Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night shots dublin meetup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Hmmmm sounds like an idea... how late would we need to be out these days? I'd like to get some shots with that nice dark blue sky, before it goes completely black - would that be 7-8ish? Any ideas for locations, just Liffey Bridge area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I am... any chance you could all come down to Cork though? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

rymus wrote:
    I am... any chance you could all come down to Cork though? :D

Sod that - how about Galway. Dublin is sooo like last year!! ;);):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Sod that - how about Galway. Dublin is sooo like last year!! ;);):D
    Galway was very smoggy I thought ,because they still burn coal up there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

elven wrote:
    Hmmmm sounds like an idea... how late would we need to be out these days? I'd like to get some shots with that nice dark blue sky, before it goes completely black - would that be 7-8ish? Any ideas for locations, just Liffey Bridge area?

Yea about 8ish and along the Eden Quay boardwalk you get a great view of the river and city lights.

Further down the docks just past the customs house it's quiet and perfect for setting up a tripod.

So who's free this weekend?? or maybe friday

Seb.

I'd be on for it aswell ,I haven't used my camera in a few weeks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Count me in. Any idea of dates?

Would it be better on a non busy drinking evening? Or had you intended to warm up afterwards in a drinking establishment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Warm up :)

Friday would be good for me as no work in the moring and we can grab a few beer's a bit later on. plus all the bars will have their lights on trying to coax us in the more lights the better.

How about this friday the 6th???

hands up

Seb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭slumped

hmm, a bunch of guys meeting up in the dark to talk about how long their lenses are........... ;-)

I'd go along ,but the first sign of an ambush and I'm outta there :D

slumped wrote:
    hmm, a bunch of guys meeting up in the dark to talk about how long their lenses are........... ;-)

Hmmm ok was thinking of just talking along the 11mm but now I dont think it's enough :(

Seb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Count me in too.

slumped wrote:

...there are so many things I could say but I'm sure they would all get turned around on me so I won't. Far too much innuendo going on round here just now - I thought this was a family place!

Would we be safe enough, anyway, in a group, at 8-9pm? I'd love to get some shots of the lights reflected on the cobbles in temple bar. Think there's a good chance of rain on friday, so there'd be reflections, as long as it clears up enough to be out shooting in.

elven wrote:
    Would we be safe enough, anyway, in a group, at 8-9pm? I'd love to get some shots of the lights reflected on the cobbles in temple bar. Think there's a good chance of rain on friday, so there'd be reflections, as long as it clears up enough to be out shooting in.

It should be quite safe along the boardwalk and the docks just dont leave you bag on the ground and walk away. been up to the docks many times after dark and feel ok about setting up equipment there.

Seb.

_Brian_ wrote:
    Galway was very smoggy I thought ,because they still burn coal up there:D

Ouch!! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

I'm in! :) No visiting friends or a bad cold this time to spoil the fun this time :rolleyes: Although I have no idea where the Customs House is....

Dimy wrote:
    I'm in! :) No visiting friends or a bad cold this time to spoil the fun this time :rolleyes: Although I have no idea where the Customs House is....

Good man Dimy the customs house is right across the river from Tara St DART station. See the link in the first post

Oh...is THAT the customs house? :) Yeah I know where to find it, just didn't know the name :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

ah i would have liking to go to this on but i have a party to go to - feels like im missing out:(

Hey scooby why not bring the party down to the docks :)

Anyway maybe next time.

Seb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Dammit - wont be able to make this friday, next time this comes round for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

elven wrote:
    I thought this was a family place!

Ah it is.... the Manson family :D

Where are yis getting your two litres ?? or is it dutch gold ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

It'd be fab but the leinster/munster match has gotten in the way! Next time!

Ok so far we have

--- NO ----
    snickerpuss
    Morlar
    scooby_doo_no1
    mikeanywhere

--- YEA ---
    elven
    _Brian_
    DarrenG
    Fajitas!
    mdebets
    Dimy

How about Friday the 13th for everyone if more can make it we can push it back a week. Both are good for me.

Seb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

(I could make it for friday 13th)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Yeah i can make it for Friday 13th.

I'm fine for either date.

Have fun guys!!

Defo let us know if you have any other events planned as would love to see how some of you more seasoned guys do stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭slumped

elven wrote:
    I'm fine for either date.

Elven, your flickr gallery has made me very thirsty and it's not even mid-day!
    S

Either date is fine for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

I'd love to come along but not during a Leinster v Munster match .... sorry ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

both dates are fine with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Greysoul

I'll need to find a ride back home, but I might be able to make it on the 13th... would love to come along if I can!

Ok it looks like we are on for friday the 13th

WIll keep the first post updated with all the details.

Seb

Update
    Looks like there is an expire time on editing the original post so

Friday the 13th
    19:00 Outside The customs House
    All welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭RazielDoomgate

agh.. i hates yous.. looked at first post at 6th october.. oo cool this friday, yeah i could make it... and was hoping to get some good photo tips too :D but alas i be away at the midlans on the 13th :( but have fun . may be this should be a regular event??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Friday the 13th sounds good to me too :)
    woohoo!

sniff sniff :(

For some reason I thought this was on tonight...

I'm dissapointed now :(

Anyone want to go shooting anyways?

I don't think I'll be online for the rest of the evening, but give me a text if yer up for it...I have nothing better to do than nurse a hangover! :p

Number's 087 9282991, and I'm in the Rathmines area, so giz a text.

ach dammit, didn't see this til I'm home and on the sofa with my blanket. And it's dark. Well, next weekend anyway. May head to Glendalough tomorrow though for some mushroom macros, if the weather isn't miserable.

Bet there will be a few moon shots on the boards in the next few days. What a scorcher tonight - so clear, bright and full (the moon I mean - woof woof!!)

Just back from a night of drinking with Fajitas and yes there shall be lots more next week.

See you all friday.

Seb.

Myself, Seb and Smiley went out tonight. In my hungover state, I forgot to bring a CF card. Thank god.

Because I forgot my battery too...

So we went to the pub instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tab126

Friday the 13'th? Seems like asking for trouble, but I could probably (and would def. want to) make that. Just curious, what would you be aiming to shoot? And the only fast lens I have is a 50/1.8. Everything else starts at about a f/4. Think that's fast enough?

I'm not going fast at all, I'm going for long exposures. F11 would be grand for that :)

Have got some nice results with ISO50 and F22 on a 11mm before but thats just me being crazy....

Seb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tab126

Hmm... so tripod required? Check. Should be interesting trying to ride the bus back with a camera and tripod. I suppose I should get a shutter release, too. I seem to have lost a key part of mine recently -- the part that attaches to the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Greysoul wrote:
    I'll need to find a ride back home, but I might be able to make it on the 13th... would love to come along if I can!

Greysoul, Are you living in Clondalkin? I maybe able to help you out there.