Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Read OP for mod warnings before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,150 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

How though? The State simply doesn't own available accommodation so of course it has to engage the private sector to provide it. That includes religious orders who have lots of unused former convents and such like.

Less wealthy countries don't have as many people trying to move there

Disgusting selfishness on the part of those D4 snobs but not one bit unexpected. I have three accommodation centres within a 1km radius of where I am sitting right now, never an issue or problem but the local Irish lads keep the Gardai busy

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭briangriffin

I'll have to add emojis to the list of tactics used to dismiss a debate.

The mental gymnastics I was referring to I've referenced again in my post above just now if you have a better phrase for it I'd love to hear it.

"International migration is to arrest population decline, population decline is happening in mostly developed countries. Most of Asia (except Japan etc) and Africa are multiples of European fertility rate in fact there are countries in Africa and Asia individually that had more births than the whole EU27 last year."

Did I say all of Asia? Or did I say most of Asia and Africa and give examples of countries that were not like Japan etc...

I'm not really interested in any countries outside of the ones that affect Ireland and if you look at the top 5 countries by number in our IPAS system for the latest figures March 2025 https://www.ipo.gov.ie/en/IPO/20250410-IPO-Monthly-Website-Stats-Mar-2025-FINAL.pdf/Files/20250410-IPO-Monthly-Website-Stats-Mar-2025-FINAL.pdf then out of the top 5 the fertility rate for the following is above the irish rate by multiples of ours at 1.5… I hope that clarifies, it doesn't even matter that they have multiples higher birthrate my point was simply that as per the UN document they are developing countries which have a higher birthrate than the countries they are moving.

Nigeria 5.0 African

Somalia 5.8 African

Pakistan 3.3 Asian

Afghanistan 4.8 Asian

Georgia 2.0 European (just about)

image.png

Can you show me where I brought up the great replacement theory? Who brought that up and why did they bring it up? They brought it up to shut down debate and smear debaters as racist. I pointed out that the UN study literally discusses replacement migration that the UN study is not a far right conspiracy theory. That discussing immigration as the % of the population is not far right.

I have repeatedly said that mass immigration from so many different countries in the world in the middle of a cost of living and housing crisis when our government spending has increased by 50 billion in 7 years is a bad idea for the reasons outlined time and time again in this thread.

I also absolutely believe that the % of foreign born people in a country like ours with a population as small as ours needs very careful consideration so that we don't end up losing part of what our country is and risk having integration issues within our society. That only happens with mass immigration from large numbers of countries where there isn't the services or the time for people to integrate. We have one of the largest demographic changes of any country in Europe in the past 30 years. You might disagree with that and say that we should have unlimited immigration and say that it doesnt matter if the % foreign born changes from 3% 1997 to 25%.in 2025 to 30-40% by 2035 or >50% in 2060. A nation is its people its people who have a shared history, culture, traditions, religion, stories, music, sports etc all these things unite a nation and give them a common cause, if you have 25- 30 to 40% of the country born abroad you are naturally going to have a more fragmented society unless integration happens carefully. Just as its OK for Matt Cooper to say when he visits Dublin and hears 80% foreign accents isn't it great its like being in London. I can argue no its not great because Dublin isn't London, its distinct, and there are plenty of Londoners who are not happy about what's happening in London.

Do I believe the Elites are trying to replace white Europeans with Africans and Muslims?

No I don't nor do I believe in an all seeing puppet master who controls the strings of each Government. Its possible I'm sure.

A far more likely explanation is however the virtuousness of a cabal of politicians who see Irelands role in the world as the best boys the virtuous elite. We invite asylum seekers from around the world with a promise of own door accommodation and then a few years later we hand them tents. We invite Ukrainians offer them 240 euro and then cut it to 38 a few years later. No foresight no planning only virtue signaling of an elite bunch of "woke" gobshites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭engineerws

Just to point out here, in 2023 Asia had an average birthrate of 1.88 which is below replacement and therefore also likely points to most Asian countries not having a birth rate that is multiples of ours although this is heavily weighted by the two massive countries India and China.

Granted, I did not mean the continent of Asia or Africa as a whole but certain countries in Asia and Africa specifically the ones relating to the numbers coming to Ireland. I have referenced those relevant ones in the post. Many might have been a better word. The point being as referenced in the UN report it was developing countries with a higher birthrate that had people on the move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Lazy analysis at the minimum.

Most of Asia is not Pakistan and Afghanistan. Not even close.

