Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who "shussh" at gigs

• 12-11-2005 03:42AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

If you want absolute silence when watching a band play (like Sigur Ros tonight)...

...HIRE OUT THE BAND YOURSELF AND HAVE THEM PLAY IN YOUR LIVING ROOM AND STOP SHUSSHING TO EVERYBODY ELSE

ITS A FREE ****ING COUNTRY

/end rant

sorry, first rant on boards.ie methinks. Im also locked right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Yeah, it's not like the "shusshing" would do much good anyway; most people just keep screaming and yelling at a concert... that's what people do at concerts...

Don't worry about ranting ;) We all have days like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

I'm a shusher.

Call me old fashioned, but I really don't like hearing people at concerts having "I hate my boss/boyfriend/girlfriend/life etc" *shouting* conversations after I've paid €60 for a ticket. You wouldn't do it in the cinema, so why do it at a concert?

(Key word here being shouting - it's not fun to listen to people shout at the best of times, let alone at a time when you're trying to enjoy yourself. Feel free to talk amongst yourselves though ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

I agree with vibrant. why go to a concert if you dont want to watch /listen to it. nothing more irritating than people having a conversation while youre trying to watch.

shush on vibe. im with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm not a shusher but I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiment, especially in last night's Sigur Rós situation. Some music has to be heard with no background noise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I actually went to the Sigur ros gig last night.
    Some concerts are made for silence - others aren't. In the case of Sigur Ros, it demands silence. It's not a gig where you get up and shout the house down. If it were Metallica or Pearl Jam etc, they would be wondering what the hell is going on if there were 5 or 6 thousand people just looking up at them in silence.

At the gig last night, there was one dick who thought it was funny to let out the odd yelp every 10 minutes. But the people who were shushing him ended up making more noise. It's a no win situation.

Fab gig though. Bloody touts! Cost me €100for a ticket. Some big fat c@nt who couldn't even pronounce the name of the band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

If you go to a metal gig, you expect people to be screaming thier head off, fair enough, im not gonna turn around in a slayer gig and say "god, would be quiet ffs, im trying to watch slayer??". But if youve actually heard a sigur ros album, you know its mostly quiet, sudbued, tender music that you dont sit there waffling your hole off through. If you go to a gig by them and sit there yapping, expect people to shush you, and with good cause. I felt like belting some of the people talking at that gig tonight tbh, they were ignorant ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Some big fat c@nt who couldn't even pronounce the name of the band.

What did he call them? :confused:

Have to agree with the OP tho. If you're at a live gig you're in no position to tell people to 'schush' even if it's interferining on your aural experience.

If you want deathly silence at a public event then go to a ManU match at OldTrafford or an Ireland soccer international at Lansdowne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Shhhushhing is a bit mammyish i have to say. telling them to shut the f*ck up is much more effective. Im sorry but i cant stand people who talk loudly at gigs. or idiots who ring their friends and say "YEAH IM AT THE DAMIEN RICE GIG! WHAT?"
    same goes for......
    Yelpers
    "WE love you (insert name here)"
    any kind of attention seeker really.
    complete strangers who support themselves on my shoulders as they mosh. It is a concert, not leap frog, leave me the f*ck alone.
    I know its a free country...but i still think we should be aloowed beat the crap out of annoying punters. just to channel all that rage rather than let it build up as an ugly tumour.

Pigman II wrote:
    If you're at a live gig you're in no position to tell people to 'schush' even if it's interferining on your aural experience.

how do you figure that? You are in a perfect position to tell them.

obviously its horses for courses. as others have said. you dont expect silence at a Metal gig.

Likewise you dont expect people to be yapping away at quieter shows.

why bother going if all you want to do is talk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

If you want silence, hire the band privately?
    How about if you want to talk then don't go to the gig?

Seriously, you paid the same amount as eveyone else to be there. Why would you want to miss the gig by talking the whole time?

What annoys me more are people who ignore the support act and talk loudly over them while up at the very front saving their spot for when the main band come on. Who they'll probably talk during aswell.

And what about the bands? Imagine coming over here to play in front of a Yappers convention. It'd have to p them off.

Did any of you go to the Mark Kozelic gig in Whelans a while back.

some spaz shouted out. "Hey Mork, If you mayke a mistayke, play it twace and peeple wull think its jazz".

No one laughed and Kozelic paid out on him for the rest of the night. It was class. Shut the idiot up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

The fact is sigur ros has a lot of orchestral work in it. You wouldnt scream and shout at an orchestra either. Yell all you like between songs but not during.

