Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA Discussion - 2024 All Ireland Hurling Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭KIB4Life

Ya the thing is over the last 10 years we have some very good fetchers and fielders in midfield in the likes of Brennan, O’Connor, Yank, Bohannan and O’Neill. But McNamara and Cahill are probably the best two fielders currently on the panel. Also probably a midfielder can go out to try spoil another midfielder by just breaking the ball constantly hence why breaking ball will be crucial.

Kickouts stats used be fairly pointless at times in the past the keeper could kick the ball out to a corner back unmarked and they would move the ball up the field and maybe 3 minutes might get a point and you would hear analysts say that the point came from their own kickout.

Keelan going through a poor enough spell of form, I suppose the money he’s getting from Na Fianna must be weighting and slowing him down. Ah joking aside from McMahon and Cleary’s ability to kick long range points the team is probably struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

the problem with our own kickouts is we are too one dimensional , we are bunching our two midfielders to the same area where fermanagh can just flood extra players to win the breaks

why not flood the area then break before the kickout bringing a number of fermanagh players with our men or have them run into space for tubridy to kick into , there are plenty of options but we dont seem to have any sort of plan B only kick it up the middle

the idea we have regressed is questionable , we are currently without about 5 starters , stephan ryan, ronan lanigan, michael garry ,dermot coughlin and daragh bohannon , its bound to have an effect on performances , and given the quality of some of the players that have retired over the last 3 or 4 years is still having an impact too

i think we are doing ok for what we have but the new rules dont suit us and we will need more time then others to come to terms with them ,

one example late in the game yesterday was keelan receiving a pass between the D and the sideline from alan sweeney , he got boxed in and looked for an off load and there was no one behind him , under the old rules he would have had cillian rouine or manus on his shoulder to continue the play he got turned over as a result

Highlights of the footballers game yesterday

busy week in clare gaa , sadly on thursday the great willie walsh passed away , the man synonymous with clare hurling for several decades died suddenly at home , the roscrea native lived most of his life in ennis and was heavily involved within clare gaa beit the intercounty team st flannans or even eire og who he was a selector with the last time they won the hurling championship

a really good man and a fantastic activist ,may he rest in peace .

on friday the teams were announced for the the weekends league games , the footballers game has since fallen foul to the weather and has been postponed, while brian lohan has announced a much stronger side to face wexford tomorrow in the park, with the return of david fitz, mark rodgers tony kelly and john conlon , he has stuck by and rightly so behind young ian mcnamara who had a bad spell against antony burns 2 weeks ago , young mcnamara was excellent in the previous game against kilkenny and deserves his chance again

today in football ,ennistymon cbs qualified for the All Ireland C schools final after a fine win over keady from armagh in the semi final in roscommon , the north clare school won on a scoreline of 1-15 to 2-8 , Conor Burke scored 1-10 of that tally , conor is probably one of the most exciting prospects i have seen in clare football and is still only 17, his fellow parish man all ireland minor hurler conor heagerty is captain of the cbs hopefully he can add a football medel to the hurling in a few weeks time

Clare 1-17 Wexford 1-23

A flat performance by the hurlers who were well beaten in the end by a much hungrier and sharper wexford side , clare got off to a great start and lead by 5 points thank to an early tony kelly masterclass, wexford started to dominate the middle 3rd and from about the 25th minute on wards took over the game ,

lee chin , ritchie lawlor, damien reck , conor herne dominated the game from there on , with seamus casey and cian byrne causing all sorts of problems for our full backline

john conlon , david Fitzgerald , tony kelly , mark rodgers , all made first starts of the season , kelly and rodgers started well but by the early stages of the second half looked way off it , conlon did well enough early on , on chin but the wexford man got the better of him overall, he was called ashore with 20 minutes to go and replaced by ross hayes who struggled just as much on chin

David Fitzgerald really looked like a man lacking match sharpness, he entered several rucks and came out second beast each time he offered very little under a high ball too ,over all the second half was very disappointing with a strong wind at our backs we only managed a few score form play , it looks like we are we are a good few weeks behind everyone else and most likely in a heavy training set , if we were to stay in this division now we would have to win our next 3 games , something i cant see happening

Clare Scorers

Aidan McCarthy 0-8f

Tony Kelly 1-04

Ian McNamara 0-1

Roubin Mounsey 0-1

Patrick Crotty 0-1

Ryan Taylor 0-1

David Reidy 0-1

interviews with the media after the game , nicholas rynne again i think is responsible for these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Should we be worried at this point?

