Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GJP main event reports/reviews

• 27-11-2006 06:25PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭

havent seen a tread for this, think rounders123 started one after the Irish open and it was a great read for all. With so many boards playing I think everyone should make the effort and share there experiences of this unusually deeeeep structured game.

so who is gonna get the ball rolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Started off with a nice table great atmosphere, Nicnicnic, Smurph, Aengus from the Lane and BA the crazy Norwegian on my table along with a few locals, took 50 minutes to win my first pot, probably played far too tight and got no action when I got big hands in EP - was utterly card dead for most of the day, went the whole first day without getting all my chips in or getting another player allin - the closest I came to risking my stack was raising to 2200 of my 18k stack with AKo in EP, BA reraises to 6500 with a similar stack, I push and he folds TT, that got me to 25k and I sat on it without getting a hand for the rest of the day.
    Started day2 with 22k but took a hit early on when I had to fold JJ on a K high board, limped in ep with 99 a few hands later hopeing for a raise, a shortstack pushes with KQo and I more or less double up to 25k, Gholi comes over to see how Im getting on, theres a raise and a call so I stay with 6s3s, flop is J83r - check check check, Im ready to take a stab on the turn but it comes an A - check check check! 3 on the river, I bet 5k of my 20k stack into a 9k stack, original raiser folds next fella makes a motion with his arms which Im told means all in, I gamble he mucks.
    A while later Lyonzy who had been dogging me on tribeca in every tourney we played for the last week gets moved to my left and gets a sweet double up from the player who gave Lloyd chips with the QT v AA hand, a while later Lyonzy raises utg triple the blinds, theres a caller so I call on the bb with Q7s, flop comes QJ7, I check raise and get reraised by KK and my Q7 holds up. The table gets broken a while later and Im moved to a table with Rounders123 on my right, Kevin Fitzpatrick 2 to my left Brendan Mckenna BA and Conor Doyle the other end of the table, I hang around the 80-90k mark till a battle of the blinds with Rounders123 - he completes I triple it with A9o he calls, flop is 78T, he bets half the pot I call, turn is a 6, he bets I put him all in hes flopped the nuts.
    Table gets broken again I get moved to a table with Kevin Fitzpatrick, Jen Mason and Mick McCloskey who gets moved quickly, I stay around the 35k mark with the blinds at 1k 2k then 1500 3k, couldnt get action on my big hands, pushed or got a walk once a round to keep me level. Table get broken again, we're down to 27. I get moved to a table with Lloyd, Marq, Andy Black and Conor Doyle, push in ep with KK, Lloyd starts thinking about it, I do my best to make myself look weak but he folds TT. another round of the table and Andys been crippled and I know he'll be looking to gambe, I push with AJo in ep, Andy calls with QT, QJ flop Q on the turn and Im down to 3bbs, utg I get A9 and push, Marq reraises with AQ - Andys says theres a 9 coming - board comes K98TJ and thats all she wrote. 2 card dead days of poker, wasnt happy with some of my shortstacked play either day but not much I could have done differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

try get it going again with my brief tournament

starting table had bohsman and smrup played very badly for the first 4 levels. three hands spring to mind. hand 1 one cost me 4k could of cost me more as i felt i was ahead and was going to re-open the betting on the river, happy i didn't as he had hit his set on the turn to beat my top two pair.

Hand 2 i got some strange looks from the rest of the table, called a bet on the river with a straight when a flush hit. I turned my cards declaring i called as he could of had two pair i had a pair of eights and had miss read my hand, time to knock the alcohol on the head

hand three was when i played back at a scadi who seemed to be trying to take control of the table, i re raised him twice in the hand with 42os on a 833 board if an 8 doesn't hit the river I'm bust here as he had a 3 and i would of fired again.

At the break in level 4 i had 5k and told myself if this was a normal 10k starting stack game i was gone.

next 3 levels went well got it to 8k and then doubled to 16k with KK vs JJ all in pre and my cowboys hold, managed to get to 33k without seeing a turn card and had decided to close up shop for the day when i was moved at the end of level 7 to a horrible table. I really enjoyed the first table as Bohsman said great atmosphere and i was happy i knew where i was at with all the players

directly to my left on the new table was a guy with 60/70k the poet to his left with 100k to decent english followed with me covered and another two 50k stacks at the table, there was no small pots to be taken down here. I had raised 3 times with AJ or A10 and folded when re-raised and was down to 20k next player out and that was it for the night.

one of the english players made it 4.5 UTG I'm in the cut off with 99 and push for another 15 after a long time he calls with JJ so it was over and out and all i really deserved after my performance in the early levels.

My reasoning for the push was simply based on the table dynamics, just felt i needed more chips to be a factor on the table and was prepared to gamble to get them, if i got lucky there was a huge amount of chips on the table over twice the average for the tourney. If i had known a redraw was happening the next day i don't think i would of been so aggressive with the nines.

