Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funniest/Most hardcore Gym moment.

• 02-03-2006 09:04AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

i decided i would do this thread after last nights back workout as it was very, very funny ( also painful and scary but hey, we'll get to that! ) Okay then, my and my training buddy were hitting back, went through chins , pull downs, one arm rows, low cable rows and then on to deads. Did 10,8,6,4,2 and were aiming to do some 1RM.

I loaded up the bar with my target weight and set myself into it, feet shoulder width apart, heels down, ass low, head up. A few good deep breaths and i started to pull, the weight comes away from the floor as i straight at the knees and waist just a tad. I'm about three quarters of the way through the pull when i open my mouth to take in as much air as i can ( mistake ).......... now then, first of all let me tell you that i have a "double jointed" jaw, i can pop that bad boy out of place on both sides if i'm not careful sometimes........ and guess what.......what my jaw pops out. There i am, my mouth is gapping open, i'm in agony, literally can't see myself in the mirror i only know that i'm about 85% of the way through the pull on my 1RM.

So, i finish the pull, still in f*cking agony, lower the bar and weight for it to touch the ground. Remember i still can't see sh*t because of the pain shooting up my face. I grab my jaw and force that sucker back in, neatly causing myself more pain and then i go and have a sit down on a bench holding my poor face.

All this time my training buddy had been wondering what the hell was going on and only reaslised the fact AFTER i got my jaw re-aligned.

Lesson learned.....never.....EVER breath through my mouth again on a 1RM deadlift. :eek: :D

So come on then, lets be hearing your stories!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I was training with alicat, who's quite small but extremely strong, last time she was over from the states and i was teaching her how to deadlift so we were using a 30kg BB and two of the big bodybuilders cut in and are giving out that she was using too much weight. Same time next week shes doing 75kg for 8 with perfect form. The look on their faces was priceless

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

some new bloke wandered into t he gym a little while back and spent about an hour throwing shapes in front of the mirror.Then for some reason he puts a 25 kg plate each side of the olympic bar,hoists it up and sits down on a bench with it.I think he managed two reps before the bar started to slide leftwards and he lets out a strangled "somebody get this off me!".Never saw him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

In my old gym there was a frequent guy in the gym, he was small and quite skinny but a determined chap. He would always try and lift as much as he possibly could around the same amount as strong guys in the gym. He wouldnt be able to lift and plates off the rack,ground or machine and his face looked like it was going to explode he was struggling so much. he would drop the weight and try again ina few minutes. he did this for all machines for weeks on end, i actually said to him " mate you should try lowering the weight? " the chap gave me a look as if i lost my marbles, i just left him to it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

I was doing face pulls on a lat pulldown machine a while ago, and since there is nothing to lodge myself into to hold steady while I do them, I have to lean back about 30 degrees to take the strain. That's all well and good except one day, I mustn't have pinned my plates properly - the pin popped out, the plates slid down suddendly, and t-ha landed his ass on the floor.

A few quick scowls later and everyone stopped laughing.

I think I'm going to have to retell this to my therapist in later life. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

t-ha wrote:
    and t-ha landed his ass on the floor.

Dude, thats just funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

a guy in world gym, doing atg squats, right at the bottom, he lets out a huuuge fart, not phased in the slightest he keeps going looking really determined, meanwhile his spotter is on the ground in fits of laughter, which started the rest of us off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Was in my local gym(about 4 years ago), there was a guy doing shoulder press with a barbell real close to the mirrors. Thing is the equipment was ****. He only had 10kg on either side. He finished up, went to change the plate on the outside first and the other side just dropped and swung up & around - smashing a ceiling to floor height mirror - I couldn't keep the laughter in. the dude just stood there like :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Was in my local gym(about 4 years ago), there was a guy doing shoulder press with a barbell real close to the mirrors. Thing is the equipment was ****. He only had 10kg on either side. He finished up, went to change the plate on the outside first and the other side just dropped and swung up & around - smashing a ceiling to floor height mirror - I couldn't keep the laughter in. the dude just stood there like :eek:

haha i found that funny and the story about the guy farting doing squats atg! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

tribulus wrote:
    a guy in world gym, doing atg squats, right at the bottom, he lets out a huuuge fart, not phased in the slightest he keeps going looking really determined, meanwhile his spotter is on the ground in fits of laughter, which started the rest of us off :D

