Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever walked out of the cinema?

• 20-10-2006 06:16PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Has a film ever been so bad that you have just buggered off out of the cinema half way through??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Nope, never. Usually if a film is very bad I just take comfort in my jumbo packet of Minstrels and jumbo coca cola tbh :D Seats are comfy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Most recently I walked out of Ballet Russe in the IFI. Not because the movie was bad, but because there were people near us that were obviously so into ballet that they found every little comment absolutely hilarious. It would have been too annoying to endure. Must track the movie down on dvd (or similar digital media).

I also walked out of RENT recently enough. It was just plain terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭wba88

yeah once but only coz i got in 4 free and it was ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

yeah outta garfield

and em into the notebook

(evil of the notebook) < (evil of garfield)

aside from that, nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

Evita. It just didn't work for me.
    (because it was a bag of piss)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

No, but i actually wanted to walk out of the second LOTR's. I mean, was it ever gonna end!!!!?????

But i was with a friend and he wanted to stay.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I wanted to walk out of Existenz (David cronenberg) but given i paid big bad uci me £4.75 (those were the days) at the time, i wasnt giving in!!

myself and a mate were the cause of 3 people leaving The devil's advocate. We were pissin ourselves laughin at all of pacino's OTT scenes and they got up and left.

"A woman's neck is the bordertown in the battle....."

classic pacino!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

We were tempted to walk out of House of Flying Daggers. But no, I've managed to stick out every film I've been to in the cinema. Bad films make for interesting conversations, at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

13 ghosts

&

Narnia... It wasnt bad enough to warrant a walk out but I just wasnt in the mood for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yes, just the once..

.. U-571!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

No but I was very very close to walking out of Van Helsing. Just too lazy to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭ronano

It's kind of different tho for cineworld card users but yes i recently walked out of 'brothers of the head'. I just didn't find it in any way interesting or have the slightest spark in it to keep me interested.

I walked out of good burger back in the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

Man on the Moon with Jim Carrey - I only lasted about 25 mins or so. Irritated the life out of me.

Mr. K wrote:
    We were tempted to walk out of House of Flying Daggers.
    God, that was a damn bad movie. Unfortunately I didn't see it in the cinema and bought the DVD - the only DVD I've ever given away to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Nah, I'm a cheap b*stard, so if I pay €9 for a ticket and €11 for food, then I'm gonna feckin stay!

I nearly walked out of Miami Vice, but that was a staff preview, and it was free ;) NEARLY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

If i pay money im damn well going to suck any goodness out of a cinema trip even if the film is abysmal. Im usually careful about what i see if im going on my own... in a group i tend to let others choose as id usually not get to see those films normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I have the Cineworld unlimited card, so as Ronano said, it's different.
    I walked out of Manderlay after about 15 minutes. I need sets in a movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

I have two words for ye
    Fried GREEN TOMATOS at the whistle stop cafe
    I was 15

Rhyme wrote:
    in a group i tend to let others choose as id usually not get to see those films normally.

<ouch> very courageous of you. I got to see About Schmidt that way, thinking it was a comedy. Put the dampeners on my happy buzz, I'll tell ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

Walked out of Keeping Mum starring Rowan Atkinson,it was terrible,mind you got the tickets for free otherwise i would have stayed and make fun of the film.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The one time was for the load of rubbish that was League of Gentlemen's Apocolypse. Considering the favourable reviews we had read, it was shocking to see it was complete nonsense. Normally I'm a fan of nonsense, and in fact am quite nonsensical. But this wasn't even funny - trying far too hard. When the monster showed up near the end a prompt exit was called for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Never, I refuse to. But I really, really wanted to walk out of Revolver. What a terrible experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I've never walked out of a film. But if its a ball of Sh1te i generally tend to fall asleep. This has happened to me @ among others Troy, Narinia and all the LOTR films. Peter Jackson needs to find a editor with the stones to stand up to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

If i didn't go to the cinema with friends i'd have walked out on a lot of films. Most recently Superman Returns, The *****tant Gardener, and Wallace and Grommit. The three of them were unwatchable imo. I could barely sit still in my seat i wanted to leave so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

dogville, was with a group of friends and they insisted on walking out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I havn't, mainly because I usually only go to films that I actually want to see. I have sat bored through a few things that other people have fragged me to but if I know I won't like it I'll just avoid going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

No but almost walked out of MI2. Hated the movie with a passion. Only stayed cuz the wife and another couple were there. After the movie finished, the other guy said how much he wanted to walk out too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

I was on a ship back from France and I went to see Pearl Harbour for my second time because there was nothing else to do to pass the time. I walked out after the attack scene as the rest is truly awful.