GJP ran a fantastic festival and i really enjoyed it however I'm glad next weeks tournament is in a casino as I have real trouble staying away from the bar in hotel events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Right so then im going to moan some more here.
    After looking forward to this event for ages and ages the day had finally arrived.
    I was in the bar with Pillowtalk and FatboyDim and O’Callagh having something to eat when the game had already started.
    Then I found out that I was at the same table with FatboyDim and we had alugh about it cuz in we had the same table in the irish open as well and nither of us did well.
    Also he is a aggrro player that I could do with out on the table.
    I was just happy that I had position on him.
    Our starting table was ok.
    There was an English lad(the Climber) who is ok .he is solid enough and what I like about him is that I pretty much know where I am in the hand with him.
    There was a Italian fallow after him.
    Then there was another fallow I didn’t know.
    Then FatboyDim
    Then my self.
    Then it was night mare to my direct left.one of those local gamblooer types from Drogheda who don’t know **** about **** but will just make life difficult for you.
    This guy would call any raise with anything at all ,would call you down with a runner runner gut shot on the flop if he had to .he was also very fond of bluffing and to him a deep stack tourney meant more chips to use as a bluff.
    After him there was one tight fallow and after him I believe was Richie Lawlor from boreds.
    The two of them were fairly tight which was a very good position for me to steal their blinds but this Drogheda fecker to my left had focked everything up for me.
    There was also a loose Drogheda dude on the table who was gone with in the first hour who is really not worth mentioning.
    Any way the first big pot I played was with Len (just as I thought) where he raises in MP and I call with KTs .
    Flop comes 5Tx and Len bets 200 and I makes it 700 and Len calls.
    Turn is another 5 and Len checks.i bet 500 and Len minraises to 1K.
    River is a blank and Len leads for 1K and I call and he shows A5 and im down a few K.
    I play a few small pots with my mate to my left from Drogheda and I soon find out there is no way to bluff him or Cbet against him.
    I raise with AQ ,AK,JJ,and miss every time and I check and he bets and I fold.
    Eventually I play a big pot with him and I limp with 65 on the button and he completes and BB checks.
    Flop comes A67.
    Every one checks and I bet and surprise surprise my mate calls.
    Turn comes a blank and we both check and river brings another 6 .
    He leads big and I reraise and I he calls showing the 7 !!!
    Few hands later I get AA after a limper and I raise and take the blinds.
    Few hands later this tight Italian dude makes it 600 from EP and I call with JJ.
    Flop comes Atx .the dude leads for 1K and I make it 3K and he folds showing AQ.
    I was shocked and told every one I had AA (which no one believed me ,I don’t know why as I would have done the same play with AA) and he said cuz I was pretty tight(which I was) and I suppose it was a good fold from him .
    Anyway the table breaks and im on 17K and move to another table.
    I go tottaly card dead for about 3 hours .
    I go down but come back to the 17K after stealing a couple of pots and then I get KK UTG.
    I make it 1300 with blinds 200/400 and BB who I have to say is the luckiest player I have seen (I don’t think he was much of a player to be honest even though he did last long) calls.
    Flop comes QJ2 and he checks.
    I bet 3K and he pushes all in and he has me slightly covered.
    I put him on a bad Q (hoping he doesn’t have QJ) and call and he has Q9.
    Turn is a T and river a 8 to give him a straight and knock me out.
    The pot was 35K when the average was only 25K and I can’t help think what could happen had that 8 not fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Gholimoli wrote:
    I can’t help think what could happen had that 8 not fall.

You'd have donked them off, so don't beat yourself up about it. It would have been false hope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I was really looking forward to this tournament for ages. Went to the Star & Crescent on Thursday and won a ticket for the main game so I felt good.

I got no cards, nothing, absolute crumbs, won 3 pots, went down to 2k back up to about 8 k. Every time I hit top pair top kicker I ran into 2 pair, nic nic was at my table to my right and Oscar. There was good crack at the table, but the lack of cards was killing me. After the break i look down and find pocket 8's, yepee at last. Blinds are 100, 200 and I raise to 1K around to the button, raises to 3K. This guy had re-raised me a couple of times, so of course i go all in, he calls like a hot snot, which you do when you have Pocket Aces:o :o So that as they say is that. Sometimes you just don't get going into a tournament. I definitely feel that i panicked a bit and tried to push getting chips. Lesson learn't. Did okay in the cash games but was disappointed with my general play from the main tournament so i was not really in the form, so went drinking yeppee

Got 4th in the €300 Saturday game for €2.5K so that helped the disappointment. When it got down to 4 Denis (Dealer from the fitz) suggested we take 4k each and leave balance for the dealer, I said no as I felt I was playing well and wanted to continue, so Murphys law im gone the next hand. The atmosphere in the room on the Saturday night was brillant.

Sunday €200 game was so weird, I sat down with a manky hangover and I was still in the mode that I had a load of chips, from being at final table previous night. I was doing strange raises like blinds 25 50 I raise to 600 wtf!! and got called. In fairness I got good cards and got the starting stack of 6k up to 13.5k by the break. I was motoring, then after the break i lost 2 races that i was ahead til the river and my stack in down to 1.5K, built it up a bit and then went out when my A10 suited ran into pocket 55's,

The mix of players made for great cash games and the tournament were exceptionally well run. It just shows that poker in Ireland is going from strength to strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

My Story is short one I am afraid

So before the tourney i got the braintrust together and talked some strategys for playing a 1000 buy in tourney with the amazing stacks we where given

Although i have been toying with a TAG strategy of late I am more natural in a LAG game and decided that at least on Day 1 LAG would be the way to go

