Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you give out to an old person.

• 01-11-2006 12:58PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

I was walking my dog recently and an old woman with a dog stopped to let it **** in the street and the walked off.

I walked up to her told her (evry politely) what her dog had done and offered her a nappy bag to pick it up with. She declined and kept walking.

Anyway I told her that kids went blind because of people like her, that she was a disgrace and so on.

Is this acceptable given that she was in he 60s?

MM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Idiots are idiots, no matter what the age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Anyway I told her that kids went blind because of people like her, that she was a disgrace and so on.
    So as well as littering the street with her doggies foul excrement, she also encourages young boys to masturbate? Too right you should shout at the evil old witch. She makes Pighead want to vomit. (Is her name Betsy by the way?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Well done.

That kind of action is acceptable in any situation.

Fair play to you for handling the situation well.

While the lady might not succumb to your efforts this time, I would suggest that she might bag Towsers poopy next time.

As a matter of interest where did this event take place.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

An old lady barged by me on to a bus (in Swords) before. I told her she was ignorant and that I would have let her pass if I had seen her. Felt bad about it but like another poster said ignorance is ignorance. The old deserve respect but that's not an excuse to act like a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Meh, old people are often set in their ways, so why bother...

You did the right thing tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭LeperKing

I walked up to her told her (evry politely) what her dog had done and offered her a nappy bag to pick it up with. She declined and kept walking.

Would it be OTT to pick it up using the nappy bags, run up to her and smear it on her coat?

Or would that be water of a ducks back? :D

The Judge would understand when you told him where you got it!

LK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Pighead wrote:
    So as well as littering the street with her doggies foul excrement, she also encourages young boys to masturbate?

Actually canine faeces can contain bacteria that can lead to blindness in humans. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

stovelid wrote:
    An old lady barged by me on to a bus (in Swords) before. I told her she was ignorant and that I would have let her pass if I had seen her. Felt bad about it but like another poster said ignorance is ignorance. The old deserve respect but that's not an excuse to act like a cnut.
    I agree that old people deserve respect, but that doesn't mean that they can't be respectful in return.

I once saw a girl on a bus offer her seat to an old lady, who then proceed to yell at her that she was "perfectly capable of standing and didn't need to be patronised by a young bitch".

OP, you did the right thing. Perhaps you should have followed it up by rubbing her nose in it! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Its true, you can be an assh*le or b*tch at any age, so why should someone not get onto you about it just cause you're in your later years of life.

There is this one who is about mid sixties and gets the same bus I get home and she has to be one of the most ignorant b*tches Ive ever seen, walks up the aisle of the bus barging her way through people even if there is no room, she will push through anyway. Nearly knocked a woman holding a small baby over one time and didnt even acknowledge it. :eek:

One evening there were about 10 people on the ground floor of the bus, she got on, walked past about 5 empty seats and over to a seat where a girl was sitting reading a magazine, without saying anything like excuse me or anything even remotely mannerly she pushed the magazine away and demanded the girl move into the window seat.

The girl was a bit shocked, but did it.. About 5 stops later the girl stood up to get off, asked her could she get out and did so very mannerly.. the oul b*tch looks as her and says "ya could have f**king told me you would be getting out so soon" and didnt move.

The girl, just barged past her, whacking her in the head with her hangbang, turns back to her and calls her an oul hag and walks off, everyone on the bus starts sniggering and the oul bag just shrugs it off as if nothing happened.

I really felt like going over and thumping the oul yoke. :mad:

Tox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Its simply not acceptable to be ignorant regardless of the age of the lady especially when you were trying to do the right thing here. Alot of times I have just bitten my tongue and went along with things in situations similar to those that have been posted.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Dragan wrote:
    Actually canine faeces can contain bacteria that can lead to blindness in humans. :)

I think he was extracting the urine!

You can get the same bacteria from dog hair also.

If its justified I'll give out to any one.

Min dyou giving out doesnt mean ranting and raving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

You did the right thing, she seems like an ignorant See You Next Tuesday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

you did the right thing, but you should have followed up by then plunging a knife into her back and dragging her home dismembering the body and then ground down the organs into powder form to make Nutritious Delicious milkshake.

At least then she would be making a positive step to someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

I

Is this acceptable given that she was in he 60s?

MM

Are you a litter / dog warden? If so, then well done, you should have fined her as well. If not, then its really none of your business.

