Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Headwrecking RTE actors/actresses

• 27-09-2006 07:16PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭

Hope this thread can go here, if it should be elsewhere please feel free to move...

I'm watching Fair City here and I don't know if anyone knows the Russian actresses on it "Lana". Is it just me or is she an absolute HEADWRECKER??? She was on The Late Late Show and Ryan Confidential recently enough and out of character was even more of a headwrecker in real life from what I could see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sounds to me like you wanna fcuk her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Pighead wrote:
    Sounds to me like you wanna fcuk her.

I wouldn't give her one if I had 100 mickies. I'd lash Robin out of it though! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

This thread seems to have the suitable lack of substance and direction combined with the necessary capacity for messing and pointlessness to ensure that it looks right at home here imho.

As for actors and actresses, Fair City is on in the background and yes the acting is awful in places (though the script could be to blame maybe) but I've never paid enough attention to be able to tell you who the people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

I personally detest all of the presenters on Channel 6!!!! :mad: They're so fake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

For the love of god, turn your eyes away from Fair City. The acting is painful! No wonder your head is wrecked.

Ruu wrote:
    For the love of god, turn your eyes away from Fair City. The acting is painful! No wonder your head is wrecked.

I can handle most of them except Lana. I really started hating her when I saw her on Ryan Confidential sh*teing on about how the other actresses got jealous when she got the job 'cos they "didn't want a better looking woman than them on the set", she isn't even that good looking, her hair looks horible, it looks like a rat on her head, who does she think she is??? She is the worst looking of them all I think...

I read a story somewhere (what I read it, I must have been seriously bored), she wanted the Fair City writers to bring in more sexy storylines (imagine the gossip with the old 'wans on Dublin Bus:eek:) or something more adventurous into the soap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

ROFL, It'd be great Ruu! I love listening to the auld biddy's gossiping on the bus!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

99% of the "actors" and presenters RTE employ are annoying. Gerry Ryan, Laura Woods, Ryan Tubridy etc etc. They've a horrible habit of finding these people, thinking they're talented and in the case of Pat Kenny and Gerry Ryan, seriously over-paying them.
    Darragh29 wrote:
    she isn't even that good looking
    I don't find her at all attractive tbh, God knows where she got that attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Poor dialogue doesn't help, as far as I know some of the actors are actually good actors but the poor scripting doesn't do anything for them. I would consider Fair City to be the McDonalds of the acting industry jobs wise.
    De ye want fries with that ? !

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

How about Derek Davis. What a sickner

Another two who are high up the pecking order when it comes to the headwrecker factor are:

Sean Moncrieff

Hector O' Heochagain

I'm in agreement with Darragh. Fcuking headwreckers the both of them.

Ah ta hector sa seomra anois! ta me anseo! ta me ansin! ;) There has never been someone so excited about the Irish language, teh bastid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Those weird wittle furry lotto freaks. Especially the voice of the one who goes "I really really reall really hope that this week of all weeks...etc" in front of the washing machine. Can't stand the multi-coloured cnuts.

I love those lotto guys !!!!!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Don Wycherly (guy from Bachelors walk and myhome.ie radio ads) ftw. Voice is terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

chamlis wrote:
    Those weird wittle furry lotto freaks. Especially the voice of the one who goes "I really really reall really hope that this week of all weeks...etc" in front of the washing machine. Can't stand the multi-coloured cnuts.

No. I'm not having this. They're class!

I'm counting down the days until the make actual teddies out of them.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

A writer from Fair City came out to where I work one time to do research for a storyline. He asked loads of questions and we even gave them a loan of some old equipment so they could use them as props.

I don't think the storyline lasted too long though as the test audiences didn't seem to take to it.

Red Alert wrote:
    How about Derek Davis. What a sickner

Does he do anything apart from radio now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

I love to hate Fair City. Its weird that its crap but yet you'd still keep watching it. Last nights episode was ridiculous yet I sat and watched it.

And Daragh I agree Lana is a head wrecker. The way she talks and says Leo does my brain in. Did you see it last night when the other woman got a letter and they were in the kitchen. Mental show. Bit like Eldorado insofar its so bad its almost good.

I have a thing for Jimmy Doyle I have to admit. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Not exactly RTE actors, but I hate every bastard that has ever been on a Meteor ad, especially the current one featuring two typical D4 gobsh1tes and a bald cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Sp@rtacus

Chamlis; how could you... Those little Lotto dudes are the cheese. The little dopey guy pretending to be a lion...? Hilarious.