So fired up with the phrase ultra lag in my head i arrive in the BV hotel

So I was very happy with my Table
    Seat 1 Young tight not going to be up to anything tricky
    Seat 2 Young thinks he is tight and will try to be tricky from Sligo I think
    Seat 3 Andy Black enough said
    Seat 4 Pub player who you could see in his eyes was going to play top 5% of hands and nothing else I love these players
    Seat 5 Young clown who had read what TAG was but couldnt seem to put it into perspective i was Delighted to be sitting over him
    Seat 6 The Maestro that is me (cough cough)
    Seat 7 Young and genuine northy TAG i think he played 3 hands in the first 3 hours and i didnt see him make a bet in this time but correctly call somebody down with over pair I very quickly realised if he called a bet it was check fold time
    Seat 8 Arrived about 45 mins late interesting player
    Seap 9 Elderly gent whos name i cant remember i can remeber playing him in the Merrion many moons ago he was a regular there I havent seem him play in the Fitz and he along with Andy participated in the Blind Omaha game before kick off

Straight of the bat i am limping into hands and making bets and raises
    I run into Eldely gent early and have to lay down to his persitant calling then betting
    I then Fail to make Seat 1 fold his QQ on a K then Flush then Ace board which was expensive
    And then Seat 2 to fold his 88 on Ace high board
    So i am getting looked up i decide to rail in the betting till i next get a hand
    After some rounds of failing to hit my 63 and 87 hands I then double up through Andy Black when my 84 flopped 2 pair stands up to his JJ
    We are healthy again

Then I get KK and raise in the CO Seat 9 sees a AJx flop we check Flop and when the turn throws an Ace and i call a 2 k and a 3 K bet from AT
    Not sure if this was good or bad play by me but I had seen Seat 9 bet a JT flop with 66 similar but different i feel

Then Seat 5 who is doing his best to ship chips as fast as possible check calls my QJ on QQ9 board and leads for 2k on the 8 turn not happy but call When he check the A river I VB 1500 he calls with 88 Sigh

I lose some chips chasing flushs when in a multi limped pot i flop a gutshot draw I bet 600 chips into 1200 pot when Seat 7 calls Ok time to shut down except turn gives me the nuts I end up getting 8500 out of our friend who didnt show but i suspect has a set
    nice

So i am cruising most of the table does not know how to handle me and I know i can get Seats 1245 to pretty much do anything i want by adjusting my betting patter
    Happy days i am know hovering on 20K chips near chip lead on table

And before i can bask in this warm smugness the clock strikes 12 and i am out in 3 hands

hand 1
    I limp UTG+1 with 55 many other limpers and we see a t62 flop 2 diamonds i open for 800 into roughly 1500 and get a call from Seat 9 and MR Black in Seat 3 from the sb
    Turn is the 5 hearts Checked to me and I bet 2500 and before you can say Jack Rabbit Andy Black is all in for 12K more
    I cant find a lay down and the river doesnt pair and Andys 34 straight is Golden
    Next hand i fold and then on my BB Andy raises to 1k from 150-300 blinds
    I See A6 and decide to gamble Seat 89 come along for the ride

Flop 642 all hearts i have the ace of hearts i open push for 6K and Andys KK k of hearts calls i miss my 14 outs twice and i am gone

Exit hand is straight forward when i have those amount of chips the 25-1 straight on the turn is not so straight forward

The brain trust feel it is a cooler hand i am paying him of if we both hit 100% of the time
    i am not so sure the more i think about it i can and should find a fold there but Cest la Vie

By the way feel free to call me names and comment on hands of interest

Didnt go near the cash games or play in the other tourneys as i was sulking till about 6pm on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

GJP €1070 Main Event
    Before we kicked off they showed a great slideshow montage with music which went some way to inspiring me to beat my tables brains out. Easier said than done though because i had a couple of known players on my table and a few unknown but good players including a Welsh player to my right who was playing in the event through his GJP sponsorship fund. Multi-tabling 10/20 for a living does it i suppose!. I should have my buy-in for a €250 game next may!. 3 to my right was was Conor Smyth.

1hr levels and i hadnt seen a real hand or hit a flop when i was able to get in cheap. A hand came up, battle of the blinds where all my biggest pots seem to stem from it seems. I complete with J4 and bb checks. Flop J84. Nice!. I bet out and bb calls?. turn x and i fire a hell of a shell and he calls again?. Now im thinking maybe im not ahead but pretty sure i still am!. River came an 8 and im seemingly calm but bulling inside as i give up betting. I check after a long think to try and worry him. He moves for his chips and fires 3k. Blah how can i call now, my 4's are counterfeited. Then i look at him a bit and turn my look into a stare and i dont let up. Im eyeballing this guy to death. He knows im looking at him but he doesnt look back and is avoiding my glare and i sense he's nervous. Right then and there i feel theres a better than even chance im ahead. I go with my read as i make what was still a crying call and as soon as i do he exhales in disgust and flips some pile of sh!te over and i win the hand. The table couldnt believe the call i just made and tbh neither could i, lol.

At that point i felt i was going to have to get a very bad beat to go out on day1 but even better things were just around the corner. In one pot i defended my bb with 44 and flopped a set and got a bit out of it but my proudest speech play poker moment ever was against Conor Smyth.

