Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What an idiot (Galway)!

• 05-06-2006 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭

OK, long post, sorry...

Two weeks ago my gf was in Galway with 11 girl friends from her University days. They were in a club dancing away minding their own business.
    So two guys and two girls were on the floor beside them, one of the guys (6ft 3-5, muscle mary type) was hyper, jumping around, flailing his arms about and generally acting the maggot. So he bumps into my girlfriend and almost knocks her over, before she says anything he turns around to her and says

"I heard what you were saying about me and my girlfriend last week!" and proceeds to invade her pesonal space and tower over her.
    My gf told him that she couldn't have said anything because she didn't know him, had never seen him before and as she is from Tipp but lives in the UK, it was highly unlikely that she would know his gf either.
    The guy then started crowding her into a corner while his gf and the other two looked on. He started shouting at her and intimidating her very agressively and basically screaming at her.
    My gf was very shaken but stood her ground until the guys mate pulled him away. My gfs friends wanted to have the guy thrown out but my gf worried that he might wait for them outside and start something there.
    Later the guy apologised saying he was only having a laugh with her and his gf also apologised saying "he does this for a laugh sometimes, he's only messing"

My questions:
    What sort of "man" (especially a big muscly f*cker) thinks it is okay to verbally abuse and intimidate a woman? :mad:

What sort of woman thinks this is funny (i.e his gf) and how could she allow him to carry on without attempting to stop him?

Would you have gone to the bouncers and had him thrown out?

My own view is that the guy was looking for a fight, probably hoping a man would jump in or tell him to back off. In one way I'm glad I wasn't there because like an idiot I probably would have dived in and hammered him senseless.

I think his gf is an idiot to stay with someone like him and probably needs her head examined.

As for the bouncers, I wouldn't have bothered as they never even saw what he was at so they can't have been that good at their job and either would have let him stay in because he was a mate or a local regular :rolleyes: or perhaps kicked him out and then not bothered to intervene if he beat up my gf outside later :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

r3nu4l wrote:

My questions:
    What sort of "man" (especially a big muscly f*cker) thinks it is okay to verbally abuse and intimidate a woman? :mad:

What sort of woman thinks this is funny (i.e his gf) and how could she allow him to carry on without attempting to stop him?

Jeez man, sorry to hear about your girlfriends experience, I imagine she got quite a fright, as to what sort of guy would do that, well its obvious, a complete pig headed a$$hole! No two words about it, there was no excuse for what he did, and especially to a lady, thats not acceptable, he's a scumbag pure and simple!!

As for his girlfriend, well.......she aint much better is she, probably an air headed dimwit :rolleyes:

Shame that people like that are allowed to scare and imtimidate decent folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

r3nu4l wrote:

they are perfect for each other

that guy sounds like nothing but a prick. what the hell were the bouncers doing while macho man was acting the ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

sounds like an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sorry to hear about that, people will be morons. Karma ftw, hopefully he'll get his someday. Big man picking on a girl wasnt he? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

So let me get this straight, for ****s and giggles, this guy singles out someone (in this case a girl) and screams at her for no apparant reason other then his own amusement

Well i think this gives another strong argument for neutering animals at a young age.

Well done for your gf for standing her ground - that kind of situation can be very scary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

Shat a pair of losers and scumbags. They go and try to ruin someone else's night just to satisfy their own sense of disturbed humour. I hope he didn't wreck your girlfriend's night, but she was probably best off just to forget about rather than complaining to the bouncers and arguing with them to get hime kicked out. Besides, the bouncers should have seen this unfolding themselves and thrown him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Yeah, she got a bit of a fright alright but she had a good night overall. She stood her ground and didn't cry which she was really happy about :)

I got the impression from my gf that this guy must be pretty much a regular in that club, apparently he was acting as if he owned the place all night and the bouncers didn't seem to care about his antics. I've seen guys marched out of clubs for less that what this guy was doing. Funny how a bouncer that does nothing can be every bit as bad as the ones who go over the top when dealing with trouble.

whats the name of the club?

