Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheelocks attacked by Gards last night

• 19-05-2006 12:29AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

did you hear about this

Terences brother was delievering leafets about a protest outside store st gardai station when a cop started to hassle him, as usual, the gardai grabbed the leaflets and tried to arrest him for nothing, and when his other brother comes out for the leaflets, loads of other the gardai crashed there way into their house and started attacking his family, his parents and his pregnant sister!

The whole neighbourhood saw them surround the house for half the night, the same gardai from store street, who can't put together what happened to their family member after he was arrested last year.

there not going to let the police get away with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Whos Terence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Scumbag that died whilst in custody...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hmm, sounds like the Garda actually got off their asses for once. Fancy that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

what is this tripe about?

Terence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Its about Terences brother, durrrhh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

rb_ie wrote:
    Terence

ohhh! Terence, i seeeeeeeee.
    eh, what?

Ruu wrote:
    Its about Terences brother, durrrhh :)
    Or is it!? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Terence Wheelock, a 20 year old young man from north inner city Dublin, died on the 16th September whilst in Garda custody. Terence was arrested with three others on suspicion of stealing a car and taken to Store St Garda station. Two hours later he was found unconscious in his cell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

well put it this way if people were gonna protest outside your workplace about how badly a job u are doing and u had the power to stop it u would so thats it.

I was told that terence was banging his head off the wall coz he was on drugs!Sounded like a proper tit!

How do you pronounce your username?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

All you smartarses better hope that mosuepad never finds out your real identities. It's easy to be smart on the Internot! :(

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

esel wrote:
    It's easy to be smart on the Internot! :(

And yet...

mosuepad wrote:
    did you hear about this

Terences brother was delievering leafets about a protest outside store st gardai station when a cop started to hassle him, as usual, the gardai grabbed the leaflets and tried to arrest him for nothing, and when his other brother comes out for the leaflets, loads of other the gardai crashed there way into their house and started attacking his family, his parents and his pregnant sister!

The whole neighbourhood saw them surround the house for half the night, the same gardai from store street, who can't put together what happened to their family member after he was arrested last year.

Hmmm did you ever get get past junior cert foundation english?Im going to guess not!Like I said I heard he was banging his head off the wall!Not the guards fault if he wanted to be a moron.

What will the parade achieve?advice on how not to be a nuisance to yourself while locked up for the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Not very related at all, but might lighten the mood a bit!...

http://www.bebo.com/FlashBox.jsp?FlashBoxId=723620354

(Don't complain about it being a bebo link... PLEASE!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

sounds terrible, not yhe incident a 1 post user using boards as an advert i mean ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Not very related at all, but might lighten the mood a bit!...

http://www.bebo.com/FlashBox.jsp?FlashBoxId=723620354

(Don't complain about it being a bebo link... PLEASE!)
    Class LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Karoma wrote:
    Scumbag that died whilst in custody...

Did you ever see a picture of the guy? do you know anything about him? Why is he a scumbag?

This guy was murdered by Guardai.

Hmm, sounds like the Garda actually got off their asses for once. Fancy that?

You think beating people is doing there job ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Ag marbh wrote:
    Did you ever see a picture of the guy? do you know anything about him? Why is he a scumbag?

Accusations of murder are a bit more serious than accusations of being a scumbag. Have there been any charges pressed by the DPP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I don't know the case but I'm fairly certain that nobody should die while in custody, for any reason.

eoin_s wrote:
    Accusations of murder are a bit more serious than accusations of being a scumbag. Have there been any charges pressed by the DPP?

No but it's my opinion he did die due to the way he was treated in custody. The cell he died in suddenly needed rennovations soon after the death destroying potential evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

You heard he was smacking his head off the cell walls? Get more reliable information! what a loada of crap!

Hagar wrote:
    I don't know the case but I'm fairly certain that nobody should die while in custody, for any reason.

What about the suspected gunman who also died in custody recently? Loads of people immediately automatically assumed police brutality - and it turned out that he was very ill from cancer as well as other complications from a recent motorbike crash.
    Ag marbh wrote:
    No but it's my opinion he did die due to the way he was treated in custody. The cell he died in suddenly needed rennovations soon after the death destroying potential evidence.
    Is it your opinion that they had planned to kill him? "Murder" is not an accusation that should be thrown about lightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭cargrouch

http://www.garda.ie/angarda/press/2005/p22jun2005.html
    Arrest and detention of Terence Wheelock at Store Street Garda Station on the 2nd June, 2005.
    The above incident has created a huge amount of media interest and in many cases this coverage is based on versions which are not factually correct.

Terence Wheelock, along with three others, were arrested at 12.10pm on the 2nd June, 2005, for an offence under Section 112, Road Traffic Acts (Unauthorised taking of a vehicle).

The vehicle, which is a disabled driver vehicle, had been stolen sometime earlier in the Donnybrook area. When recovered, some €5,500 of damage had been done to the car, including the destruction of a mechanical lift required for the driver to access the vehicle. The lift was recovered in the home of one of those arrested. The three others involved in this incident were charged with offences relating to the matter, two of whom appeared in Court on the 16th June, 2005. The other person failed to attend and a warrant was issued for his arrest.