I get AA utg and raised it up, everyone folds to Conor on the button who flat calls. 2 players see a flop and it comes 10 4 2. Pretty good. I fire away and connor calls. The turn was a J and i fire again fully believing im ahead and Conor flat calls again. At this moment im asking myself wtf's he calling with now!?. The river brings a Q. I confidently fire 5k into it and Conor agonises. My stomach turned when in his turmoil he tells me he has a set. Gulp!. Im fcuked if i dont do something about this revelation. "I have a set you know Aidan" he says. My heart sunk but im smiling brightly. He asks the dealer to count the pot which he shouldnt have counted and when the dealer said 10k i said "Come on Conor whats taking you so long, if youve got a set youve got to call 5k more?". "Conor how can you fold a set for that bet?". He was thinking and thinkin and he clearly had a big headache. "Conor if i was you i'd definately call here, how can you not call with a set?" he said "I actually think you flopped top set". I tell him im more likely to have AK than top set. The dealer put the clock on him and when he was told he's 20 seconds away he got the 5k chip out as he pondered a crying call. I felt i had to keep talking to keep his mind on me and not on what he should be doing. So i said and heres the clincher "I'll tell you what Conor, if you fold i'll do you a favour and show you my hand?" 5-4-3-2-1 the longest 5 seconds of my life before he mucked his hand at the last second. I flipped the aces and Conor went into one. He was furious at himself as he got up and walked away to look for the nearest sick bucket!. I couldnt believe he folded there especially after clearing the other guy out of chips and being able to well afford it. He arrived back punishing himself for the next 2 hours sat like a dog chewing a wasp!. I told him the rule of thumb is to never fold sets!. He was hurting but we were able to laugh at it. Whenever a 4 came on the flop i said "Theres that 4 again!". After about 90 minutes between a hand he silently called over when he caught my eye and said "Aidan, im over it now". I told him i was glad he was and to try to just forget it. He never recovered though and went out a couple of hours later.

I was one of the early cl's now and i was rocking. I flopped another set and won a bit from it but for the rest of the day i never got much more chances. I did lose 8k towards the end of the day when i was reraised all in by a short stack my AKh not improving against 66. That was a blow but i finished up the first day where i wanted to be and that was just over 40k.

Towards the end of the day the good english player raised from the CO and i with AKd in the sb, i had him covered and re-raised a hearty amount. He insta pushed. I thought it over and told him i think we have the same hand. I would have been below average if i called and lost. I took my chances and called and he turned over AKo. I told him 3 times "What did i tell you, i said we had the same hand" just to let him know i made quite the read!. The flop was scary for him, 2 diamonds but he escaped with a split when the board didnt deliver another.

Day2 started and i had tribeca player 'LOVEJOY' on my right. Anyone who plays tribeca knows 'LOVEJOY'. I wanted to introduce myself but thought i better not in case he might remember any player notes he might have on me, good bad or indifferent!. First hand in im the bb and have 1010 and i get a walk. Thanks a lot lovejoy. I show him the **** and he tells me folding his sb was the first good decision he made all weekend!. As it turned out he didnt amount to anything and went out within a couple of hours. In all this time i got no hands, raised too seldom and was just blinding ever so slowly down. I was below average and feeling positively short stacked. T'was a tough table and Conor Doyle and Oscar joining didnt look like it was going to get any easier. Oscar was on my left and Conor Doyle was 3 to my right. Conor Doyle raised my bb and i stuck them all in with 77. I had enough to make him go away. He took a good while but i was glad to see him fold. At one stage In one all in pot against the badger he was between 5 and 10 minutes considering the call. This long wait pissed me off a bit so i called the clock on him. I didnt get much thanks from him and sensed from a couple of players reactions i was a bad bastard for doing so. He folded the best hand in the end and that was that. I didnt feel much love on this table after that but i often play my best when theres a bit of acrimony!.

Blinds went up and i really needed a double up. Up until now throughout the tournament i had folded loads of calling hands that were potentially trouble without being week about it but i think this was the main reason i was still there. I eventually got involved in the following hand.

Battle of the blinds once again. I completed with J9h and oscar raised it for 2k more. I wasnt folding like a pussy and called, if i missed i'd bet. The flop was 7810 hitting me in the face. I came out betting and Oscar called. The turn was a 6 and when i teed off again Oscar went all in and i called. Oscar had A9 so the turn was a killer for him. That was a huge hand for me and i was back in business over 90k. I won a pot against him also when i button raised and he called. We checked through a horrible all club flop/drawing flop and i kept cautous on the river beating his 10's with a rivered low straight. The table broke up shortly after this.

My new table had a good player Lyonzy on my left and my button was the CL's Niall Murphys bb. To my right was a brave young player called Patrick Tobin. Top of the table was Ulsterstew an online qualifier and a solid player. I heard the things about Niall's calling tendancies but it still didnt stop me from learning the hard way by trying to steal his bb with KJ missing and firing again before folding to a re-raise losing 15k in the process. Damn it.

The field was down to 36 now and we were playing down to the last 15. This seemed to go on for an eternity. I raised in position and kept myself going but i took a real hit when i doubled up a shortstack when he moved utg and i pushed from the cut off with AQ. I knew i was ahead, the only slight concern was someone behind me finding a hand which luckily they didnt. I was up against A5h but he turned a 5 and i was suddenly a real shortstack with only one option. I pushed about 5 times taking the considerable blinds so i could breath again but just about. I had about 40k now blinds 2k/4k when i got my first good pair to the day KK on the button. Action folded to me and i limped on the button. Lyonzy looked suspicious but completed and Niall the CL checked. The flop came Q high and they checked it to me. I dwelled and considered it for a while and made it look desperate by shoving all my chips in. I got Lyonzy to call with a Q but the second he called he knew he'd been tangoed as he asked me when Niall folded "You havent limped with AA have you?". Something like that!. My hand held up and i was out of immediate danger. For now!.

