Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 2X22 - "Three Minutes" [**SPOILERS WITHIN**]

• 10-07-2006 09:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "THREE MINUTES" -

Episode Title: "Three Minutes"
    Airdate: July 10th 2006

Synopsis (from TV.Com):

A determined Michael convinces Jack and several castaways to help him rescue Walt from "The Others." With Jack away, Locke is left in charge of the hatch and must decide if he should believe Henry and not push the button, risking everyone's safety. Meanwhile, the events that happened to Michael after he left are finally revealed. Meanwhile, Charlie struggles with Eko's decision to discontinue building the church.

Next New Episode: 2X23 - "Live Together, Die Alone" - July 17th 2006

Link to US Discussion Thread

What did you think of "Three Minutes"? 40 votes

0%
    7%
    JBoyle4evayom 1constipatinator 3 votes
    15%
    Crucifixweemcdprospectnattertired of life?darrenh 6 votes
    25%
    Miguel_SanchezKolodnyEKRIUQNecronomiconBrendanDdjkeoghgustavometaforamikedragon32lowdenclear 10 votes
    25%
    sunbeamLagunaquazzydeisedollybikopokerwidowJelloDMBanditMike89coidi 10 votes
    10%
    ChazfranmanRoennedward 4 votes
    7%
    snickerpussfobsmepink 3 votes
    2%
    d-redser 1 vote
    7%
    LawdiedentHmm_Messiah 3 votes
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

With Jack away, Locke is left in charge of the hatch and must decide if he should believe Henry and not push the button, risking everyone's safety.

Well that didn't happen this episode. Presumably it happens on the next one or something.

Enjoyed it though. I knew the Others were only pretending with their tents and primitive ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Good stuff. I liked Eko removing his shoes, mirroring Locke's first time in hatch. Nice and suspenseful at the end (the Sayid and Jack bit), can't wait til next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Well that didn't happen this episode. Presumably it happens on the next one or something.
    Yeah.. both TV.com and DigiGuide fecked up with that plot summary.. obviously DigiGuide used the one from TV.com.. and i think it was the same when it aired in the US and we all caught onto that in the US discussion thread which i'm adding the link to now in the original post.

Also worth mentioning those geniuses at RTE will just be showing the first half of the 2 hour finale next week... with the conclusion the following week.. MORONS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

basquille wrote:
    Also worth mentioning those geniuses at RTE will just be showing the first half of the 2 hour finale next week... with the conclusion the following week.. MORONS!
    And I was just about to post asking what the story was with the finale :(
    Argh!

This was a really decent episode though, I liked the insight into the Others' camp.
    8/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

think this series, overall, has been extremely poor, you can now watch it while doing other things, or predict what will happen simply using a Adams like "improbabilty Drive" or just think the opposite of what the "clues" indicate.

Lately all you need do is look at last few seconds to catch the latest twist/surprise/ shock

Michaels personality is grating... always has been, his morbid attachmnt to his kid is unbelievable seeing as they only began bonding on the island. That he might kill people for the sake of his son is stretching it but maybe....but all the sly looks etc etc - very contrived.

Henry was an excellent character, and Sawyers one liners are cool, he is the only character that really seems to develop over the episodes.

I didnt think anything new happened tonight, we already knew "they" wanted children for a special reason, and would be tested etc, and that much of what they did was pretend (their camp etc) that they named 4 ppl was obvious to me from the start, and I was only half paying attention .

Naggingly the show reminds me constantly of "Series7 : the contenders."

an example of the annoying bits would be Locke walking away over his crutches : so what ? we know the "healing effect" of the island, with what has happened I'd not be surrpised if a tag team of pygmies appeared from the sea to carry locke around singing about " the button, the button" in some pastiche of "the wizard of Oz"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

I thought it was a very insightful episode. We learnt a bit more about the others, I kinda thought that the campsite is a coverup for something else the DHARMA initative is up to. Thought that a wall of rocks looked like it;d open like an automatic door.

There was quite a bit happening regarding leading to new stroylines. Like, for example, EKo living down the hatch, Charlie and Claire being reaquainted with one another. Obviously, they'd end it with the boat and I have my inkling on who it is:
    Desmond

Gave it a 10, was a nice lead up to the finale. (Which, BTW, RTÉ have F'd up like the Desp housewives finale, showing it in two parts.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Another turgid episode, Hmm_Messiah, you took the words right out of my mouth...
    you can now watch it while doing other things, or predict what will happen simply using a Adams like "improbabilty Drive" or just think the opposite of what the "clues" indicate.