But you didn't just say most of Asia, you explicitly excluded Japan

Asian Population 4.8 billion the two stans are not even 10% of that. Lazy analysis or purposeful disinformation?

Even if you did want to focus on the stans and speak generally about asia, why?

The two stans don't even get a mention in the list of top nationalities in this state ordered by number here. So why focus in on the them for detailed analysis. Why not any one of the many countries with larger populations here?

What benefit could such analysis provide, especially when not properly contextualized?

image.png

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cpsr/censusofpopulation2022-summaryresults/migrationanddiversity/

To be fair to the UN authors of the report they did acknowledge that increasing mortality rate would be "socially unacceptable" which is a fairly chilling observation.… another conspiracy theory right there.

What are you trying to say in this sentence and why is "socially unacceptable" in quotation marks?

I have searched both documents you referenced and the phrase "socially unacceptable " is never used in either document?

This sentence and the fake quote make no sense at all and allude to a grander conspiracy.

What is the conspiracy you see here exactly?

Post edited by RobbieTheRobber on

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

The tolerant left with the insults again.

The context of what I was saying was the UN report which I've referenced many times now. I mentioned Japan because it is one of the countries that is mentioned in the report in need of replacement migration, I'm not sure how that's hard to comprehend. I've explained the rest in my post.

If I was writing a report on replacement migration I probably wouldn't even mention deliberately increasing mortality rates as an option because it could absolutely be used as fodder for a conspiracy theory.

Questions answered - Zero.

Lets try just one from the bottom up!

Why is  "socially unacceptable" in quotation marks in your post?

Because Robbie if it was "socially acceptable" would it be Objectively the right thing to do?

hardiharhar.

Why is it quotation marks. Meaning what is it a quotation of?

That phrase does not appear in either of your linked documents, so what source are you quoting when you stick the words socially and Unacceptable in quotation marks?

I would normally expect a person to use quotation marks 

to indicate a direct quote or passage copied verbatim from another source. If you're using the same word, sentence, or phrase as another author, put those words between quotation marks.

In your post none of the use cases for quotation marks seem to apply it is not in the sources listed so why the quotation marks?

https://www.grammarly.com/blog/punctuation-capitalization/quotation-marks/#:~:text=Use%20quotation%20marks%20to%20indicate,those%20words%20between%20quotation%20marks.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod warning:

@RobbieTheRobber

I'll advise you to tread very carefully as you're getting awfully close to trolling/baiting territory.

Thank you.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,150 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

@briangriffin

I also absolutely believe that the % of foreign born people in a country like ours with a population as small as ours needs very careful consideration so that we don't end up losing part of what our country is and risk having integration issues within our society.

A lot of our foreign born population are Irish - they have at least one Irish-born parent.

It used to be the case that when Irish people went abroad and had kids over there, they rarely came back. That's no longer the case. So the pearls can mostly be unclutched.

This has been an argument used by the far right though, those whose real issue is that some of the foreign-born people are too brown for their liking.

A nation is its people its people who have a shared history, culture, traditions, religion, stories, music, sports etc all these things unite a nation and give them a common cause

All religion has done on this island is divide people not unite them

There's also an implication there that non-catholics are not really Irish

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Do I believe the Elites are trying to replace white Europeans with Africans and Muslims?

No I don't nor do I believe in an all seeing puppet master who controls the strings of each Government. Its possible I'm sure.

A far more likely explanation is however the virtuousness of a cabal of politicians who see Irelands role in the world as the best boys the virtuous elite. We invite asylum seekers from around the world with a promise of own door accommodation and then a few years later we hand them tents. We invite Ukrainians offer them 240 euro and then cut it to 38 a few years later. No foresight no planning only virtue signaling of an elite bunch of "woke" gobshites

the virtuousness of a cabal of politicians

Who are the cabal of politicans, and are they FF/FG?

virtue signaling of an elite bunch of "woke" gobshite

You dont believe in Elites but you talk about the Elites?

Can you explain who they are, are they cabinet of the FF/FG government?

No Robbie it is there in the report. Note how I haven't insulted you and have done you the courtesy of giving the full paragraph so you don't spend hours reading the 177 page report, despite the tone of every reply you have made.

"The future population size and age-sex structure of any country depends basically on the three
    demographic components: fertility, mortality and international migration. As no policies to increase the
    mortality of a population are socially acceptable, there are, in theory, two possible ways of retarding or
    reversing demographic ageing."

Brian the quoted text "socially unacceptable" does not appear in that piece of text.

But it is good that you have brought up this piece.

In your post you used the incorrectly quoted piece I have pointed out above and then paraphrased this section and implied there was some conspiracy intended.

