Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phrases your parents said and you swore you'd never say them when you were older.

• 22-08-2007 12:51PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭

My dad always had lots of catchphrases when we were younger that I used to find so embarassing. I swore when i was older I'd never repeat them. Unfortunately this morning, when my bf wouldn't get out of bed I shouted "Come on, up you get, let's see the colour of your feet", one of his most annoying catchphrases. I guess I'm turning in to my dad! Anyone else say something and suddenly realise it was one of your mum or dads phrases and you were turning into them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

"Back in my day" was a phrase I swore I'd never say. Now I say it all the time and I'm only 28 for f*cks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

"Thats not music, its just noise".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

"That was some damn hot sex Mama Pighead"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

watna wrote:
    My dad always had lots of catchphrases when we were younger that I used to find so embarassing. I swore when i was older I'd never repeat them. Unfortunately this morning, when my bf wouldn't get out of bed I shouted "Come on, up you get, let's see the colour of your feet", one of his most annoying catchphrases. I guess I'm turning in to my dad! Anyone else say something and suddenly realise it was one of your mum or dads phrases and you were turning into them?
    If I was your boyfriend, I'd be fairly worried about recent developments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

"We'll see" (when asking for/about something). It used to drive me bananas but now I find myself saying it to my daughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JuJuYNWA

After you asked for something....

"me me me me me, i want i want i want, change the record"

my mam was cruel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

kneel down and show daddy that you love him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

"We'll see" (when asking for/about something). It used to drive me bananas but now I find myself saying it to my daughter.

i was going to say that.
    i hated it
    and now i say it myself..every day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Mordeth wrote:
    :) Pighead chuckled at that one.
    Ah sweet sweet memories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

\o/

Pighead acknowledged me

I LIVE!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

Mordeth wrote:

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Not too far off the above, "We can't afford it" and normally everyone could hear it. :(

Me: 'Ssshhh not so loud!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

"You'll eat what your given and like it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

"What's that in old money ?"

Slightly OT, one of my da's favourites was "No ones going to come knocking on the door to give you a job !" and that was exactly how I got my first job :D one of the best moments of my life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

"What's that in old money ?"

Slightly OT, one of my da's favourites was "No ones going to come knocking on the door to give you a job !" and that was exactly how I got my first job :D one of the best moments of my life :D

lol! give details. :)

Recently used this on my nephew, that was a staple of my dad's

Child: i want a story, i want a story, etc etc etc etc

Me: 'Will I tell you a story? About Johny McGory? (Child: yeah, yeah!)
    Will I begin it? That's all that's in it!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭tampopo

"Thank God."

As if god had anything to do with it.

Recently thinking of popular music that it's just noise, not music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Ruu wrote:
    Not too far off the above, "We can't afford it" and normally everyone could hear it. :(

Me: 'Ssshhh not so loud!'
    And now look, you're one of the best damn bargain finders in Ireland!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

The-Rigger wrote:

Recently used this on my nephew, that was a staple of my dad's

Child: i want a story, i want a story, etc etc etc etc

Me: 'Will I tell you a story? About Johny McGory? (Child: yeah, yeah!)
    Will I begin it? That's all that's in it!'

Oh dear god.....you've skipped YEARS of your life by telling that one!!
    My dad used to think it was hilarious to tell me that....I was so gullible that i fell for it every time!

I seem to find my self saying things like "back in the good old days" or complaining about the price of things in comparison to back in the good old days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

"Turn that down will ya ! " in a grumpy tone.

and

"where did ya lose it ? " lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

"Black, one sugar", or "...and a Bushmills chaser"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

"Wait till your father gets home!"

Thankfully, I don't think I've ever said the equivalent.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

None fortunately.
    I might start saying 'that's the why'.

The-Rigger wrote:

Was just back in Dublin from college and had kept in touch with one of my teachers from a PLC course I had done, he called to the house one day and asked if I would be interested in standing in for him ! Ended up teaching for about 7 years :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

"Because I said so"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Karl Mungus

Pighead wrote:
    :) Pighead chuckled at that one.
    Ah sweet sweet memories.

Zzzzzzzz.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Zzzzzzzz.......

Bye Peter..zzzzz. This Pighead and Karl Hungus obsession is getting kinda weird, don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

None fortunately.
    I might start saying 'that's the why'.
    LOL.

