Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A big sea of naughty bits in June [Spencer Tunick]

• 23-04-2008 11:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790
    ✭✭✭

Spencer Tunick is bringing his work to Ireland:
    Nude artist seeks Dublin, Cork subjects

A controversial photographer famous for his installations of crowds of naked people is bringing his artwork to Ireland, it emerged today.

Internationally acclaimed contemporary artist Spencer Tunick wants naked volunteers to become part of his first back to back city art project in Dublin and Cork this June.

Groups of nude participants will be photographed outdoors as part of his series of installations that have taken place in cities around the world

The Cork installation will take place on Tuesday, June 17, followed by Dublin Docklands on Saturday, June 21.

Tunick said those who pose are everyday people, with less than 1% made up of nudists or naturalists.

“It’s 99% everyday people like social workers, artists, landscapers,” he said.

“They are not exhibitionists. They just do this collaborative art project once in their life and they might never get naked for an artist again.

Events in Ireland are being staged by Dublin Docklands Development Authority and Cork Midsummer Festival. Everyone taking part must be aged over 18 and has to register in advance at www.spencertunickireland.ie.

In exchange for taking part, the models will receive a limited edition photograph from the event they attended.

Example of his work - NSFW: http://www.artdaily.com/imagenes/2006/08/09/080906e.jpg

Well, who'd be comfortable revealing their flappy bits for the world (well, the bit of it with access to Google Images) to see?

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 swingking
    ✭✭✭

woahhh that's one big orgy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 Dudess
    ✭✭✭✭

Judging by that picture, anyone can take part as long as they're not old/saggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 Shryke
    ✭✭✭

I wouldn't chance that. I'd be walking around with a ****ing horn on. And only one way to hide it... hey buddy, turn around a minute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 cornbb
    ✭✭✭

Dudess wrote: »
    Judging by that picture, anyone can take part as long as they're not old/saggy.

Wrinklies can take part too!

Again, NSFW or for anyone who dislikes looking at aged penises: http://www.coolcleveland.com/files/Main/Tunick-directingMen.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV
    ✭✭✭

i heard they have a big orgy after the pics are taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 Dudess
    ✭✭✭✭

cornbb wrote: »

Again, NSFW or for anyone who dislikes looking at aged penises: http://www.coolcleveland.com/files/Main/Tunick-directingMen.jpg
    Still not that old. I wanna see some geriatrics here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 cornbb
    ✭✭✭

Waitwaitwait are you suggesting that I should link to even more old wrinkly naked people from this AH thread? :eek:

*cracks knuckles* ok, here's another: http://www.agentofchaos.com/images/spencer1a_lg.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 Rb
    ✭✭✭✭

I'd be happy enough doing it tbh. Quite proud of my penis.

Only problem is I'm not so proud of the slight gut I've gained since I stopped exercising regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 Sangre
    ✭✭✭✭

slight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 Rb
    ✭✭✭✭

Sangre wrote: »
    slight?
    Slight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 nkay1985
    ✭✭✭

I have one question about this. What can the ettiquette be? And are you given a guide to it beforehand so you know???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 Xavi6
    ✭✭✭✭

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I have one question about this. What can the ettiquette be? And are you given a guide to it beforehand so you know???

Yeah it's something along the lines of -

- No boners
    - No ****
    - No prolonged staring
    - No groping
    - No 'accidental bumping'
    - No "Look at the rack on her" comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 randylonghorn
    ✭✭✭✭

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Yeah it's something along the lines of -

- No boners
    - No ****
    - No prolonged staring
    - No groping
    - No 'accidental bumping'
    - No "Look at the rack on her" comments
    - No point so! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 nkay1985
    ✭✭✭

- No point so! :(

+1 absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV
    ✭✭✭

hes one big perve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 Reku
    ✭✭✭

Also this is Ireland, do we really have the climate for this sort of thing? Give a new meaning to the term "bluetit" in Ireland and I don't think the lads would be too comfy with the levels of shrinkage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 Sherifu
    ✭✭✭✭

"In exchange for taking part, the models will receive a limited edition photograph from the event they attended." - Lulz, makes it all worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 Quality
    ✭✭✭

I have registered... Cant wait...