It's only the league, we have injuries etc. but we can't afford to go through it without a single win. At this stage Limerick and Cork are going much better than us, so hard to see us beating either of them.

We need some sort of momentum to bring into championship

To be fair I wouldn't be , but it would seem that everything is geared towards the Munster championship, it's only 8 weeks away, i don't think we will go into championship without a win though

People need to realise that we would still be that bit behind everyone else training wise between Holliday's and medal presentations In The last 4 or 5 weeks or whatever it is , is going to have an effect

We were very close to winning that opening round game v Kilkenny. If we had, the whole narrative would be different.

Do you think any players have put their hand up to break into the starting 15 ?

Obviously it's not easy for a young player to break into an All-Ireland winning team, I'd say only maybe Cian Galvin and D.Lohan, and both featured a fair bit last year anyways.

Where is Shane Meehan by the way, is he injured ?

meehan was on the matchday panel yesterday but coming back from injury , realistically as you say maybe cian galvin has done enough for a starting place he has been excellent in all 3 league games , the surprise package has been ross hayes , i wasnt expecting him to make the impact he has , Daragh lohan is likely to start in the full back line for the munster championship if cleary is out ,

in fairness to lohan its all about finding cover , we have used the best part of 30 players and still have about 5 players out injured ,the championship team wont look too much different from last year but you probably would be a bit more comfortable about players being drafted in when key players are out

this is basically the like for like replacement on what has played throughout the league so far ,if you think about the munster final in 2023 where cian nolan was drafted in on aaron gillane at the last minute with little game time , or paudi fitzpatrick in the 2022 all ireland semi final you can see we probably have more cover now

1. QULLIGAN____________ ,- Foudy/Broadrick
    2. Leen——————————- , /Rory Hayes/Ian McNamara/John Coneally
    3. Cleary ————————— , - Daragh Lohan
    4. Hogan—————————- , /Rory Hayes/Ian McNamara/John Coneally
    5. Ryan ——————————, - Cian Galvin
    6. Conlon ——————————,Cian Galvin/Ross Hayes
    7. David MC—————————, Cian Galvin/Jack O'Neill
    8. Malone —————————— ,Paddy Donnellon/David Conroy/Jack O'Neill
    9. Taylor———————————, Sean Rynne/David Conroy/Jack O'Neill
    10. David Fitz—————————-,Crotty/Mounsey/Keith Smyth
    11. Rodgers——————————- ,Crotty/Conroy/Sean Rynne
    12. Duggan ——————————- ,Crotty/Keith Smyth/Mounsey/Sean Rynne/
    13. McCarthy—————————— ,David Reidy/ian Galvin/Shane Meehan
    14. Kelly————————————,Aaron Shanagher /Jack Kirwan/David Reidy
    15. O'Donnell—————————-,Ian Galvin/Shane Meehan/ David reidy /Jack Kirwan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭supernova5

Any truth in the rumour that Ian Galvin has left the panel?

A few Clonlara lads are gone but I don't think he is one of them , Rian considine from cratloe is gone Paraic O'Loughlin, Dylan McMahon from Clonlara, Killian O'Connor from corofin and keelan Hartigan from scariff are the ones I have heard of

Dylan McMahon has been really impressive at club level. Would like to have seen more of him at county level.