"Well look what thought did...."

"tough" that was one of the most annoying words to come out of anyones mouth when i was a kid.

God i'm sure theres loads more!!

Zzzzzzzz.......

good first post. ;)

The-Rigger wrote:
    good first post. ;)

Better last post ! :D Quick of the mark RUU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Me: Daddy, can I have a bike for Christmas?

Daddy: A bike? I'll bike you.

Hahahahaha. this thread is very amusing so far. i like it.

"It'll all come out in the wash" thats another one Mammies use. i dont think mine ever did so i cant think why i sometimes say it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭slavigo

If I blocked the TV:
    Dad: Your a better door than a window!

Soon followed by:
    Dad: Go out and play with the cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

When I was a teenager I used to swear I would never turn out like my mother.
    Now, when I am giving out, sometimes I hear myself, and I realise that I sound just like her.

When my Mam is in a major pisser, she will walk about the kitchen, banging doors and grumbling to herself, saying things like....

"Oh, they won't wash a cup, or make a bed, but when their friends call to the door their full of energy, wouldn't think to ask their mother if she needed a hand, Oh No, God No, God Forbid they should worry about their mother!".

Ha ha ha :D

Well now when I am in a pisser I find myself stomping about and banging things, whilst grumbling under my breath.

I bet you whenever I have kids, they'll pray to God that they don't turn out like me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭TontoMurphy

Not an oft heard phrase lately but
    "There's great dryin' out today"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

"Heres the man!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭BKtje

I do notice myself saying things that my parents used to say but can't think of any off hand.

One thing i promised myself as a youngun was that if i ever had children i'd never be as fussy as my parents were about the mess around the house.

Living with just my bro now and i'm already giving out to him for leaving his mess everywhere and not lifting a finger to help around the house.
    Technically i guess i haven't broken my promise to myself yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,412 ✭✭✭✭L1011

"Don't say I didn't warn you"

Found myself using that on some coworkers, had to take myself out and slap myself around the head a bit.

Contrary to most of the posts here, I love when I say something that my parents used too, happy memories. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

When given something for free : "Ah thanks, I'll see you right when I get me glasses".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

"Shut your mouth & eat your dinner"

Raekwon wrote:
    "Shut your mouth & eat your dinner"

OK :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

What my dad said if we were makin noise

"There's a hammer down in the shed....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

"Wear a ****ing condom" as I left the house to go drinking.

I now find myself doling out the same advice to friends when they are heading off with a dodgy girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 little nell

Niamho! wrote:
    Hahahahaha. this thread is very amusing so far. i like it.

"It'll all come out in the wash" thats another one Mammies use. i dont think mine ever did so i cant think why i sometimes say it!
    cap fit cap wear.ahhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

If I got hurt playing football etc......"sure you'll be better before you're married".

Quality :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

my dads old chestnut.

too do with getting a cable or a screwdriver into the correct position.

"if it had hair around it you'd have it in already"

used it recently to one of the comms managers, he wasnt in the convulsions i was.

"if (insert name here) asked you to put your hand in the fire would you!?"

Grrr!!! that one was really annoying!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm glad to other people's parents have they're catchphrases. Other's of my dad's gems include, "let's let a dog see a rabbit" when he's looking into something to see what's going on, "I see it all now, some of it" when you explain something to him and up the wooden hill to bedfordshire when he wanted us to go to bed (which he still said at 10pm every night when I was 18)... another of his favourites taken from Ronne Barker is "you'll miss me when I'm gone", thinking of his favourite phrases makes me realies that that's true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

Anyone else notice the older you get the more you talk about the weather?
    I find myself coming out with "there's a grand stretch to the evenings"....just like my granny says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

watna wrote:
    I'm glad to other people's parents have they're catchphrases. Other's of my dad's gems include, "let's let a dog see a rabbit" when he's looking into something to see what's going on, "I see it all now, some of it" when you explain something to him and up the wooden hill to bedfordshire when he wanted us to go to bed (which he still said at 10pm every night when I was 18)... another of his favourites taken from Ronne Barker is "you'll miss me when I'm gone", thinking of his favourite phrases makes me realies that that's true!

awh, that actually brought a tear to my eye and a lump in my throat, very sweet.