LOL! Very good! People in the office think I'm loosing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Was in an angry mood, headed off to the gym with a mate. We were really competitive at everything. So first we went to the bikes and decided a race was in order. So we set it to a couple of miles or whatever with a gradual incline (Cant remeber exactly was a few years ago) and we layed into to it. The machines started beeping non-stop but we kept going. We finished(with him just ahead of me!) just as an instructor was coming over to tell us to get the **** off his machines. We decided rowing was next, with the same deal, couple of miles or whatever, only they were really old machines, with no electronics at all, no way of measuring how far or fast you're going. We decided whoever looked like they were winning after 8 minutes was the winner. So again we layed into it. This time no ****ing beeping thank ****. So there we were, lunatics sliding forward and back, sweat pumping out all over the shop, insane laughter started to emerge from both of us as we went all out, and then it happened. It must have been a combination of the machine being old and ****, my hands and arse being covered in sweat and the reckless speed at which i was rowing, but the slide didnt move as i went to pull back. I went flying backwards in ****ing slow motion and smashed down onto the metal bar the slide was attached to. Those of you that know these old machines, that look like they have a fan attached to them at the front, know how solid and how "cornery" the bar is. I flew back and belted the centre of my arse, right above my hole off the yoke. Cracked my ****ing tail-bone. The insane laughter at this point had built up to something psychotic and although the pain i was in was immense, i couldnt help but roar laughging along with my mate. Needless to say, i ****ing won. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭padraigcarroll

this isn't my story, but it happened to my best mate! (I swear!)

we were in the gym and had been benching and doing biceps, he moved on to abs, did the usual and then got a guy to do some leg push backs with him.
    so hes lying down on the ground looking upwards, his arms/shoulderpits wrapped around the guys ankles, legs in the air being thrown forward and side to side. He's breathing fairly heavily at this stage through his open mouth, when he realises this guy, who is wearing shorts, happens not to be wearing any boxers or whatnot underneath.

He then, through no fault of his own, catches a glimpse of this guys nuts up his shortleg, which has a glistening bead of sweat hanging from the end of one of 'em........which then of course in a split second falls from the guys package, straight down into my mate's open mouth!!!!!

poor fecker almost choked to death and was out in the jacks for a good while washing his mouth out!
    Man we laughed so much, just couldn't continue with the workout!
    funniest thing I have seen happen to anyone, ever!

which then of course in a split second falls from the guys package, straight down into my mate's open mouth!!!!!!

Dear God thats f*cking horrific bro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Has to be the bubble shorts for me

Working in a gym there was a guy i called dracula (pasty, tall, black hair and always depressed looking). When he worked out he sweated like a pig. So up he jumps on the treadmill, incline 7-10, fast walking, arms pumping like pistons, sweat band on and shorts straight out of the 60's.

Half hour later i see FOAM forming on his ass!!!! I kid you not. Now i am no expert on washing your shorts expertly but i am guessing there was excess in his pants and with all the activity it turned it into a washing machine!!! I couldn't help myself from laughing and how was i to approach him about it - "Sorry sir you have foam coming out of your ass!"

So off he jumped and oblivious to his fluffy butt went on his way around the gym to display the effects of his intense workout. Absolute gold and could never look at him again in the same way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I cant think of any that funny, some of the above were hilarious!

The only one that springs to mind was recently I was doing tricep pull downs with a flat bar. I bent down to tie my shoe lace, when I raised my head back up I smacked my head off the bar which rang out like a church bell much to the amusement of everyone standing around.

You know that cracking pain when you walk into something or bang your head off a table? Well trying to hide that pain and smile at people is one of the hardest things you can do. Tears streaming out of your eyes etc...

The only other one I can think of was where someone called me as I was doing a sprint on a treadmill. I turned my head and my body followed. A comical act of me trying to regain my balence ensued. My body turned sideways and my feet hit the treadmill twice as I turned so I was in the running backwords position, which threw my feet forward and my head back. My feet hit the ground but my centre of balance was somewhere on holidays. Like a plastic bag in the wind I fell into machines and people before coming to rest still on my feet.

There was a small applause and allot of laughter. I felt like Carlton from the fresh prince of Bel Air.

joejoem wrote:
    The only other one I can think of was where someone called me as I was doing a sprint on a treadmill. I turned my head and my body followed. A comical act of me trying to regain my balence ensued. My body turned sideways and my feet hit the treadmill twice as I turned so I was in the running backwords position, which threw my feet forward and my head back. My feet hit the ground but my centre of balance was somewhere on holidays. Like a plastic bag in the wind I fell into machines and people before coming to rest still on my feet.