Many times I see people do things which endanger the lives/health/safety/wellbeing/sanity of others, but if we all jump on our high horses every time someone does something that niggles us, then we'll simply end up with a society whereby all we do is give out to each other constantly. Just today alone I can count 10 occaions whereby people REALLY p***ed me off, but meh, you've got to live with it.
    I personally think you're way out of place by approaching a complete stranger in the first place;in particular an old lady with our current climate of fear, and had it been a 22 stone 7 foot wrestler leaving dog waste behind instead of a little old lady, the outcome would have probably been a lot different and we would probably see a thread of the title "is it right for big giant scary wrestlers to beat up random busy bodies who needlessly poke their noses into other people affairs"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Once, many years before the smoking ban, I was on a train. This was back in the days of the smoking carriage. The train was pretty full and I was sitting in the dining carriage with a friend. An woman (60's) proceeded to light up a cigar behind me. I told her it was a non-smoking carriage and indicated the sign on the window quite politely. She told me she couldn't read the sign from where she was and continued smoking. I got up and read the sign aloud for the auld hag and told her that she should go to the next carriage which was for smokers. She informed me that she would put the cigar out but only when it was finished and wasn't moving anywhere.
    So, instead of grabbing it off her and burning her eyes out I decided 'feck this' and got the conductor. She quickly put it out when she saw him coming and after being told that she would be fined if she started smoking again she turned to me and said 'Are you feckin' happy now you pain in the arse?'
    Beaming, I told her I was and that she was an ignorant bitch. The whole carriage was laughing. A few minutes later the fat cow got up, waddled off to the smoking carriage and didn't return. I got free coffees from the coffee guy for the rest of the journey.

Ignorant old people deserve the same treatment as ignorant young people.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

THere is an old man on the bus in the evenings, 2 weeks ago as he was getting onto the bus he raored at some girl because she wasn't going fast enuf for him and there was only one seat left and he wanted it, he then proceeded to shove her out of the way!! He proceeded to keep roaring at everyone and then getting off the bus he shouted at the driver for no reason at all!!

At the end of the day most old people are ignorant because they think they deserve respect because they are elderly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

When I was a scout leader a few years ago our scouts were packing bags in Tesco to raise money. Anyway, I overheard an old lady saying to one of our scouts:

"Don't pack any toiletries with my veg you little ****!" :eek:

The kid (one of the unit smart-asses) turned round and said to her "One look at you would make any man a **** love!" :D

Should have seen her face...priceless. Of course I had to step in and reprimand the kid but I made sure that I gave the old woman an earful for verbally abusing the kid too :)

On other occassions when it's just been me rather than someone in my charge I have just kept my mouth shut but it is a pain int he ass the way some people think that their age entitles them to behave as they wish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Given your situation yeah, I probably would have. In situations where their offence is less serious or just a matter of annoyance I'd simply take comfort in the fact that they'll probably be dead in a few years. Then I can urinate on their grave.

Archeron wrote:
    Are you a litter / dog warden? If so, then well done, you should have fined her as well. If not, then its really none of your business.

Many times I see people do things which endanger the lives/health/safety/wellbeing/sanity of others, but if we all jump on our high horses every time someone does something that niggles us, then we'll simply end up with a society whereby all we do is give out to each other constantly. Just today alone I can count 10 occaions whereby people REALLY p***ed me off, but meh, you've got to live with it.
    I personally think you're way out of place by approaching a complete stranger in the first place;in particular an old lady with our current climate of fear, and had it been a 22 stone 7 foot wrestler leaving dog waste behind instead of a little old lady, the outcome would have probably been a lot different and we would probably see a thread of the title "is it right for big giant scary wrestlers to beat up random busy bodies who needlessly poke their noses into other people affairs"
    On the contrary, this country is the way it is precisely because few speak up against anti-social or illegal behaviour.

Why should it matter that in the instance described by the OP that it was an old person? I'm sure if the situation arose with someone "his own size", to coin a phrase, he would have done the same thing and he should be commended.

