Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 2X06 - "The Line" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 30-10-2007 03:05PM
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Warning this thread contains spoilers!!!

Episode Title:
    The Line
    Airdate: 29 October 2007
    tv.com summary:
    Peter goes on a search. West convinces Claire to stand up to someone. Hiro struggles with his feelings for Yaeko. Suresh has more problems with the Company. HRG tries to locate more of Isaac's paintings. Alejandro doesn't trust Sylar.

What did you think of The Line? 60 votes

Fantastic!
    0% 0 votes
    Pretty good.
    6% 4 votes
    Meh.
    56% 34 votes
    Not great.
    21% 13 votes
    AAAAAARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHH!
    15% 9 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I haven't watched it yet but in the process of getting it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Interesting. I still don't know what to make of this season so far. I think I am still looking at the pace of the 2nd half of season 1 and thinking this season has been really slow. But if you look at the first 6 episodes of Season 1, they were just as slow.

There are a lot of things being set up that seem interesting. Sylar is great,even without his powers he is still a great character and actually gives the twins a purpose to be in the show.

Noah Bennent is also another great character and can still be as ruthless as he needs to be.The Claire and "West" :rolleyes: storyline was fairly pointless and boring,although I did like how they fooled the bitch cheerleader.

Hiro in the past suddenly got interesting because he seems to have fecked up the future. Kensi turning evil and one of the paintings had a Hiro vs Kensi sword fight,an indication Kensi will be around for a while longer. Lets hope it is not in 1671 Japan for too much longer.

So another apocalyptic future,New York doesn't have much look does it? Based on the city being empty and an evacuation order I would imagine it would have something to do with the virus,if it did cross over to the general public.One of the paintings was the vial Bob wanted Mohinder to inject into Monica.

And who is Adam Munroe? Another mystery. I couldn't make out all of the paintings,some chap with a gun and a broken nose,were we meant to know who that was? Sylar possibly? One was some blond woman smashing on a wall or window...Nikki maybe? The one on the far right was partly blocked by the Haitain but had something with a bio hazard symbol on it. Again indicating it is the virus that needs to be stopped this season.

Anyway, 6/10 I reckon. Looks like it is gearing up for something good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Not much to add to what's above there, but I'm wondering exactly what Bob/Nikki meant when they said they were there to help "make sure there's no more misunderstandings" with Mohinder.

Regarding the paintings; the man with the broken nose looks a bit like it could be Mohinder, in the one with the biohazard symbol the man in it looks alot like a shocked Peter, and I too would say that the woman banging the wall/door is Nikki. Also, one of the paintings seeemes to have been Claire "dead" on the steps, as we saw in this episode. I wonder why it didn't alarm Noah a bit more?

Also as a very minor easter egg, the "St. Joan" Ninth Wonders comic cover can be seen in the final scene in New York.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

So it looks like the purpose if this season is to save the world from the virus. The Peter bit has finally gotten interesting as has Hiro's story, I just wished it hadn't taken 6 episodes to get to it. They could have easily condensed it down a bit. Regardless of that it looks like it's going to be a bit more interesting from here on in.

Maya and the other guy are still boring but seeing the look on Sylar's face as he gave that little speech to Alejandro was worth the waste of time that was their story.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

That was the most boring episode of Heroes I've ever seen. Even Sylar didn't do it for me (there's a time and a place for being sweaty - that wasn't it). I mean, he was great in the usual Sylar way of facial expressions and being sinister, but when you've got such boring supporting characters, there's not much you can do. Also, can we get a just Sylar episode? No more annoying characters getting in the way? Just good old-fashioned, murderous powerful Sylar.

The only vaguely interesting bit was seeing the paintings.
    Claire = boring.
    Monica = Was there any point to her scenes?
    Mohinder = "I hate you! I'm taking Molly and I'm going!". Five minutes later: "Well, uh, I can't take Molly yet so I guess I'll stick around for a bit..."
    Peter = Why is that stupid girl still in this show? PISS OFF! Let Peter get interesting again!
    The twins = The sooner they die, the better. I fail to see why Sylar even wants their powers. All it does is kill people, and he can do that just as well himself already.
    Hiro = Meh. I do like Kensei though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Xyo

I assume the liquid man is adam yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭El_mariachi

tvnutz wrote: »
    I couldn't make out all of the paintings,some chap with a gun and a broken nose,were we meant to know who that was? Sylar possibly? One was some blond woman smashing on a wall or window...Nikki maybe? The one on the far right was partly blocked by the Haitain but had something with a bio hazard symbol on it.

http://heroeswiki.com/Series_of_eight_%28painting%29 link to pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

tvnutz wrote: »
    Kensi turning evil and one of the paintings had a Hiro vs Kensi sword fight,an indication Kensi will be around for a while longer.