That was my first question when she told me about it. My gf doesn't know, one of the other girls who lived in Galway a few years ago took them there.

You know how it is when a group of girls get together, one leads the way while the others chat and talk and generally lose all perception of space and time :D

I know they were in the Quays for a while earlier in the night but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

drunk boke acts pr*ck in nightclub shock!!

Nuttzz wrote:

It's more than just a drunk bloke acting stupid! It was the way in which he was acting stupid.
    Why pick on a girl, usually drunk blokes annoy women by hitting on them, not threatening to actually hit them?
    How could his gf think it was funny? Is her self-esteem and self-respect so low that she thinks this man is good for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭YeAh!

It was probably easier for this other girl just to laugh rather than stopping her b/f and recieving the abuse herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Id put money on it ,it was in Karma nightclub or maybe the Radisson.They are pretty much places i always avoid as ive never saw so many scumbags in the one area.Some thick Fvcker to go and start on a girl,id love to sort a cock like that out.
    What a knob jockey,hope this doesnt put your GF coming to Galway again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

/checks she is in after hours and not PI

Personally if some one was in my personal space like that and was that abusive
    I would have frist tried to get away and then he would have gotten such a boot to the balls that he'd hit the ground and I would have been out of there and over to the bouncers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭AngryAnderson

Yeah, pretty much. Kick square in the nuts and then have him turfed out by security. If he's standing outside waiting for you to start trouble, just tell the doormen that the guy's about to kick the crap out of you... no doorman's going to stand by and watch a girl get assaulted by a bloke. Or call the Gardaí.

It's only a matter of time before he screws with the wrong person though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

"Personal space" - That always makes me laugh.
    That is all.

kaizersoze wrote:
    That is all.

So you don't believe that everyone has a spatial comfort zone? I wonder how comfortable you are with big muscly sweaty guys breathing down your neck?

...Or maybe that's your bag 'baby' :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

I never worried about personal space until a few years back I worked with a fella who:

* Had severe cigarette-breath
    * Was a serious close-talker
    * Was a serious loud-talker
    * Was a serious why-say-it-when-you-can-spray-it-talker
    * Knew nothing, but thought he knew everything, so he was serious always-talker
    * Had several cats with moulting problems, and so was always covered in cat-hair
    * Had severe twitching, so there would be a cloud of cat-hair emanating from him most of the time, to complement the spit and tobacco breath

He also lived next to a nuke plant (probably accounting for the moulting cats and the twitching), so the possibility of getting radiation poisoning from him also existed.

OT, but every time I hear personal space mentioned, I think of this dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭trillianv

I have to say if some bloke did that to me while I was out, I would probably be the one tossed out. I don't stand for much sh*t from anybody, man or woman, and my temper tends to get the best of me, but it sounds like your gf has a cooler head and probably made a bad situation neutralize by not reacting. I am only 5'2" but I don't let anyone intimidate me. Could be growing up in California or maybe having 2 black belt brothers teach me how to kick the **** out of anyone LOL :D

I seriously don't condone violence....no really.

BTW would recommend to any woman to take a self defense course...always better to be safe than sorry. And no I am not a man hating physcho! I am married and expecting my first child, so maybe I wouldn't have reacted so rashly now but a year ago yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭AngryAnderson

trillianv wrote:
    Could be growing up in California

Yeah, I hear they're pretty tough in the OC. Micha Barton looks like a right goer... and I don't mean in the sexual sense... actually I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭eiretamicha

I hate assholes. :mad:

Similar thing happened to me when I was at uni in Aberdeen. I was working for The Priory handing out fliers and some random guy with his dumbass posse comes thisclosetome and just stands there. I thought he was gonna try to hug me (drunk guys did this all the time while I was working), so I just laughed and tried to back away, but instead he stepped closer and shoved me into the wall!! My mouth must have dropped open and all his "groupies" started laughing like hyenas and they walked away.