What climate of fear are you referring to, btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Archeron wrote:
    if we all jump on our high horses every time someone does something that niggles us, then we'll simply end up with a society whereby all we do is give out to each other constantly

so if some wanker lets his dog **** at your gate and didnt pick it up you would do nothing about it? you must be a push over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

tbh, i go on the premise of respect where it is returned, old people (or anyone else for that matter) who are ignorant assh0le's/b!thces dont deserve respect and will get none from me, if they are respectful, then it will be returned..

if im on a bus (rarely these days) and an elderly person gets on, I will give them my seat gladly, but if they _expect_ to be given that seat and act ignorant about it/demand the seat then they can FO

OP: you were right to say something to her, if she chose to be a b!tch then there is nothing you can realistically do to change someone else's behaviour, but I would continue to do the same thing if it happened again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

stovelid wrote:
    i fuppin HATE those old bastards who barge onto buses not caring who they hit in the process, thinking they are in the right just because they are 'old'. I want to give em a slap. I don't of course!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

On the contrary, this country is the way it is precisely because few speak up against anti-social or illegal behaviour.

I agree with this. We don't speak up half often enough.

We are bad consumers and get taken advantage of for it aswell because of this.

Pesronally I think you did the right thing. There are plenty of ignorant old people. I mean you think ignorant young people suddenly turn into model citizens because they turn 60?

Just look at drink driving and bad driving on the roads. Old people have bad habbits and they should be targeted just like every other age group. They aren't above the law because they are old for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

Mossy Monk wrote:
    so if some wanker lets his dog **** at your gate and didnt pick it up you would do nothing about it? you must be a push over

Well thats a different story isnt it. If its at my gate, then I'm within my rights to say something and pull the person up on it as I would do, but it wasnt, it was on a public street. I think society has an awful lot of people rushing around trying to impose on other people their own little ideas of what we should and shouldnt do when in reality, its none of their damn business. To be fair, I think she was wrong to leave the waste there as well, but I dont think its my place to go up and express my opinions to her. There are (supposedly)wardens in place to prevent this type of thing from happening, and I personally feel that approaching strangers on the street is not bloody on. Whereas I wouldnt leave the **** there in the first place, if someone pulled me on it, I know only too well what my response would be, and it wouldnt be to smile and keep walking.

I agree that we all need to speak out more against anti social behaviour, but I hardly think a little old ladies dog having a sh*t on the street should be top of our list of priorities. Lets think for a minute about the more pressing issues that people are not quite so quick to jump on. How about the little knacks throwing fireworks at houses,cars and people? How about junkies shooting up at the back of schools and public places? How about drivers undertaking in bus lanes before shooting through red lights and nearly killing people? How about the random assaults that happen on our streets every day? How about scummers urinating on public places and public transport? How about spacers dropping rocks onto cars from overspasses etc etc etc.
    Do we all pull these people up and scold them for their behaviour too, or is that perhaps past the line we've drawn and it then becomes the responsibility of the authorities? I think we have a little "safety net" of things and people that we will and wont approach in relation to bad public behaviour, and for the most part, if it falls outside your own guaranteed safety zone, then nothing will be said and the real problem elements of society will continue to destroy society unabated while we're all busy lynching grannies from the nearest lamp post.

Now far be it from me to say what anyone will or wont do in relation to the above examples, as in fairness I have no idea who the hell any of you people are, but if we all ask ourselves the question of what we would pull people up on and what we wouldnt, I do reckon you will find rather distinct categories.
    Category A. Things I feel safe approaching on the street, most likely non-issues involving little old ladies and dog poo or bubble gum related matters.
    Category B. Things that are inherently dangerous, but screw that if I'm getting involved, sure isnt that why theres the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

I would give an old person my seat on the tram or the bus.
    And by the way I would have said it to someone my own size or an adolescent or whatever, I have done that before and people usually make a lame excuse about forgetting the bag (which I have also done).

There could also be an element of intimidation with a man talking to an old woman, but this old see you next tuesday wasn't intimidated at all.

archeron suck my cock, I'm not a coward you might be but I'm not.
    MM

No need for that MM.

Archeron, If a dog craps on the street, what's to say someone doesn't walk in it by accident (although they'd hardly do it on purpose!), then walks it around a hospital or creche or whatever. Then it become dangerous.

If someone slips on it and decides to sue, it's my taxes and yours that pays for the claim agains the local council.

From my reading of your posts on this subject, it seems that despite having drawn up two categories, you wouldn't act on either. Maybe I'm wrong on that and so am open to correction, but would you not call the Gardaí if you encountered something in Category B?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

And you can suck my bell too Archeron.

Its people with your attitude who have the place like it is.