He probably needs the time to properly recover from his injury, it's probably not too late for him next year to be called back, the injury couldn't have came at a worse time in his career

He was regarded as one of the better performers in the A v B games before the semis and final last year and was backing them performances up for Clonlara in the club championship

Shane O'Donnell out for the year apparently, needs a shoulder operation, huge loss

It will be tough for him to get back now you would think

That is absolutely the last thing we need right now.

Even last year we wouldn't have gotten very far without O'Donnell, maybe not even out of Munster.

Hopefully Tony Kelly can stay fit for the season.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Clare Camogie are running a fundraiser for their seniors.

Clare Camogie | 🏇Clare Camogie Race Night 🏇

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Unregister11

Thats a disaster. I wonder why this operation wasn't done after last season?

Clare 2-12 Kildare 0-16

Great win by the footballers against the form team in the division , after a cagey enough start the game quickley changed in our facvor on the 15th minute mark when eoin cleary found the net , a keelan sexton two pointer was quickly added and clare went in 1-9 to 0-6 ahead at half time

Kevin feely spent the first half in full forward where he was pretty much isolated , he got a fisted point but nothing else , at half time he was switched back to his normal position of mid field and it changed the game , kildare outscored clare 0-10 to 1-3 in the second half with the goal coming with the last kick of the game ,at one point kildare kicked 8 points without reply

When alex byrne kicked a two pointer to make it 1-12 to 0-16 in injury time it looked like game over , but up stepped keelan sexton 3 minutes into injury time to find the back of the kildare net to seal the victory with basically the last kick of the game

A remarkable day for sexton who was very quiet through out the league he kicked 2 2 pointers before the last minute goal ,eoin cleary kicked 1-1 , emmett mcmahon had a quiet enough day kicking 3 points but 2 from frees , brian mcnamara was ,excellent all day he was a colossus again in midfield , his cousin dermot coughlin was introduced for the last 10 minutes and kicked 2 valuable points , ciaran downs didnt score but had a fine game also out around the middle 3rd ,the pleasing aspect of the win was the amount of key players that came off the bench , in dermot coughlin , gavin murray, daniel walsh , evan cahill ,and mark mcinerney highlighting the strength of the panel at them moment

Clare Scorers

Keelan Sexton 1-4

Eoin Cleary 1-1

Emmett McMahon 0-3

Dermot Coughlin 0-2

Brian McNamara 0-1

Aaron Griffin 0-1

Post edited by windy shepard henderson on

furious the football and hurling had to clash today , had the football been put back to even half 1 supporters would have been able to make both games

Got home to see the hurling but missed a few minutes at the start , while limerick were not full strength it still was an excellent win , conor leen and daragh lohan excellent in the full back line ,as was the older guard in cathal malone and john conlon in the half back line

the quality of ball into the full forward line was poor at times though and we seemed to needlessly put us under pressure at times , jack o'neill looks like a much better option in midfield or the half forward line i taught he was excellent at times , as was sean rynne , both made a few rookie errors at times but more then made up for it ,

the one take away point really is we wont get anywhere near the same time and space on the ball in 6 weeks time when the likes of daragh o'donovan and will o'donohue are back for limerick , whatever about relegation its important now we kick on next week and back up the performance against cork and the same against tipperary in a few weeks time , they will act as great tests before the start of the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Treble double

We are some Gaa county when everything is said and done. Put out a football team today that took down a high-flying Kildare and then the hurlers put away Limerick. Not too many other counties that can operate at both codes at that level