To be fair to the UN authors of the report they did acknowledge that increasing mortality rate would be "socially unacceptable" which is a fairly chilling observation.… another conspiracy theory right there.

Where as the author of this document meant that there are three factors influencing population growth Births, deaths and international migration.

Of those 3 factors only two are really considerable in impacting population decline and they will discuss only those two.

They are not implying that UN wants to kill old people, they are not implying old people should be killed. You get that right?

Does no policies are acceptable to increase the mortality rate mean the same thing as increasing the mortality rate is a socially unacceptable policy??

Haven't I explained exactly why I put that in quotations above in my previous post have you read what I said, because the very notion that something is objectively morally right should surely be the guiding principal ahead of what is socially acceptable or not. Again the document is purely based on economic reasons and does not take into account the social or societal impact of mass immigration. That is my point.

We will leave this there so.

No you Haven't explained why this piece was used. In fact you previously explicitly stated this piece about mortality not being discussed as a fairly chilling observation.… another conspiracy theory right there.

Now you are trying to wave it away as nothing. Weird.

Why is this a chilling observation, and what is the conspiracy you are referring to in this statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭maik3n

It looks as though the tide (rightly or wrongly) is turning perhaps.
    No dog whistling anymore, the mask is now off it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭tom23

I think we all know the answer to this. I don’t think this type of information will ever be released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,631 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Yup and we wonder why…..

Lack of transparency like this feeds the far right.

Speaking of transparency fair play to our neighbors in the UK who will be reporting on foreign criminals awaiting deportation, where they are from and the crimes they have committed. Vital information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭prunudo

Given that anecdotes are banned and the authorities don't release the figures, its very hard to post about this in any meaningful way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

How did we reach a point where indigenous Irish struggle to see stats on who are getting free gafs paid for by our hard work. We're not serfs living in an English estate anymore. Release the stats and let the people know the truth. Our forefathers would be ashamed.

Oh yeah that fellow is exactly the type of person we should hope can bully his way to GDPR dáta.

Full on racism is on show. Even other EU citizens are the enemy.

Mask has well and truly slipped for this gowl and his supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0121/1491931-irish-employers-skills-shortage/

Let’s not forget this news report from January just gone which discusses a skills shortage; all those “engineers” coming in don’t seem to be making much of a difference to our skills shortage. Funny that!

How is it rasict or a breach of gdpr to want to know the breakdown of nationalities in social housing. Surely its beneficial to know this so we can see if there is undue pressure being put of the housing stock and policies can be put in place to address this.

It is racist because he is approaching the issue on racial identity.

It is a GDPR issue because in his own words he wants to know who actually got those houses.

When asked if he needed clarification on the council’s response, cllr McDonnell, wanted to know “who actually gets those houses

To support this sort of carry on is wrong and will victimise people who have done no wrong other than seek support from the state.

There is no definition of indigenous in an Irish context. So the council could never provide this clown a list like he is asking for because his classification does not exist in Irish law.

He seems to be planning to use family names to determine irishness, if the Council were to breach GDPR rights of these individuals and their families and give him his list.

Clown show.

Its not racist to ask questions on the breakdown of nationalities in social housing. Its not racist to want the needs of Irish to be looked after first. If the council’s have nothing to hide, then why not release the data, it will show whether there is discrimination against one side or the other. The secrecy flames the conspiracy theories that new arrivals are jumping the housing list at the expense of Irish people who are on it years.

A bit more context on cllr Tom Mc'Donnell.

Recently convicted of criminal damage.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/kildare-councillor-convicted-of-criminal-damage-to-property-insists-he-is-victim-of-gross-fraud-1680641.html

Recieved just 4.7% of first preference votes in the local elections and was elected on the 11th and final count without reaching the quota.

As far as I am aware the name Mc'Donnell is not an indigenous Irish one either. Comes from Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

Your post highlights exactly what that councillor is asking for, transparency. See how easy it was to get information on him that's in the public domain.

The bit about his name is a bit disingenuous, if you go back far enough in history all of us are blow ins.

Why should this councilor be provided with the personal information of people?

I guarantee that among the list of reasons given to those who engaged with the relevant housing authorities about their GDPR information requested and its potential use, that racial profiling by a criminal councilor was not one of those reasons.

Are we in favor of allowing county councilors to breach the rule of law?

Ps have to laugh at this

The bit about his name is a bit disingenuous, if you go back far enough in history all of us are blow ins.

Its often the meme thrown back at me, that sure aren't we all immigrants.