Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thai Boxing Camps in Thailand

• 27-04-2007 04:25PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

I've never been to Thailand but intend to go in September/October for around two weeks. My plan is to go to a camp for a week, and have the craic for the other week.

I'm looking to find out peoples recommendations as to good thai boxing camps? Where they are located, private attention from trainers, cost, accomodation, partying in the area etc...

Also, would you consider a week in a camp to be sufficient?

Any info appreciated.
    Go raibh maith agaibh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭j.griff

hi there
    well where in thailand are you going? cause there is tons of camps all over the place, in bangkok there is a good thai gym its on co san road,
    the camp i went to in phuket is very good does mma/bjj and thai
    here is the website prices are on the page
    www.mmaphuket.com

i hope this is a help to you, just go and have a ball i have been twice
    and love it i think there is a guy from the boards in a camp at the moment
    in patatya i'm sure he will give you some information
    good luck
    jonnie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

There are plenty of camps over there. It's really up to yourself and where you want to head to. If you want a serious training holiday, then stay in Bangkok, but if you want half training/half partying then Koh Samui/ Phuket/ Pattaya.

I went to the WMC camp in Koh Samui twice and loved it! Great camp, affordable, less than a minutes walk to the beach, plenty of things to do on Samui, Koh Phanang and Angthong are only a boat trip away and its just paradise man.

The guy who runs the gym there Alex Daly just won the WMC world title, drop him an email and he will tell you prices etc.

http://www.wmcmuaythaicamp.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Hi

I live in Pattaya, and there is some great camps here, and it is Party City of the World too.

In fact Sityodthong Camp Pattaya, I train at produce the most ever champions in Thailand. (google for them, I think their USA Branch has a web site)

Then there is www.kombatgroup.com european run but thai trainers, they then to train in the evenings more so than mornings but up to 3 hour sessions, I do a bit of training there on the weekend. do perfect camp if you want to party. Also as its european run you get proper instruction, and not half assed like alot of thais teach.

I would not bother with Fairtex, nice 5 star place, expensive, too modern almost. too expensive too.

There is loads more if you google for them/

On the Party scene, you get the beaches, islands, bars, women, 7 nights week full on.... its a great place!! and I do not even drink! lots of tourist stuff to do too! get on google.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Hey bro,

I am in Thailand at the moment at muaythaicamps.com, it rules. Individual attention from trainers, all the time, on pads, bags, clinch and so on. It's really cheap to l;ive up north too and not as hot or humid as the south. We also do bjj in the camp, with a brown belt from brazil;ian top team.

Read my blog in my sig for more of an insight if you wish.

Any questions feel free to pm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 gman100

cheers for the info gents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Can't find any info on that camp Gerry (except that it's fairly famous). This thread is the third hit in google for "Sityodthong Camp Pattaya". :D Couldn't find much else tbh.

Do you know how much they'd charge for 2 weeks of training? Can you stay on-site?

edit: Found it: http://www.sityodtong.com/Training_Thailand.htm

There's actually zero information on that website so my two questions below still stand if you know the answers Gerry? I'm seriously considering heading to Thailand for a holiday and two weeks of training early next year. I have thumbs up from the ruler. :D

Stiyodthong.

Good camp.

Main training session is 3pm in afternoon to about 530pm, most people go to this. got morning training too, serious people hit morning training, but you might have the place to yourself. (the thai figthers who have big fights coming up train morning, if they have no fights within a few weeks, they might just go running). 7am .

I usually go about 745am as I do not run. I train until 9am or 915 ish.

250 bhat per session. so if you go twice a day thats 500 bhat.

if you want to train and have fun in Pattaya, as long as you go easy on the drink, the afternoon session is enough. you will be worn out from it anyway with the heat. its very very hot over here now.

The camp is outside pattaya about 15 mins, so you will need to get taxi there.

No you cannot stay on site, but there is a few guest house across the road you can stay in. the serious lads who have fights over here normally stay there.