Agree 100% its great to see too , we had two panels of 45 for both codes at the start of the year with about 25 clubs for each code to back it up

but the standard of players coming through each year is the most impressive thing , today we had jack o'neill sean rynne stand out against limerick and conor meaney and evan cahill coming through the football development its great to see in fairness

just looking at this back and remembering the last time clare played kildare in the football league , this lad was sitting behind me , what many people dont know is he was a serious underage footballer , what they also dont know about sean rynne is he is an absolute trouble maker

on this day he took it upon himself to clap every clare score right into my ear . my left ear in particular . after 3 or 4 scores i told him to stop , he said it would never happen again , after the next score i told him i would pull the head off his shoulders and **** down his neck!!…..😂 eventually he got the message , while he is going to be a serous hurler i think we have another fingers o'connell on our hands 🤣

the one thing i would add to this is Nicolas rynne may not ask the strongest of questions but highly respected in clare gaa circles , brian lohan giving him a full interview again today before moving on to the national media is a huge sign of respect

player ratings from last weeks two games from the clare echo , maybe a bit generous to one or two , but if i had my way conor leen would be an 8/10 , you will have to buy the paper to find out why

Hurling v Limerick

1: Eibhear Quilligan 7,

22: Conor Leen , 7,

3: Darragh Lohan ,7,

7. Adam Hogan, 7,

5: Cian Galvin ,7,

6. John Conlon ,7,.

22: Seán Rynne ,8.

8. Cathal Malone ,7,

9: Ryan Taylor , 7,

10. David Fitzgerald ,8,

11. Mark Rodgers ,7,

26. Jack O’Neill ,8.

13. Aidan McCarthy ,7.

14: Tony Kelly ,9.

15. David Reidy ,7.

18: Shane Meehan ,6.

12: Patrick Crotty ,6.

19: Aron Shanagher , 6,

football and a great win over kildare , keelan showed again that he can be one of the best forwards in the country , it was looking like he was out of sorts up to last week though, if i was to make changes i would upgrade ciaran downes to a 7 who had a fine second half in the middle 3rd of that game , i would nearly be giving manus a 9 also ,we have great forwards no doubt but manus doherty is a quality defender , brian mc could have got a higher mark too and was excellent

1: Eamon Tubridy ,8.

4: Manus Doherty ,8.

3: Cillian Brennan  ,6.

2: Cillian Rouine ,7.

5: Alan Sweeney ,5.

6. Fionn Kelleher ,5.

9. Ikem Ugwueru ,7.

8: Brian McNamara ,8.

7. Sean McAllister ,8.

10 .Ciaran Downes ,5.

11: Emmet McMahon  6

18: Connor Meaney ,5,.

10: Aaron Griffin ,5.,

14: Eoin Cleary ,7.

15: Keelan Sexton  ,9.

21: Cormac Murray ,5.

19: Evan Cahill  ,5 .

13: Daniel Walsh , 5.

24: Dermot Coughlan , 7,

27: Mark McInerney ,5.

two big games tomorrow , starting with the footballers trip to sligo , its a chance to go joint top of the division ahead of the laois game next saturday , its not the end of the world if we dont win givin the last two games are against two promotion chasing teams and because we have the head to head with kildare , but it would be great to carry on the good run of form

sligo have had a poor league but going on their last result away to fermanagh it looks like they are sorting themselves out , they have been one of the few counties that have struggled with the new rules and especially in midfield ,alan mcgloughlin and eoin smyth from the counties success's at underage have been bright sparks through out the league as has cannice mulligan , they also have niall murphy back after his club exploits with strandhill in the all ireland club so they wont be any pushover

the clare team is starting to look stronger with the return of dermot coughlin from injury , he is likely to start from the bench again like last week m but it remains how much impact Sean McAllister and Evan Cahill will play after both lined out for the u20s today in there loss to waterford in doonbeg

emmett mcmahons older brother rory is lined out to start ahead of the injured ciaran downes who went off with an injury late in the kildare game

Huge game in the newly named zimmer biomett pairc chiosog with the arrival of cork who have been waiting for the last 8 months for the chance of some revenge after the controversial finish to the all ireland final last july