Since David Anders has been officially added as a cast member, there is a good chance he'll be around for awhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

looks like those major spoilers that i read are true :( , now im just hoping they dont f*** it up even farther

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

anyone notice that the place that Noah and the Haitan were had the same name as the Bennett's home town in Texas? Odessa.

conincidence or meant to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

Odessa is a real city in Ukraine, so even though it probably wasnt a coincidence, it doesnt mean anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It was an ok/poor episode.
    It still feels like its setting up the story.
    Hopefully it will get more interesting soon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I really enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Heh, looks like i got my wish and the Oirish accents will now follow peter about the globe.

excellent :)

Other than that, things are starting to pick up speed, so kinda following the pattern set down be series one.
    As people have mentioned the first 6 episodes of season 1 didn't achieve much either.

And Nikki/mohinder as a pairing, this could potentially be great.

Also, the virus outbreak seems to be one year-ish in the future, as opposed to the election which was only a few weeks away in season 1, so it has me wondering how they'll keep the tension going one this starts to pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

More of the same boring muck... we're (i assume) just over a quarter the way through the season and not one episode has really impressed me.

I think it's suffering from far too much going on with not enough pace to advance stories. We have:

Noah (& The Haitian / Suresh)
    Suresh (& Nikki / Parkman / Noah / Bob)
    Peter
    Claire & West
    Hiro & Takeshi (& Ando)
    Sylar & The Twins
    Parkman, Nathan & Parkman's Father
    Micah (& his cousin)
    Elle

There's probably one or two more i've forgotten.

This season for me has just been one big anti-climax.. i'm waiting for an episode to blow me away and make up for all the time that's been wasted. But an unbelivable substandard episode this week to more-or-less blend in with an altogether disappointing season.

Honestly.. the writers must have had labotomies over the Summer as this is not the same show we knew and loved last year!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

this was a meh episode for me although i have the feeling it may improve now as a lot of the awkward bits only there to develop the future story are out of the way. Just like last episode (the brief odessa bit) Peter in the future was blatant bluescreen.

Are we done with Ireland? if so whatever happened to the 1000 year old mobster. prehaps he will be revealed in the episodes covering the 4month gap and somewhat explain Peters appearance in Cork, could even still be monitoring him hoping he leads him somewhere.

I think Claude will resurface soon simply because he was referenced in this episode, this done IMO to remind the audience of his existence.

was the daughter Noah pointed out when in Odessa that supposidly died Kirsten bells character? would make sense, a father in the company etc...

I remember having this same feeling in series 1: some of these stories have to start interconnecting or ending soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I enjoyed this episode, i didnt think it was bad, its moving along and i dont care if it is slow because we have heroes running straight from till... well i dont know when but the only gaps are x-mass and special holidays ect.

Origins will be airing during the mid season break so i dont care if its slow because there is going to be allot of heroes, the twins story is a bit meh ye and i assume that they will comit suicide or soemthing so syler cant get there powers once they realise who he is.

I liked the Noah scenes allot shows you his determination, one of my mates is convinced Noah does have some sort of power

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

I was actually pretty impressed with this episode following last weeks travesty. The only saving grace of last weeks episode being Nathan.

Peter's story was ok - I was intrigued to see the symbol in Montreal and now he's out of Ireland, his story has gotten/will get more interesting. Intrigued now as to who this Adam Monroe character is. And another apocolyptic vision of New York? I can deal with that. Caitlin impressed me tonight - calling your woman a 'bitch' made me nod my head in approval. She sure seemed to get over Ricky's death quickly though. She didn't even stick around for the funeral.

Bennett's storyline - in a word, wow! I love the shades of grey that his character has always been and he seems to be getting darker and darker. What an exquisite way of torturing somebody - removing their most precious memories! And I can't believe he actually shot Ivan! The student turning on the mentor is always intriguing. Liked the reference to Claude as well.

Claire's story was not her worst this season purely because West's dodge of the parental control question was a bit fishy. I'm beginning to think that there's more to him than what meets the eye. Their stunt was stupid though. Surely there's a better way of publicly humiliating someone.

Mohinder's story I actually really liked. The painting at the end was definitely him with a broken nose having just shot a gun at someone. Seeing as he is now teamed up with Niki/Jessica, I'm guessing the broken nose came from her keeping him in line. I liked how he refused to inject Monica and tried to stand up to the company. Moral dilemmas pretty much always work for me.

Hiro - not as meh as the other weeks. I could do without the stupid love story, it's almost as bad as the stupid sword storyline but Kensei finally became an interesting character to me this episode. When Ando insisted that the guy restoring the scrolls tell every detail of the story though, I could have screamed with frustration.