Two of those arrested were detained at Mountjoy Garda Station, while Terence and one other were detained at Store Street Garda Station arriving there at 12.20pm. He was placed in a cell at 12.25pm and between that time and 2.40pm he was checked in his cell on five occasions. On each visit all was found to be in order.

At 2.40pm on checking the cell, Terence was not visible through the inspection hatch. The Garda on duty entered the cell and found Terence unconscious and lying against a side wall with a ligature tied around his neck. The ligature was secured to a fixture which is counter sunk into the wall.

With the assistance of other Gardai, Terence was lifted from this position and the ligature removed from around his neck. One officer immediately commenced mouth to mouth resuscitation and others commenced CPR. An ambulance was summoned at 2.44pm and Terence was removed to the Mater Hospital at 2.52pm. by Dublin Fire Brigade.

Some media reports refer to extensive bruising on Terence's body. The Gardai see no reason for this nor were they noticed by the Gardai or DFB personnel who attended the incident.

Gardai cannot access a person's medical records without their express permission or that of their next of kin. This permission has not been forthcoming to date.

The Commissioner has appointed Detective Superintendent Oliver Hanley, Dun Laoghaire Garda Station, to examine the circumstances surrounding this incident and pending the outcome of his enquiries, it would be unwise for An Garda Siochana to comment further in the matter.

KEVIN DONOHOE
    SUPERINTENDENT
    GARDA PRESS & PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER

Stole a disabled drivers car. Accusation of scumbag justified IMO. The fact that he was a scumbag and his joyriding friends are scumbags will tend to make it difficult for people to believe a story that Gardai faked his suicide.

eoin_s wrote:
    Loads of people immediately automatically assumed police brutality.
    Just to clarify, I never even hinted at police brutality. The Gardaí have a duty of care to anyone in their custody. It seems from the quote above that they checked on the prisoner regularly and therefore they did exercise reasonable care in the circumstances. I think they went beyond that. I would not give mouth to mouth to a prisoner in those circumstances, CPR yes, mouth to mouth no.

Slightly off topic - did poor cell design play a part?
    Should there be anywhere for someone to hang themselves in a holding cell?

/Edit Maybe that's what the renovations were about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Ag marbh wrote:

Yeah, and it's other peoples opinion that people who steal disabled peoples cars are scumbags and would generally take the word of the garda siochana

Or are they all lying? And you're the only one who knows the true answers... fight the power man... take down the system... you could be next... I could be next... the WHOLE GODDAMN MESSED UP WORLD COULD BE NEXT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Ag marbh wrote:

Will you ever get a grip!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Ag marbh wrote:

And what proof have you of that then? If I said Ag Marbh is a rapist, I'd ahve about as much proof to back me up, nothing. Also the guy was a scumbag, you can argue he didn't deserve to die for stealing a car, but don't argue that joyriding isn't scum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Head Banger Tbh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Oh dear! What a poor thread, the ignorance of some people is astounding! There should be a forum called "What a load of cack" where mods can move threads like this.

Personally, I think it's a tragedy that this young man died like this. Sure, in my opinion, he was a scumbag and deserved to be jailed for what he did but he didn't deserve to die alone in a cell like that. That is no excuse however to accuse the gardaí of murder! Nor is it a reason to have a go at the gardaí.

The fact is that if the cupid stunt (think about it!;) ) hadn't been involved in thuggery and scumbag behaviour he would probably still be alive and perhaps should have sought psychological help for his delinquency! Anyone (mousepad, typing at you here!) saying the guards will regret this should perhaps get counselling for their grief and anger before acting the maggot! Might make you think twice if you give it a fair go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

LiouVille wrote:
    And what proof have you of that then? If I said Ag Marbh is a rapist, I'd ahve about as much proof to back me up, nothing. Also the guy was a scumbag, you can argue he didn't deserve to die for stealing a car, but don't argue that joyriding isn't scum.

About as much proof you have that he stole a car or was joyriding..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Bambi wrote:
    About as much proof you have that he stole a car or was joyriding..

Like as reported above:

The vehicle, which is a disabled driver vehicle, had been stolen sometime earlier in the Donnybrook area. When recovered, some €5,500 of damage had been done to the car, including the destruction of a mechanical lift required for the driver to access the vehicle. The lift was recovered in the home of one of those arrested. The three others involved in this incident were charged with offences relating to the matter, two of whom appeared in Court on the 16th June, 2005. The other person failed to attend and a warrant was issued for his arrest.

Read before you post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭civdef

It happens. It's unfortunate, and is avoided as much as possible (if for no other reason than the paperwork is a bitch), but it happens. When you think of the behaviour of some of the headcases that get locked up, it's perhaps not as surprising as it might be.

Where there are indications that a person may harm themselves (like when they say "I'm going to harm myself"), they are stripped of anything they could hurt themselves with (including clothing) and placed under constant observation in a bare cell. This obviously is a fairly unpleasant way to be in custody, so it can't be done to all prisoners when you consider their human rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

mosuepad wrote:
    did you hear about this

Anyone want to explain to me why is family is being treated so badly though? What reason is there for this? :confused:

No disrespect to mousepad but we only have his word for this!