We all inhabit this city and country,lets not succumb to the lowest common denominator.Get on with it and cop yourself on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

If someone came up to me and started waving a nappy in my
    face and told me to pick up dog turd they'd end up picking up their own.
    I have only ever seen someone do it twice.
    I'm willing to bet that, outside the OP, none of you have never scooped
    up dog dirt.
    I dont think her being old had anything to do with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I would give an old person my seat on the tram or the bus.
    And by the way I would have said it to someone my own size or an adolescent or whatever, I have done that before and people usually make a lame excuse about forgetting the bag (which I have also done).

There could also be an element of intimidation with a man talking to an old woman, but this old see you next tuesday wasn't intimidated at all.

archeron suck my cock, I'm not a coward you might be but I'm not.
    MM

Less of the personal abuse, its not acceptable around here, take it to the Thunderdome (and I'm not picking on you just so you know), same goes for you FlutterinBantam. Ye or anyone else won't be warned again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Archeron wrote:
    Well thats a different story isnt it. If its at my gate, then I'm within my rights to say something and pull the person up on it as I would do, but it wasnt, it was on a public street. I think society has an awful lot of people rushing around trying to impose on other people their own little ideas of what we should and shouldnt do when in reality, its none of their damn business. To be fair, I think she was wrong to leave the waste there as well, but I dont think its my place to go up and express my opinions to her. There are (supposedly)wardens in place to prevent this type of thing from happening, and I personally feel that approaching strangers on the street is not bloody on. Whereas I wouldnt leave the **** there in the first place, if someone pulled me on it, I know only too well what my response would be, and it wouldnt be to smile and keep walking.

I agree that we all need to speak out more against anti social behaviour, but I hardly think a little old ladies dog having a sh*t on the street should be top of our list of priorities. Lets think for a minute about the more pressing issues that people are not quite so quick to jump on. How about the little knacks throwing fireworks at houses,cars and people? How about junkies shooting up at the back of schools and public places? How about drivers undertaking in bus lanes before shooting through red lights and nearly killing people? How about the random assaults that happen on our streets every day? How about scummers urinating on public places and public transport? How about spacers dropping rocks onto cars from overspasses etc etc etc.
    Do we all pull these people up and scold them for their behaviour too, or is that perhaps past the line we've drawn and it then becomes the responsibility of the authorities? I think we have a little "safety net" of things and people that we will and wont approach in relation to bad public behaviour, and for the most part, if it falls outside your own guaranteed safety zone, then nothing will be said and the real problem elements of society will continue to destroy society unabated while we're all busy lynching grannies from the nearest lamp post.

Now far be it from me to say what anyone will or wont do in relation to the above examples, as in fairness I have no idea who the hell any of you people are, but if we all ask ourselves the question of what we would pull people up on and what we wouldnt, I do reckon you will find rather distinct categories.
    Category A. Things I feel safe approaching on the street, most likely non-issues involving little old ladies and dog poo or bubble gum related matters.
    Category B. Things that are inherently dangerous, but screw that if I'm getting involved, sure isnt that why theres the guards.

what a load of ****e you talk, "people rushing around trying to impose on other people their own little ideas of what we should and shouldnt do" - are you for real? leaving dog **** on the ground is pure ignorance - i'm sorry for imposing this fact on you. get a grip.
    thrill wrote:
    up dog dirt.
    I dont think her being old had anyhthing to do with.

cant believe i'm reading this. maybe its exceptable to leave sh1t lying around in streets in cork but elsewhere some people have a little more self respect.

I dont like **** on the street any more than you do and i stick
    my dog out the back garden until he has a cr4p before i take him for a walk.
    But someone telling me to clean up cr4p is pushing it.
    And the streets of cork are as clean as anywhere else in the country.

thrill wrote:
    But someone telling me to clean up cr4p is pushing it.
    i dont get it. what is it pushing?
    if you dont like crap on the streets, why would it annoy you when someone (quite rightly) asks you to clean up after your dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Thrill, its actually law to clean up after your dog. I have four of them and a massive bag of poo to prove it ;)

thrill wrote:
    up dog dirt.

I have and I am sure if you go to Animals and pet issues lots of dog owners would tell you the same. There are numerous signs around where I live stating it is law and that the owner can be prosecuted and fined if failing to clean up.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

What climate of fear are you referring to, btw?

Good post, I agree 100%. I'm turning into as right Victor Meldrew and have no problem telling people to f88k off with themselves if they take me for a push over. I would also step in agree/back up someone who I saw complaining on a bus/train etc.

