Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the worst town in ireland?

• 29-03-2002 3:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭

well, which is it?

have to say methinks drogheda is a hole- and i live there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I've had many many many unpleasent experiences in Athlone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

my dislike of my native town has probably got to do with the fact that nobody can speak english- imagine a higher pitched dub accent; its full of litter; theres quite a few scumbags. Theres too much traffic- but wer'e getting a bypass.

apart from that its a great place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Cork, no doubt at all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Cork is a city, not a town. And it's the berries!

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Bray sucks -- all the disadvantages of Dublin, with none of the redeeming features.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I don't think this thread is a good idea, because all it takes is someone to say that they don't like a certain place. Then all of a sudden war breaks out between them and all the other people that live in that place. Ja know what I mean.

Probably safer swithing it to places you do like.

On that note, I love where I'm from. I can completely understand why house prices are through the roof, and try to spend as much time here as I can. I live in Galway City by the way. More specifically Salthill/Knocknacarra.

During the summer there is a buzz in Galway, with tourists all over the place (spending money, boosting the local economy). Salthill used to be real commercial with delapidated touristy buildings (the word is KIP) dating about 50 years. But now it's getting it's act together. Take for example nice pubs like Davey's Locker, and Kitty O'Shea's on the promenade. But having said that I generally don't socialise in Salthill. That's more of a day time place.

Galway has everything I need. Computer stores, book shops, and a (fairly) regular boards drinkies session. Galway is big enough to have everything you want, yet small enough not to get you stressed. It's also big enough for you to go out, get hammered, shift/shag whatever, and know that you will probably not bump in to that person again (or for at least a long time).

I'm in college in Castlebar (for the past few years), and eventhough I like the town (it's grown on me), the same cannot be said. In that town if you do anything wrong/right, everybody knows in a matter of mins. I know I could not live in a small community. I need a sense of privacy in my life (to an extent). I also highly recommend not going out with anybody in that town, because it's more hassle than it's worth (just broke up with my gf last Saturday evening, of nearly a year). But I'm happy where I'm back in Galway, and I can assure you that there are plenty more women in places like 110 St. on a Sat night, than I could handle.

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm always glad not to be in Thurles. :) or indeed any midlands town, I think its becasue they have no character.

Mike.

ah thurles is grand, ok the road system around the square is totally fuped up and its pritty quite but its grand to go out in... don't have to worry about being mugged or what have you :)

The Square is a standing joke! I was there today and being Good Friday was the quietest I've seen it in years. You realy do take you life in your hands in that place though and the way the locals park- they just abandon thier cars and walk off!!.

Mike

:D yeah it can get pritty bad between the AIB and Hayes's lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Carrick on Suir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Mallow. Can't get much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

The best town or urban settlement in Ireland and probably the world is Dublin, which is the worst? Probably those detractors in the 'real capital'
    muhahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Terran

Roscrea. I had mto spend a whole day there and there is NOTHING to do. I think I died of boredom... Oh wait, I didn't, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭jd

Arklow use to be an awful dump-with the new bypass it may have improved..
    betcha mayhem# says ferns!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Tralee and its 56k internet café

Only €6 an hour!

wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

have to say ennis...
    although i live their and its a pretty cool town and all, its full off knackers...when i say full, i mean every second person asks u 4 moeny and ****. ask scrappy, he'll tall ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭king of fifa

you lot have never been to new ross then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

Athy, Carrick, Clonmel....
    a lot of bad memories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Culchie Boy

I agree with kyro, Tralee makes me depressed. There is hardly know place to park or if you do get a space you will Have to pay lots of Euros.......

Culchie Boy.

True, if you're in a hurry Tralee is proberly the last town in the country was want to be in and now the tourist season is officially started its only going to get worse (if they turned off the lights by
    the SuperValu front entrance everyhting would be grand).

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

TUAM

I need say no more. If you've been there, you'll know, if not, avoid at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

yeah i'd have to say that clonmel is a bit of a hole. Really small, shag all to do. Yeah its a pretty boring town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

Originally posted by conZ
    have to say ennis...
    although i live their and its a pretty cool town and all, its full off knackers...when i say full, i mean every second person asks u 4 moeny and ****. ask scrappy, he'll tall ya!

Ye should try not sitting on "de height" for so long :)

Have to agree with ye though, theres nearly as many knackers there as in tralee. its all those bloody immigrants, from Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Dunshaughlin

It, and Navan, should be bombed into oblivion. It takes me 2 to 2.5 hours every Friday to get home, whereas, if I had the power and the right chemicals, I would be true to that magical phrase "Only an hour from Dublin!"

And who lives in these dormant hellholes?

Everyone who gets out of Dublin every weekend has their own town they want to drop explosives onto.