I hope its warm!!

• We should organise a Boards Beers around this. Imagine the first time you meet somebody is when you're all butt naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,143 Stark
    ✭✭✭✭

i heard they have a big orgy after the pics are taken.
    cornbb wrote: »
    Waitwaitwait are you suggesting that I should link to even more old wrinkly naked people from this AH thread? :eek:

*cracks knuckles* ok, here's another: http://www.agentofchaos.com/images/spencer1a_lg.jpg

Older, older! Bring us more lest we be sending accusations of ageism your way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 patrickolee
    ✭✭✭

Anyone getting naked in June?

What do people think of it?

http://www.spencertunickireland.ie/

Is it art, or pervy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 Ruu_Old
    ✭✭✭✭

Filthy, durty stuff, says I to Bridey next door and said to me, shure has the wurdelt gone mad!

Filth, down with this sorta thing! Art me bolleeeeeeeeeeex (ba dum tish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 dsmythy
    ✭✭✭✭

Art to those who show up for the art bit. Lovely for those who show up for the nakedness. I won't be showing up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 AckwelFoley
    ✭✭✭✭

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055281220

Its a kinda like this thread ;p

But yea.. Nakid boobies and willies.. shocking ...

Where do i sign the dotted line?

✭✭✭

Oooops, right be you. Thanks for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,331 CantGetNoSleep
    ✭✭✭

Im there

An excuse to get me todger out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 AckwelFoley
    ✭✭✭✭

Im there

An excuse to get me todger out

... thats what the priest said about the playground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 Tha Gopher
    ✭✭✭

This wont work. Irish people (especially women) are too prudish.

Really. Ever been in a strip club in Dublin? No Irish strippers.

Apart from the occasional videophone job of some skanger getting rode in the mun, and about 3 Fcuked In Ireland DVDs filmed in Donegal, Irish women do not star in porn (oh yeah, iirc there was one with some birds who worked in a Mizzonis in Tallaght). The UK has a booming domestic porn trade (and tbh when I crack on a porno its always a Brit one. Yank porn is full of orange tans and tits made from compressed Dunnes bags inserted into them). Its only a 40 odd quid return fare. But you dont see our women flocking over.

So no. Id assume the turnout will be, oh, 20 people.

Two Irish girls (feminists from TCD who nobody wants to see naked anyway), a couple of male junkies demanding money to get their lad out and the rest made up of a few extremely unattractive French/German/Italian arty type women with boxes that resemble a well used roadsweepers broom head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 Raekwon
    ✭✭✭

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    This wont work. Irish people (especially women) are too prudish.

Really. Ever been in a strip club in Dublin? No Irish strippers.

Apart from the occasional videophone job of some skanger getting rode in the mun, and about 3 Fcuked In Ireland DVDs filmed in Donegal, Irish women do not star in porn (oh yeah, iirc there was one with some birds who worked in a Mizzonis in Tallaght). The UK has a booming domestic porn trade (and tbh when I crack on a porno its always a Brit one. Yank porn is full of orange tans and tits made from compressed Dunnes bags inserted into them). Its only a 40 odd quid return fare. But you dont see our women flocking over.

So no. Id assume the turnout will be, oh, 20 people.

Two Irish girls (feminists from TCD who nobody wants to see naked anyway), a couple of male junkies demanding money to get their lad out and the rest made up of a few extremely unattractive French/German/Italian arty type women with boxes that resemble a well used roadsweepers broom head.

So accurate it made me LOL :D

• cornbb wrote: »

Did greatgrandpapa in the middle wax his bits or is that part of the human bodies degradation process?
    Old naked people, are like child birth stories, your better off not knowing what is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 Sherifu
    ✭✭✭✭

I knew this topic looked nakedly familiar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 beautiation
    ✭✭

Would be great craic releasing a few boxes of ants wherever he's holding this the night before.

I'd do it if it didn't sound so horribly like something my mother might do, I really don't want to risk running into her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 Phantasm
    ✭✭

You only live once.
    Surely you'd regret not having stood, united, in the nip with thousands of strangers!