Sylar was a bit of a panto villain, but great with it. I'm starting to like Maja even if she is one of the most gullible people ever to be shown on tv. There's something endearing about her.

No Nathan this episode. Which was bad. And I never thought I'd be saying this, but I was sorry to see no Matt this episode either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,699 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

More of the same. The writer's clearly have a plan for the season but it's very very thin. And what happened to all those great twists from the first season? It's just the same old crap, visions about New York, paintings of someone dead, etc.

It's only the 2nd season, why does it feel like the 7th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

An alright episode. I thought last weeks (or was it the week before) followed more of the interesting stories, though Hiro's seems to be picking up again.

Bit too much posturing going on from Peter. And the fact that both he and Sylar have gone and lost all their powers just strikes me as being far too convenient. And still chasing the paintings. And still trying to save New York. ...wasn't the original idea to change the cast/characters almost completely in Season 2, concentrating on a whole new story and set of Heroes instead? or was that just a rumour?

Looking forward to seeing more of Nathan/Parkman anyway... and that water guy sounds interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

This is just a theory, baseless of course so its nto exactly a spoiler, but heads up just in case I guess.

I have a theory that Kensei is Adam. He does seem have immortal powers, so maybe he's still around? The name Adam could be biblical, meaning the first.

Any takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

theram wrote: »
    I have a theory that Kensei is Adam. He does seem have immortal powers, so maybe he's still around? The name Adam could be biblical, meaning the first.

Any takers?
    There could be something to this all right. It will depend on how Kensei turns out over the next few episodes - maybe he'll become a villain for good. According to the pre-season promo stuff, there's supposed to be
    a 1000 year old character introduced as well, which would make him older than Kensei, but we've seen nothing yet.

That waster West is definitely up to something. He suggested to Claire that they were better than normal people, so he's probably trying to turn her over to whatever cause he represents. I'm not sure if he's working for the Company though. If he is, why don't they just grab Claire and kill Noah now that they know where they are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

I have a feeling Kensei may be Adam and may in fact be trying to right the wrongs of the fractured time line, but I dont really have much basis for this to be honest.

As for West, I dont like him and he's up to something, whether it be just trying to get inside some cheerleader panties or something more sinister I'm not so sure. He's not a great character anyway.

I am intrigued by Peters link to Adam though, this may be very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Not sure about this episode. I was expecting more after the last episode. But I suppose it did begin to raise some interesting ideas.

That Peter in the future bit has me thinking about the company. Maybe they are trying to create a virus that will kill anyone who doesn't have powers? Anyone important enough at the company who doesn't have powers will get to use Suresh's blood to cure themselves so that's why they need him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Also,what is with the really bad CGI!!?? First in the Ukraine and then when Peter and whats her face are in New York. The scenes in New York last year didn't look as bad.

As for people bringing up the
    1000 year old gangster character. I just reckon that was dropped. Didn't it say they were casting for a 1000 year old Irish mobster or gangster? I reckon the Oirish chap that Veronica Mars fried last week was him,they just changed the character and decided he wasn't going to have powers. David Anders has been added to the main cast so perhaps his character will replace that storyline. Things like that change in pre-production.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I think the Irish chick has powers also - just a hunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

ppl thought she was able to paint based on last weeks episode.. saw nothing yet might have to do with revenge on the "blonde bitch." they slowly adding new characters but u can parrallel the two seasons... I hope things dont get repeated. by my rekoning we on painting 2/8 at this stage?

oh btw how come they can get Elya Baskin to play a russian
    Origin Riga, Latvia, Soviet Union
    but they **** up the NawOrleans and Irish characters??? I know it's still not an actor from the respective country(in the irish case) but it's better than what we endured so far

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

'Twas alright but they still haven't explained how Sylar found the WonderTwins after escaping and appearing to be on an island. Or how... no wait, I'll stop.

As to NYC - I saw this elsewhere, and thought it could at least be a little interesting: The reason they wanted Nathan to let NYC burn/vaporise is to prevent and assume the Presidency was to prevent the greater threat that we've seen this season - where a plague was unleashed on the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 theprodigals0n

Is it pretty much definite that NY ends up like it does due to the virus?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I kinda wanted Heroes to be X-Men meets Twin Peaks and there were flashes of that in the first series. Now its veering towards Murder She Wrote meets The Incredibles with a dash of Neighbours.