I also walked out of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake. I was scared! I'm terrible with horror, they scare me waaaay too much. I frequently have nightmares on account of movies.

Also, I walked out of Cold Mountain and straight into the Reurn of the King once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Daredevil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

i walked out of click about 20 mins from end............
    and the matrix reloaded about 45 mins from end

Hitch-hikers guide to the galaxy.

It ruined the books for me.

Not being racist, but Ford Prefect was neither black nor american. Fuppin' PC hollywood.

Owh yes. Actually.

I walked out of "Stay Alive". Thank god it was a staff screening but I just couldn't stick it for more than 20 minutes.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Dogville. What a terrible awful movie, so far up itself, designed to make stupid people feel clever. Also Manderlay.
    I also walked out of Waking Ned. Just the worst attempt at movie making i have ever ever seen, not even laughably bad, just plain horrendous.
    I was gonna walk out of Jeepers Creepers but I found a naggin in my pocket and did that instead.
    Also Breakdown with Kurt Russell. There was also some god honest awful movie with Jack Nicholson, Diane Keaton and Keanu Reeves whose name escapes me that I am not gonna look up because to mention it would give it some publicity. I dont go to the cinema much anymore because most of the time I am just disappointed. I prefer the DVD because you can get your mates around, have a few drinks / smokes, and its much cheaper.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,699 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Die Another Day, it just kept getting worse and worse. And The Matrix Revolutions, I gave it about 30 mins which was more than it deserved.

I usually never walk out. I like difficult or different films but I have a low threshold for garbage like the above.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

How about we get together and pick a shoite film and all walk out of it for the buzz as boardsies in protest at the ridiculous prices we're forced to pay?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

faceman wrote:
    How about we get together and pick a shoite film and all walk out of it for the buzz as boardsies in protest at the ridiculous prices we're forced to pay?

Em would just standing outside the cinema and not going in be a more effective plan? The fact that we would pay just to walk out seems like it's solving the wrong problem

down with this sort of thing!!!

faceman wrote:
    Only if you pay for my ticket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

faceman wrote:

Ah thats very nice of you, faceman. What a nice gesture. :) Fair play to you for paying for everyones ticket, I assume this includes sweeties of whatever your choice is also.

I walked out of Troy as well.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Never have, despite seeing some real crap. On principal, I wish I had walked out of "Rules of Engagement" but no, not yet. I'm stubborn enough to always stick through until the last credits role..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Only once, and it was reservoir dogs, and before anybody starts giving me stick there was good reason. The other half announced she was leaving midway through the ear cutting scene and demanded I accompany her. I sat my ground and said no until I realised she had left and had the car keys:(

If i can sit through Seven Years in Tibet i can sit through anything.

There was also some god honest awful movie with Jack Nicholson, Diane Keaton and Keanu Reeves whose name escapes me
    Wasn't that an attempt at some kind of sequel to As Good As It Gets, entitled As Bad As It Can Be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

it was called ''Somethings Gotta Give'',and yeah,it sucked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

Walked out of "The Exorcist: The Beginning" at the part the monkeys or dogs started to attack the little boy. I mean, how ridiculous was that. They never should have made that movie. It feckin sucked. Well up til the part I saw, did, anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

Nope and Ive seen some bad films

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

no never left, but came very close with "rushmore". biggest pile of steaming manure i ever seen in my life . and ive seen battlefield earth! five stars my hole, the critics lost any credibility with me after that one

TBH i probably should have left but wanted the right to moan on about how crap it was (plus the natchos and melted cheese was lovely:D )

Didn't think Rushmore was too bad, but then again, I'll always have a thumb up Bill Murray.

no never left, but came very close with "rushmore". biggest pile of steaming manure i ever seen in my life . and ive seen battlefield earth! five stars my hole, the critics lost any credibility with me after that one
    Rushmore is feckin' brillant!

PS - didn't the critics and audiences widely pan 'Battlefield Earth'? A 3% rating on RT suggests so! :eek:

TBH i probably should have left but wanted the right to moan on about how crap it was (plus the natchos and melted cheese was lovely:D )

:eek: Big fan of it myself my "Citizen Kane" of the 90s :)
    In hindsight I shouldve walked out of Charlies Angels 2 and American Pie 3. The two smelliest films ive ever seen in the cinema. But those were back when I was a wee lad of fifteen or so, ah innocence.