Anyway, Darragh, I was just talking baout that "wan" to people in work this very morning... a terrible gobsh|te it must be said. I was watching that Ryan Confidential and the only thing more disturbing than her misplaced, inflated ego, was the fact that I suspect Gerry couldnt stand up from under that table for quite a while after the camera stopped (iykwim ;) ) Dirty filthy pervert, he is. Go have another pie Gerry.:D

To be fair to the actors on Fair City, when the script is so wooden that it was probably put together by a carpenter, they dont really stand much chance. Although, the blonde oul one who works in the shop (I think) is atrocious, especially her phone calls;

[phone rings]
    Blonde oul one: "Hal-llo?"
    1 second pause...
    Blonde oul one: "Ah howiya Bella, you want me to meet you in McCoys at lunch time and so we can discuss the political fall out of Irans continuance to enrich plutonium and maybe also the general philospohy of antidisestablishmentarianism and its views on opposing the separation of church and state?"
    1 second pause...
    Blonde oul one: "Ok see you then"

b*e*g: I have often been mistaken for that Jimmy fella (oh the shame) and have been approached in pubs and clubs for autographs..?!?:eek: They usually say its for their Mum though..? Best not to dwell on that one methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Sp@rtacus wrote:
    Chamlis; how could you... Those little Lotto dudes are the cheese. The little dopey guy pretending to be a lion...? Hilarious.

Anyway, Darragh, I was just talking baout that "wan" to people in work this very morning... a terrible gobsh|te it must be said. I was watching that Ryan Confidential and the only thing more disturbing than her misplaced, inflated ego, was the fact that I suspect Gerry couldnt stand up from under that table for quite a while after the camera stopped (iykwim ;) ) Dirty filthy pervert, he is. Go have another pie Gerry.:D

To be fair to the actors on Fair City, when the script is so wooden that it was probably put together by a carpenter, they dont really stand much chance. Although, the blonde oul one who works in the shop (I think) is atrocious, especially her phone calls;

[phone rings]
    Blonde oul one: "Hal-llo?"
    1 second pause...
    Blonde oul one: "Ah howiya Bella, you want me to meet you in McCoys at lunch time and so we can discuss the political fall out of Irans continuance to enrich plutonium and maybe also the general philospohy of antidisestablishmentarianism and its views on opposing the separation of church and state?"
    1 second pause...
    Blonde oul one: "Ok see you then"

b*e*g: I have often been mistaken for that Jimmy fella (oh the shame) and have been approached in pubs and clubs for autographs..?!?:eek: They usually say its for their Mum though..? Best not to dwell on that one methinks.

Fcuking hilarious :D

There's nothing shameful to looking like Jimmy he's gorgeous. You have to post a pic now.

My Mam is always saying I'm the image of Carol - can't see it myself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Is Marty Morrisey the freakiest presenter you've ever seen in your life? Surely his eyebrows defy all the laws of gravity?
    martymorrissey.jpg

Also while we're on the subject of gaa presenters, Ger Loughnane Eyebrows defy gravity as well but in the other direction.
    Id love to see the apres match guys doing a piss take of the Sunday game panel they would be so easy to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

lana is anal backwards..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

lana is anal backwards..

Pure Genius:D

My Mam is always saying I'm the image of Carol - can't see it myself though.

Oh reeee-ally? <raises eyebrow> Is Carol the one who looks like an angel but sounds like Ronnie Drew?? She's very pretty (pity she such an AJH:D )

So anyway brown*eyed*girl... fancy a pint in McCOy's at lunch :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Sp@rtacus wrote:
    Oh reeee-ally? <raises eyebrow> Is Carol the one who looks like an angel but sounds like Ronnie Drew?? She's very pretty (pity she such an AJH:D )

So anyway brown*eyed*girl... fancy a pint in McCOy's at lunch :p

I'm meeting me son Lorcan in the Bistro if you want to join us!

greenkittie fcuking brilliant.

Not with yours son.
    Thin hair and thick ankles is never good combination :D

Seriously I actually passed her in the street a while ago (she was with her husband - how does he put up with her?) and she was actually quite striking, but not to the extent that she thinks she is. The problem is she projects herself as a supermodel when really she is just a pretty girl who does a lot for herself. If she was a little more humble with a nice presonality, she would be so much more attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

5starpool wrote:
    Don Wycherly (guy from Bachelors walk and myhome.ie radio ads) ftw. Voice is terrible.
    He is flavour of the month (year) as regards radio ads.

I'd give lana one anyday, she's a typical hot russian chick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

i think lana would give anyone one, a friend fo a friend etc knows her and the husband, apparently she is all over the husbands mates, opening shirts in the pub and rubbing chests. thinks its just flirtatious fun. haaaaaaaaaaaate her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Fair city is pure muck. Every single scene is exactly the same. One person is in the room some walks in and reems of a few lines then walks out. There's no acting involved atall! The actors are nearly always standing doing nothing, it's painful to watch I just can't sit through 10 seconds of it unless I'm awful stoned.

Derek Mooney is a laugh though he's always making sly digs at people and down right insulting them when ever he can get away with it.

Hector is class at least he's a bit of craic but for a man who's traveled so much you'd think he'd stop talking to foriegners like their retarded or something and putting on a fake accent of whatever country he's in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

ScumLord wrote:

Hector is class at least he's a bit of craic but for a man who's traveled so much you'd think he'd stop talking to foriegners like their retarded or something and putting on a fake accent of whatever country he's in.