I now find it hard to watch Lost without my Nintendo DS in my hands (in case they do Charlie segments, Dominic Monaghan - Just NO), it's definetely lost the grip/tension that it had at this point in its first series.

The only two characters that engage my interest are Eko and Sawyer, however seeing what Eko's going to be doing for the forseeable future, button pushing, I'm fearing he'll fall by the wayside in terms of plot development for the remainder of the season.

Does Eko have attention defecit disorder?, why doesn't he finish the Church?, it was the best looking building so far on the island and it wasn't even finished!.

I hope they have a tin or two of Ronseal for that Church...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭quazzy

I gave it 7/10.

It kinda just confirmed what most of us guessed in the previous episodes.

Michael had to free Henry to his boy back...
    Michael has to bring back some of the guys to the others...
    Eko is takin over from Locke..

Just thinking about Locke now, I wonder where he's heading. Looks like he's goin walkabouts.

I liked the way Sayid sussed out Michael.
    Also liked Saywers talk with Jack about AL - " I screwed her" Classy guy.

Finale better be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

good enough episode - I love those eps where the flashbacks are still on the island. I thought someone said a few weeks ago that this episode was gonna be "libby-centric" - obviously not - I really hope they havent left that twist with her in the mental hospital as a forgotten about plot thread.

Hopefully locke and sayid will foil michaels plan to lead the dudes into a trap. Cannot honestly believe that RTE are messing up the finale for us. What the hell are they at? Why dont they just show it instead of Father Ted or scrubs? Feckin repeats anyway. I HATE RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

It seemed that Michael killing Libby was a total accident, but how on EARTH would he have gotten Hurley to agree to come otherwise? Slightly 'convenient' plot point there methinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Well I thought it was a cracking episode and gave it a 9.

Few points of note, in no particular order:

1. The vaccine that Charlie gave to Claire, whats going on there, surely that will have an impact on some future happenings
    2. Vincent bringing a statue (the heroin statues) to charlie, what are the odds, and then Charlie throwing them away without encouragement from anyone else.
    3. Why did Locke walk away from the funeral? Seems odd to me.
    4. A boat, cooooool
    5. Why did Michael not just go back and tell them exactly what happened? He could have arranged for the 4 selected people to go back with him & The-Artist-Formally-Known-As-Henry-Gale (love that name), and an army of the remaining losties could have ambushed the others camp when Walt had been returned....

Sawyer and Eko are both vying for the roll of my favourite character at the minute.

Favourite bit was when Sawyer told Jack he 'screwed' Anna Lucia (not something I'd boast about), and then says "We got caught in a net" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭MeTV

I've been wondering your 5th point as well, Prospect (see my posts in "Two For The Road") - we know Jack et al. want Walt back already; he & Kate were out looking for "Zeke" to trade "Henry" for him when they found Michael. Had Michael talked to Jack, it could have saved the pointless deaths of Ana & Libby. Don't normally get irked by the survivors not sharing information with each other but this one's really been nagging at be, for some reason :(

As for the boat, I'm going to go way out on a limb here with my theory on who is on board. I've been waiting & waiting & waiting for the game to tie into the show in some way and, with one episode left (or 2, thanks to bloddy RTÉ!), there's not much time left for that to happen. For those that have been keeping up with the game, ye'll know that 2 people are missing: Alvar Hanso hasn't been seen in public since 2002, according to Rachel Blake and Alex Widmore, the heir to the Widmore estate, is the person Paul Artisan is hired to find in "Bad Twin" (note that I haven't read it yet so don't know if he's sucessful or not). If it were Hanso, though, he would probably be on a boat similar to "The Black Rock" (those playing the game know why) so that leaves Alex Widmore as my pick for the passenger on the boat. Before "Fire + Water" aired, creative told us that there would be an easter egg in it that would be very important somewhere down the road. That easter egg turned out to be a Widmore Contruction sign in the background of one of Charlie's flashbacks, so I'm going to use that to back up my theory ;) It's a huge stretch and I won't be surprised nor disappointed if it's completely off the mark, but I thought it was worth a shot.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Good episode.

Loved Sawyer's confession to Jack - and it was a bit of an "awww" moment when he said that Jack was the closest thing he had a friend.

