Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Threads knocking Irish women....

• 25-01-2006 04:59PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭

I used to come on boards.ie every day, I used to love just reading through all the threads it just kept entertained while I was working!! These days however I don't log on to boards.ie because every time I do I see a new thread about Irish women!!!!! It's really annoying and personally I do get offended by some of the things that are being said on afterhours!!

I know it's a free country and people are allowed to give their opinions and say what they think but it kind of scares me to think that so many Irish men have such a low opinion of Irish women...

Does anyone else feel the same or is it just me being my sensitive old self?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I agree but you have to take it with a pinch of salt! I'm drained from the other two threads so wont take up your time in this one x x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I'm surprised there weren't a lot more of them a lot sooner, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

Yep... well after I pressed submit post I kinda changed my mind!! I'm not in the mood for being attacked by Irish women haters!!!! haha

I'm surprised there weren't a lot more of them a lot sooner, tbh.

Why so??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

i feel the same... i mean its an IRISH site, do the people not realise that its not v wise to post things about how badly dressed, money grabbing or fat irish women are on a thread that will probably have 100's of irish women on it?? I mean who really gives a sh1te if an irish women wears a tracksuit, whats so bad about tracksuits?? it doesnt mean that you care about your apperance any less or that you just couldnt be bothered making the effort, I for one like tracksuits & have my very own (boys) Carabini hoodie & (boys) nike tracksuit bottoms which i like to wear as they are more comfy to wear all day than jeans!,

The worst thing about it is that hardly any of it is true!!

~PlayGirl :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭g-punkteffekt

PlayGirl wrote:
    I for one like tracksuits & have my very own (boys) Carabini hoodie & (boys) nike tracksuit bottoms which i like to wear as they are more comfy to wear all day than jeans

how classy... knacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Why so??
    Cos since I was a teenager women have been trying to suss out how rich my parents are whenever they meet me first. Its very odd.

Can't we men have our chance to moan about this stuff? Queue feminist rant from somewhere.

Besides, women are from ivenus and men are from boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

how classy... knacker
    Did the name not give that away??

how classy... knacker
    how does wearing a tracksuit make me a knacker??

what exactly is the definition of 'knacker'?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 MadamLucy

how classy... knacker

ladies i would try and just ignore it i know i got into a few of the threads today but i really think were wasting our time debating how some mens opinions of Irish women are wrong, there just trying to get a rise out of you so just ignore it! with silly comments like above prove that its just silly boys trying to get attention!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

PlayGirl wrote:
    what exactly is the definition of 'knacker'?? :confused:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Jesus not another thread on the subject!
    For the love of god woman stop. Don't you see you are just adding to it?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

PlayGirl wrote:
    how does wearing a tracksuit make me a knacker??

The traxsuit doesn't make u a knackbag! :)

The caravan and gold teeth make u one! :p

only messin! ;)

how classy... knacker

Oh and you're so classy then?? :rolleyes:

If anyone was reading the afterhours section of boards.ie they would probably think that Irish men have class looks and style and Irish women are tubs of lard!! Is it that these men are angry at Irish women for turning them down so many times... I don't know!! What I do know is that I know loads of irish women who are gorgeous, funny, intelligent... none of them are anymore materialistic than any other nationality!!!!

AlienGav wrote:
    The traxsuit doesn't make u a knackbag! :)

The caravan and gold teeth make u one! :p

only messin! ;)
    ye beta b jokin r i'l box ye, righ?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

Anything u say!! Boss... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Derail the threads by clever use of lollers and other such weapons. :v:

If anyone was reading the afterhours section of boards.ie they would probably think that Irish men have class looks and style and Irish women are tubs of lard!! Is it that these men are angry at Irish women for turning them down so many times... I don't know!! What I do know is that I know loads of irish women who are gorgeous, funny, intelligent... none of them are anymore materialistic than any other nationality!!!!
    i'm not snobby & i'm not knackerish, i live in a house in a nice small town up in donegal... if that makes me a knacker thats your opinion!! :p

*I am however one of those gorgeous, funny, intelligent irish women of which you speak! lol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Honestly, if threads on AH are effecting your self esteem then you might want to take stock of yourself and think about why it is doing so.

AH is not an accurate cross-section of Irish male opinion tbh.