Played slowed right down from here on in. It was a real grind. 36 came 24 and i was going short again. I raised ulsterstews blind. He was solid but tight and he had earlier laid down AQ to an all in bet from a short stack for not much more. I made a point of robbing his bb after he showed that fold. So when i raised his bb with AQc he moved all in. Pretty much anyone else other than Lyonzy and i would have called but ulsterstew was tight and i was behind too many hands so i folded. He showed JJ and i told him if i had known that i was calling. I still needed a double up to be safe and was quite willing for a 50/50 as i was one of the lowest. So after getting snapped off there im one of the favourites to go out before the bubble bursts. I raise a few more times and get them through as we were nearing the bubble.

Then Paddy Tobin overraised and i pushed with AQc. He was pot committed so had to call. I was up against AJ this time and i flopped a Q to put Paddy back to about 40k and giving myself some more breathing space.

A while later a table broke up and LuckyLloyd joined on my left. Folded to me in the sb and i overbet a tad with 1010. If Lloyd goes over the top im calling of course. Lloyd has something and gets me to make the mistake of talking as he asks me how much have i got left etc. He tries to grill me further before i realise im an idiot and keep quiet. He's thinking of putting me in but folds claiming he had 77. I showed my hand.

Then i was bb and sb completed and i like an idiot thought he bet despite looking at his chips for ages. I throw my cards over the line. I realise im an idiot when i hear the frenzied wtf'eded the run!.s gasps and grab my cards back. At least when the flop came muck that missed me i represented it and took the blinds.That was embarrasing!.

The bubble finally burst on the other table and i felt lucky and relieved i'd survived my earlier scrapes after losing the AQ-A5 race. I went in for a drink with the lads afterwards in the residents bar befor driving home. On the winding path out of the complex i caught a hedgehog out of position crawling across the road but i chose to not crush him. Big mistake. I passed up my animal sacrifice that would have assured a top 3 finish the next day.

I knew coming back the next day with 83k and blinds 3k/6k i had to move fairly quickly but i was happy having navigated that field into the money without much cards to work on during the whole of day2.

Day 3 started with 49k for 1st but 12th-15th was booked for 1.5k so unless i doubled up i had little chance of hanging around for much longer. The blinds went through me once and i needed to move before it hapenned again so when i got 66 this would have to do unless there was a raise and call/all-in in front of me. Marq who doesnt wait around for aces or kings raised utg and i think before pushing hoping to see overcards and not a better pair when he calls. He called and i got my first wish when i seen AK but an ace on the flop sealed my faith. I knew i should have ran over that hedgehog!.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Here is my 2c......

I was feeling good about this tournie as I was in a run of form, and had split the 150 game in the Fitz for 1100 the night before to essentially pay for my entry, so happy days. My start table didn't offer a whole lot of hope before play started though as it consisted of:

Peter Roche
    Neil Duggan
    Paul Leckey
    StraddleFor6 from boards (who I didn't know at the time, but seems like a damn good player)
    Kevin O'Leary (English pro I believe, wearing BlueSq gear)
    Phil (not Harris, but a West Ham fan that I have played with a good few times)
    2 other Northern lads, solid players, and I recognised both.

Anyways, 3rd hand in I call a raise from the BB with TT after Peter Roche had raised and the flop came T66, and I got well paid since Peter had a 6....... A while later I had QhTh when the flop came KJ9r in a limped pot. Neil had limped UTG with JJ, the board didn't pair and I was flying. Then before the second break I knock another palyer out with 22 when I hit a set, and I had 45k at the halfway point in the day.

After that break I gave away 10k in a stupid bluf against Paul Leckey when he had flopped a set of Aces from the SB and played them very well, although when you have an idiot bluffing at you, how could you not!!! I was card dead for the next 3 or so hours and was hovering above the 30k mark for the rest of the night. I finished the day at that.

First hand of a new table on day 2 I laid down JJ when my raise was flat called and the reraised by a big stack. It was either push or fold at that point and I folded, but with 27k and blinds at 1k/2k I was still ok, but needed something to happen soon. I got it up to 35k, then doubled up Paul Leckey again (the bane of my tournie) when i raised with AJ, he went all in for a few k more, and getting better than 2/1 I called to see his AK hold up.

Not long later I raise to 3600 (600/1200) and get reraised by the SB to 9k. I push for 18.9k total with my QQ and he calls. I am happy to see that he has JJ, but when the flop comes, and before it is even spread and the top card in the Jd, I know it is not good. That was me out then with around 50 players left or so.

Ah well, I can't say it was the best I have ever played as I made a few poor plays in general I think, but the structure did allow for some mistakes in play as long as they were not overplayed, but I didn't play too badly either. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Conor Doyle raised my bb and i stuck them all in with 77. I had enough to make him go away. He took a good while but i was glad to see him fold. At one stage In one all in pot against the badger he was between 5 and 10 minutes considering the call. This long wait pissed me off a bit so i called the clock on him. I didnt get much thanks from him and sensed from a couple of players reactions i was a bad bastard for doing so. He folded the best hand in the end and that was that. I didnt feel much love on this table after that but i often play my best when theres a bit of acrimony!.