Cudos to Sayid for cottening on to Michael. Good old Sayid.

And the boat ???

And don't you just know that those statutes are going to wash up to shore again. Wouldn't it have been better to break the statues, tear open the packages and then through it to see?

oh oh oh,
    I just remembered....

Does Mr.Eko know what michael did? That story about the kid who killed the dog must have been a bit too close for comfort for Michael....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

Anyone notice when Charlie walked into the hatch, Eko greeted him with "Hello jack"! Anyone confirm this cause its wrecking my head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭LAAngel

Right I missed the first 45 minutes cause I was watching UFC61:Bitter Rivals so could someone please fill me in on what they found the 'others' camp to be and why they actually wanted the children? Thank you.

P.S. I'm glad to see someone (sayid) catching on to Michael.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Anyone else notice Michael and Walt?s perfect grammar and spelling whilst communicating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

LAAngel wrote:

Right I missed the first 45 minutes cause I was watching UFC61:Bitter Rivals so could someone please fill me in on what they found the 'others' camp to be and why they actually wanted the children? Thank you.

P.S. I'm glad to see someone (sayid) catching on to Michael.:D

Found this on the US thread:

Hope it helps

Don't know how to take the "spoiler cover "off
    spoiler: Part 1

We start 13 Days ago when Mike asked Locke for the rifle before setting off to find Walt. After he knocks Locke out he goes to the computer and after a few moments is typing and receiving a message from (?Walt?) He says to travel north along the beach he will come across a big rock with a hole in it. Then he hears Jack and proceeds to lock him in the armory.
    Present day
    Jack Mike Sawyer and Kate talking about a plan of attack Hurley upset because his friends are not even buried yet. They will have a funeral for Anna and Libby.
    Jack wants to bring an army.
    Mike insists just the five of them should go us or they’ll hear us coming.
    Charlie talks to Claire and gives her the meds and the injection gun he found from the latest delivery of supplies. She is happy he did this for her and Arron.
    Eko’s moving into hatch to punch in the numbers.
    She says OH MY GOD it’s Micheal. He’s back.
    Sawyer gives Sayid a gun and invites him to the battle
    Charlie will continue to build church on his own.
    Vincent delivers a Heroin statue to Charlie. Vincent leads Charlie back to the Heroin stash. He takes all the statues.

Part 2
    The day Mike set out to find Walt he gets captured by Zeke a short while later they catch Kate. When Alex is asked to bring Kate out during the Standoff (Zeke and Jack) Alex asks someone else to bring her out. Alex then asks Mike how Claire and the Baby are doing and was it a boy or a girl?
    They Take Mike to the place with the rock with the hole on the cliff which is where the tents are in the promotional pics. It looks like only one set of others are on the island.
    Mike is introduced to Mrs. Clue who asks him questions about Walts Early childhood. When age did he start talking? Etc. Mike doesn’t know but this apparently goes on for a week. Until they realize Gale has been captured and they want him back.
    He is later given 3 minutes to speak to Walt. They make me take tests he said. Get me out of here dad. They're not who they say they are. Mrs. Clue says that’s enough or we’ll put you back in the room. Walt doesn't like the room whatever it is.

Part 3
    They will let Mike and Walt go free if Mike can free Henry and deliver Kate Jack Sawyer and Hurley as well but no one else.
    Sawyer and Jack talk about Anna and Sawyer says he screwed her. Jack asks why are you telling me. Sawyer says cause you’re the closest thing I’ve ever had to a friend.
    Later when Mike tells Sayid he can’t come with them Sayid puts 2 AND 2 together and tells Jack I think Mike has been compromised. They will let Mike think he is in control of the plan.
    Charlie throws all the statues into the ocean they are all intact. Locke is sitting on the beach looking out and sees what he did they exchange a short glance. Carlie goes off to the funeral.
    Locke cuts the splint on his leg puts on a backpack and heads out to the jungle without attending the funeral or telling anyone where he’s going. (Possibly to find Henry?)
    Claire holds hands with Charlie at the funeral while Hurley is talking about Libby.
    Sun looks out to the water and sees ______

Then they all see it
    A small sailboat.

LoLth: you type [ spoiler ] at the start and [ / spoiler ] at the end, wihtout the spaces I would suggest that, in future, if you dont know how to use spoiler tags, ASK SOMEONE BEFORE POSTING THE SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!!

gustavo wrote:
    Anyone else notice Michael and Walt?s perfect grammar and spelling whilst communicating!