... I don't know!! What I do know is that I know loads of irish women who are gorgeous, funny, intelligent... none of them are anymore materialistic than any other nationality!!!!
    Yes, all Irish women are great! Yea for Irish women!!! Boo to Irish men. Ungrate full swine. Booo.

I swear to god, shouldn't you people be doing your homework or something?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

zomgs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

PlayGirl wrote:
    v wise to post things about how badly dressed, money grabbing or fat irish women are on a thread that will probably have 100's of irish women on it??
    Perhaps you could look on it the correct way, and then do something about it.
    Zulu wrote:
    Coming up later on The View...

simu wrote:
    Derail the threads by clever use of lollers and other such weapons. :v:
    YAY another great idea by an Irish woman!!!

:o

:p

(simu, wheither you are or aren't, you're an irish woman now!)

^^^

Wow! That's the coolest thing ever!

Zulu wrote:

(simu, wheither you are or aren't, you're an irish woman now!)

Yezz - you will send an Irrish passporrt forr me and my seven wives at once.

With classics like the above, I can only say:

Best. thread. Ever.

Zulu wrote:

How would I be adding to it by bringing it up?? I'm really serious about it... some people are insecure anyway and hearing people going on about how ugly irish women are would make the most confident girl shudder!!!!

Serious though shouldn't irish people just be irish people without dividing us up by gender???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 mr panko

I wouldent take it personally ladies, after all it's just a bunch of bitter, sexually frustrated fellas who can't get laid complaining about you, and the reason they like Eastern European girls so much is because they are ussualy the ones who offer there bodys without much fuss.................. for a price (controvesial)

If all the men on here were as trendy and outright buzztastic as me, then they would be singing your praises. But unfortunately god decided not to give rock and roll to the souls of my newly founded fellow male boards.ie compatriots

Tis all the fault of the constitution.

simu wrote:
    Yezz - you will send an Irrish passporrt forr me and my seven wives at once.
    Can't you offer me a degree first? or at least some cheap Ciallis?? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

IT's RACIST IS WHAT IT IS!!!!111

simu wrote:
    Tis all the fault of the constitution.
    Leave my constituancy out of this please.

tman wrote:
    IT's RACIST IS WHAT IT IS!!!!111
    Great minds think alike!

http://img146.exs.cx/img146/6238/omfg5bv.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

true true ,i know loads of lesbians too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I used to come on boards.ie every day, I used to love just reading through all the threads it just kept entertained while I was working!! These days however I don't log on to boards.ie because every time I do I see a new thread about Irish women!!!!! It's really annoying and personally I do get offended by some of the things that are being said on afterhours!!

I know it's a free country and people are allowed to give their opinions and say what they think but it kind of scares me to think that so many Irish men have such a low opinion of Irish women...

Does anyone else feel the same or is it just me being my sensitive old self?? :confused:

That is such a typical Irish girl thing to say :v:

Im joking, yes these threads are all moronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,213 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I haven't been on much today - damn work - but I feel like I've come in halfway through a movie now.

For the record I love Irish women :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

mr panko wrote:
    If all the men on here were as trendy and outright buzztastic as me

Buzztastic, I love it :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Damn women, always complaining. They should all be banned.

/me adjusts monocle, swirls brandy and taps cigar

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

you've changed, sico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

Ahhh sure a lot of those threads descend into online [email]****-off.Leav[/email]e them to it I say,they have to get the sexual frustration out somehow.Lollers:v: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

you've changed, sico

Yes, into an exceedingly comfortable velure smoking jacket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054867174&highlight=hairy+toes

Far from the wish to add fuel to this whimpering excuse of a thread, irish lads have been comic relief for quite some time. Even in the dail, privilege is overshadowed by this skewed sense of ethic. Suck it up. Personally I respect Irish womens front when i see them hunting in packs slaughtering the dissolving ego of the irish male species especially since their starkly upstaged in looks statistically by their french,spanish, italian and eastern european, polish counterparts. Alig G is stationed permanently on immigration duty in Dublin Airport.... Fit.. fit.. fit... ...ahh "get back to estonia". Buyacka shak.

keep it real ladies and trim those toes..learn to laugh at yourselves or watch paul mckenna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

People generalise on bulletin boards. I know, I know, it's a shock, but it's true. :p

There are loads of "Irish men/women are ...." posts on boards because large sections of the Irish population are starting to display seriously unpleasant traits. It's not Irish women that the posters hate but the behaviour of some Irish women.