There's nothing on the RTE website about gardaí entering a house and beating the inhabitants to a pulp. You would imagine that someone would have complained to the press about it!

If the gardaí crashed their way into the house without a warrant and weren't in the process of apprehending a suspect when they did so then this was an illegal act and the press would be all over it. Especially rags like the Herald and the Indo (getting my own personal dig in there, ooohhh! :D)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Sorry to spoil everyone's fun, but this thread doesn't actually seem to be about Terence's death directly. It's about possible Garda harrassment of the Wheelock family while they are trying to organise a protest. Perhaps they shouldn't be organising a protest but if Gardaí are harrassing them then that's certainly a very serious matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Wouldn't be the first time a family has been harassed. Try and take a guard to court over something and his buddies will make your life hell.

stevenmu wrote:
    Sorry to spoil everyone's fun, but this thread doesn't actually seem to be about Terence's death directly. It's about possible Garda harrassment of the Wheelock family while they are trying to organise a protest. Perhaps they shouldn't be organising a protest but if Gardaí are harrassing them then that's certainly a very serious matter.

An off-topic thread in AH? What are the odds!

To go even more off topic, I thought it was quite funny that someone whose name sounds like a car protection device was stealing cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

stevenmu wrote:

Maybe the Gardai entered the house for reasons similar to those as already explained above!

Just a thought. But as ever we must always side with the guilty...

stevenmu wrote:

As I already said:
    r3nu4l wrote:
    No disrespect to mousepad but we only have his word for this!

There's nothing on the RTE website about gardaí entering a house and beating the inhabitants to a pulp. You would imagine that someone would have complained to the press about it!

If there really was some trouble last night then there will always be a journo ready to have a go at the gaurds but funnily enough it hasn't happened yet so until then, I can't see anything that says there is any harrassment happening. Not saying it doesn't happen elsewhere but no unbiased evidence to support this yet.

The guy is already dead so what would the point be in entering his family home to gather further evidence against him?

Unless his family were involved in the theft of the car we must assume that they are innocent parties so why should the Gardaí enter their home?

Who's evidence would be considered un-biased? If the family are in fact victims of Garda harassment should we accept their account of events as unbiased?

Hagar wrote:
    The guy is already dead so what would the point be in entering his family home to gather further evidence against him?
    Agreed! But so far, we have no evidence that the guards did enter the house. If they did, were they chasing someone who had just assaulted or attacked them? I don't know!
    Hagar wrote:
    Unless his family were involved in the theft of the car we must assume that they are innocent parties so why should the Gardaí enter their home?
    Again, no evidence other than an uncorroborated report from a family friend that says they did. If they did, were they chasing someone who had just assaulted or attacked them? I don't know!
    Hagar wrote:
    Who's evidence would be considered un-biased? If the family are in fact victims of Garda harassment should we accept their account of events as unbiased?

We don't know for fact that the family are victims of harrassment. As I keep saying, so far there are no press reports to indicate this, I haven't seen or heard any neighbours or local politicians making any statements to journalists from papers, radio or TV about this. Obviously if they are being harrassed by the cops then these are the people the family need to go to. Local opposition politicians would love this kind of stuff, so why haven't we heard anyone except a friend of the family (mousepad) say anything?? The guards would be a lot more careful about any action they took if they felt the media spotlight was waiting to trip them up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

mosuepad wrote:
    his pregnant sister!

The scumbag shouldn't have got his sister pregnant in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i know one of the wheelocks. or maybe "knew" would be a better word. (he was going out with my bosses sister. she has a thing for skangers).
    i worked with him a few years back and let's just say that he had a very chequered past.
    having said that, i found him to be an amiable chap and never showed any malice. he ended up being fired because of his on-going drug problem though. it interfered with his work. or lack of it. tended to miss a lot of days.
    i can't say for sure if he is clean or not now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

eoin_s wrote:
    To go even more off topic, I thought it was quite funny that someone whose name sounds like a car protection device was stealing cars.

Even funnier when the title of the thread suggests the Gardaí were robbing cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭cargrouch

Fantastic thread title, seems to have dragged in the motors regulars expecting to see photo's of a gang of gardai making off with someones alloys!

In fairness the OP hasn't got himself across at all. No background, just launched in with "they bet us up for no reason". If I hear more about this from good sources then fair enough, but credibility so far is low. As I said, unfortunately even if a person is innocent, an association with complete scum tends to bias peoples opinions.

Solution? - don't become involved with scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Heinrich wrote:
    Maybe the Gardai entered the house for reasons similar to those as already explained above!

Just a thought. But as ever we must always side with the guilty...

Your second name wouldn't be Himmler by any chance?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Heinrich wrote:
    Like as reported above:

Read before you post

thanks for that but i did read it already, maybe you should digest what you read before giving out ze orders

Show me the bit where they presented proof that this individual was joyriding, or had stolen the car? Recovery of a chair from someones house? Doesnt really prove anything. He'll never get a trial now of course, so we'll never know for sure.
    Good old garda press office "he's died in custody but we reckon he was nicking car's off the disabled so let's not make a fuss eh?"