I thought it was amazing at the pause in the song that the above poster mentioned that practically everyone coped on what was happening, didnt think it was the end of the song and just held their breath except for that one F***ing idiot.

If you're so Idiotic that you cant cop the band is using silence then you probably do need to be told to shut the F*** up via shushing or a quick twist of the neck. Sadly the latter is illegal.

Its not the first gig I've been at with shushers (that would have been Slint(and if you thought the sigur ros crowd were strange then the Slint crowd were just plain weird)) so it didnt bother me much and I still enjoyed the best concert ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I thought the shushing was excessive but I also thought the people shouting "JERRY! JERRY! OVER HERE MATE! HOW ARE YOU? GOOD, GOOD? WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THIS MALARKY? YEAH IT'S ALL RIGHT? WHAT? YEAH!" were in desperate needs of sterilisation. If you don't know how to act at a gig then don't go. Sigur Rós are the kind of band that play opera theatres and concert halls, if you tried that at one of those venues you'd be asked to leave. Tickets aren't cheap so if you disrupt the show for everyone then you are a class A ****. For christ's sake there's more silence during the ads at the cinema then during the support act last night. They were great and most of the crowd were into them apart from the few dicks.

The last two times I've seen Sigur Rós you could hear a pin drop. It's not just respect for the audience members but respect for the artist to behave appropriately.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Toast wrote:
    The fact is sigur ros has a lot of orchestral work in it. You wouldnt scream and shout at an orchestra either. Yell all you like between songs but not during.

I dont really like sigur ros and i wasnt there but it sounds like they werent very loud tho if ppl were asking others to "sshhhhhhh"??

I get worried if i go to a concert and ya have to tell someone to be quiet so u can enjoy the music. Look at christy moore, thats just a dude n a guitar, never been at one of his gigs where u had to tell someone to shut up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

If you want to talk at Sigur Ros, I want to poke you in the eye.

Free country and all that...

I was in the pit and have to say the crowd around me were reverant throughout.

faceman wrote:
    I dont really like sigur ros and i wasnt there but it sounds like they werent very loud tho if ppl were asking others to "sshhhhhhh"??

I get worried if i go to a concert and ya have to tell someone to be quiet so u can enjoy the music. Look at christy moore, thats just a dude n a guitar, never been at one of his gigs where u had to tell someone to shut up!

They were as loud as they needed to be. They have moments of silence and quieter sounds which makes up the songs. If they turned everything up to 11 the song would be destroyed.

As for Christy Moore, no one talks at his shows because if they do, he's the one who tells them in no uncertain terms to shut the **** up. He's famous for hating mindless chatter disrupting a gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭jmc

Have to agree with John2. They were definitely loud enough. Fannnntastic gig! Saw them at the TBMC, Temple Theatre, and The Ambassador before and I think this was probably the best overall show of the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

Smurfpiss wrote:
    Im sorry but i cant stand people who talk loudly at gigs. or idiots who ring their friends and say "YEAH IM AT THE DAMIEN RICE GIG! WHAT?"

Oh god! You've just reminded me of something I experienced a while back....

I was at a very small, intimate gig when the girl beside me decides to ring her friend and tell her all about it. Unfortunately for her (and all around her), the conversation consisted of "HELLO? WHERE ARE YOU? HELLO? CAN YOU HEAR ME? I CAN'T HEAR YOU! HELLO? WHERE ARE YOU? HELLO?"

A little distracting, I think you'll agree. Shushing wouldn't have been enough in her case; something along the lines of scalding would have been more appropriate! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

If you want absolute silence when watching a band play (like Sigur Ros tonight)...

...HIRE OUT THE BAND YOURSELF AND HAVE THEM PLAY IN YOUR LIVING ROOM AND STOP SHUSSHING TO EVERYBODY ELSE

ITS A FREE ****ING COUNTRY

/end rant

sorry, first rant on boards.ie methinks. Im also locked right now

Fair play to them. I am tired of going to gigs where you have two people having a full blown conversation in front (usually facing away from the stage) and taking calls on their mobiles. It's almost as if the gig is some sort of back ground music to their consumption of alcohol and irrelevant chit-chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

I don't personally shush.. but I do agree with it..

when it's a small venue and the song is mellow or low-volume.. some people actually want to listen, it's exactly like being at a cinema, you go to view and hear something and get annoyed when people start chatting loudly as if they were the only ones in the room.. it disrupts the experience imo

If the gig/song is loud and energetic, fine, but when the music gets quieter, it isn't an intermission so you can get a chance to chat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Even in cinemas ...I have heard people take calls on their mobile. So you forget to turn it off ... it happens ... but you don't have to answer it. Just hit end and turn it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

or leave.
    It would give the bouncers something to do at the quieter gigs if they could kick those yobs out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭penguincakes

And surely if it's a free country they're free to tell you to shut the **** up if they want to enjoy their quiet gig without some loud bastard shouting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Shushing is a real tricky one.