Personally I think this is pretty poor form on your part, Conor could never be described as a slow player quite the opposite in fact if he was taking his time it must have been a big decision and players should be allowed puzzle it out in these circumstances, I have no problem calling clock on someone who is dwelling over a small bet or constantly dwelling but if someone has a genuine decision calling the clock here isnt on in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Personally I think this is pretty poor form on your part, Conor could never be described as a slow player quite the opposite in fact if he was taking his time it must have been a big decision and players should be allowed puzzle it out in these circumstances, I have no problem calling clock on someone who is dwelling over a small bet or constantly dwelling but if someone has a genuine decision calling the clock here isnt on in my book.

I don't know Eoin, if it really was 5 min+, then that's excessive.

I didnt see it but Conor told me it was nowhere near 5 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Arrived about 45 minutes late for this and i was already steaming. (so many thingd happened i thought i was not meant to get here)

Anyway i had planned to play uber tight for the 1st few levels because of the deep stack and no antes at anystage i thought this was the way to go.

When i took my seat (seat 9 i hate seat 9) i immieadiatly spotted Fatboydim and Gholimoli(although i had to ask to be sure) and having played with len before and knew he was aggressive i was happy to sit back and wait. ( my normal strategy of trying to get involved in everything doesnt seem to br workin lately) But as it turned out there was a nutbag two to my right and another one two to my left so i couldnt see how i wasnt going to get chips here.

Only a few hands of note on this table 1st of which was, I raised with A Jo and the guy in seat 2 (two to my right:) ) announced raise but didnt see my raise so they made him re-raise it folded back to me and i decide to re-raise it ( 1st becauce he didnt look like he wanted to put the chips in and i had his range for an open raise as any picture card or suited ace) he insta calls. Has me worried a bit flop is Q 8 8 so i lead and he calls. turn J, now i know im infront (he is not a slowplayer type he sees the cards and he bets no tricks) i bet again river rag so i check call another bet and he shows down A 10. Happy days and off to 22k. not much esle to note on this table ( i never got a chance to relieve seat 7( calling station Gholi mentioned) of any of his chips but im sure someone else enjoyed them. And i think i said Gholi if you had AA in tha hand with the AQ i would eat my shoes:p . But you had me convinced you were so persistant.

My second table was a mix Andy black(raising and re-raisng everything) and liam barker sisde by side a young kid to my left (who im certain got in thru some pub satelite cause he was terrible( nice guy but when andy black asks you if you want your bet called and you say "id rather not cause my hand isnt great" and your not lying?????????) Leslie McLean in the 9 seat. All in all im happy blind are still small so i cant wait and pick my spot again. i win a few small pots and am on about 30k when a new player arrives (known to me cause he busted a m8 of mine in level 3 and i was told he was a lunatic) he probably wasnt but my m8 was steaming and this was the impression i had of him.

I raise from early position with 9 9 and my lunatic friend re-raises from the bb i call ( normally wouldnt but i have this impression that this guy could have nothin) Flop Kd Jd 10x check check turn 4x he bets 3k i call( have him on a jack and figure im taking this away on the river) river 5d. he checks so i think and push all in( horrible overbet but again i figure he might call for less) he mucks A A face up and im show the nines. Moved again

Nice line up from seat 1, Big stack Me Mick McCloskey(big stack) willow nutbag(theres one for everybody in the audience) Niall o Callaghan Big stack player x and Brendan Walls, nice.

Not much action as it is the last 2 levels ( Mick Mc cracks aces with 66 for 80k and seat 7 crack brendan Walls AA with QQ)

i was at 19k after a few loses when i re-raise seat 1 with AK and he mucks JJ face up and said " i would have to be 100% sure im ahead before i put my chips in like that" bingo i get to 35k but re-raising said guy 4 more times and am comfotable heading for day 2 with an average stack

Lasted 5 hands on day 2 Scandi guy has raised 1st few pots and the 1st hand he mucks i have AA. ( limp see flop bet take it down) very next hand he raises again to 5k (blinds 500-1000) and i look down at 10 10. after some thinking i push fully expecting to take it down and move to the next hand when my scandi frind insta calls with A A ( how do i not go broke here) 5k left after this i ship it with A7c called by KQ and im out the door.

So frustrating i thought i was playing really well and was going deep, ah well roll on cork and the macau winter festival

I didnt see it but Conor told me it was nowhere near 5 mins.

Definately over 5mins imo. It seemed like 10 to me but i'd say it was 7. He even apologised over taking so long and i let it go for another couple of minutes after he said that until i called clock. I would never call clock to fcuk someone up. i realise it was a huge pot but i was getting low and i needed to see hands so i done it for my own selfish reasons which is the main reason i would do it.

Fair enough everyone has a right to call it, its just not something I feel particularly comfortable about.