Kinnegad, Enfield, most of north Kildare.... bomb it all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Athlone is a real ****hole IMO.We went on a schoo tour there once and we were bored the whole day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Nenagh of Co. Tip/cork I forget but there's nowt but a pub every two doors and they have 2/3 customer's and that's it, all the youth hang around, shag each other, get pregnant/start fights, oh the charm of it all, isn't it so lovely and cute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Originally posted by D-Generate
    Cork, no doubt at all

Why Cork? it's a damn sight better than other towns/cities in Ireland anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

READ the topic: the worst TOWN in Ireland.
    The following are excluded:
    Cork
    Dublin
    Waterford
    Limerick
    Galway
    Belfast
    Armagh
    Derry
    Please continue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

without a doubt it's Loughrea.got one of the highest pubs to ppl ratio in ireland and it is dead.really boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Yea I have a mate who is from Tuam..

What a total ****hole! A bunch of us were in the nightclub once, jasus it was like being at a casting session for Deliverance :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Originally posted by Ruaidhri
    without a doubt it's Loughrea.got one of the highest pubs to ppl ratio in ireland and it is dead.really boring

I know someone from there, I can't say anymore, but she would agree.

Clonakilty! I can't say anymore either because dragging up memories of it would cause to me to go insane, and I'll just verying near the edge of insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Genuinely interested in what's wrong with Clonakilty (seeing as it's my desired living space when I go house-buying) - just based on one or two visits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

Roscrea, stayed in it a number of times while crossing the country, never found a single thing about it i liked

Originally posted by sceptre
    Genuinely interested in what's wrong with Clonakilty (seeing as it's my desired living space when I go house-buying) - just based on one or two visits.

Well if your going house buying in Clon, please don't let my post have an effect, I just don't like the place, sick to death of the small place week in week out, and then the same thing when I come back from college. Its a nice town, safe town, quiet town. Theres nothing to do there entertainment wise other than play GAA or rugby or drink. Only thing about the place that interests me is my locals other than that living in limerick is a nice change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Originally posted by GreenHell

Well if your going house buying in Clon, please don't let my post have an effect, I just don't like the place, sick to death of the small place week in week out, and then the same thing when I come back from college. Its a nice town, safe town, quiet town. Theres nothing to do there entertainment wise other than play GAA or rugby or drink. Only thing about the place that interests me is my locals other than that living in limerick is a nice change.

Good Pubs, Good people, beautiful part of the country but ****ty nightclubs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Drogheda ranks highly up there.

Thankfully I do live a little bit (5 mile) outside of it.

Funny, i saw the thread and wondered how soon would someone post up drogheda... and then it was in the first post! :)

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Kildare has got to be the worst town in Ireland.
    I was stuck in it for over 2 hours once waiting for a train. For starters the train station is the worst one in the country, at least the worst one that I've ever been in. For a major junction station you'd think they'd at least have a shop. It's always freezing and if you take my advice don't sit on the seats in the waiting room!!!
    The town itself smells awful. Is there a sewrage plant right in the centre of the town or maybe just a landfill. There is nowhere to do any shopping either. Somebody with a pile of cash should go in, buy up a load of land and build a kick-ass shopping centre and a new train station... and maybe move the sewrage plant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I must agree with Ruaidhrí and the others about Loughrea. My parents are both from Loughrea, so I end up visiting the desolate hell hole more than I would like.

Its got nothing besides pubs (quite possibly more pubs than people), a bank or two and a few houses. And plenty of knackers.

Clonakilty, sick of the place, you'll never change my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Dromore West.

I bet you haven't even heard of it. Avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Originally posted by jd
    Arklow use to be an awful dump-with the new bypass it may have improved..
    betcha mayhem# says ferns!!

Oi, do I know you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

definitely Dunmanway

Originally posted by mayhem#

Oi, do I know you?!
    SCI and ie.general!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

My god!
    My Ferns phobia is cross-pollinating across the Internet!
    What are you know as on ie.general & SCI?

Originally posted by mayhem#
    My god!
    My Ferns phobia is cross-pollinating across the Internet!
    What are you know as on ie.general & SCI?

What bad experience did you have in Ferns??

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Lismore....

Lovely picturesque town, fabulous castle and gardens, nice river running through it and lovely green rolling hills around it... just that its full of knackers and scumbags from the hinterland around it..

if they got rid of them, it would be a town to dream about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

No doubt! Any of ye been to fethard? They have a mart on Saturdays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

I'm really surprised no one has said Tramore. I mean, come on, it's like a delapidated(sp?) micro version of a run down Las vegas casino.
    Nothing but holiday homes and caravans as far as the eye can see.
    And the water's full of ****e.

Westport comes a close second, nothing really wrong with the place, I just didn't really like it. Oh it's feckin freezing there.

Clon's nice I think, you've got two of the best beaches in the country practically on your doorstep. Not too far from the city but just far enough.

Hey!

I used to live in Tramore (in the 70s') and it was just fine back then!
    Now it 100% commuterville though, until summer then its
    99.94% Dublin scum! ;):D

Mike.