✭✭

Phantasm wrote: »
    You only live once.
    Surely you'd regret not having stood, united, in the nip with thousands of strangers!

Looking at the website most of the pics seem to have everyone lying on top of each other. Imagine getting trapped under some fat pervy old man :eek:

✭✭

Looking at the website most of the pics seem to have everyone lying on top of each other. Imagine getting trapped under some fat pervy old man :eek:

Wouldn't it be largely perverts who would sign up to that sort of thing anyways?

I dunno, go with your significant other?

✭✭

Wouldn't it be largely perverts who would sign up to that sort of thing anyways?

Good idea for a first date I guess. Something to tell the grandkids: "there were 16000 vaginas there that day but the only one I had eyes for was your grandmothers""

✭✭

I smell a Bestseller. Are you Cecelia Ahern ('s father)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 DU.LLAHAN
    ✭✭

Good idea for a first date I guess. Something to tell the grandkids: "there were 16000 vaginas there that day but the only one I had eyes for was your grandmothers""

Yeah but but keep an eye on her incase she lookin at men that are bigger than u god knows whos child it would be;)

✭✭

This sounds like a Cuddle-Partiers convention, actually.

✭✭

DU.LLAHAN wrote: »
    Yeah but but keep an eye on her incase she lookin at men that are bigger than u god knows whos child it would be;)

Jesus yeah, hadn't thought of that, with one good shot adjusting for wind and working the angles you could make 20 minimes in one go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 flanum
    ✭✭✭

i used to have a childhood crush on june whitfield, so i suppose yes id like to be naked in june!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 Peleus
    ✭✭✭

"there were 16000 vaginas there that day but the only one I had eyes for was your grandmothers"

that sounds really funny out of context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 flanum
    ✭✭✭

if yor da said it to you it would be... cos then u cud reply with .... yor ma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 Cianos
    ✭✭✭

This is a great example of why this project would struggle to succeed in Ireland. Seems Ireland is still a long way away from freeing itself from those age old hang ups.

✭✭✭

Cianos wrote: »
    This is a great example of why this project would struggle to succeed in Ireland. Seems Ireland is still a long way away from freeing itself from those age old hang ups.

I think you might be right.. the weather might not help either!

For me, when I look at his pictures, it makes me think how insignificant we all are. How anonymous all the individuals are within the greater mass. I think how they all must be feeling, the doubts, the worries, the shyness and how unimportant they (and by extension we) are when given perspective. But then I wonder, if I were in the situation, how would it feel.

Metaphor for life in general.... I probably won't go!

✭✭

The fear of being naked in public along with thousands of other people is an age old hang up?

You're either for or against.
    Chances are that if you're against, you presume it's for perves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 Cianos
    ✭✭✭

The fear of being naked in public along with thousands of other people is an age old hang up?

You're either for or against.
    Chances are that if you're against, you presume it's the pervy type.

Your last sentence didn't really make sense. And the age old hang up I'm talking about is presuming that anyone who would have the balls (excuse the pun!) to do this is a pervert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 Peleus
    ✭✭✭

Your last sentence didn't really make sense. And the age old hang up I'm talking about is presuming that anyone who would have the balls (excuse the pun!) to do this is a pervert.

people dont think that. They think that there's bound to be a couple of pervy men there trying to cop a feel, but obviously people don't think its all perverts. Everyone knows its a group of ordinary people, but i myself wouldnt go because i wouldnt feel to comfortable naked with a load of strangers and I may run into someone i know. ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 Princess Consuela Bananahammock
    ✭✭✭✭

Anyone getting naked in June?

What do people think of it?

http://www.spencertunickireland.ie/

Is it art, or pervy?

What the fvck is the big deal here? Why is nudity "pervy"?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 Nevyn
    ✭✭✭✭

oh it's on summer solstice, like I am usually naked with a bunch of people that day anyway
    /shrug.

The naked body is does not have to be a sexual thing,
    really Ireland's hangs ups with nudity were laughable twenty years ago nevermind at this stage.

No it's not perverts and any fool that does not respect people on the day can still be charged with assault,
    just because a person is naked does not mean they have given consent to be touched by anyone.

As for those going for titalation reasons really you get bored and adjust fairly quickly.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.