If you want a bit of fun, stay down near beach road, thats centre of pattaya,. where all the fun is and get taxi out for afternoon session. 250 bhat price of a pint of beer in dublin

I d guess if you book with that american web site, they will throw a lot of profit on to the price.

so my advice to you would be to,

1. book plane and ticket to thailand, have hotel down town in pattaya near all the fun, party and have a good time,go easy on the drink, and make the afternoon session 3pm to 5pm will do you.

2. just show up, get a taxi to Sityodtong camp, everyone knows it, if you come email me from my krav maga web site, and I can bring you first day. introduce you to a trainer, and you will be looked after no problem.

If your not a serious fighter, coming to thailand to fight, and you just want to experience some Muay Thai, I d leave time for fun too. otherwise you will get pee'd off training, when you could be have the craic too. variet is spic of life.

so to go over it again.

stay in seperate accomodation near action in centre of Pattaya. contact me with any questions re location of hotels. and then just go to sityodtong, for afternoons, as I said I wil take you 1st time, and you will be set from there. that way you will not be roped into any "muay thai package holiday big expense thing".

You 'll get as good of training there as anywhere. so if you go once a day, 6 days week 250 bhat x 12 says = 3000 bhat = 60 - 65 euro approx.

Hope that helps

Gerry

That's perfect. Thanks a million. Much appreciated.

and google on pattaya too. I ll take you on a tour of the infamous Walking Street.

Actually a few of the Muay Thai trainers from sityodthong, do bit of door/heavy work on the go go bars doors etc, and I know em all real well, so I ll bring ya around and well get the VIP treatment! ;-)

:D Hehe. You're like the devil on my shoulder. The plan is for my wife to come on at least part of the holiday. This doesn't sound like the kind of activity that she'd endorse. :D

*Khannie endorses it* (looky looky....no touchy touchy)!

Khannie wrote:
    :D Hehe. You're like the devil on my shoulder. The plan is for my wife to come on at least part of the holiday. This doesn't sound like the kind of activity that she'd endorse. :D

*Khannie endorses it* (looky looky....no touchy touchy)!

Looking no harm! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 MickyDub

If you want to get some quality training done check out these gyms in Bkk

http://www.kaewsamrit.com/
    http://www.geocities.com/rompogym/index.html?200726?20074
    http://www.muaythaisasiprapa.com/
    http://www.ingrampromotion.com/

Its that the Gerry I met at RCA a few weeks back with Paddy?

Cheers,
    Anto

Fairly heavy training routine in that first camp...link.

Morning
    6 a.m The morning session starts with a 10-12 kilometer run.

Pad session with trainer 3-4 rounds of 5 minute duration with one round focusing on boxing and elbows only.

Bag work 4 rounds of 5 minute duration.

30 minutes of clinch and knee work

general conditioning work such as pull-ups, 300 sit-ups

this is followed by a light warm down

10 am morning meal followed by rest period

Afternoon
    3 p.m skipping for 30 minutes

Pad work with trainer 5-6 rounds of 5 minute duration with 1-2 rounds focusing on boxing and elbows only.

Bagwork 5 rounds of 5 minute duration

Technical sparing 3 rounds of 5 minute duration

30 minutes of Clinch and knee work

light jog or 2-3 kilometers

300 knees on heavy bag and 100 kicks

general conditioning work such as pull-ups and 300 sit-ups.

Followed by light warm down.

MickyDub wrote:
    If you want to get some quality training done check out these gyms in Bkk

http://www.kaewsamrit.com/
    http://www.geocities.com/rompogym/index.html?200726?20074
    http://www.muaythaisasiprapa.com/
    http://www.ingrampromotion.com/

Its that the Gerry I met at RCA a few weeks back with Paddy?

Cheers,
    Anto

Hi ya Anto, it is very much the Gerry you met at RCA in Bangkok a few weeks back... down in Pattaya again, will be back up soon to see the mea-noi! ;)

drop us an email!

Gerry

Have been looking on the net and the Fairtex Camp in Pattaya has caught my eye. It works out around €40 a day for accomodation, training and 2 meals.

Any of you guys been there? Heard good/bad things about it?

G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Dont go...heard bad things in regards to quality of training.