Good schooling I guess ;)

gustavo wrote:

Good schooling I guess ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭LAAngel

Hi, Thanx. raging now I missed it, it be's on again on saturday doesn't it. Athough really annoyed that the finale isn't shown all together. How long does it be then till season 3?:D

gustavo wrote:
    As it should be :D

Forgot to mention that we got ourselves a new DHARMA logo this episode (see below). Can't figure out which one it's supposed to be, though; we've already seen The Swan, The Arrow, The Staff (Caduceus) & The Pearl. According to the UV map, we've still yet to see The Flame and whatever the "?" is supposed to be. It doesn't look like a flame and doesn't seem to be in the right position on the island to be the "?" so I'm thinking it's just a dummy hatch they made as part of the charade for Michael.

Maybe it's just me but when I see a boat like that just drifting on the water I immediately think "FLESH EATING ZOMBIES!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Cina

MeTV wrote:
    As it should be :D

Forgot to mention that we got ourselves a new DHARMA logo this episode (see below). Can't figure out which one it's supposed to be, though; we've already seen The Swan, The Arrow, The Staff (Caduceus) & The Pearl. According to the UV map, we've still yet to see The Flame and whatever the "?" is supposed to be. It doesn't look like a flame and doesn't seem to be in the right position on the island to be the "?" so I'm thinking it's just a dummy hatch they made as part of the charade for Michael.

Uh .. The ? is the Pearl isn't it? The small hatch with the cameras. I could be mistaken as it's a while since I've seen the episodes but hell .. I'm fairly sure the episode was even CALLED "?"

Cina wrote:
    Uh .. The ? is the Pearl isn't it? The small hatch with the cameras. I could be mistaken as it's a while since I've seen the episodes but hell .. I'm fairly sure the episode was even CALLED "?"

Yeah, I thought that too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Enjoyed this one - not terribly eventful but building up nicely to the end. Think I must have been away with the fairies for some of it though because there are things being mentioned here that I have no recollection of (the statues for example). :confused:

Also, wtf was Michael typing before he typed a proper message to Walt? Was it supposed to be as random as it looked or am I reading far too much into it? :)
    basquille wrote:

Grrrrr, bloody typical! :mad:

See the discussions in the Irish topic for "?" (the episode) - The Pearl was not the "?" we saw at the centre of the map in "Lockdown", The Pearl is the station marked CV IV on the right of that map. The episode was called "?" because that's what Eko was looking for when he stumbled across The Pearl.

Kolodny wrote:
    Also, wtf was Michael typing before he typed a proper message to Walt? Was it supposed to be as random as it looked or am I reading far too much into it? :)
    He was just hitting random keys, trying to get the computer to respond so he could contact "Walt".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Another thing popped into my head today. Henry told us in an earlier episode that he was 'coming to get Locke' when he got captured. Why then was Michael given a list of names to bring to the Others without Locke on it? Seems strange.

Couple of possibilities there, Necro':

Most likely, "Henry" was just messing with John's Head.
    Or, bewteen "Henry" being given his assignment and Klugh giving Michael the list, John did something to get himself taken off the list.
    Or, they want Hugo, Jack, James & Kate for some completely different reason - easy enough for one person to slip into the survivors camp and kidnap John, slightly more difficult to get 4 people out, hence the use of Michael.

Anyone any theories as to waht connects the 4 people on the list that the Others might want them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Interested in the way Sayid sussed out Michael, i wonder how himself and jack are going to deal with michael's ambush. Wher di the oat come frm? is it the others doing surveillance to see the quantity of survivors on the island?
    Also the thing with Walt and the tests seems very dark and subversive indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

LAAngel wrote:
    Hi, Thanx. raging now I missed it, it be's on again on saturday doesn't it.

No - Sunday night/Monday morning
    LAAngel wrote:
    Athough really annoyed that the finale isn't shown all together. How long does it be then till season 3?:D

Dominic Monaghan was on with Jonathan Ross on Friday and Series 3 starts shooting in a couple of weeks. He also said that the network want to string it out for as long as it is earning money for them, even though the writers know how they want it to end.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

MeTV wrote:
    Anyone any theories as to waht connects the 4 people on the list that the Others might want them?

Yeah, seems like a strange combination. Two that could be considered "bad" (Kate and Saywer) and two that could be considered "good" (Jack and Hugo).