I was seriously close to tears for the rest of the night. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

this is exactly why girls should carry nut-crackers in their handbags

*clamp*.............*POP*

Not so tough now, are ya one ball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Nuttzz wrote:

LOL!! I can just see the headlines on tomorrow's sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

That guys obviously a dick but unfourtunately they're around.

Something similar happened to a group of us recently in a pub in Galway. This big guy- 6 footish and wide - comes up to one of my female friends and gets in her face going on about something that happened in the Canary islands and that he'll never forget it. He got real agressive real quick and me and a couple of the other guys jumped up to intervene with our quick temper. Thankfully before anything could happen another member of our group got the barman who quickly threw him out.
    Nothing serious really but my friend was really shaken up as she had never been to the canaries and had never met the guy before. She is a real nice girl and this kind of thing shouldn't happen. I wonder does it happen often??
    Overall though i have to say i find Galway a safe and friendly city especially during thr week when the students are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

r3nu4l wrote:
    So you don't believe that everyone has a spatial comfort zone?
    No I don't, unless you want to live in a bubble. If "personal space" is an issue then I don't think a crowded nightclub in Galway is the place to be heading. Sure the guy acted the prick but hey, if thats the worst that happens in a night club consider it a good night.
    ...Or maybe that's your bag 'baby' :p;)
    Nah it ain't my bag but you know what the say, never say never :eek: (but I do say never):p

Gandhi, thats more of an issue with personal hygene than personal space.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

kaizersoze wrote:
    That is all.

Come on mate be fair! We are all entitled to our own personal space. Where do you think the game space invaders came from;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

Make's me angry...this happens to a friends of mine also in Galway. She ended up Telling the bouncer what was going on..... he told her to ignore the bloke and If he did it again, he'd be out. By the time she got back to the dance floor, the same guy was getting his head kicked in by two other girls. Needless to say violence solves nothing..... I think this was definitely Karma justice. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Let darwin sort it out. One night hes going to do it to the wrong person.

trillianv wrote:
    BTW would recommend to any woman to take a self defense course...always better to be safe than sorry.

I have invited her along to my bujinkan (ninjutsu) class to try a lesson :) Hopefully she willstick with it.

I agree that every woman should take self-defence (defense USA ;)) but they should all be made aware that it takes a lot of training before self defence is of any practical use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

r3nu4l wrote:
    My questions:

To the first question, a moron and a bully.

To the second, a slut who thinks her "man" is hard.

To the third, nope, i'd have broken his fu*king face and then left. Sure, most people will say "violence is bad, blah blah blah". Truth is that sometimes people need a good kicking, thats just the way it goes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Welcome to Galway, Irelands ****head capital.

Ha ha, :D

In fairness, she did have a great weekend apart from Mr. I Think Intimidating Strangers is Funny.

Jaden wrote:
    Welcome to Galway, Irelands ****head capital.

I'm from the midlands, and I really do think Galway is one of the nicest places in Ireland to live. I've spent a few years in Dublin, Galway, Sligo and Derry..... Out of them 4, I really do find Galway the safest. Your gonna come across knobheads no matter where you are in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I'm from the midlands, and I really do think Galway is one of the nicest places in Ireland to live. I've spent a few years in Dublin, Galway, Sligo and Derry..... Out of them 4, I really do find Galway the safest. Your gonna come across knobheads no matter where you are in Ireland!

Very true, Galway's a good spot, does has one of the highest rates of sexual assaults though, so it's probably not the safest for girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭trillianv

Yeah, I hear they're pretty tough in the OC. Micha Barton looks like a right goer... and I don't mean in the sexual sense... actually I do.