If people are being way too loud then I think it's out of order - especially at a gig like Sigur Ros. At the last Smog gig in the Roisin Dubh people could chat away quietly and it was grand - however on the last, really quiet, song there were two knobs at the bar talking really loudly and it ruined the atmosphere for everyone in there. In small venues you have to keep your voice very low if you want to communicate during quiet songs, it's just good ****ing manners.

However having said that at a Jape gig a few months back people were shushing excessively during songs that were pretty loud and didn't need complete silence. I got really pissed off the people shushing because they were being more of a distraction than anyone talking. When a band are rocking out (to use the parlance of our times) it doesn't matter if there's a bit of conversation going on.

It's a bit of give and take I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

I've never understood why people go to gigs to talk. If you're just going to catch up with mates over a pint, you should do it in a pub, where you don't have to pay €25+ to get in. If you're there to watch the band, then WATCH THE BAND!

Perfect example of this sh*t was the Frames on Thursday. Damien Rice played a surprise support set. There were 3 birds standing behind me, and they screamed their heads off when they realised who he was....which of itself is fair enough. They then proceeded to spend his entire set ringing various people, going "Oh my God, Damien Rice is on stage....Oh my God, so is Lisa Hannigan....Oh my God, he's playing Blower's Daughter..."

If you're that excited, why not (shock, horror!) actually watch him play?

It's just pure f*cking disrespectful.

There were 3 birds standing behind me, and they screamed their heads off when they realised who he was....which of itself is fair enough. They then proceeded to spend his entire set ringing various people, going "Oh my God, Damien Rice is on stage....Oh my God, so is Lisa Hannigan....Oh my God, he's playing Blower's Daughter..."

[Going off-topic]
    Anyone who gets that excited over Damien Rice should be neutered and/or be sterilised. Just my opinion. (But you know it's right)
    [back on topic again]

I just got a mental image of this grumpy Irish dude standing at the front of a Beatle's concert and turning around going 'sssssshhhhhhh' really loudly at all the screaming girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

I hate people who talk during a concert which demands silence. Example: I saw Preston Reed (guitarist) in a small pub in Galway recently and there were all these stupid louts having full on conversations during the gig. I think that apart fromm anyhing else it smacks of disrespect for the artist. I wanted to smash heads against walls. Luckily, the rest of the crowd wanted silence and there was widespread shushing!

To the OP: You are a bad person

[Going off-topic]
    Anyone who gets that excited over Damien Rice should be neutered and/or be sterilised. Just my opinion. (But you know it's right)
    [back on topic again]

No actually it's people with attitudes like that, that need to be "neutered and/or be sterilised". Who are you to say which artists it's (not) ok to get excited over? For example, I can't stand the Arcade Fire, but I've never given anybody grief over liking them (which obviously a lot of people do). Just an opinion...but you know it's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭ergo

I too am not a shusher but I agree with the sentiment behind it but sometimes it's overdone and just one loud "shhhhh" or one loud "shut the **** up" might be better at doing the trick

talkers particularly drive me nuts obviously when it's a quiet artist but soemtimes eg. on Friday nights in Dublin eg in Whelan's then you never have a chance of getting a quiet crowd, everyone's on the beer and that's that

I saw Glen from the Frames playing a so-called secret gig under a different name which was mailing list/ fan only type thing in Whelans back in May and the noise was unbelievable, and this was a "secret " gig presumably for the more hard core fans...

to hear the racket coming from the bar and to think that all these people had paid in for this gig, actually makes me wonder how many people are getting in for nothing to these things, but you'd imagine those on the guest lists wouldn't be the talker types

seated gigs mid-week in Vicar St; these are the only ones around where it's guaranteed silence and respect in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

well it depends on the gig aswell guys, I've been to a heavy gig and some kinda quiter gigs and then there's the crappy town ones where you just shout a conversation through it anyway. At maiden you had people screaming during the music but they were either screaming the lyrics or jsut screaming for the band and at the quiter ones, people do irritate me sometimes, it's unfair to the band too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

No actually it's people with attitudes like that, that need to be "neutered and/or be sterilised". Who are you to say which artists it's (not) ok to get excited over? For example, I can't stand the Arcade Fire, but I've never given anybody grief over liking them (which obviously a lot of people do). Just an opinion...but you know it's right.