In relation to the 'gold-diggers' accusations it's hardly surprising that Irish women are being accused of such. The people of Ireland as a whole have become more materialistic and with all the media-hype of the Celtic Tiger, we are almost obsessed with money. It is probably a fair generalisation to say that financial security tends to be a more important metric to a woman when sizing up a potential mate (as it would be to say that physical attractiveness is usually a more important metric to a man). Given the increased materialism of our society, the different metrics used by men and women in evaluating potential partners and the male dominance of boards.ie it's hardly surprising that you see 'Irish women are gold-diggers' threads.

My own bug bears would be the acceptability of misandry to the majority of Irish women or the way so many of them behave like dizzy bimbos when they're clearly intelligent but *choosing* to act like a "dumb blonde".

When frippery like "Bridget Jones", "Clueless" or "Sex and the City" is seen as a cultural reference point and their protaganists celebrated by women recognising *elements* of themselves in these caricatures, younger girls begin to look at those protaganists as role-models rather than objects of derisive amusement. (For a male-based version of this, think of the amount of teenage boys that see the likes of David Beckham, Kurt Cobain or Eminem as role-models)

Luckily a lot of Irish women aren't ashamed of their intelligence, consider it absurd to see Sex and the City as a lifestyle-guide rather than a comedy, have enough class to realise it's vulgar to discuss one's sex-toys in a restaurant (without being ashamed of owning them), know that style doesn't require designer labels and are capable of being confident in themselves as a woman without resorting to misandry.

If you recognise yourself in that last paragraph ladies, you can sleep soundly knowing that you're probably not one of the women being referenced in the "Irish women are..." threads, unless the last word is 'great' of course ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

If it's any consolation, only after I left Ireland did I realise how hot most irish women are. I love you all! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Far away hills are greener perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

nesf wrote:
    Honestly, if threads on AH are effecting your self esteem then you might want to take stock of yourself and think about why it is doing so.

AH is not an accurate cross-section of Irish male opinion tbh.

Yeah I agree, OP is too sensitive to react in such a way to posts.

You also have to look at the demographics of boards users. Many are socially inept, immature teenagers who have trouble relating to women (or anyone) in real life.

The interesting thing about the threads is that they mirror a clear and growing view within young Irish society. When you think about it, there are many factors involved. Namely that the roles of the sexes have shifted, and in many cases in my experiences these roles being clearly defined resulted in more contentment in relationships. From a male perspective, a man *generally* doesn't feel comfortable with the idea of child rearing while a woman works and takes his role (he feels emascualated), but it happens more and more in today's ****ed up society. Likewise I know of many career girls who are forever hopelessly unhappy because they have not been able to carry out their biological role and have children.

The shift began to happen in the late eighties and 90's, and women campaigned strongly for such equalities, men took it. Now men are getting pissed off with the whole thing, and seem less enthusiastic about relationships.

You may call me a misogynist, but in fact I appreciate women, and their differences to men - but I accept that there are different. We cannot undo the millions of years of evolution which our biology has geared us towards. Women are geared towards the social and family role, and always have been, because women carry and give birth to the infants.

My preference is for a woman who is a woman, thinks like a woman, keeps herself looking well, looks after the house, is caring, loving and family oriented. These are female traits. I don't think I'm sexist by wanting this, but many females will brand me such. I want to be with a woman, not a ladette who drinks as much as the lads, dresses like a lad, acts like a lad and is lazily watching Oprah all day while the house falls down around her etc. etc. Am I unreasonable in this? For my part, I see myself as the provider and leader of the family unit - and bear the lifetime stress that goes with this.

I also think if a woman reverts back to this role, that they themselves will be happier and the family will be happier and more grounded. If you want a solid marriage/relationship girls, then if you follow these guidelines you will generally have one - although there are always exceptions to the individual and to the relationship.

Women have changed, and we let them - with immigration we are no longer forced to accept this change in roles, and can see that there are 'better' women out there than your typical Irish lazy, alcoholic, hard bitch, ladette.

Kernel wrote:
    Women are geared towards the social and family role, and always have been, because women carry and give birth to the infants.

What bs - once the kid is born, a man can do any of that stuff just as well. :rolleyes:

But the thread isn't about knocking up Irish women anyway...