Of course all of Cali is just like in the movies....and you are all beer swilling leprechauns with Kerry accents eh? :)

For the record...I am married to an Irishman before anyone thinks I am being racist ;)

All the scumbags in Galway know all the bouncers as most of the bouncers themselves were or still are scumbags.Thats the reason the fvckers are let in the first place.

trillianv wrote:
    and you are all beer swilling leprechauns with Kerry accents eh?

stout surely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

r3nu4l wrote:
    They were in a club

This is the problem!

Go to a nice pub in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

padi89 wrote:
    All the scumbags in Galway know all the bouncers as most of the bouncers themselves were or still are scumbags.Thats the reason the fvckers are let in the first place.

Come on Padi! Thats a bit harsh. I worked as a bouncer in Galway for about 4 years and most of the guys I worked with, in the bars and clubs were decent men who wouldnt have put up with this kind of crap. Ok in the other, not so main street clubs, there are some right a$$holes bouncing. They dont give a crap and are there just for the money and the drunk girls.

I know all of the team I worked with wouldve seen this unfolding and the guy wouldve been out way before getting the chance to "mess" with this girl. What a twat. Id love to know what club it was. Even though I think I could name a few that it might be!!

Yeah, I don't really want this thread to turn into a 'slag off Galway' or 'slag off bouncers' thread either.

I was just wondering what people thought about going to the bouncers as an idea, what his gf must have to put up with (although apparently she thought it was funny for a while) etc.

KarlHungus, they had been in a restaurant and pub before hand having a great time and loving it. They wanted to dance (as many females of our species like to do, I don't object :D ) so they went to this club (still don't know which one :( ).
    Nothing wrong with that and okay, sometimes you expect trouble from idiots but usually the bouncers are present! My gf got a fright, got over it and got on with her night, she would return to Galway anytime. :D

Come on Padi! Thats a bit harsh. I worked as a bouncer in Galway for about 4 years and most of the guys I worked with, in the bars and clubs were decent men who wouldnt have put up with this kind of crap. Ok in the other, not so main street clubs, there are some right a$$holes bouncing. They dont give a crap and are there just for the money and the drunk girls.

I know all of the team I worked with wouldve seen this unfolding and the guy wouldve been out way before getting the chance to "mess" with this girl. What a twat. Id love to know what club it was. Even though I think I could name a few that it might be!!

Ok i went a bit far there saying "most" but there is certainly a good number of knobhead bouncers around the town.Without mentioning clubs or pubs I appreciate there is a more professional attitude to bouncing on the more recently opened clubs and pubs.But alot of bouncers in Galway were hired because of who they were and not because of there capabilities.Hense "Hire so and so sher no ones gonna mess with him".It lead to alot of scumbags on the door about town who in turn let alot of scumbags in.
    I didnt mean to slate bouncers in Galway, as like you said there is alot of decent bouncers about but there is without doubt still alot of that scum element around.I must say its nice to be greeted at the door of a pub/club by a bouncer saying "hello" instead of a grunt and a "where are you from?".

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Rule for Galway:

Stay away from Supermacs and you're fine!

padi89 wrote:
    Ok i went a bit far there saying "most" but there is certainly a good number of knobhead bouncers around the town.Without mentioning clubs or pubs I appreciate there is a more professional attitude to bouncing on the more recently opened clubs and pubs.But alot of bouncers in Galway were hired because of who they were and not because of there capabilities.Hense "Hire so and so sher no ones gonna mess with him".It lead to alot of scumbags on the door about town who in turn let alot of scumbags in.
    I didnt mean to slate bouncers in Galway, as like you said there is alot of decent bouncers about but there is without doubt still alot of that scum element around.I must say its nice to be greeted at the door of a pub/club by a bouncer saying "hello" instead of a grunt and a "where are you from?".

Way i see it, there's No point blaming bouncers or whatever...fact is the guy clearly has some issues.... if you want someone to blame, blame him parents for raring such an ignorant sack of a man. If I was Head Honcho of Ireland ;) I'd lock up all the parents who neglect their kids; They help create the monsters that inflict **** on others.