Less talking, more giant super-powered battles. With aliens. And lasers. And cowbells.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Is it pretty much definite that NY ends up like it does due to the virus?
    No-one knows for sure yet but it probably is due to the virus. We should find out for sure in the next episode if Peter stays in the future for a look around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭sendic

I thought it was a pretty good ep, but the writers do need to do something to really kick it into high gear over the next few episodes.

Also, I wonder if Ukranian viewers are complaining about the accents as much as we did over the "Oirish" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭sendic

Just had a look at the series of 8 paintings on heroeswiki. If 7/8 is Mohinder firing a pistol and 8/8 is HRG/Noah with a bullet wound to the head, any takers that Mohinder and Noah have a falling out toward the end of the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I thought it was Meh. Seriously I would love for them to go through one episode without having to write in an advert for ipods or nissan cars. Its starting to turn into Blade3.
    "Here is an ipod that contains all your super powers" ... please

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

DeVore wrote: »
    Less talking, more giant super-powered battles. With aliens. And lasers. And cowbells.

DeV.

yeah, I'd love to see Sylar talk on a rabid cow - now that would change the shape of the show ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

agamemnon wrote: »
    No-one knows for sure yet but it probably is due to the virus. We should find out for sure in the next episode if Peter stays in the future for a look around.

Crazy thought, what if peter brings the virus back with him from the future, becoming patient zero.

From the episode mohinder was worried about a mutant strain of the virus that killed chanti that would cross over into the general population, and said mutant strain may not affect gifted people, making them typhoid mays.

granted there is nothing to base this on, i'm just letting my imagination run rampant, but still....

Crazy thought, what if peter brings the virus back with him from the future, becoming patient zero.

From the episode mohinder was worried about a mutant strain of the virus that killed chanti that would cross over into the general population, and said mutant strain may not affect gifted people, making them typhoid mays.

granted there is nothing to base this on, i'm just letting my imagination run rampant, but still....

It is possible that he brings it back. Never thought of that.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

The version I have is only 37minutes long, am I missing much...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Hyzepher wrote: »
    I think the Irish chick has powers also - just a hunch

I think she has the power to make people burst into uncontrollable laughter every time she opens her mouth.

I thought this episode was pretty good and they seem to be finally laying the groundwork for what will hopefully be some action-packed episodes down the line.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

mine is 41.10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Peter: "It's my fault your brother's dead. You must hate me"
    Caitlin: "Ah don't worry about it. He was a bit of a fecking eejit anyway".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Jesjes wrote: »
    The version I have is only 37minutes long, am I missing much...?

Yeah, 5 minutes or so. It should be about 42 minutes.

I doubt it. Peter's body is able to heal itseft like Claire's so it should also be able to cure itself of viral attacks aswell.

On the other hand, maybe the Oirish woman becomes infected and brings back the virus with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Stark

The Don wrote: »
    I doubt it. Peter's body is able to heal itseft like Claire's so it should also be able to cure itself of viral attacks aswell.

The virus seems to target their abilities, so if Peter or Claire were infected, it would probably knock out their healing ability and then do its work. A bit like HIV specifically attacking the body's immune system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The Don wrote: »
    Well, to be pedantic, the ability heals damage to the body. Strictly speaking, a virus isn't damage to the body, it just causes damage. So while their abilities will allow them to heal whatever damage is caused, it won't kill the virus.

seamus wrote: »
    Well, to be pedantic, the ability heals damage to the body. Strictly speaking, a virus isn't damage to the body, it just causes damage. So while their abilities will allow them to heal whatever damage is caused, it won't kill the virus.
    Stark wrote: »
    The virus seems to target their abilities, so if Peter or Claire were infected, it would probably knock out their healing ability and then do its work. A bit like HIV specifically attacking the body's immune system.

I guess they're not the same as Wolverine so. ;)

It's gonna be interesting to see where the writers are gonna go with the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Methinks, sylar has been given the 'cure' and hopefully, this cure will wear off soon enough.
    I agree, I believe Caitlin may be some sort of empath, or psychic or something. It's alluded to in the comics anyway.
    Am I the only one who wants to see a Saint Joan tearing around New Orleans kicking ass???
    I think the twins may have something to do with the virus as well. They are the only ones with gifts that primarily kill.
    I think Nathan might be a really interesting character this series, I'm particulary interested in his 'burned man' persona. He hasnt mentioned (well no-one has) how he survived.
    If Adam is Kensi and Adam now befriends peter, will we see a Peter/Hiro showdown too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

there supposed to be a what happened in the 4 months between seasons episode that might clear that nathan thing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Bob is much more like Dr. Phil than Oprah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭topher182

the season seems to be movin a little slow i think! I think they should just bring hiro back to the present day! im gettin alittle bored of his story back in the past!

dying to see whats gonna happen with peter! he's been my fav charactor since the beginning