A loss here will most likley spell relegation for clare so a win here is huge , especially when trying to develop the younger players coming through next year , conor cleary is down to start and david mcinerney and peter duggan are on the bench , wheather either of them feature is another days work

its going to be interesting to see what kind of team cork bring especially with the two teams meeting again in just over a months time in round 1 of the munster championship , i am expecting us to go as strong as possible to finish off the last home game of the league with a win to try and consolidate a position in the league and let April look after itself

the only silver lining i can add to today is , the last time the all ireland hurling champions got relegated they went on to win the all ireland that year , we couldnt be further away from that at the moment ,we have 6 weeks to catch up but we have a lot of catching up to do in that time

trips to carlow ,down , kildare and antrim are now on the cards for next season ,if nothing else it will be a great oppertunity for the younger lads on the panel to get more game time

hard luck to the footballers , sligo starting to turn there season around it seems , they were good against fermanagh last week away and backed it up with the narrowest of wins today , ikem had a goal disallowed for a square ball and dermot Coughlin narrowly missed a two pointer to level the game with the last kick of the game

if the footballers beat laois and offaly over the next two weeks they will most likely get promoted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Hurling is different than football. Getting our young guys out against Carlow and Kildare is no good . They are too far off the standard of the top division. Today was a massacre if Milltown proportions and zero leadership to say 'no more goals '

Personally I think Hogan needed a roasting just to get his head right again. He ll be ok.Same as Leen who wasn't good.

The backs were all killed today. I'm gonna call it this far out . I dont think Clare are getting out of Munster in 2025. They ll be followed in huge numbers and have given us a great All Ireland but this team has too many off the pace.. Fitzgerald is shocking..a disgrace today . Deserved the red but his general play was so bad. The goalie ...well we've all seen an under 12 goalie do the same haven't we..scoop it into the side netting. 🤔 But rarely have I seen an adult do it even in Junior B. I could go through the whole team but Lohan needs to answer a few questions. This ducking out of press conferences is unseemly and amateur hour petty stuff. . Plus it's unprofessional, unpleasant and he's not taking responsibility. Our All Ireland last year was hard won..if we don't make an effort to defend it then it ll be somewhat devalued .

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

Discipline was terrible today. Not only the 2 red cards but we got loads of stupid yellow cards too.

Fitzgerald was absolutely shocking and seemed to be looking for trouble the whole game. If I recall he also got needlessly sent off in a league game v Cork 2 years too and ending up missing a championship game. He should just focus on his hurling.

I'd imagine they wanted to get game time into Cleary, but he was clearly miles off the pace. Especially against that Cork forward line who have been excellent throughout the league.

I really hope it's a case of Cork peaking too soon as we still have 6 weeks until championship. But it was very worrying.

today was shadow boxing as far as lohan was concerned , its cost us our status in division 1A as a result which i dont agree with and there is no guarantee it will work , players again stuck to the ground and lacking any sort of sharpness tells its on story what is happening in caherlohan the last few tuesday and thursday nights , after the 6th goal ryan taylon went on a great run up field and was barely able to budge for the next 5 minutes

conor cleary started in full back then went moved on shane barrett which was crazy , then moved into midfield and into the half forward line before moving back to midfield and then taken off , tony kelly started corner forward and at one point was operating at wing back while all this was happening , cork were flying running rings around us

they basically showed their hand for 6 weeks time , mark rodgers needs to start at 11 because niall o'leary cleaned him , peter duggan highlighted a glairing weakness in eoin downey we must have got 5 scores off his frees at the start of the second half ,we know what levels we need to be at its just a matter of sharpening up over the next 6 weeks

cork outscored us 6-15 to 0-11 from play ,that wont happen again come championship

it is worrying as teams need to be seen to be improving game by game now , we regressed dramatically from last week , i dont ever think i have seen clare concede 6 goals in a game and the 6-15 to 0-11 from play is a daming statt

i am more annoyed as a supporter that the preparation for this game was basically ignored , we started two players that were nowhere near match fit in a game we needed to win , and the lack of intensity from last week in limerick tells me we trained heavy this week instead of sharpening up on our short game and first touch , and playing so many players out of position tells me management were not interested in wining and got badly punished as a result

Corks confidence is up and that's a bad thing for us. For sure we may have been doing heavy training but how 'heavy' 6 weeks out from Championship. The Cork mentality is that they ll come and try the same thing again ,they ll take on their men ,they ll go for goal. I see no upside for Clare today. We are relegated.