Read the thread and my posts,im not blaming the bouncers for the guys behaviour.All i was saying the guy is obviously a scumbag and there are only so many pubs/clubs the scumbags can or will go to in Galway because they cant get in anywhere else.Usually the places they can get into are the ones bounced by scumbags.Drink is the real issue here not really the parents,although im pretty sure they wouldnt be too happy to see their "little angel" acting like such a dick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

padi89 wrote:
    Read the thread and my posts,im not blaming the bouncers for the guys behaviour.All i was saying the guy is obviously a scumbag and there are only so many pubs/clubs the scumbags can or will go to in Galway because they cant get in anywhere else.Usually the places they can get into are the ones bounced by scumbags.Drink is the real issue here.

Actually, you'd be suprised how hard it can be to spot someone who might commit violence sometimes.

There is no point in saying that he's obviously a scumbag, because he could look like any D4 rugby jock. Just becuase he acted leery in a pub does not mean he is sporting gold rings and Burberry i fear.

I did doors for 4 years, from some of the worst places in this country to some of the poshest and i never fail to be suprised by some of the people who cause trouble.

Would you believe than i once had a gentleman in an Armani suit try and glass me in the face? You'd be suprised what people will do without even thinking about it while on the beer, and then regret the next day.

So sure, it would be nice to think that as an experienced doorman i could look at a punter and say "Scumbag, stay out" but you can't i'm afraid.

As for the some doorman being dodgy issue, of course some of them are. So are some cops, lawyers, judges, priests, nurses, teachers etc. Do you get my point??? All walks of life have there dodgy folk, sadly its the way of the world.

I can honestly say however, some of the nicest chaps i have ever met have done the doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

kaizersoze wrote:
    That is all.

haha wondershowzen FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭AnitaMcCluskey

That guy is sad and pathetic, picking on a girl! Probably to scared to pick on another guy.

I was in a similiar situation a couple of years back and I went about it completely different. I began shouting at him, saying in was a coward looking to start trouble with a girl. My friends heard the commotion and came over, he got very embarrassed and muttered something about mistaken identity and apologized. But I would do that now, I think I would have done exactly what your gf done. You never know who your messing with these days.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

r3nu4l wrote:
    OK, long post, sorry...

Two weeks ago my gf was in Galway with 11 girl friends from her University days. They were in a club dancing away minding their own business.
    So two guys and two girls were on the floor beside them, one of the guys (6ft 3-5, muscle mary type) was hyper, jumping around, flailing his arms about and generally acting the maggot. So he bumps into my girlfriend and almost knocks her over, before she says anything he turns around to her and says

"I heard what you were saying about me and my girlfriend last week!" and proceeds to invade her pesonal space and tower over her.
    My gf told him that she couldn't have said anything because she didn't know him, had never seen him before and as she is from Tipp but lives in the UK, it was highly unlikely that she would know his gf either.
    The guy then started crowding her into a corner while his gf and the other two looked on. He started shouting at her and intimidating her very agressively and basically screaming at her.
    My gf was very shaken but stood her ground until the guys mate pulled him away. My gfs friends wanted to have the guy thrown out but my gf worried that he might wait for them outside and start something there.
    Later the guy apologised saying he was only having a laugh with her and his gf also apologised saying "he does this for a laugh sometimes, he's only messing"

My questions:

My own view is that the guy was looking for a fight, probably hoping a man would jump in or tell him to back off. In one way I'm glad I wasn't there because like an idiot I probably would have dived in and hammered him senseless.

I think his gf is an idiot to stay with someone like him and probably needs her head examined.

As for the bouncers, I wouldn't have bothered as they never even saw what he was at so they can't have been that good at their job and either would have let him stay in because he was a mate or a local regular :rolleyes: or perhaps kicked him out and then not bothered to intervene if he beat up my gf outside later :mad:
    Sorry about that, only a bit of fun like.