I'm with RedRaven on this. Have heard quite a few reports of half arsed training and trainers ignoring everyone except the yanks who tip.

gman100 wrote:
    Have been looking on the net and the Fairtex Camp in Pattaya has caught my eye. It works out around €40 a day for accomodation, training and 2 meals.

Any of you guys been there? Heard good/bad things about it?

G

yes. I live about 5 mins from there.

First I trained in their BKK camp in 2005...actually its on the very outskirts of BKK, near the new airport....sort of located in an industrial area. a bit like the Long Mile Road in Dublin. so aside from there, there was Nothing to do near by! the nearest thing was a big shopping mall about 25 mins in taxi and central BKK was about 45 mins.... so unless you want to live like Monk and train and stare at the wall between training sessions, there is nothing to do.

Pattaya is a great location in general for a Muay Thai trip to Thailand.

The Fairtex camp is 5 Star, very nice resport, got all the facilities, pool, squash.... but the Muay Thai training is very tourist orientated... I went and had a look a few times.... (the champions there train at different times, like 6am in morning when tourists are not about).

It got all the facilities...but there is something just not right about it...its too much of a fancy health club vibe to it, then a serious camp.... if I were a begineer, and wanted some muay thai and a holiday and a nice pool to keep the girlfriend happy and yoga....yeah ist great.

its very expensive too,

Stiyodtong is a great camp, but it is on outskirts of pattaya about 15 mins in taxi, and you cannot stay there...but if your real serious there is a few guest houses across the road you can stay in, so you can train morning and afternoon. lads who are serious fighters do this.

Most who come to pattaya want to party a bit, so its afternoonm training 3pm or 4pm depending where you go. and they skip the mornings.

there is a place too www.kombatgroup.com an italian guy owns which is good, they train in evenings 5pm but for almost 3 hours....and they do not really do mornings, even though their web site says they do.

its good training, and the boss. will tell the thai trainers what to do with you, as sometimes the Thais let you blast the pads for a fe round, tire you out, and then send you to the heavy bags alone, so many people who are new to the game, get out done out of good training.

In alot of thai camps aside from the pad work...the training is up to yourself...the rounds are called, and you work the rounds on the bag or whatever.. its not like "karate lessons" type set up.

so you got to be self motivated and really want to do it. to get value out of it.

Me I normally train mornings 730 or 8am .... get in do me pad man work, and then finish with 5 or 6 rounds on the bag, a few 100 site ups and go home and if I do not let people hold be back, I get it all done in just over 1 hour 15 mins...then I head home. again alot of it is up to me, to push it.

some people get disappointed with the camp experience, as they expect to be taught like in the West, but that rarely happens.

and the real serious gyms, alot of them will not humor you at all unless your going to be a pro fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

great info, this should be a sticky

As i've heard some bad reports on fairtex camps, both in bangkok and pattaya, i've decided against them. Instead, i intend to go to Phuket.

I've been looking at the Tiger Muay Thai Camp and also Rawai Camp, both in Phuket.

Any of yis heard good/bad things about either? Or know of good camps in Phuket?

Cheers

Im thinkin of doin one next summer actually. Is a week long enough??

Depends what you want from it. What is your end goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭skankles

Going to Kaewsamrit Gym (www.muaythaikaewsamrit.com) for 5 weeks. Trained in Thai for about 2 years & had couple of amateur fights, I am reasonably fit but nothing special. My goal is to improve technique.

Anyone any experience of Kaewsamrit, Am I biting of more than I can chew? I here its pretty hardcore. I'm going from training 3 times a week to 2 times a day in heat & humidity.

I am under the impression that all the best training would be in BKK, plus added advantage of being in BKK is the fights at Lumpini & Ratchadamnoen & maybe get some good equipment.

Any thoughts/advice much appreciated.
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]

Don't worry too much about the twice a day / heat thing. You'll adjust quickly. Just make sure you eat properly (plenty of protein) and sleep a LOT. Not sure about that gym. Maybe someone else on here can comment.

I've heard nothing but bad reports about Tiger Muay Thai. Mostly good to very good on Kaewsumrit. Don't worry about the heat. It'll take 3-4 weeks to aclimatise, but you'll be fine