Pushing it is telling a complete stranger to pick up ****.
    I would take it as an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

This thread has made me wonder. Is it right that an elderly person who might very well have a bad back is required to get down and pick up their dog's waste?

I think they should invent dog nappies tbh.

Anyway, on the case of ignorant old people? I've run into the odd one myself, but I don't bother myself getting worked up about it.

thrill wrote:
    Pushing it is telling a complete stranger to pick up ****.
    I would find take it as an insult.

No not pick up random ****...**** that their dog did....its their responsibility.

Your very easily offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This thread has made me wonder. Is it right that an elderly person who might very well have a bad back is required to get down and pick up their dog's waste?

Spots opportunity to invent long-handled retractable pooper-scooper :D Sits back and watches cash start rolling in :D

yes. cleaning up after your dog is part of the responsibility of dog ownership. if you are unable to clean up after your dog and deal with the uncomfortable and taxing aspects of having a dog, you shouldnt have a dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I have three dogs and to be honest there is no chance in hell I'm going to carry load of plastic bags around with me and start picking up piles of sh1t when I'm out for a walk. If one of my dogs stopped to have a sh1t I'd walk it over to the grass and let it sh1t till its hearts content. If someone came over to me and started trying to tell me to pick it up I'd laugh at them and tell them if it bothered them so much to pick it up themselves. Some people must have very little to worry about.

I can understand the argument against people leaving dog crap on the footpath but moaning about it naywhere else is fukking stupid. "But it makes little kids blind!!!" Give me a bleedin break, if a kids stupid enough to pick up dog sh1t and then touch thier eyes they shouldn't be let out of the house on thier own in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Old people on buses annoy me. Its the queing up. Where I get a bus when its near time for the bus to leave there is already a queue forming. That doesn't stop the old person walking straight up to the door like they have a right to thereby skipping the entire que.

ferdi wrote:
    yes. cleaning up after your dog is part of the responsibility of dog ownership. if you are unable to clean up after your dog and deal with the uncomfortable and taxing aspects of having a dog, you shouldnt have a dog

And elderly people who've had their dogs since before such laws have come in? Get the repo men around and take old rover to the pound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I had a row with an elderly woman on a bus last week. My allergies were bad so I nearly sneezed four times in a 30 minute bus journey - each time I managed to prevent myself actually sneezing. Anyway every time it happened your one turned around and stared at me. In the end she said I shouldn't have gotten out of bed that morning. I told her that some of us had to work and she started having a go with me so I told her it was none of her bloody business. She was wearing this big hairy coat that was probably setting off my allergies in the first place.

slipss wrote:
    I have three dogs and to be honest there is no chance in hell I'm going to carry load of plastic bags around with me and start picking up piles of sh1t when I'm out for a walk. If one of my dogs stopped to have a sh1t I'd walk it over to the grass and let it sh1t till its hearts content. If someone came over to me and started trying to tell me to pick it up I'd laugh at them and tell them if it bothered them so much to pick it up themselves. Some people must have very little to worry about.

I can understand the argument against people leaving dog crap on the footpath but moaning about it naywhere else is fukking stupid. "But it makes little kids blind!!!" Give me a bleedin break, if a kids stupid enough to pick up dog sh1t and then touch thier eyes they shouldn't be let out of the house on thier own in the first place.
    do you have no sense of civic duty or respect for the area in which you live or its residents? your not fit to own one dog, let alone 3. i'm not even talking about kids going blind, its just plain nasty having **** lying around, dont you agree?

And elderly people who've had their dogs since before such laws have come in? Get the repo men around and take old rover to the pound?
    obviously not, but i think you get what i'm saying, old people who have had dogs since before these laws wont be around forever.

ferdi wrote:
    obviously not, but i think you get what i'm saying, old people who have had dogs since before these laws wont be around forever.

I get you, but honestly, couldn't they just save all the bother and hire some Polish dude to clean up the poop? :p

slipss wrote:

People like you make children go blind.
    MM

The dog will be dead pretty sharpish that law is ten years old.
    If they can't bend over to pick up the sh1t they should be given a card that says
    'pick up my dogs sh1t or go to jail for 5 years'
    The government should bring in a law that obliges everyone to pick up an old person's dogsh1t if they have this card. Obviously the coffin dodger has to provide the bag, you needn't use your hand.

MM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pansy Potter

I'd have followed the bitch home and dropped a load of my own right outside her gate. Apparently legally you cant be done for crapping in public, while you can be for peeing. Something to with the pee being controllable, poo not.