Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Storm Éowyn - Fri 24.01.25 (**Please read Mod Instruction in OP.**)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Mav11

And yet we pay some of the highest standing charges on our electricity bills in part, to prevent against this kind of collapse. Somebody is having a laugh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Condor24

We were here before it started and it was superbly modelled by the GFS ECM etc, no one was in any doubt it would be more damaging than Darragh so this Minister is talking the political guff. Just tell the truth, ye were hoping it wouldn't be, but you gambled the wrong way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,639 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well, ok, I will change that to the following:

This can only be fixed by either changing the settlement patterns and significantly curtailing one-off housing or by huge increases in electricity prices to fund the upgrading of the network in rural areas for one-off housing on an extremely inefficient basis.

or by huge increases in electricity prices to fund the upgrading of the network in rural areas

We have been paying premium first world prices over the years for a functional first world network and what do we get…………?

"Ireland has almost one-third the number of transformers as in the UK despite having a total distribution network of just half the size and 6% of its population. The inefficiency and length of the network has significant financial costs."

Those are the reasons for the high cost of electricity. Making it better will prices up further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭crusd

It is disingenuous in the extreme to contend this is a problem caused by the rural nature of the network.

Galway City and suburbs with many faults already restored:

Athenry County Galway - with many faults already resolved

Tuam County Galway with many faults already resolved

Claremorris County Mayo with many faults already resolved

Should I continue?

We are already paying for it and getting very poor value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭obi604

extremely unlikely, BUT would anyone in Galway happen to have a gas canister 250 A4 that slots In the side of a portable gas stove?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,018 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The government have indeed been useless. But I don't think we expected anything else.

I thought RTE Radio 1 could have dedicated a few hours on Friday-Sunday to spread information. It was the only Comms channel we had. If there was a Leinster match on, we would have got the gory details for 3 hours.

Our water has gone very brown today. I guess its unsafe to drink now. At least we have water. No sign of any ESB crews and downed/broken poles untouched since Friday.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Review on the storm from UK Met office.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭_Puma_

I just managed to pull the recordings from my cameras from before the powercut. The noise is incredible and this is at 2 30am. It sounds like what I'd imagine a hurricane to sound like.

It peaked around 4am for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

If only we had a station in Mace Head in 1945, when we got just 1 kph lower at Foynes, 35 km inland. Who knows what Mace Head got that day.
    During Éown, Shannon Airport, near Foynes, got nowhere near the speeds of Mace Head. The setup in 1945 suggests that Mace Head possibly got stronger winds than Foynes.

How do I embed an X post here?

https://x.com/BadWxStations/status/1883249226769145873

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Take out the x and insert the word twitter if memory serves me correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,553 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Your best bet is to put it on a Galway Facebook page or the Galway thread here on Boards.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,690 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

'Eurogiant-rype 'pound shops' often have those cartridges. Hardware shops too.

I do know they are probably scarce at present.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,737 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

are there any indications of how many faults are 'individual' faults or faults affecting say fewer than 10 customers?

or another way of looking at it - for every 100,000 customers affected, do we know how many individual faults need repair? e.g. how many are due to downed power lines on rural laneways, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭obi604

thanks, got sorted in the end, rang about 10 places and lo and behold, the local no name 'pound shop' had them.

I reserved 3.

They had about 50 out on a shelf when I went in to pick up the 3, I had to go back again about 25 minutes later for something else and they were all gone again!!!!

Post edited by obi604 on

The point is that the network is huge, so a better question to ask is whether the faults per km of lines is higher than the faults per km elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭standardg60

Power gone and mobile coverage in and out in Dublin the last hour and a half.

Revenge of the culchies!!!😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭PixelCrafter

The figure I heard to day is that Ireland has roughly 6x more km of power lines per head of population compared to EU average.

We just have an extremely low density scatter of housing in rural and quasi rural areas, which results in these meandering infrastructural networks. It was the same with broadband. DSL simply didn’t work as so many of the lines were very long. We’d something like half the number of telephone exchanges (mostly tiny ones) as the UK, serving a population 1/13th the size!

It’s basically decades of bad planning and an expectation of services in what are very out of the way locations — most countries have populations in and around villages and towns, not scattered to the four winds — you can see the issues when something like this hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Ah Here you've had it lucky lol it's always us that is without power in most storms , as a dub myself living in the northwest we always have a higher chance of power cuts , good that very little of Dublin got knocked out but even in the last storm , Darragh Leitrim was left last with some people having no power for 2 weeks especially those away from towns and villages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

When one considers the average network distance to a customer in Ireland is somewhere between four and six times that of our nearest neighbours it's understandable that standing charges would be higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭goingmadted

Horseshit. What do you want them to do? Do you want the taoiseach to come down and fix your electric for you.

Thats what the ESB is for.

Thank god our electorate are a bit more mature than the likes of you or we would have the likes of paul murphy and mary lou running the show.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I posted this in another thread.