Been running through the possible connections and the only immediately obvious one I can come up with is that they all had paternal issues; only problem is, they're not the only ones who do. Best I can come up with so far as it also connects them to Walt and John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Just read about RTE splitting the finale into 2 parts. :mad:

I'm mailing info@rte.ie now and asking them to replace the Scrubs and Fr.Ted repeats with Lost (as wisely mentioned above). It would be good to get as many mails like this to RTE as soon as possible (imo), maybe they'll cop on.... So if y'all have a few spare mins....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

RVD420 wrote:
    Just read about RTE splitting the finale into 2 parts. :mad:

I'm mailing info@rte.ie now and asking them to replace the Scrubs and Fr.Ted repeats with Lost (as wisely mentioned above). It would be good to get as many mails like this to RTE as soon as possible (imo), maybe they'll cop on.... So if y'all have a few spare mins....

Just did. Good idea, they might listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Silage

Yeah i just did to, but lets hope its not in vain.

It probably is tho.

RTÉ are showing a new series of Scrubs at the moment, not reapeats, and some of us are actually watching it; much better if they used a 21:30 - 23:15 timeslot.

I'd say they're not going to change it. They probably have a deal with bloody Lucozade to cover a certain number of weeks and they don't really care if the show isn't as enjoyable - they just want that sweet sweet money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Meh, doesn't bother me. I like Scrubs and even if it wasn't on, I think it's good the way there's still 2 more weeks of Lost left! Why does everyone want it NOT split up? I don't want Lost to end!!!

This was an alright episode I think, pretty easy to cop on. It annoys me that Michael killed 2 people and is sacrificing another 4 people just to get his son back, when he could've just talked to everyone else and they could've come up with a plan.

It sucks that Libbys dead cos I wanted them to expand on the fact that Libby was in the mental hospital with Hurley. Now Hurley will never know!

Also, I hope Michael cops on that the others are pretending to be so primitive (well maybe they aren't, but we're led to believe), because even Walt said it. Was anyone else crying with the scene with Michael and Walt and Ms Klu? It was so sad. We sorta knew that they were doing tests but hearing Walt saying it sounded so dark..and Michael was in bits crying :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 5 Times

I have to say I thought the most significant moment in the episode was when Mrs. Klu (congrats to the casting people because she looks like a very powerful character already) asked Michael if Walt had ever appeared somewhere that he wasn't meant to be. In earlier episodes Walt has appeared as a Ghost. Mr. Eko's and John's dreams also prove that not only Ghosts by Premonitions are intrinsic so revealing the secrets of lost. The conclusion of Lost it seems is certainly going to involve the paranormal .. No??????

Meh, doesn't bother me. I like Scrubs and even if it wasn't on, I think it's good the way there's still 2 more weeks of Lost left! Why does everyone want it NOT split up? I don't want Lost to end!!!
    I'm with you on that but, from talking to people who've already seen the finale, there's no logical point where it can be cut in 2 that would leave us with a decent cliffhanger for a week, especially if trying to split it up into as near to 40 minutes each half as possible. Also, the casual viewers who don't realise it's supposed to be 2 episodes may not bother tuning back in for the second half if the first half has a lacklustre ending.

By the way, it's "Klugh", not "Klu" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

I am wondering why Sawyer had all the heroin statues? What was he keeping it for? Did it have something to do with the time Charlie attacked Sun? It's been a while and I can't remember the particulars of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

I am wondering why Sawyer had all the heroin statues? What was he keeping it for? Did it have something to do with the time Charlie attacked Sun? It's been a while and I can't remember the particulars of that...

Probably from the time he emptied the armoury in the hatch.
    Locke had stashed them there after his discovered Charlie's stash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

MeTV wrote:
    I'm with you on that but, from talking to people who've already seen the finale, there's no logical point where it can be cut in 2 that would leave us with a decent cliffhanger for a week, especially if trying to split it up into as near to 40 minutes each half as possible. Also, the casual viewers who don't realise it's supposed to be 2 episodes may not bother tuning back in for the second half if the first half has a lacklustre ending.

By the way, it's "Klugh", not "Klu" ;)

Suppose you're right!

And I've seen people spell it as Klugh but I prefer Klu..it looks more mysterious! Does anyone else think the casting for the others has been superb? The actress for Ms Klu(gh) and the actor for Henry are both fantastic