Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to buy FULL macbook skins?

• 30-12-2007 06:40AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭

My macbook is filthy and needs to be skinned. The annoying thing is that the skins on Apples site only cover the outer shell, which doesnt get dirty on the white models.

Im looking for somewhere where I can buy something like this:

P11582370347686843m.jpg

... which covers almost the entire laptop.

Any advice would be super cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

where did you get the picuture from ? try asking there ?

ebay ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

Cheers for the reply but both of those links appear to be for covers for the externals, they dont cover the keyboard and the screen surround.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭conor2007

ye , if anyone knows this i would love to know too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 707 ✭✭✭deevey

http://cgi.ebay.ie/MacBook-Full-Body-Protection-Pack-KIT-Invisible-Macmate_W0QQitemZ180199850822QQihZ008QQcategoryZ4601QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem .. are almost full kits ..

I went and bought a clear macbook hard case and the trackpad / wrist guards and they worked great and can be removed (as i did recently) without any issues.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/Clear-Crystal-Hard-Case-Sleeve-for-MacBook-13-Laptop_W0QQitemZ150201103786QQihZ005QQcategoryZ4601QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem..

It doesnt add too much weight or bulk .. and its survived the past year or drops knocks spills and more and my "book" looks almost new.

Both cool but both are transparent. I want to skin my white macbook to hide the yellow nicotine stains!

you can buy both in other colors :)

Nicotine stains come off with an eraser (on the trackpad/wrist area) or with foam cleaner and elbow grease...

The first link "full body kit" I cannot find in any other colour.

The second link I can find in other colours but not as a full body kit, including the inside:

2e26_2.JPG

I could combine with something like this:

KeyBoard-Silicone-Cover-Skin-case-For-13-3-MacBook-UK_W0QQitemZ310011086604QQihZ021QQcategoryZ141177QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

but its not ideal.

If you find a coloured full body kit for the macbook (covering everything apart from the trackpad and screen), do please let me know and send a link.

Thanks again.

PS - What brand of cleaner works for you? I have tried a ton of cleaners and none have been effective at removing the stains from my macbooks keyboard and screen area.

I'm seriously considering just spraying the whole f**King thing at this stage.

I use AFC foam cleaner, from radionics - nicotine stains should come off easy enough though.

Far as I know you can get a white casing .. and the wrist pad / trackpad guards come in white too .. I dunno about via that dealer though.

If your that concerned about the state of it ..$80 delivered should get you a new keyboard and bottom casing, I bought both from a e-bay dealer (separately to avoid customs) in prep for whenever I sell my macbook.

I swear to god the inside plastic bezels on macbooks are really tough to clean. I took the lcd bezel off tonight and BLEACHED it, and it's still kinda yellowy.

Cheers for the idea, I was looking on ebay and yeah you can get replacement keyboards etc which is cool. Still, feck it, I think I'll spray it. My first macbook mod :D

I'm so pissed off at my dad. I had bought a set of jewellers screwdrivers a while ago and he decided they were his. Naturally enough he lost the ONE size which I need to remove the lcd panel and mod the apple logo.:mad:

If and when I get around to modding it, Ill post a pic here ;)

ROCIN!

I found the right sized skrewdriver and already have my apple logo in cherry pink (Im a dude by the way, but I do like cherry pink)

All I need now is some spray paint and Im gonna completely f**k up my macbook. :D

Waiting for the spray to dry now. Fecking spray picked up bits of dust so its not a very clean job. Looking ok so far though. I think I might have broken a few keys though :( Ill find out in an hour when the pain drys and I put the keys back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

womoma wrote: »
    Both cool but both are transparent. I want to skin my white macbook to hide the yellow nicotine stains!

hey maybe you could skin your lungs as you're at it ...

Tried it, the spray didn't take to the surface very well :D