Hector got a taxi off my brother a few weeks ago from Tramore to Dunmore after the races.

He never left a tip.......

HUNGRY BASTARD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

5starpool wrote:

Couldnt agree more, what a prick.

He is flavour of the month (year) as regards radio ads.

COuldnt agree more. Makes me want to smear jam on my ear drums and stick my head in a bee-hive. "Hiiii I'm all gravelly voiced and mono-tone..." Get a real job ye bellend!
    I'm meeting me son Lorcan in the Bistro if you want to join us!

"Carol, I'm after been sittin in McCoys for bleedin ages waitin for ye and you didnt show up... are you tryna make me look like a tick???" <storms out>

Sp@rtacus wrote:
    COuldnt agree more. Makes me want to smear jam on my ear drums and stick my head in a bee-hive. "Hiiii I'm all gravelly voiced and mono-tone..." Get a real job ye bellend!

These people are responsible!:
    http://www.voicebank.ie/don_wycherley.html

Don Wycherley

Distintive vocal quality. Also does a myriad characters from Malin to Mizen and beyond. Fluent Irish speaker.
    (Cork)

Thats some fine research you've done there HelterSkelter. Lets put an end to this once and for all.
    You bring the balaclavas and the pliers, I'll bring the calving jack and the blow-torch :D

Sounds like a good plan!! Can we get the stupid cow that does the EBS ads while we're at it, she talks to us like we're in nursery school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Chuchu

This is a very entertaining thread... I recently moved home to the folks' gaf (saving to buy etc blah) and they are avid Fair City (or Fairly ****ty as I like to call it) watchers, altho they are fond of saying 'it was just on, I don't follow it'.
    Its HORRIFIC but its like morbid fascination carcrash type viewing, I'll confess to watching a scene or ten for the ham acting.
    Anyway my contribution is that I think Jimmy looks like Garry Kelly and have taken to calling both Garry Kelly and/or Ian Harte 'Jimmy' at football matches (not as regular an occurence recently).
    But that Don Whichjobhashegotnow-erly takes the fecking biscuit.... what an irritating voice for a voice over person?????!!!!
    However the prize goes to.... BRIAN KENNEDY... ONE TO REMEMBER???????? Has anyone seen even two seconds of this????? Say no more.

Not sure I'm familiar with said stupid cow, but I'll trust your judgement. We may as well sort out Ger Canning "Using the baase of his hurl to ffend of his marker.." and Pat Kenny while we're at it. No sense wasting the blowtorch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The worst actress in RTÉ is a woman called Áine Lawlor.

She has to present a program called morning ireland every now and then on Radio One where she is supposed to act like a serious journalist.

All she does is rant and not let people answer questions while she rants on and on, eventually they have to finish up and nobody is any the wiser .

I absolutely cannot stand listening to her and prefer the white noise from an unused portion of the FM band that I have preset to in case she comes on.

If she is still affecting the schedule by christmas I wil move to Radio Ireland so I will !

Chuchu wrote:
    This is a very entertaining thread... I recently moved home to the folks' gaf (saving to buy etc blah) and they are avid Fair City (or Fairly ****ty as I like to call it) watchers, altho they are fond of saying 'it was just on, I don't follow it'.
    Its HORRIFIC but its like morbid fascination carcrash type viewing, I'll confess to watching a scene or ten for the ham acting.
    Anyway my contribution is that I think Jimmy looks like Garry Kelly and have taken to calling both Garry Kelly and/or Ian Harte 'Jimmy' at football matches (not as regular an occurence recently).
    But that Don Whichjobhashegotnow-erly takes the fecking biscuit.... what an irritating voice for a voice over person?????!!!!
    However the prize goes to.... BRIAN KENNEDY... ONE TO REMEMBER???????? Has anyone seen even two seconds of this????? Say no more.

Yeah Brian Kennedy reminds me of Eoin Mc Love out of Fr. Ted fame! I cringe when his show comes on, I have to watch it, It's toecurling-hair-on-your neck raising CRINGY!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Darragh29 wrote:
    Hope this thread can go here, if it should be elsewhere please feel free to move...

I'm watching Fair City here and I don't know if anyone knows the Russian actresses on it "Lana". Is it just me or is she an absolute HEADWRECKER??? She was on The Late Late Show and Ryan Confidential recently enough and out of character was even more of a headwrecker in real life from what I could see.

Agreed.

She is the ultimate c*nthole bitch
    , one of the most annoying, obnoxious and generally overrated people ever.

From seeing her on a number of talk shows and in real life I can say without reservation that she is living proof of the maxim:

'That people who play hateful characters on television may be equally hateful in real life'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Darragh29 wrote:
    Eoin Mc Love

another person who can be categorised as such
    nlgbbbblth wrote:

'That people who play hateful characters on television may be equally hateful in real life'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

speaking of crap tv, did anyone see brian kennedy, songa year show, so they did 97 or something and they picke dkilling me softly and some begees song, both covers from decades before, could they not have picked a song from 97???