Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not Really Sport but....

• 06-03-2002 1:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭

Is Walking 30 to 35 miles a week, better than running 5 miles a week?

I walk to work, maybe into town on lunch, walk home, could walk about 10 miles on certain days.. 7 miles would be average...

Is this still a good work out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I would think so, yes.

Have you considered cycling?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have u considered a bus?

Only been smart, they reckon if u want to lose weight that walking is the only thing to do, keeps ur heart rate between 45 and 65 bpm or something along those lines, regardless u are still doing good aerobic work, fair play to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

What I do is, drive half way to work, then park in Rathmines, walk to Ballsbridge, and the same home, the Bus is in traffic all the way to work, so I am faster walking, I have a car, so no need for the bike...

My mates all think I am a lazy bastard cause I never want to play sport on weekends...

Thanks Lads for the replys,............

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Crazy!! more like insane, but I walked for a week when I sold my motor, feckin killed me but I kept beating the cars home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

Good Question Mr. Park Ranger

Similar to this does anyone know

"I cycle to and from work, (say 30 mins each way). Am i kidding myself thinking i am doing my fitness ant good or is all those POXY car fumes killing me softly"

"I cycle to and from work, (say 30 mins each way). Am i kidding myself thinking i am doing my fitness ant good or is all those POXY car fumes killing me softly

Not at all, have to be doing yourself a lot of good, if u look at it that way then anyone walking will be doing themselves damage as well!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

True, I been walking 35 miles a week for over 16months...

you get used to it, almost...moving house soon so getting the bus instead....can't wait....

walking 5 miles a week and running 5 miles a week are actually the same healthwise ,the only difference is time .running 5 miles is quicker the walking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭dccarm

I could be wrong, but I think you use the same enrgy & therefore burn the same calories by walking as you do by running. However, running is better for you in a cardiovascular sense. But then I really know sod all about it so I could be wildly wrong.:)