Neither am i comfortable about it, in fact i hate doing it but i know what you mean!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

A hand came up, battle of the blinds where all my biggest pots seem to stem from it seems. I complete with J4 and bb checks. Flop J84. Nice!. I bet out and bb calls?. turn x and i fire a hell of a shell and he calls again?. Now im thinking maybe im not ahead but pretty sure i still am!. River came an 8 and im seemingly calm but bulling inside as i give up betting. I check after a long think to try and worry him. He moves for his chips and fires 3k. Blah how can i call now, my 4's are counterfeited. Then i look at him a bit and turn my look into a stare and i dont let up. Im eyeballing this guy to death. He knows im looking at him but he doesnt look back and is avoiding my glare and i sense he's nervous. Right then and there i feel theres a better than even chance im ahead. I go with my read as i make what was still a crying call and as soon as i do he exhales in disgust and flips some pile of sh!te over and i win the hand. The table couldnt believe the call i just made and tbh neither could i, lol.

this was a lovely hand. there was 2 spades on the flop, and the BB mucked 9spades7spades. so any T any spades would win him the hand. his bet on the river was horrible, if he really wanted the pot he had to push it or let it go. you're read was perfect, even had you leaning over me to get a good look at him. i'd like to think i could have called there but i play scared! i assume he's ther with A8 and is a donk! :p great play, great call... nh, wp, gg, etc!

re calling clock on conor. I reckon there's many a time i will call clock on people, MANY. there are some players i like to think i would never call clock on as i assume they are taking their time with a decision, a big one. I dont think i;d ever call clock on a boardster or conor doyle for that matter, he plays fast enough that he must have had a decision to make. Although, as u said u called it more for your own sake, which i suppose it tactical and definately part of cards... if it was over 5 i can see why your tolerance vanished.

wp and great result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

ditpoker wrote:
    I dont think i;d ever call clock on a boardster

Do you want to take this back now? Mr. TV Time himself, fiddlesticks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

shoutman wrote:
    Do you want to take this back now? Mr. TV Time himself, fiddlesticks?

fiddlesticks barely counts as a person, never mind a boardster... it'd be rude NOT to call clock on him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

I started writing a report, but it's quite long and my laptop is out of battery and the charger is somewhere in the hotel in drogheda. I'll get it up on my blog soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

ditpoker wrote:
    fiddlesticks barely counts as a person, never mind a boardster... it'd be rude NOT to call clock on him!!!

I think i have such a special ability to put the two of you on tilt. I'd actually call it a gift!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I cant be bothered doing a long report. Basically played well for 17 hours for a return of -1k! It was a lovely tournament, im going to try and play another one that big soon. I was impressed with how I played and proud of how how I went out. Ollyboy played very well, as did an english guy called cobster. I played 1 hand very badly on the 2nd day and hope to never be reminded of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

I cant be bothered doing a long report. Basically played well for 17 hours for a return of -1k! It was a lovely tournament, im going to try and play another one that big soon. I was impressed with how I played and proud of how how I went out. Ollyboy played very well, as did an english guy called cobster. I played 1 hand very badly on the 2nd day and hope to never be reminded of it.

Cobster's from Drogheda. Brother of Gaz15 who posts on here. Good online MTT player.

If we're talking about the same Cobster.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

So much fun to run but bloody hard work too (I'm down with flu as I type this).

First night was tense as everything was going ok and we were all busy doing our jobs etc. The GJP team was working really well but things felt like they were only just staying together. People not realising we were doing food before the tournie made things difficult when the hotel ran out of sambos. Suddenly I felt like it might all fall apart but thankfully everyone was super cool about it and noone really bitched too much.

The second day ran better again and when the side games kicked off the atmosphere went through the roof. Thats when I started to enjoy it! I spent Saturday reporting and helping to start cash games by being the 6th into them. Made a few bob there too... By the end of Saturday everything was through the roof and we'd relaxed a bit as everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. By the end of the third day I was just too tired to care lol... but the cash maniacs still wanted to exchange tanks! Jumped into a cRaZy game and did half my winnings back but laughed a load and it was a great end to the festival for the organisers (all of whom were playing in that game!)

Thanks to everyone who came, we're definitely going to do one again so hope to see you there.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Well thought I might as well do one from a dealers point of view.

Went up from Dublin on friday evening, the traffic wasn't too bad. We arrived at our hotel the europa. It was an interesting looking facility, reminded me of a motel you would see in middle of nowhere on route 66. What really made it was the big giant pink limosuine outside, classy! The reception was closed and never seemed to be open, in fact the only time I seen it open was at 5am on saturday morning!

Anyway went straight to Boyne Valley and met up with everyone. Great atmosphere around. They showed a montage video which was really nice. While I waited to deal main event, I decided to start a book on who would be first out, I said in 10 minutes, unfortunately I was way off, Rob should have pushed sooner!

On my first table I was bit dodgy as I was still getting into things but soon settled down. My most memorable table was at around 3.30am when a guy had about 55k in chips which was a big stack at the time. He was also hammered though, I could smell the JD off him and he kept rambling to a guy from the uk about Longshanks. The table couldn't stop laughing at him really. So a hand develops, he raises and bets out flop of 66x which is called, on the turn opponant checks, he says I bet 15,000, pot was about 8,000 at the time. He refuses to put out chips so I grab them to put bet in, he then starts complaining that he never bet, meanwhile his opponant goes all-in, by then he is getting angry as I am telling him to put 15k out, he then loses it and pushes all his chips in which mixes in with the pot. Luke comes over and re-creates the pot from turn back and manages to sort things out. It turned out he called with Q5, no pair no draw and was drawing dead to trip sixes. The very next hand, he pushes out of turn (he still has 15-20k) I tell him to please stop doing this, the english guy calls and then he tries to fold! I tell him his bet stands and again he goes a bit mad. Luke comes over and calms him down, english guy calls with AK and his queen rag loses. So in space of 2 hands he just blows 55k in chips, what a waste of a grand.