Look, he was merely pointing out that Damien Rice is crap:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,975 ✭✭✭✭28064212

ergo wrote:
    seated gigs mid-week in Vicar St; these are the only ones around where it's guaranteed silence and respect in my opinion
    Definitely. Went to see Josh Ritter there, absolutely fantastic, and everyone was there to appreciate his music. Vicar Street's a great venue, the bar(s) is(are) completely separate, if you want to have a drink and a chat you can do it without upsetting anyone else. Everywhere else, the bar is either in the venue (the Ambassador, Whelan's), or it's somewhere where there's nowhere to sit, you basically have to go back to the main venue (the Point, the Olympia to an extent)

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

To the OP: You are a bad person

im neither a talker or shussher. I just think that people who shushh are louder than the actual talker, and therefore more annoying at a gig.

I simple "shut the **** up you ignorant ****s, if you wanna talk go ouside" should suffice... its not school anymore:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

I play and go to a lot of gigs around dublin and it is my understanding that if the artist is good enough and interesting enough to hold the attention of the crowd for the whole set then they wont have this problem of talkng,shushing etc... I myself have played gigs where there are people talkng the whole way through our set, so what can you do? I think from this point of view it's the responsibility of the band to interact with the crowd and put on a good show and floor the audience with a great performance, Some nights a band can do it and other nights they can't and that's the difference between pro's and amateurs. I'd like to point out to any frames fans that this isnt the first time Glen Hansard has had problems with the crowd talking throughout a gig,My friend was at a frames gig in vicar st a few years ago were hansard told the crowd if they came to have a chat they could step outside, on the flipside i have been at reasonably quiet acoustic gigs such as Bob Dylan, Rod y Gab, Tommy Emanuel, Tom Bresh and you could hear a pin drop in what were all fairly big venues, but then again these acts all have big loyal followings. I suppose the challenge as a young/upcoming musician is to capture the crowd and make the morons who usually talk stop talking, face forward and listen to you and at the end of the gig they'll run up and shake your hand and buy your demo

I simple "shut the **** up you ignorant ****s, if you wanna talk go ouside" should suffice... its not school anymore:rolleyes:

Well if youve ever been (or ever go in future) to a gig where people are talking and you hear someone yell out "SHUT THE FAR CUP YOU FAR KEN W@ NK€R"

well that'd be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

Maccattack wrote:
    Well if youve ever been (or ever go in future) to a gig where people are talking and you hear someone yell out "SHUT THE FAR CUP YOU FAR KEN W@ NK€R"

well that'd be me.

cool...i'll sshussh to ya next time:D

Are you the same Maccattack from drummingireland.com?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Anto and Moe

I'm not a fan of the shusher. What about a similer problem: ever been at a gig like Metalica or Maiden or somesuch and a pit starts and next thing people, around the edge start giving you dirty looks?! That sort of concert is designed for mosh pits, not standing around looking angry at people.

[going off-topic again]
    Man oh man, it's always the people with bad taste in music who have no sense of humour isn't it?

They're also the easiest to bait.
    [back on topic again]

Nothing to say really - you're damned if you shush, and you're damned if you don't (shush, that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Metal gig: good luck in talking. At all.

"Quite" gig: who ever intoduces the band should ask the audience to "hush". When I say a "quite" gig, I mean a few local bands getting together (such as the "Open Zone" in Leixlip), and doing their thing. A quick "shush" at the start, and it ok.

IMO, if ye gotta talk, do so quitely. Its like talking loudly in a cinema. Only the think ignorant scumbags do it (oh, and you become a scumbag if you do it:p).

I play and go to a lot of gigs around dublin and it is my understanding that if the artist is good enough and interesting enough to hold the attention of the crowd for the whole set then they wont have this problem of talkng,shushing etc...

That's all well and good if you assume that the entire audience actually cares about music. Bands that are just breaking out into the big league attract a lot of people who just go to the gigs to say they were there. Sigur Rós was a prime example of that. The music is good enough and interesting enough to hold people's attention, it has been the previous five times they've played here and was this time. Only this time there were a load of knob ends who probably only went because they heard Chris Martin likes them.

[going off-topic again]
    Man oh man, it's always the people with bad taste in music who have no sense of humour isn't it?

They're also the easiest to bait.
    [back on topic again]

Meh it just pisses me off when people incessantly drop jabs (I'll ignore the "bad taste in music" insult this time :p) @ musicians (or even people in general) with no purpose except to put them down, regardless of whether they "deserve it".

Damien Rice rocks! :D