Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you affected by the housing crisis?

• 10-02-2025 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

Hello! We're two Swedish journalists researching a documentary on the housing crisis in Ireland. We want to get in touch with a younger person (preferably a student) who has been affected and turned to solutions such as commuting very far, living in vans och hotels.

If you would like to get in touch with us, leave a comment and we'll message you.

//Hanna and Elsa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭DubCount

You seem to have a very fixed idea on what you are looking to find.

Are journalists not supposed to report on reality, in stead of searching for a reality to support what they want to report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

What about speaking to the thousands of people who are actually homeless , those coach surfing, in homeless shelters, on the streets or older people who have had to move in with their adult children because they can't afford their rent ?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,434 ✭✭✭hometruths

About 600,000 people. Quite staggering numbers. Will be interesting to see if the Swedes believe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Are there housing crises anywhere else in Europe I wonder?

Or are we just trying to grow too fast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Emblematic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭sportmode

Everyone is affected by the housing crisis, whether they think so or not. And without exception every child in this country will be.

I would not class students doing a long commute as worst off but the young Irish having to emigrate due to lack of housing while non Irish are housed. A people cannot survive on that basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,864 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

There is no housing crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

Aside from the homeless and couch surfers there are a growing number of middle aged renters who are getting beyond the age at which they will qualify for a mortgage. What ever about the young, being an old private sector renter is not a viable proposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,179 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

And there are people who are stuck in unsuitable accommodation because nothing else is available in their budget, if it's available at all.

OP, things have been bad here for years, but it's like a memo went out sometime in late 2019 or early 2020 that said "turn the mayhem up to eleven!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,179 ✭✭✭✭zell12

We want homelessness as we desire to keep the property prices high to safeguard our wealth. That is why we object to new housing developments using every excuse, and elect people who agree with this viewpoint to our parliament. Tis the Irish way

Of course. The way the government have mismanaged borders and housing nobody escapes.

Although those older renters were around in a time where they would have had the option of hopping on the housing ladder. They had good times too. Those under 30 never really experienced good times.

It is now nearly 20 years at least since the end of the housing bubble. May people in their 40s are caught, never having had the opportunity to get on the ladder.

There were always areas where you could buy for cheap, even in quite desirable parts of the country, not in Dublin. Im not saying it would have been easy but possible for most to get on the ladder. There are some careers and lifestyles which make buying an impossibility, but that comes with the terrain.

Until our most recent post covid immigration (legal and illegal) wave that is. Work from home didn’t help either.

Even in Dublin, it was fairly easy to get something. Prices in the Celtic Tiger were not simply driven up by raw demand. It was mostly just that the market was flooded with credit. It wasn't hard to get a 100% mortgage for something, even if it was just an apartment of dubious quality. It was a lot easier to find hosing back then.

And rent was dirt cheap even in the best areas because of the ease of buying

And possible because we weren't importing the population of Limerick or so each year…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,455 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Everyone in Ireland is affected by the houseing situation:

Those of us who own our properties (or at least own whatever's left after the mortgage is cleared) have gained wealth (on paper at least).

Those who are stuck renting are paying ridiculous percentages of their income on rent.

Those who are house hunting are caught in a sellers market where demand is high and face high prices/rents.

Landlords are making great returns on their investment/assets.

Institutional landlords are making great returns on their investments that aren't being taxed nearly highly enough.

Builders and construction workers are coining it with great wages due to a scarcity of their skills and huge amounts of development.

Much of that development is having negative impacts on all around it: killed and displaced wildlife, local services not keeping pace with increased numbers, traffic/transport disrupted by construction vehicles and higher populations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,077 ✭✭✭✭ted1

pretty much an over population issue. That’s affecting many countries. Our tech industry doesn’t help as it create a a 2 tier society.

Those who are over paid and largely migrants and those who are not over paid and work in indigenous companies or public/ civil jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…our housing issues have been in play for a couple of decades now, long before many immigrants turned up, so the problem is far more complex than an increasing population, although this is now also playing its part, the ultimate source is the financialisation of the whole process of property and land, encouraging the state to step back from providing this critical societal need, and promoting other parts of the economy in doing so, such as the fire sectors(finance, insurance and real estate), whos main aim is in fact to extract as much wealth as possible, as quickly as possible, hence our current hyper inflation of markets….

…this is now resulting in a rapid rise in numbers simply being unable to purchase their own, this current dynamic only truly benefits current property(asset) owners, as they sit about watching the value of their assets grow, including pension funds, with little or no effort, while it negatively impacts their own kids, grand kids, nieces and nephews, tis all good!

What I can’t understand is Irish on that bottom tier who can’t seem to get enough immigration. They think it’s wonderful. While they pull their hair out over lack of accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,167 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm not affected myself as I own my own house, but I am not oblivious to the fact that my kids will more than likely be affected in the future, as I can't see this being any way fixed in the next 10, 15 or 20 years.

…due to aging demographics, ireland, and most other advanced nations, require a state flow of immigration, in order to maintain a functioning economies, without which, would eventually lead to economic stagnation, under such conditions, unemployment would very likely rise, retirement age would very likely continue increasing, and other critical social needs such as pension funds, would very likely falter, so, take your pick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭enricoh

Seen a fella interviewed who was gonna be on prime time that night iirc during the week, him n missus were in a one bed in dundrum for e2200 a month.

If anyone wants to know why stuff is so expensive in this country paying fellas so they can rent at those prices don't come cheap

Immigration does not remedy that situation as migrants are subject to the same pressures that push the native fertility rate down. Save for the least productive ones who rely on the state and who are a net drain on the economy.

Immigration temporarily cooks the books to make the economy appear to be growing. It doesn’t improve the quality of the pie so to speak, it just makes the pie bigger.

Excellent point. I think it's because being pro-immigration is seen a a high-class opinion to hold. Being against it is seen at low-class, boorish and ignorant. Thus, people who want to aspire to move up will adopt what is the popular consensus. Humans are a very tribal species, and even those who like to believe that they are cosmopolitan, open minded and modern behave in a very group-minded manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Gary_dunne

Jaysus lads there's tonnes of threads about immigration, why can't we have one where it's not relentlessly discussed?

Gary, if you live in a house where there is water constantly coming through the ceiling, do you want to talk about fixing the holes in the roof, or would you want to confine the conversation to finding more and more buckets to catch the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Gary_dunne

Many people are in their mid 20s before they finish their education and reached a position where they can being to save a deposit. After a deposit is saved, a mortgage has to be obtained on a property. When there is an economic collapse, prices fall but so do earnings and the availability of credit. many people now in their 40s never had the happy confluence of affordable prices and the availability of credit. Cheap property is no good if you can't fund it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I am not going to dispute there is a shortage of housing in Ireland. Having gone through a boom in construction, to bust, the correction was severe. During that time demand has never contracted and then grew exponentially with no sign of it stopping.

It could be argued that Ireland has just tried to grow too fast without any thought put into managing that growth or investing for growth. It's always reactionary, too late and insufficient. Like many a successful business, if growth and expansion is rapid, it can cause the business to collapse as it just can't cope. Ireland as a nation has hit this point both for housing and other critical components of a functioning economy. As a result, Ireland is just pretending to be a wealthy country. We will probably blow this boom too.

That said, there is much mis-or incorrect information posted here.

@hometruths 600,000 people homeless? Is there a source?

@zell12 What is the source of your claim that the shortage of housing is a deliberate decision to preserve wealth of those with property assets? To organise this would be a massive undertaking involving 100's of thousands of people..Just because some people have this view, does not mean it's true.

@Claw Hammer It's not nearly 20 years since the bust The bust not just one year and spannes 2007-2009. Recovery was very slow, beginning 2012 with inward foreign investment etc. The recovery in construction was slower again, and did not keep up with job creation, immigration or normal demand.

@Sleepy There are many homeowners paying more in interest (not capital) than others pay in rent for similar homes. There is no economic or financial model that says renting should be cheaper than buying, yet some believe it should be so. You are 100% correct on institutional landlords, but not so on the private ones. Many have rewarded longstanding tenants with fair rents. They are not making supernormal profits. Any gross profit is subject to 50% tax, in most of not all cases. Many have sold up because the return is not sufficient, and the downsides and risk of bad tenants too high.

I think it's just too great a problem for it to be avoided, sadly.

It's worth pointing out that people in their late 30s or early 40s entered the workplace in the middle of the recession. Personally speaking, I didn't start earning good money until I was 30, and many of my friends and relations in the same age age bracket had similar experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Hurdig

What about the young people in their late twenties & early thirties still living at home with their parents. They are trying to save for deposit for house. Rent is so expensive they can't save deposit for house. Catch 22 situation

@hometruths 600,000 people homeless? Is there a source?

Not 600k physically homeless obviously, 600k people not housed according to their needs due to the housing deficit eg house shares, living with parents etc .

Over 10% of the population. Mind boggling stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Confused11811

47 year old male here, mortgage free since aged 40. I bought first house aged 24, bought several since. All while being single or widowed. Never worked a job that paid massive money, above average wage by 10-15%.

I did work, save hard and made sacrifices. In today's environment if I was starting out again no amount of hard work or sacrifice would afford me the ability to do what I've done. In today's environment two young civil servants living together as a couple can't afford to buy in urban areas. 30 years ago they could have bought in middle to upper class Dublin areas.

It affects us all, my children school in D22 can't hire teachers, major urban hospitals are losing nurses and support staff. If people can't afford to buy in an area they'll go somewhere else.

The two civil servants living together who can't afford to buy should be the real metric used in all European countries. If government workers are in that situation then there is something wrong.

Housing should never have been allowed to get to the inflated unsustainable prices it has got to. It's a form of modern slavery. The lack of supply and the lack of a coordinated national social housing system is down to the lack of will by authorities.

The property market turned in mid summer 2006. Things staggered on into 2008 before the government woke up to it.

They woke up to the fact the country was broke in 2008. they are only getting interested in the housing crisis now because it now affects the middle classes. Middle class people can't buy houses, including members of their own families. Years ago housing problems consisted of people trying to get council houses. The middle classes weren't affected.

…i beg to differ, theyve never truly woken up, as theyve gone back to the same type of policies that caused the crash in the first place, i.e. do everything possible to cause hyper inflation of prices, as surely, it ll work this time!

No way have they gone back to the policies which caused the crash. During the boom there were 90,000 house a year being built with rula county tax relief, holiday home relief and inner city tax relief and lower capital gains Tax. Add relaxed i.e non existent building standards and throw in reckless lending and you had a bubble. None of those things are happening now.
    The result is no building. The government is trying too hard to avoid a repeat of what they did before, not engaging in the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Not really relevant to the thread but you are taking the start of a dip or end of growth rather than the total collapse of economy and house price crash (2008).

Late 2008 is when it really kicked off and continued to 2013.

…the rules have changed, but the game actually hasnt, and the game is, and has always been, to facilitate and encourage property price inflation by whatever means possible, so, ta-da!

…we re still playing a credit game, only that a large chunk of that credit has moved further into institutions such as investment and pension funds, and credit does what credit does, i.e. inflate asset prices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭StormForce13

Ah, but young journalists are different! First they write the conclusion and then they look for cases that will validate their work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,455 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

@kaizersoze I presume you're factoring out the capital gain when you state that private landlords aren't making supernormal profits? Unless they bought the house very recently, most landlords would be clearing more than the mortgage repayment even after tax. Rents are way too high when compared to a mortgage repayment for the same property but that's the market, and a landlord would be a fool not to charge market rate (particularly in RPZs).

I'm not one to demonise private landlords. It's not a game I'd get into myself (even if I had the capital to do so) due to the risk profile. Our tenancy legislation is excessively pro-tenant imho but I'm not going to act like most private landlords aren't making very good returns on their initial investment (usually little more than a deposit rather than the full purchase price of the property).

….markets are now so dysfunctional, most landlords and tenants are seriously negatively impacted, i.e. its a mess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Unpopular answer. Fact good few estates of the new houses in Dublin are 90% bought by Indian nationals. Money used at times from their families.

Many might not stay here forever but they plan to rent these homes.

More regulation should be brought around this issue and stop it.

All you have to look at Canada now.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

encouraging the state to step back from providing this critical societal need, and promoting other parts of the economy in doing so, such as the fire sectors(finance, insurance and real estate),

Who provided the investment and labour to build the 90,000 odd homes in the mid 00s?

Was it the state? Or something else?

Are you trying to say whatever method that provided that investment and labour to build the 90,000 odd homes should not have been allowed to do so?