Lohan of course must have method to this madness. I think all his eggs are in the basket for the ex 'Fortress Ennis' come Championship..at this juncture I dont see us winning

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

We used alot of emotion and energy against Limerick . We were definitely deflated today.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

Its madness full stop, but then again we don't have a manager that doesn't seem to do things the normal way

As you say he can't even do an interview properly, but this is the way he wants to approach the championship fine but it better pay off

Today over 11,000 supporters in the park and a huge garda traffic management protocol in place around the town for what seemed to be a dummy run , the one thing it has done for cork is give them extra confidence for 6 weeks time which puts us behind the 8 ball further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭caddy16

But how can Cleary get up to pace without playing. He had to play yesterday and will play again against Tipp. He's still our best option at full back as Lohan's recent performances there have shown us.

True . I was speaking to my Dad today and he said Cleary needs a game every day of the week to be sharp. We've no option but him. Lohan isn't good enough for fullback yet anyway.

Very disappointing day yesterday. Cork for the first round of the championship...after yesterday they won't come over confident like a Tipperary would.. they ll come like a train . I'm very concerned with the lack of form in so many players. . And the young guys like Mounsey,Meehan..if they aren't making it this year...move em on. They've been on that bench for 3or 4 seasons now

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

Lohan will only use them lads as impact subs same as Ian Galvin , no matter how good they are going at club level or in training they are only ever going to be used off the bench

In fairness it worked for the all Ireland final , cian Galvin will probably be the same when diarmuid Ryan returns too

It seems there are certain players he sees as impact subs and nothing else

Plenty of time for Meehan or Mounsey. Smyth also.

Especially considering the age profile of our forward line, the lines of SOD, TK, Duggan, Ian Galvin won’t keep going forever

i have a few external contacts to the panel . its very hard to get good information at times since lohan took over , but at the end of 2023 early 2024 both Meehan's and mounseys families were told by lohan directly that they would only be used as impact subs in the same vain as ian galvin is used and if they wanted to leave the panel or go the the footballers they could , both played a fair share of football , meehan was in the top 5 minors in the country as a top scorer at the time , but it worked out last year

one friend of mine is an uncle of a current panel member , his mother has no idea how well he is doing in training , the only thing she dose know is her son was training last saturday up a hill in rockmount outside ennis and on sunday morning on top of that before lining out against cork

if Davey fitz adopted these training methods back in the day we would be bulling , which i am personally but it better pay off if we dont get out of munster this result last sunday cant be forgotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Treble double

Christ, if there is any truth in that it is depressing, its like something from 20 years ago, also shows what a joke of a competition the leauge is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Patchin

great comeback by the footballers tonight

you seen it tonight with galway in the football , they dont want to be in a league final either , i am bulling over last week still because we now have to watch joe mcdonagh teams next year in the league ahead of sam mcguire teams , i can pm you the names of my contacts but not here

absolutely brilliant , i couldnt make it to portlaoise tonight but mark barry ran the show in the first half a fantastic footballer , at half time clare fm brought on keiran lilis former laois and portlaoise manager he was shouting mad for us amazingly givin his services to laois football himself and his son

the lad i felt sorry for tonight is killinan roche , a really sound lad and is now probably laois's most important players , its quiet possible he would be our keeper this year in stephen ryans absence , he kicked 2 2pointers tonight more then any clare player

another brutal start followed by a strong finish , the strong finish each week seem to have a lot to do with dermot coughlin coming off the bench , great second half by emmett and eoin cleary too

It might explain the underwhelming performance against Cork a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Gael85

You mean Mick Lillis? 😉 I say still spends a bit of time in Clare. He was coaching Cooraclare for a couple years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Gael85

Meehan is a class footballer. Did Peter Keane approach him for this year? Does Mounsey play football with Corofin?