There was a small applause and allot of laughter. I felt like Carlton from the fresh prince of Bel Air.
    If this is the incident I'm thinking of, then I should point out that rather than someone calling him, our dear joejoem was just checking out a cute girl walking by.

Sorry dude - but you have to admit it makes it funnier (for everyone else). ;)

To be honest i thought so, you move your head and inch if someone calls your, but you'll follow a tight ass for 360 degrees! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Dragan wrote:
    To be honest i thought so, you move your head and inch if someone calls your, but you'll follow a tight ass for 360 degrees! :D
    I'm not even going to bother being offended. We totally know its true and defy any woman to say she doesn't enjoy the attention.. darn it, we work hard on making our asses look this good, its nice to get some recognition for it ;)

Add to that the fact the chicks are nearly worse offenders when it comes to eyeing up the pretty boys in the gym!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Dragan wrote:
    Add to that the fact the chicks are nearly worse offenders when it comes to eyeing up the pretty boys in the gym!!! :D
    I have no idea what you're talking about.. :o

Dragan wrote:
    True true, but at least they do it without twisting their whole head around.

Ahh hunter vision, blessing or curse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

t-ha wrote:
    If this is the incident I'm thinking of, then I should point out that rather than someone calling him, our dear joejoem was just checking out a cute girl walking by.

Sorry dude - but you have to admit it makes it funnier (for everyone else). ;)

I forgot you were here...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

I was resting between reps in the weights room in the gym.. Some poser came in and I was watching him in the mirror.. He was some scrawny bloke, wearing one of those tight rugby tops, and nothing over it.. Thinks he's the man.. So he does a little stretch, gets onto the machine (it's for your biceps, it has an arm rest, and you add your weight onto a free bar.. don't know the name of it) and goes to start his first rep.. Of course, he never thought of putting the clips on the end of the bar, so one end slides down, the weights come off, and the other end is flung across the weights room! Followed by him falling to the floor.. A couple of us just burst out laughing at him! We were going for about 10 minutes.. He's since cut out a lot of his posing! Couldn't happen to a more deserving person..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 jax frost

This isn't strictly a gym story but when I started Akido, the class was lined up at the edge of a really long mat and I was the last one to join the line (being new) but I tripped and amazingly fell flat on my face in front of the whole class. Somehow, I didn't break my fall with my hands and I bounced on my rather ample chest when I fell. Mortified! What a spa.

Never went back... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

g'em wrote:
    I have no idea what you're talking about.. :o

.....right...we believe you.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

t-ha wrote:

Yep, I saw this same event, genders reversed, there was a girl doing a fair ol' speed on the treadmill, and was checking out this guy getting up from a rowing machine. The machines are tightly packed, so to get out of the cardio area, you have to walk between the rowers/bikes and the treadmills. The guy is heading for the water machine, the girl training her eyes on him. But as he walks in front of her, she must have forgotten she wasn't running down a path somewhere, so she swerves to avoid him! Of course, she goes flying off the treadmill and crumples into a heap, Bridget Jones would have been proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

only funny one i remember it this guy who looked absolutely huge(and loved to brag and shows it in front of everyones faces evan do he cudnt lift more then like 90 i hated him! ha hated me cos i cud lift as much!) was on the bench and a fairly small girl gont on the one next to her and she asked him to spot(i was watching cos i was amazed at the plates she was putting on...and she was hot) the guy started laughing when he saw she was putting up the same weight as him(about 90)...girl notices this and adds on an extra 10kg...needless to saw she threw out her reps with ease...the guys dosent even look at anyone anymore...but ill tell you that girl must of been some sprt of freak or i dunno what...she was tiny arms not even particullary defined...was a weird sight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

I was in a Kung Fu school where sit ups were done to a ridiculous rate. Usually 150 - 200 at the end of training.

Anyway one saturday evening we were going well and we decided to beat the school record which was 400. So we're going fine, after about 200 the sweat was flowing. We were on one of those lamanated wooden floors with nothing under our collective ass.

Doing the sit ups meant rubbing your arse continuously against your pants and the floor. We eventually got up to 600. I think only our teacher did them all.

After training i went home and had a shower. I nearly fell out of the bath into the toilet when the water hit the crack of my arse. I had a sort of blister that was huge and red. The next time in training eveyone was saying the same thing happened to them. None of us were able to sit for 3 or 4 days. School was a nightmare!