Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Start the new year off with a bang (followed up bye a 15ft trip through the air)...

• 01-01-2007 11:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭

Goodbye Toto, you will be missed...
    dsc00189sx0.jpg
    dsc00188in4.jpg
    dsc00187iy8.jpg
    dsc00186iu5.jpg

Learner driver decided to try and pull into an estate today, must have though i was a mirage

im ok just badly bruised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

woo that looks bad, the best thing is that you are well, as it seems it was a bad accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Glad you're OK. What have you been told about wearing the invisability cloak when riding?

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Sorry to hear it :( but bikes can be replaced, lives cant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Can't get much more visible than an Africa twin, did it feel like you were Superman there for the bit you were flying through the air?! Glad you're ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Vmaxer

Sorry to hear that Madrab, You were very lucky that crank case wasn't Your leg
    thats Everybody's worst nightmare. Glad to hear You are OK...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

madrab wrote:
    im ok just badly bruised

Glad to hear you are all right. Care to elaborate a little further on what happened? I presume you have all their details and that the Gardai know all about it?

Also, seeing as you are ok, would you not set about tidying up that garage???

Happy new year. Hope the rest of it is safer than the start!

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

nereid wrote:
    Also, seeing as you are ok, would you not set about tidying up that garage???
    ahh feck off :)

yeah basically i was driving straight when a young woman turned a corner & ploughed into me & sent me flying . Luckily enough i was just around the corner from the firestation in kilbarrick so there was a firebrigade, cops & an ambulance there within a few minutes. The cops took all the details from the other driver & there was a witness to say that she was in the wrong.
    crashab7.jpg

Got xrays done & there doesnt seem to be anything broken, thankfully, but im pretty banged up

madrab wrote:
    yeah basically i was driving straight when a young woman turned a corner & ploughed into me & sent me flying .

Oh my God - it must be the season. You are the second or third person over a period of about a week to have this exact same thing happen to them. There was something similar on IBF or Biker too.

Take em to the cleaners, feckin halfwits don't have a clue so deserve to have the book thrown at them. GRR!

Judging by your diagram you were very lucky.

Be aware and drive safely folks. As is demonstrated here it is up to us to be aware and take evasive action as required!

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I'd be interested to see if she had an experienced driver in the car with her and if not if the guards take any action against her. That is definately something they need to clamp down on.

Poor old Toto... maybe know you'll get the bike you meant to buy in the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Ciaran Noooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

man i rly hope ure ok, n as the lads said take her to the cleaners !!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

nereid wrote:
    Oh my God - it must be the season. You are the second or third person over a period of about a week to have this exact same thing happen to them. There was something similar on IBF or Biker too.
    I think that the lack of traffic during my commute into town for the last few weeks has actually made it more dangerous. The cars seem to get all confused due to the fact that they are not sat in a stationary queue of traffic and then do not pay attention to what they are doing when their turning appears 15 minutes earlier than it usually would and so surprises them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I have seen such polar opposites of behaviour from car drivers lately - it is amazing how many of them show that they are aware of my presence by moving in or letting me pass and then I've had an increased number of muppets who are texting, eating a choc-ice and trying to negotiate a roundabout and simply don't see anything outside their little plastic and metal world.

Tough break madrab - make sure everything gets put back to your satisfaction and I hope your bruises heal quickly.

'cptr

A couple of other things I would like to ask while I think of it:

What time of day did this happen at?
    What were the lighting conditions (dark/street lights/daylight/etc)?
    And
    What were the road conditions like (wet/raining/dry)?

I want to try to understand the factors that may have affected them (other than plain stupidity).

The driving conditions are not the best at this time of year, and it is in our interest to understand why these idiots may be taking these chances.

L.

it happened around 5:30 so the lighting conditions were darkish, but my lights were on (as always) as were the streetlights, & the road was dry

dozy bint

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

You were blessed the silly cow didn't kill you. That was a bad accident. I'd also second (or 6th!) taking her to the cleaners. People need to feel the effects of their shocking driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭BigCon

Jesus man, you were very lucky to come out of that one without any broken bones.
    The only positive I can see is that you'll be looking forward to getting yourself a different bike - will you go for the same again or think about something else?

yeah i can look forward to some new bike shopping, though i dont know what ill go for this time, think ill move up again, possibly my 1100 dragstar or a vmax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 electricheadx

I had the exact same thing happen to me last week mate.
    Sorry to hear that..........But good that you are in one piece though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Poor Madrab... :( Gutted this happened to you but as you know, could have been a lot worse!

I like your style though! Getting rid of all the cr@p at the very start of the year like that... Plain sailing for you in 2007 from now on!*

*Pathetic attempt to cheer you up a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭528i

Had you a high-vis vest ?

Look on the bright side, you'll be able to buy a GS1200 now ;)

eww did someone mention a bmw? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,674 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

madrab wrote:
    yeah basically i was driving straight when a young woman turned a corner & ploughed into me & sent me flying
    That diagram is exactly like my crash in late '05, except it was a crossroads not a T-junction.

Female driver, SNAP! Seems to be the common factor in an awful lot of bike accidents, I'd love to know why.

And you are lucky. I had 3 toes crushed, cracked metatarsal and a broken kneecap - luckily I had good gear on as my foot took a hard impact from the front of the car. Everything healed up nicely though, but my lovely Triumph Trophy 900 was a write-off :(
    The cops took all the details from the other driver & there was a witness to say that she was in the wrong.
    They wanted to do my one for careless driving, but never followed it up with me to get a statement (hard to get to a Garda station miles from your house when you're on crutches, and even harder to get hold of a young Garda who's maxing out the overtime doing weekend night shifts all the time.)

Such is life, the worst thing about my one, and it seems your crash as well, is that I was doing everything by the book and there wasn't a damn thing I could have done to avoid the impact - the car turning right was stopped and I was so close to it when it inexplicably moved off that I had nowhere to go.

Keep taxi receipts, hospital parking receipts, pharmacy receipts etc. and add it all to your claim. Insist on a decent pre-accident value for the bike and get all your gear replaced too (never, ever throw out your bike clothing receipts - I only got a token figure for my leathers as I didn't have the receipt any more.)

Heal well!

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

thanks for the informative reply

yeah had the car hit me a fraction of a second later it would have hit my leg directly, so i was very lucky in that respect