man that's where she'd be lol.

The CB1000 sounds good if that's the stock exhaust but I think it could be made sound better ?

Any of ye lads ride like this lad in the video ? look at the roads, beats the tar and chippings I have to mostly ride on.

What are ye're thoughts on Honda's Quick shifter, would ye not miss the clutch ? although the quick shifter still allows full use of a clutch which is pretty cool.

I have bikes of various sizes from this 250 to this 1400.

I have the 1400 coming up on 12 years.

191 bhp at the back wheel on a dyno.

What trouble do you think it has got me in in that time?

I dunno about you but to me Mad_Lad comes across as someone being between 20 & 25 and is just excited to be a biker.
    rather than ragging on him too much we should be encouraging him. And maybe letting him know you can say bike instead of Tmax500 or 09 reg NT700Deauville. 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭batman_oh

In full agreement here. I haven't used a bike as transport for a long time now, they are only for enjoyment. I've owned three Superdukes and three big KTM Supermotos. The big naked bikes are no use if you are going to go sit on motorways all the time, but this is about the worst thing I can think of doing on any bike. For a fun spin they are absolutely brilliant as they are far easier on the wrists/back and you can do 500km of twisty/backroads in a day with absolutely no issue. And if you have to do miles of motorway for some reason you can just sit at slightly above the speed limit and they are fine.

Nice bikes.

"What trouble do you think it has got me in in that time?"

I'm dying to hear about the times you **** your jocks ! lol

Ah here, ye should be delighted there's a new biker on the road and a real biker now, yes the Deauville is a real bike too ye know. 😁

20-25 years old ? I wish .

But all joking aside, I really do love getting out on the "bike" best thing I ever did in a long time and the Summer/Autumn 2024 has to have been the best time I had in many years even if it was on a "t-Censored" But having a real motorbike makes a big difference and I got 64 Mpg imp over 41 miles the other day 😂

We're definitely privileged to have so many Winter riding days in Ireland @ 53 degrees North.

😂

Thing about it is all the times I've nearly been creamed, it's only a couple of miles down the road I think to myself "well today wasn't my day to die".

Usually when cars pull out and nearly T Bone me.

This happened me at a staggered cross on a bend, I am well familiar with it but once I saw cars around I immediately went in to red alert mode and slowed down to 60 Km/h and sure enough an elderly Man pulled out but he saw me and poor lad reversed and nearly hit the car behind until he beeped , while the limit maybe 100 there I know if I were doing 100 he probably wouldn't have seen me at all and that would have been bad for me.

I saw a video once , can't remember was it youtube, but the video was about how the brain processes images and often the driver is completely blind to a lot of stuff at junctions because there is a lot going on and the brain has to process a lot of info and leaves a lot out because usually when someone is looking up and down the road they're not looking long enough for the brain to register everything. Mad but something to ponder next time ye rev bomb someone lol.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 744 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Irish TuneR

Nothing on Honda Irelands website for 2025 pricelist yet but i would say that it'd be closer to 15k for the SP.

Honda France price CBR600RR=11699, Ireland=14499

Honda France price CB1000R SP=11799 would equate to 15100 roughly

Honda France price CB1000R=10599 would equate to 13600 roughly

None of those price undercut the MT09/sp which it does in the UK so we'll see what Honda Ireland do.

I have spoken to a few dealers and thats the Figure they gave me although its unofficial as yet. they were expecting confirmation mid january.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Banzai600

It looks like a great value naked bike, considering the sky rocketing costs that a naked sports will cost you these days.

But the current suzuki gsx-s1000 is also a great naked or the lithe MT09 sp ?

i know of a coupe of lads who are awaiting their new hornets at the moment, went and sourced themselves, so they will have them probably by end of Feb landed and registered.

based on prices around europe the bike shouldnt be any more than 14400 here if you buy here.

i'll get the popcorn out to see how long they take to a showroom floor here🤫

Post edited by Banzai600 on

At nearly 15k it's not worth it. I may just get the updated 750 and stick with it. It's not like it's slow and/or I really get to push it on that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭ray o

Curious why you would upgrade from your current hornet to the new one. Is there enough on the new one to make you want to change?

Nah there is nothing missing I just like having a new bike.