I finished when main event ends at 5 and head straight to bed around 6am as I was shattered. I get good nights sleep and head in again at 3.30pm. By now I was really into things. I dealt the side event where I dealt a table of Dave Masters who as usual complained to me that I never give him anything, Gholimoli and Mr. Pillowtalk. Gholi got unlucky when he got knocked out on river by a 2 outer. Still a quality table though

I also dealt the funnest table ever when Lloyd comes over from main event and pushes every hand 11 times in a row, he got crazy lucky even dogging kings with J4 with a 4 card straight. I think everyone in the room could hear screams coming from our table, I did feel for others who were being dogged though.

I managed to deal table which featured marq, andy black and lloyd which was fun, I had eye on table and stood around it until Mike told me to do it, always nice when a plan works.

I then volunteered to deal a cash game. I have never dealt one before so was fairly nervous and for first 25 minutes I was terrible, trying to get right rake,not giving people right change etc. Dani took me out and she could see I was struggling, gave me some tips and I got put back in, this was a better table as 1 of the dealers was playing and knew I hadn't dealt cash game before so helped me along and I soon settled into it and enjoyed it. There was some crazy gamblers though but hey they make it entertaining. I finished up at 3.30am so did 12 hours and headed back to bed at 5am.

Sunday was short, dealt for about 2 hours, eventually Mike needed 2 dealers to go, I needed lift to Dublin to didn't mind leaving early. I seen Marq being knocked out before I left and wished Lloyd luck. Nice quick drive with Laura back to Dublin and home in time to follow the rest of it on AntesUp.

It was a really good weekend. I really enjoyed it. All of us were treated brilliantly by Mike, Luke and Tom. It was also great seeing all the boardies. I hope to do it again soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I think i have nearly recovered now. Thanks to all the dealers, Luke & players who combined to make a great weekend of poker & craic. We set out to provide a weekend that catered for all and I think we achieved that. There were some small cracks which went mainly unnoticed which will be fixed for next time. I think we can be a little more generous with the structure of the side events and the food will be improved.

Well done to Lloyd, Will & Aidan, deserved victors in the tournaments. Great to see Liam Barker get a result and also Brendan McKenna who has been supporting GJP tournaments since the beginning. Once Paul Higgins get used to playing live I think we are going to have another Daithio/NFR on our hands. And Marq O'Neill with a tank? I'm glad I don't get to play much anymore :)

I have a feeling the field may be a bit tougher next time as the word is starting to spread:

http://www.blondepoker.com/index.php?q=node/5593

The next GJP event at the Boyne Valley is the Second Sunday in January and we will continue to run on the second Sunday of the month throughout 2007 to avoid clashing with all the end/beginning of the month shenanigans. There will be some changes to the buy in/structure - all to the good, these will be announced soon.

Thanks again to all who supported us,

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I enjoyed it even though I was only 77th of 148. Ok, that's good for me.:o

DeVore seemed a bit tense at the start, as if it might not go well. All we need are cards, chips, and a few tables. ;)

Won two hands in the first three hours, but was at 18800. Did not recognise any players at my table, which is often a good sign. Just after we started we got a fright when a player raised the 50 blind to 1050 - he thought the 500 chips were 100.

Moved to table beside Niall O'Callaghan (dying with a bad cold) and Joe O'Neill who announced my hands as if he was holding my cards.

Later moved to a table with 5starpool and Paul Leckey. Starting getting good starting hands and did a bit of re-raising and got to 24k from 15k. My comment about winning two hands in three hours got my re-raises maximum respect (must use that again :) )

The hand that sorted me was my raise to 6k with 99, re-raised all-in to 12k by AKs. I called. Flop had an A and I was at 3k. This was a make-or-break hand (up to 28k or down to 3k). Out shortly after that with 55 v same player AA.

Nice flops on that table ...... 22 got A2T; and QT got ATT.
    Pocket pairs in 8+ hours ..... AA x 0; KK x 1; QQ x 1; JJ x 1; TT x 0; 99 x 2; 88 x 0; 77 x 0; 66 x 1; 55 x 5; 44 x 1; 33 x 1; 22 x 2

On the first table AK in BB with 4 players; 9Td x 2 ; JQh; QKs - didn't flop anything to these.

When I was all-in with the 55 all the players at the table stood up, while I remained seated. :D

Nice comment by Mike Lacey when I was out "Thanks for playing, Sean"

Ok, my extremely long report on the main event is now up on my blog. Read at your peril.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Marq wrote:
    Ok, my extremely long report on the main event is now up on my blog. Read at your peril.

good read (y)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

luQbox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,532 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Nice reports rounders and others, I'm on tilt now that I didn't go to this, sounds like a good tourney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭StraddleFor6

Great reports lads. I still can't believe I pushed with J9, after watching Marq check his cards on the BB, and his eyes light up with excitment. Silly.
    Great result Lloyd. Well done.

Unlucky eoghan, I would have folded AJ and below, and pairs below 8s. You played well and would have gone much further if I hadn't luckboxed finding a hand in that spot.