The authorities couldn't even arrange to have foreign electricity crews actually landed here on Thursday 23rd last, instead of them arriving 4 days after the storm. They had enough notice, and they must have known how bad it was going to be.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭odyboody

It was the pissing match that the opposition began to stop the government being installed that prevented any actions from being initiated.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Every farmers co-op or agri shop has them. The same cartridges are used for de-Horning guns.

Or Mary Harney guns, as we used to call them.

Both had same effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭odyboody

You are blaming the government.

What government would that have been the old one had been desolved and the new one was being prevented from forming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭goldsparkle

I have a camping gas and gas cartridges. I have a gas cooker too though. I have a superser in my attic but I don't go into my attic because I am afraid of heights. But a neighbour may be able to go there if they want. My power is back on since yesterday and I want to offer this stuff up to neighbours who may need this stuff but I live at home with an aging parent who is just minding this stuff and doesn't want me to lend it to anyone. I want to help others if I can.

I did take a neighbours power bank and charge that today and I lend out my mini power bank too.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I blamed the authorities - i.e. the relevant authorities.

Are you really trying to hang this on the opposition?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Taughmaconnell, South Roscommon

Update from ESB power check today, estimated restore time 20:00 31/1.

You really have it out for any house built beyond the M50, don't you.

Thankfully, us resilient folks, with ties to our rural communities going back over a hundred years, have heard it all before. Blanchardstown Bluster.

Tell me, why do you think so many people, particularly young families, yearn to move West.? Do you really think it's to find a remote field somewhere and then build a house?

Or do you think its driven by an urge to create a better life for your family?

Are you unhappy in Dublin? If so, I would suggest a nice drive out across the Midlands, Cross the Bridge at Tarmonbarry. Stop and have a bite at thr purple onion. Visit Lough Key, head to Sligo to Mullaghmore. Stop. Listen to the silence. And think to yourself, you could live here.

Or, pop on a train to Westport. Right to the heart of our rural solitude. Maybe meet some locals. You'll actually meet more Dubs than locals who have fled the grey Jungle for a better life.

Outstanding political commentary.

Graced with gravitas, yet subtly colloquial in it's delivery.

A fine orator.

Parts of firhouse without power in south Dublin friend told me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Darwin

Yep, I have family living there and there have been a cluster of outages in that area. I wonder was something weakened during the storm and finally gave out?

I don't know 😕 what caused it I used to live there so alot of friends and family there , it's back in oldbawn anyway a friend told me. It's like here in carrick part went off yesterday afternoon and hasn't been restored yet

Comreg should also make it compulsory for phone companies to make Irish-based, English-Speaking representatives available during crisis.

Try calling Vodafone to get info regarding the storm? You get through to the usual Mumbai-based call centre where they haven't the faintest idea what the issues are in the West at the moment!

Not at all understandable when you look at the comparison of costs with our wider neighbours . I'm sure that many of these countries face greater challenges than this little island.

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php?title=Electricity_price_statistics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,970 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I heard they're borrowing parts to get the West back and Dublin will get the countryside experience for a few days 😁

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭standardg60

It's a disgrace, was gone for a good 3 hours, where is the Government?

Ok for folks in the sticks who are used to not washing but not us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

After previous outages crews from Northern Ireland & Scotland were brought in. On this occasion those areas needed their crews so the ESB had to arrange for crews from further away.

Would love to hear what EU crews thought about our network.

Decades of poor or non-existent planning from the ESB. No automated fault recognition system. It's a mess.

Add this to the failure of Met Eireann to provide the data it collects so that event modelling can inform infrastructural planning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭noplacehere

it really isn’t just the countryside though as was posted above. Living in a town here. There’s still a couple of faults in the town itself. Same seems to be true in multiple towns in the area. And that’s north Kildare not even the west!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,122 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

The Powercheck map is really starting to clear up now, Cork and Kerry and the rest of the South seem nearly sorted, Galway and Mayo still in a bad way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Listening to the news at 9.

3000 poles and 900km of wire needed. The esb guy saying in areas the whole network is gone and they are starting again from scratch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Everywhere outside of Dublin is the countryside 😀 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭pureza

What you are basically showing us there is that this extremely exceptional wind storm didn’t stop at the town boundary and continue on to the next available rural area

Ordinarily storms aren’t so strong that they affect larger towns to the extent this one did,or are so devastating that people resources fixing problems are stretched so thin that problems in towns have to wait in line for repairs too

Luckily storms like this one normally stay out in the Atlantic and head towards the artic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭tphase

Years back we had outages nearly every time the wind got up, went on for a few weeks. Turned out to be a dead swan hanging off a power line over a lake. Just happened to be in a blind spot and the ESB guy missed it when he surveyed the lines and he was local. Eventually narrowed down the section that was tripping breakers and followed the line on foot through the bog.

Edit: quote doesn't seem to be working, this is in reply to @cnocbui

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭tphase

Met Eireann station didn't actually die, they lost comms for a few hours eventually got a 4G connection and restarted reporting. Unfortunately they don't have local storage apart from the limited space on their loggers so if a report is not uploaded, it's overwritten and lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Woodie40

it is because of the likes of you that we have people in power who don’t care that elderly people are left to die on trolleys

I soeak from experience unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith