Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I watched the instragram live Q&A re. The BookShelf this afternoon for research purposes, and to bring some comedic relief to an otherwise boring afternoon.

Entirely predictable and self-congratulatory affair, complete with all the usual Tubridy-isms:
    Name dropping like it’s going out of fashion

JFK

Macca

Hilary Clinton - work underway to get her on a future episode!

The Toy Show

When I worked for the BBC….

Dodgy accents and impressions

Humble-bragging - always recognised on the tube, always posing for selfies etc

The children of Ireland….

self-promotion - working on a new childrens book

Sponsors mention

Kindness

Oisín and The Devonshire got a few plugs - and a gentle ribbing from the host about special treatment from the owner

Everything is amazing, Ireland is amazing, you (my fans) are amazing

Iceland and dinner with Icelandic authors and David Walliams

Overuse of the word “beautiful”, no “intriguing” or “delicious” though :(

Note: no mention of the thing……

Usual fare all round really. Delivery was awkward and very rushed at times - I would imagine there was some sort of run through or rehearsal beforehand but his “energy” took over and he ran away with things a few times with Power having to bring him back on topic.

Viewership figure never went above 300 btw with the usual gushing praise for the host from his loyal mostly female fan base, with one particularly noticeable fan from these parts. It’ll be on YouTube too for those of you who missed it and are keen to view.

I did take some screenshots of some of the comments and they are amusing to put it mildly.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Thank you for your service 👍

Putting us first before your own mental health!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭hawley

Strangely, one or two previously booked guests weren’t stood down and I found myself trying to explain to the actress Stockard Channing (Grease, West Wing) why everyone in the building was so upset. She was bewildered having never met Gerry but she soldiered on and appeared on this odd and mournful edition. I interviewed Stockard this week in London as she’s on stage in Elektra on the West End. Before we started, I reminded her of when we last met. She immediately recalled that sad night and how the show had to go on.

https://evoke.ie/2025/02/16/entertainment/ryan-tubridygerry-ryan

He speaks of her as if she's an imbecile. He did the same thing in last week's article about Boyzone (calling for them to get therapy). He seems to have no cop-on or empathy.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

Strange column, very much an exercise in padding. Comes to a rather abrupt end - I did keep scrolling expecting more but no, it just ends 🤷‍♂️ Nice pointing pic though, I think he’s potentially trolling the pointing thread with the inclusion of this:

“It was a weirdly beautiful show”….. honestly he needs to find a substitute for beautiful as he completely overuses it.

No mention of Gerry’s habit and it contributing to his death of course. It’s like everyone in RTÉ refuse to acknowledge this. Intriguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,783 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

He seems to have split his diary/column into two this week for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Can we talk about the London Diary?

First the headline reads

"When my agent Noel said out friend Gerry was dead I thought it was all a stunt"

The article is an odd way of bring up a friend. It strange because the article doesn't really talk about Gerry. The old cliches are used "I loved him as a broadcaster, mentor and friend", but he doesn't elude to why Gerry was such a good person its simply a lead into a different story about his interview with Stockard Channing, who was "bewildered" at the time when she was a guest of his on TLLS, I think Channing understood a well loved, well known, national broadcaster had died and she understood the significance of that. He finishes with "The whole episode got me hoping that Gerry and Gay are propping up that great bar in the sky, mulling over a couple of jamesons and laughing at it all".

He then goes on to compare The Irish Presidential Election to the Eurovision, and the squabble between a NK client and former popstar. (Both of whom are "the most mild-mannered and pleasant people I have meet in the business").

Then more on an Irish interview with Phillipa Dunne, an Irish actress.

Finally he offers the opinion that St. Paddy's days trips around the world saying "I honestly believe that these trips are vital and worth every cent".

He could also hold his head high on the Irish beating the Scottish in the 6 nations.

It's real six year head boy type shite.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

The latter half of that is missing from the version I read. I’ve just double-checked (and refreshed) and still not there 🤷‍♂️

The Instagram Q&A from yesterday isn’t up on YouTube yet, RTÉ habits die hard it seems. I do hope it’s posted soon so you can all see it for yourselves.

Upon reflection though, what was the need for Aidan Power to host this yesterday and feed him the questions? Could Mr. Tubridy not hold court for 45 minutes alone on a live feed to his fans with a very friendly audience group gushing with praise and asking the softest questions imaginable?

As I looked for the YouTube upload I saw this and it’s clear they need better voice to text software:

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

HaHa the irony is not lost on me,

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭supereurope

There's so much to unpick in this single paragraph.

"Strangely, one or two previously booked guests weren’t stood down"…he was the presenter, so wouldn't he have requested that guests were to be cancelled because of Gerry's death? Or at least, wouldn't he have known why guests weren't cancelled? Seems odd to use the word "strangely." Did Ryan have literally no behind-the-scenes involvement at all and just expected everything to be sorted before he turned up at Montrose? Did Ryan or someone else just decide "It's so sad Gerry's died, but we can't let this well-known American actress go. Let's just bring her on anyway once we've mourned on-air a bit."

"She was bewildered having never met Gerry but she soldiered on and appeared on this odd and mournful edition." This reads like she was some befuddled old pensioner roaming around the halls of Montrose with no idea of what was going on. And why would she have to "soldier" on? Yes, the atmosphere in RTÉ might have been sombre, but Gerry Ryan meant nothing to her, it wasn't like she was his aunt or something and appearing on the show the day of his death was a deeply emotional or traumatic experience. She likely forgot the name Gerry Ryan once she'd walked out of the studio. Which brings me to my next point…

"Before we started, I reminded her of when we last met. She immediately recalled that sad night and how the show had to go on." Stockard Channing is a Tony and Emmy-award winning actress, as well as being Oscar nominated. She's been acting since the late 60s, has probably lived a life that many of us could only imagine and has probably met hundreds of interviewers. Did she really "immediately" recall an interview in Ireland from 15 years earlier?

Post edited by supereurope on

Ryan told us a few weeks ago that he couldn’t remember meeting Jerry Springer (at the time possibly the most famous man in the world), but Stockard Channing remembers her time meeting The Toyman. I think she was being polite Ryan…..

Oh Lordy I just had another flashback from yesterday. Power asked Tubridy “Taylor Swift fans are Swifties, what name can we give fans of The Book Shelf?”

I can’t recall who replied but the answer was “Shelfies”. Trying too hard boys, trying too hard. Not to mention sounds completely rehearsed.

Cringe-tastic.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: Please take the RTÉ chat to the RTÉ thread, Tubridy wasn't the only one involved in that saga. Off topic posts will be deleted.

I'd advise you to keep this factual and not post imaginary scenarios too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Loblox

Wait, someone wrote a book about the Spider-Man musical that nearly killed multiple people? I'll have to pick that up.

Dear God, is Ryan actually influencing me? Save me, Spider-Man!

Also, shelfie is already a thing. https://en.m.wiktionary.org/wiki/shelfie

Mod: Please read the charter and do not use this thread to continuously attack Tubridy’s character. Warnings will be issued from this point on.

What character attacks exactly? I'm finding it hard to read this thread with all the mod engagement, were there posts deleted that the mod note refers to?

I thought the posts were moved to the RTE Megathread, but there were only two posts in the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Terence Rattigan

I think it’s fair game to question the character of an individual who trousered 150k of our money and won’t give it back despite saying he would.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Yes it is but that doesn’t relate to his on air performance This thread is about his show. As @RoTelly mentioned, there is an RTE after hours thread or, indeed, there is an RTE megathread in this forum

This thread wasn't just about his show, until the title was changed to restrict the discussion.

Licence fee not just about RTE.

Tubs is no longer in RTE.

Tubs does a lot more than do a show.

He promoted cars sometimes and gets paid for that, sometimes without doing the work.

What thread can be used to discuss that?

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,298 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

What more is to say about it? Is there something new?

A post was removed recently that was literally whinging about Tubridy saying he judges a book by it's cover, and he doesn't continue reading a book he's not enjoying. Hold the fking press!!! Get the Oireachtas Committee involved again and maybe petition Virgin for his removal from his current radio slot 🙄

If you want to start a thread whinging about Tubridy go for it - somewhere else. This is the Radio Forum. Where Radio is discussed (or at least should be).

The amount of people who log in here to do nothing but whinge and complain is "bonkers" 😉. And then the same people complain that the site is dying!! The whinging and moaning and complaining about everything is what's killing it!! Nobody other than the whingers want to read it, and even they all report each other because they don't agree with that the others are whinging about!

This is the Radio forum. It's in the title. There are 100s, I'm not sure how many exactly, of other forums here. If you feel strongly enough about him that you can only contribute if you're allowed moan and throw casual abuse, then find a more suitable forum. This is the Radio forum (I'll keep repeating it for those who are confused). Talk about Radio content. It's not difficult.

For people who hate Boards.ie but still insist on posting here about people they equally hate there are other forums on here for you to try. But you might find those moderators also tire of the incessant whinging and might try encourage you to talk about something else occasionally.

This is the last warning on this thread. It's been explained enough now.

Thanks @Big Bag of Chips

I'm confused because I started this thread by saying:

'Following on from main thread in Current Affairs about Tubs in general (now closed and mod suggestion that Entertainment category is more suitable)."...

Can the mods give us a location to discuss Tubridys various dealings, PAC appearance, promises and his natural radio skills?

@Big Bag of Chips

what's the issue here, this is a discussion board. If I want to say the same thing over and over again, am I not permitted to do so?

To repeat my question to the mods: Has someone contacted boards to remove any further decision of Ryan Tubridy and his relationship with RTÉ? Something most have happened recently.

Again explain why the thread's title was changed to suit the argument that this thread is purely about The Ryan Tubridy Show?

______

Yesterday

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,298 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Entertainment

Celebrity & Showbiz

Podcasts

Please be aware though that the moderators in those forums might also find the incessant whinging and abuse of a particular person tiresome and apply warnings accordingly.

Now - back to discussing Tubridy's Radio show. There is to be no more off-topic discussion on this thread.

Its a huge discussion Board with dedicated areas for every and any topic you can think of. This is the Radio Forum.

Any further offtopic posting will be warned and deleted.

FWIW, I listened to the show today and really enjoyed it. Great music selection and top class banter all round. Maybe the tide of my opinion is turning after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

Please leave the window down -PLEASE

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I’ve removed another post complaining about thread title changes and trying to sow conspiracy over the changes. The tithes are changed to reflect the shows they refer to. Nothing more, nothing less. If there are questions/issues regarding moderation or the shape and form of the forum overall, post that in the feedback thread. Thanks

Haven't listened that much to his show over the last month but it looks like the producers have massively increased the amount of music and reduced his talking. I tuned in before ten to twelve and listened for about twenty five minutes. In that period of time, he spoke for about thirty seconds. There was three minutes for the news, so he had very minimal input for twenty odd minutes of radio. He has become more of a DJ than a radio presenter.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

Funny I was thinking he was getting more interviews to do. I only happened to listen yesterday so I could be mistaken.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭StevenToast

3 year anniversary of Tubridy joking about Ukraine getting invaded.

"Fascinating"

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

So 3 years ago today...Tubridy lamented at the fact that the Ukrainians "looked like us"...and thats the reason he was sad...if you are brown it doesnt matter as much to Tubridy seemingly....

He also had a go at Zelensky for not shaving and for wearing a T-Shirt....Tubridy questioned his abilities and was sneering at the "comedian"....

What an absolute sickener you are Tubridy-zero integrity...never forget....

Mod - What happened 3 years ago on a different station is irrelevant to Tubridy’s current show so please move on from this @StevenToast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭GSF

well not having to pretend to know anything about current affairs is why he is better suited to Q102 and its airhead celebrity “news” output

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Ryan is on a "well-earned break" this week. I guess pretending to look busy really took it out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Red Fred

It seems the new podcast studio isn't Ryan's after all.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/companies/arid-41582659.html

Great to see newstalk do their bit

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/celebs/ryan-tubridy-shares-greatest-fatality-34818709

Would love to hear RT on NT, would be a great run in from him to PK just like the old days. You never know Ronan Collins might consider moving from gold to NT, and Joe Duffy might be available.

I really this is a plan, and better communication all round.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,831 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Whatever about the obvious bullsh1t being spoken here about what happened, this doesn't even make grammatical sense. Such an empty vessel, putting words together to sound smart that are barely tangentially related (see what I did there???)

Post edited by retalivity on

I'd argue that Ryan is ironically, and not unintentionally, mis-using grammar to better show is devastation and at the same time show that he is in a strong position, better than he ever has been in the last 20 years. "Good on him" I say. I personally look forward to Ryan having that big conversation when that time comes, and this could be his big return to Irish national radio, with his internationally successful podcast now in its third season, he can probably sign off from Virgin Media and work in a national Irish broadcaster while retaining the international fan base he has built in the last year.

"Good on, him" and may it continue.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

So He doesn't want to get into whether the leadership in rte was an issue when he was being ousted but speaks of quality leadership in Virgin radio. Way to get the petty dig in there Tubs.

Better communication might, on his part, not being him shooting off his mouth and basically ending any chance of lounging around in rte while others did his work.for him.

Let him stick with his Virgin media show and stop attempting to weasel his way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,258 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That website would be better using Grammarly before putting articles up online.

he never imagined at the age of 50 he would love Dublin for a new job abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭KevRossi

In other words he's still kicking himself that he didn't keep his mouth shut at the end of summer 2023. Bakhurst had a doss of a contract in his drawer and the fountain pen filled up with ink, ready for our hero to sign it. Was it €200k or €250k a year? I can't remember.

Anyway, instead of grabbing the pen, signing it and saying 'Sorry for any bother I caused the past few months'; he went and shot off some dire interview, effectively got told to bugger off and is now down a couple of hundred grand per annum, as well as several weeks annual leave to 'recharge [sic]'.

But he tries to portion some, if not most of the blame on others, instead of doing a very basic 'mea culpa' and putting it behind him.

I'm not usually one for schadenfreude, but to see that it still hurts him deeply that he screwed up so much brings a wry smile to my face.

And, IIRC the 2nd anniversary of his 'resignation' (aka rat jumping the ship) from the LLS is next weekend. First move in the house of cards falling down.

Mod - one post deleted as it went too far as a personal attack on Tubridy, rather than discussing the linked article.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Exactly.
    Senior hurling after all…

When he says 'communication was the greatest fatality' I presume the word he was seeking was casualty. A fatality is a completely different thing.

I walked into my kitchen earlier, I listen regularly to Q102, apart from his programme. He was saying something about DeValera and WT Cosgrave. To a largely UK based audience. 🤷‍♀️

Switched off.

I think that his Sunday morning show is an Ireland only broadcast.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭Tork

Even so, would anybody bat an eyelid if he started going on about them on his weekday show?